Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 08:37:22 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [REQUESTS] Minimal Electrum builds for Windows  (Read 44222 times)
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
September 04, 2012, 11:39:45 PM
 #301

Hi, I'm still investigating this...

I've packed a test build that loads modules using a different method. Perhaps
that will work for you.

You can get it from here:
 http://code.google.com/p/win-electrum/downloads/detail?name=elec101e2.exe

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
1481143042
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481143042

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481143042
Reply with quote  #2

1481143042
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481143042
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481143042

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481143042
Reply with quote  #2

1481143042
Report to moderator
Sovereign108
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
September 05, 2012, 09:13:16 AM
 #302

This is the error message I am now getting Smiley

Python 2.7.3 (default, Apr 10 2012, 23:31:26)

Type "electrum -help" for a list of available commands.
(Full documentation at https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Electrum)
---

05/09/2012 10:12:48.15> e
C:\Users\Sovereign 108\AppData\Roaming\Electrum_SysFiles\1.01-e2\C_\Python27\py
thon.exe: can't find '__main__' module in 'electrum'

05/09/2012 10:12:54.54>
Hi, I'm still investigating this...

I've packed a test build that loads modules using a different method. Perhaps
that will work for you.

You can get it from here:
 http://code.google.com/p/win-electrum/downloads/detail?name=elec101e2.exe
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
September 05, 2012, 09:16:09 AM
 #303

This is the error message I am now getting Smiley

Python 2.7.3 (default, Apr 10 2012, 23:31:26)

Type "electrum -help" for a list of available commands.
(Full documentation at https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Electrum)
---

05/09/2012 10:12:48.15> e
C:\Users\Sovereign 108\AppData\Roaming\Electrum_SysFiles\1.01-e2\C_\Python27\py
thon.exe: can't find '__main__' module in 'electrum'

05/09/2012 10:12:54.54>
Hi, I'm still investigating this...

I've packed a test build that loads modules using a different method. Perhaps
that will work for you.

You can get it from here:
 http://code.google.com/p/win-electrum/downloads/detail?name=elec101e2.exe

Hmmm... What if you type "python (electrum)" instead of "e"?

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
Sovereign108
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
September 05, 2012, 09:25:26 AM
 #304

I tried that, this is the error message now:

Python 2.7.3 (default, Apr 10 2012, 23:31:26)

Type "electrum -help" for a list of available commands.
(Full documentation at https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Electrum)
---

05/09/2012 10:24:22.23> python (electrum)
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "(electrum)", line 23, in <module>
    from electrum.util import print_error
  File "C:\Users\Sovereign 108\AppData\Roaming\Electrum_SysFiles\1.01-e2\C_\Ele
ctrumPY\electrum\__init__.py", line 1, in <module>
    from wallet import Wallet, format_satoshis, prompt_password
  File "C:\Users\Sovereign 108\AppData\Roaming\Electrum_SysFiles\1.01-e2\C_\Ele
ctrumPY\electrum\wallet.py", line 267, in <module>
    from interface import DEFAULT_SERVERS
  File "C:\Users\Sovereign 108\AppData\Roaming\Electrum_SysFiles\1.01-e2\C_\Ele
ctrumPY\electrum\interface.py", line 20, in <module>
    import random, socket, ast, re
  File "C:\Csvn\Python25\lib\socket.py", line 47, in <module>
    import _socket
ImportError: DLL load failed: %1 is not a valid Win32 application.

05/09/2012 10:24:40.73> "python (electrum)"
'"python (electrum)"' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
operable program or batch file.

05/09/2012 10:24:53.19>
This is the error message I am now getting Smiley

Python 2.7.3 (default, Apr 10 2012, 23:31:26)

Type "electrum -help" for a list of available commands.
(Full documentation at https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Electrum)
---

05/09/2012 10:12:48.15> e
C:\Users\Sovereign 108\AppData\Roaming\Electrum_SysFiles\1.01-e2\C_\Python27\py
thon.exe: can't find '__main__' module in 'electrum'

05/09/2012 10:12:54.54>
Hi, I'm still investigating this...

