Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 06:28:56 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [REQUESTS] Minimal Electrum builds for Windows  (Read 44233 times)
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 12:31:58 PM
 #81

Errr.. Sorry, nevermind...  Looks like that huge DLL was actually needed (for QT), after all Smiley

Anyway, my next build should be approximately 5.7MB, which compares quite favorably with MultiBit (22MB+Java), Armory (18MB, only available for Win x64 at the moment) and the Bitcoin.org client (9MB).

By the way, I don't understand why they say that there are no "easy-to-install to packages" for Electrum on this page: http://bitcoin.org/clients.html -
Looks like they haven't even tried?  I think every other client listed there is actually harder to install than Electrum on Windows...

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
1481221736
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481221736

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481221736
Reply with quote  #2

1481221736
Report to moderator
1481221736
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481221736

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481221736
Reply with quote  #2

1481221736
Report to moderator
1481221736
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481221736

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481221736
Reply with quote  #2

1481221736
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
ThomasV
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1722



View Profile WWW
May 10, 2012, 01:48:38 PM
 #82

Errr.. Sorry, nevermind...  Looks like that huge DLL was actually needed (for QT), after all Smiley

Anyway, my next build should be approximately 5.7MB, which compares quite favorably with MultiBit (22MB+Java), Armory (18MB, only available for Win x64 at the moment) and the Bitcoin.org client (9MB).

By the way, I don't understand why they say that there are no "easy-to-install to packages" for Electrum on this page: http://bitcoin.org/clients.html -
Looks like they haven't even tried?  I think every other client listed there is actually harder to install than Electrum on Windows...

I wrote that text. I mentioned this because there's no ubuntu package and no android apk at this point.

btw, I released a new version (0.48) today.
There are no new features in this version, but it should be much easier to install for Linux users, because it can be installed with easy_install
This version might give you some extra work, because some paths have changed.


Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 02:06:55 PM
 #83

Oh, no problem, bring it on Smiley

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 08:33:02 AM
 #84

Build 0.48a is now available for Windows. As usual, let me know if any comments or problems.

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
May 12, 2012, 08:15:09 PM
 #85

Build 0.48b for Windows is now out.

A connectivity issue has been fixed by ThomasV. See this post.

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
May 17, 2012, 10:46:56 AM
 #86

0.49b stand-alone build is now available. (download link in my signature)
SHA-1: 11ade02b8022efcefd2f908381a3e8edfa4faccb

main changes:
* several bugfixes related to imported keys and encryption
* copy seed now copies both hex and mnemonic strings

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
bitcats
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008



View Profile
May 18, 2012, 09:12:30 AM
 #87

Wow! Well done   Smiley
When I open the exe with shift key, I get: "python )electrum= -o addresses"
So i have to correct the parentheses manually. After that it works!

I also tested the import command, but I just get the message "error". Does it work for you?

PS: I hope you could find some sleep now  Wink

"Unser Problem ist nicht ziviler Ungehorsam, unser Problem ist ziviler Gehorsam."  - Howard Zinn
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
May 18, 2012, 09:46:50 AM
 #88

Wow! Well done   Smiley
When I open the exe with shift key, I get: "python )electrum= -o addresses"
So i have to correct the parentheses manually. After that it works!

I also tested the import command, but I just get the message "error". Does it work for you?

PS: I hope you could find some sleep now  Wink

Not sleeping yet Smiley

So the addresses command works for you too? Please could you also try some other commands (balance, history)  and let me know if they work?

For me, yes, the import command works fine, both in online and offline mode.

Please post screenshots of any error messages if you can, they will help me fix the issues.

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
May 18, 2012, 09:51:42 AM
 #89

Just to clarify, the post of bitcats is about a new experimental build I made last night that includes a full console mode for Windows. See details in  this post if you feel adventurous!

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
bitcats
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008



View Profile
May 18, 2012, 10:18:54 AM
 #90

Import works now! It had some swapped digits in my private keys.
The other commands work fine. Can you adjust the parentheses mismatch?