I've packed a test build that loads modules using a different method. Perhaps
that will work for you.

You can get it from here:
 http://code.google.com/p/win-electrum/downloads/detail?name=elec101e2.exe

Hmmm... What if you type "python (electrum)" instead of "e"?
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
September 05, 2012, 10:04:42 AM
 #305


  File "C:\Csvn\Python25\lib\socket.py", line 47, in <module>
    import _socket
ImportError: DLL load failed: %1 is not a valid Win32 application.


OK, looks like we've found the root cause.
There is an old version of Python (2.5) installed on your system...
The Electrum executable normally uses its own embedded Python runtime,
but somehow that other installation of Python is conflicting with it.
 
If you type "set path" without the quotes in the Electrum console,
you should see if it's pointing to that old Python version.

Are you using it for anything?
If not, it's probably best to uninstall (or upgrade) it, then try Electrum again.


1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
Sovereign108
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
September 05, 2012, 10:25:50 AM
 #306

I uninstalled one old python version, and changed the directory name for the other Python distribution that comes with an old version of python as standard and this is the error i get. Am I to remove the reference to the old python from the paths list in Windows also?

Python 2.7.3 (default, Apr 10 2012, 23:31:26)

Type "electrum -help" for a list of available commands.
(Full documentation at https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Electrum)
---

05/09/2012 11:23:29.91> E
ImportError: No module named site

05/09/2012 11:23:32.23> e
ImportError: No module named site

05/09/2012 11:23:33.89> Python (electrum)
ImportError: No module named site

05/09/2012 11:24:02.50>

  File "C:\Csvn\Python25\lib\socket.py", line 47, in <module>
    import _socket
ImportError: DLL load failed: %1 is not a valid Win32 application.


OK, looks like we've found the root cause.
There is an old version of Python (2.5) installed on your system...
The Electrum executable normally uses its own embedded Python runtime,
but somehow that other installation of Python is conflicting with it.
 
If you type "set path" without the quotes in the Electrum console,
you should see if it's pointing to that old Python version.

Are you using it for anything?
If not, it's probably best to uninstall (or upgrade) it, then try Electrum again.


Sovereign108
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
September 05, 2012, 10:31:08 AM
 #307

Ok, I removed the old python from the path variables also. Still the same error as above!

Python is such a mess! I was even thinking to learn it but now.....Ruby Smiley
Sovereign108
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
September 05, 2012, 10:33:49 AM
 #308

Ok, I renamed the python directory to its original state and electrum targets it even though I removed it from the Path variables, so I don't know what is going on here...
Sovereign108
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
September 05, 2012, 10:47:20 AM
 #309

Ok, I upgraded that folder anyway to Python v3.2.3 and this is the error message: The folder called Python25 is actually Python 32

Python 2.7.3 (default, Apr 10 2012, 23:31:26)

Type "electrum -help" for a list of available commands.
(Full documentation at https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Electrum)
---

05/09/2012 11:39:25.20> e
  File "C:\Csvn\Python25\\lib\site.py", line 159
    file=sys.stderr)
        ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

05/09/2012 11:39:30.04> Python (electrum)
  File "C:\Csvn\Python25\\lib\site.py", line 159
    file=sys.stderr)
        ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

05/09/2012 11:39:45.75>
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
September 05, 2012, 11:37:52 AM
 #310

Ok, I upgraded that folder anyway to Python v3.2.3 and this is the error message: The folder called Python25 is actually Python 32

Python 2.7.3 (default, Apr 10 2012, 23:31:26)

Type "electrum -help" for a list of available commands.
(Full documentation at https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Electrum)
---

05/09/2012 11:39:25.20> e
  File "C:\Csvn\Python25\\lib\site.py", line 159
    file=sys.stderr)
        ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

05/09/2012 11:39:30.04> Python (electrum)
  File "C:\Csvn\Python25\\lib\site.py", line 159
    file=sys.stderr)
        ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

05/09/2012 11:39:45.75>


Yeah Python can easily turn into a version hell under Windows Sad

Ok, let's force Electrum to use the correct environment:

Type this into the console (probably easier to copy-paste that):
 echo ..\python27\python.exe (electrum) %WALLFILE% %1 %2 %3 %4 %5 %6 %7 > e.cmd

then "e" again.