One more request: I dont like that Lucida font. I would appreciate an option to switch the font (sth like Arial).


Im leaving now for 2 days. Donation will follow  Wink


"Unser Problem ist nicht ziviler Ungehorsam, unser Problem ist ziviler Gehorsam."  - Howard Zinn
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
May 18, 2012, 10:32:38 AM
 #91

Import works now! It had some swapped digits in my private keys.
The other commands work fine. Can you adjust the parentheses mismatch?

One more request: I dont like that Lucida font. I would appreciate an option to switch the font (sth like Arial).


Im leaving now for 2 days. Donation will follow  Wink



Great news, glad I could help!
I will fix the parentheses in the next build.
Regarding the font, are you talking about the GUI font or the console font?
It shouldn't be Lucida, so could you post a screenshot when you get a chance? Just so I know if this could be Vista related.

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
bitcats
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008



View Profile
May 18, 2012, 10:42:25 AM
 #92

Screenshot:


Many thanks for the time you've put in this work.

-> afk

"Unser Problem ist nicht ziviler Ungehorsam, unser Problem ist ziviler Gehorsam."  - Howard Zinn
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
May 18, 2012, 03:03:11 PM
 #93

The parentheses problem should be fixed in 0.49d (just released).

[EDIT] Build 0.51 uses a new monospace font (Fixedsys)! I hope you like this one better.

Otherwise, if you're okay with editing Python source code, I can look up the exact file
and line to edit.


1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
May 18, 2012, 03:22:06 PM
 #94

Stand-alone release 0.49d for Windows is out.

Includes all the latest and greatest fixes and features added by ThomasV.

Seems to be extremely stable.

This is also my first build that integrates a custom virtual console
with full command-line support - Just hold down the SHIFT key while starting
the application to access it.

Please note that this is an experimental feature, for advanced users only.

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
minimalB
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 627


View Profile
May 18, 2012, 08:06:01 PM
 #95

I tried new console window with few commands and it works great! And the fact that it's there only when you need it... is so HANDY! : )

Thanks!
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
May 18, 2012, 08:25:02 PM
 #96

I tried new console window with few commands and it works great! And the fact that it's there only when you need it... is so HANDY! : )

Thanks!

Great, enjoy Wink
I also find it very convenient!

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
May 19, 2012, 04:41:47 PM
 #97

Build 0.52 has been released!
5.9MB standalone executable, with console support.

changes in this version:
 a couple of bugfixes by ThomasV

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
bitcats
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008



View Profile
May 19, 2012, 05:31:38 PM
 #98

Hi. I just tested the new build, it works fine  Tongue

The new font is better than the previous one, but its a bit small. Could you make it 1pt larger?

I like the new electrum and I just send you 5 BTC. Some more will come  Smiley

"Unser Problem ist nicht ziviler Ungehorsam, unser Problem ist ziviler Gehorsam."  - Howard Zinn
flatfly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile
May 19, 2012, 05:41:47 PM
 #99

Hi. I just tested the new build, it works fine  Tongue

The new font is better than the previous one, but its a bit small. Could you make it 1pt larger?

I like the new electrum and I just send you 5 BTC. Some more will come  Smiley

Thanks a lot for your feedback and cool donation! Very motivating.

That font ('Fixedsys') only has one size I'm afraid (as you can verify in notepad for example).
However if you have another font on your system that you would prefer to use, I'll be happy to
make a custom build for you.

(Note that for the number alignments to look right, the font needs to be a monospace/fixed-width font)

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
bitcats
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008



View Profile
May 19, 2012, 08:36:29 PM
 #100

Thats more than I deserve  Roll Eyes

Maybe "Consolas" would be fine, or "DejaVu"? https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Samples_of_monospaced_typefaces
I m not sure about the size.

"Unser Problem ist nicht ziviler Ungehorsam, unser Problem ist ziviler Gehorsam."  - Howard Zinn
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!