Does that work any better? If yes, I will incorporate this change when I make my next build.

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
Sovereign108
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
September 05, 2012, 12:00:12 PM
 #311

I removed the offending environment variable pointing to the old Python version and only the newer python paths exist. I renamed the old python version folder so no program can point to it and this is the error message:

Python 2.7.3 (default, Apr 10 2012, 23:31:26)

Type "electrum -help" for a list of available commands.
(Full documentation at https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Electrum)
---

05/09/2012 12:58:14.09> echo ..\python27\python.exe (electrum) %WALLFILE% %1 %2
%3 %4 %5 %6 %7 > e.cmd

05/09/2012 12:58:17.72> e

05/09/2012 12:58:18.76> ..\python27\python.exe (electrum)
ImportError: No module named site

05/09/2012 12:58:18.78>

Ok, I upgraded that folder anyway to Python v3.2.3 and this is the error message: The folder called Python25 is actually Python 32

Python 2.7.3 (default, Apr 10 2012, 23:31:26)

Type "electrum -help" for a list of available commands.
(Full documentation at https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Electrum)
---

05/09/2012 11:39:25.20> e
  File "C:\Csvn\Python25\\lib\site.py", line 159
    file=sys.stderr)
        ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

05/09/2012 11:39:30.04> Python (electrum)
  File "C:\Csvn\Python25\\lib\site.py", line 159
    file=sys.stderr)
        ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

05/09/2012 11:39:45.75>


Yeah Python can easily turn into a version hell under Windows Sad

Ok, let's force Electrum to use the correct environment:

Type this into the console (probably easier to copy-paste that):
 echo ..\python27\python.exe (electrum) %WALLFILE% %1 %2 %3 %4 %5 %6 %7 > e.cmd

then "e" again.

Does that work any better? If yes, I will incorporate this change when I make my next build.
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
September 05, 2012, 12:05:57 PM
 #312

I removed the offending environment variable pointing to the old Python version and only the newer python paths exist. I renamed the old python version folder so no program can point to it and this is the error message:

Python 2.7.3 (default, Apr 10 2012, 23:31:26)

Type "electrum -help" for a list of available commands.
(Full documentation at https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Electrum)
---

05/09/2012 12:58:14.09> echo ..\python27\python.exe (electrum) %WALLFILE% %1 %2
%3 %4 %5 %6 %7 > e.cmd

05/09/2012 12:58:17.72> e

05/09/2012 12:58:18.76> ..\python27\python.exe (electrum)
ImportError: No module named site

05/09/2012 12:58:18.78>

Ok, I upgraded that folder anyway to Python v3.2.3 and this is the error message: The folder called Python25 is actually Python 32

Python 2.7.3 (default, Apr 10 2012, 23:31:26)

Type "electrum -help" for a list of available commands.
(Full documentation at https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Electrum)
---

05/09/2012 11:39:25.20> e
  File "C:\Csvn\Python25\\lib\site.py", line 159
    file=sys.stderr)
        ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

05/09/2012 11:39:30.04> Python (electrum)
  File "C:\Csvn\Python25\\lib\site.py", line 159
    file=sys.stderr)
        ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax

05/09/2012 11:39:45.75>


Yeah Python can easily turn into a version hell under Windows Sad

Ok, let's force Electrum to use the correct environment:

Type this into the console (probably easier to copy-paste that):
 echo ..\python27\python.exe (electrum) %WALLFILE% %1 %2 %3 %4 %5 %6 %7 > e.cmd

then "e" again.

Does that work any better? If yes, I will incorporate this change when I make my next build.

If you just type "python" (without the quotes), what do you get? specifically, what version number is displayed?

BTW, to exit the Python interpreter, type quit().

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
September 05, 2012, 12:11:46 PM
 #313

Also try these commands:

set PythonHome=
set PythonPath=


and then:

e

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
Sovereign108
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
September 05, 2012, 04:08:47 PM
 #314

Hey, this finally worked! Electrum is definitely fast and simple, I like the brain wallet thing and the fact that the wallet is in the cloud.

So I hope I don't have to always start electrum via Python Console?

Also, its called a compact build. Does that mean some features were trimmed off?

Also try these commands:

set PythonHome=
set PythonPath=


and then:

e
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
September 05, 2012, 08:41:14 PM
 #315

Hey, this finally worked! Electrum is definitely fast and simple, I like the brain wallet thing and the fact that the wallet is in the cloud.

So I hope I don't have to always start electrum via Python Console?

Also, its called a compact build. Does that mean some features were trimmed off?

Also try these commands:

set PythonHome=
set PythonPath=


and then:

e




Great news!

I will try to make another build that fixes this issue for you (within the next few days).
In the meantime, I guess it should work if you just clear the PYTHONPATH and PYTHONHOME
 environment variables in your Windows settings.

This build is compact in the sense that it only includes essential Electrum files and dependencies,
anything extra (add-on scripts, scanning module, etc) are not included to keep the package small
and fast. If you want to experiment with all the extras, you will need to install it from source, at this time.

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
Sovereign108
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
September 06, 2012, 09:18:26 AM
 #316

Why not just standardize it, it can only remove incompatibilities? Also, I tried removing the environment variables where python was present and that didn't go too well!

Hey, this finally worked! Electrum is definitely fast and simple, I like the brain wallet thing and the fact that the wallet is in the cloud.

So I hope I don't have to always start electrum via Python Console?

Also, its called a compact build. Does that mean some features were trimmed off?

Also try these commands:

set PythonHome=
set PythonPath=


and then:

e




Great news!

I will try to make another build that fixes this issue for you (within the next few days).
In the meantime, I guess it should work if you just clear the PYTHONPATH and PYTHONHOME
 environment variables in your Windows settings.

This build is compact in the sense that it only includes essential Electrum files and dependencies,
anything extra (add-on scripts, scanning module, etc) are not included to keep the package small
and fast. If you want to experiment with all the extras, you will need to install it from source, at this time.

flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
September 07, 2012, 06:54:32 PM
 #317

@Sovereign108:

How does this build work out for you?

Hopefully this should fix the startup problem that you've experienced.

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
Sovereign108
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
September 07, 2012, 07:08:45 PM
 #318

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news but it doesn't work! It does work via the Python cmd console though, I just type e and thats it! using python 27.

Just curious, does electrum work with python 32?
@Sovereign108:

How does this build work out for you?

Hopefully this should fix the startup problem that you've experienced.
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
September 07, 2012, 07:30:34 PM
 #319

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news but it doesn't work! It does work via the Python cmd console though, I just type e and thats it! using python 27.

Just curious, does electrum work with python 32?
@Sovereign108:

How does this build work out for you?

Hopefully this should fix the startup problem that you've experienced.

OK, we're almost there... What about this one?

As for Python 3.2, I don't know if Electrum runs on it, but the 2.7 branch is usually considered more stable for mission-critical applications (for now) and still has more libraries available anyway. Also, it is still being officially updated.

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
Sovereign108
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
September 07, 2012, 07:35:57 PM
 #320

Yea, that worked like a charm Wink thanks for your efforts! I still hate Python though!!!

Electrum is a great lightweight client

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news but it doesn't work! It does work via the Python cmd console though, I just type e and thats it! using python 27.

Just curious, does electrum work with python 32?
@Sovereign108:

How does this build work out for you?

Hopefully this should fix the startup problem that you've experienced.

OK, we're almost there... What about this one?

As for Python 3.2, I don't know if Electrum runs on it, but the 2.7 branch is usually considered more stable for mission-critical applications (for now) and still has more libraries available anyway. Also, it is still being officially updated.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!