Bitcoin Forum
October 21, 2017, 11:54:02 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [REQUESTS] Minimal Electrum builds for Windows  (Read 46242 times)
flatfly
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


View Profile
March 23, 2012, 03:29:01 PM
 #1

I've been busy packaging a very compact and stable Cameyo-based build of the Electrum thin client!  Then I went a step further and removed ALL non-required Python modules and repackaged the rest using high compression.

Also, the following features cannot be found in other existing Electrum builds for Windows:

- full command-line support
- no installation needed: just download and run!
- highly optimized size and reduced attack surface: a huge number of unneeded executable files are excluded to achieve a lean and robust build
- includes the latest Python runtime security updates
- no need to pre-install Python, PyQt, ecdsa, or anything else: It's all in there,
- each build is pre-scanned by VirusTotal  
- hi-res icons
- no flickering at startup
- no admin privileges needed
- can work as a fully portable app (support for -w switch!)
- I also do a quick manual audit of the code changes that go into each new build

Get the latest Windows stand-alone build (built straight from the Electrum source tree on GitHub) from my website:

EXE and SHA1: http://dre.natverk.org/elecwin.htm

The resulting standalone executable is just 5.9MB.
Compare with the default Cameyo 40-45MB bloated packages!!  


Please let me know if any packaging-related quirks.



If there's enough interest, I can provide Win32 builds on a regular basis. Just a way of contributing to the community.

PS:
Why should you trust me? Well you don't have to. The full Python source code for each release can be examined in the %AppData%\Electrum_SysFiles directory and compared (using diff) with the official Electrum source tree for verification. The only changes I make are GUI-related, to give the app a more polished feel on Windows.

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
If you want to be a moderator, report many posts with accuracy. You will be noticed.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
hazek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


View Profile
March 23, 2012, 03:49:11 PM
 #2

nvm I completely misread your OP, I apologize.

My personality type: INTJ - please forgive my weaknesses (Not naturally in tune with others feelings; may be insensitive at times, tend to respond to conflict with logic and reason, tend to believe I'm always right)

If however you enjoyed my post: 15j781DjuJeVsZgYbDVt2NZsGrWKRWFHpp
flatfly
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


View Profile
March 23, 2012, 04:00:05 PM
 #3

[removed]

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
HostFat
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2604


I support freedom of choice


View Profile WWW
March 23, 2012, 04:09:24 PM
 #4

Thank flatfly! Smiley

I'll try it at home.

NON DO ASSISTENZA PRIVATA - The Rock Trading (ref): A good exchange / gateway Ripple, with support for multisig, since 2007. 
https://bitcointa.lk: Bitcointalk backup if offline - Bitcoin Foundation Italia - Blog: http://theupwind.blogspot.it
minimalB
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 669


View Profile
March 24, 2012, 12:48:01 AM
 #5

Hey, thanks!

Is there a way to change wallet path with "-w" parameter?
I'd like to have a portable solution with electrum.dat and electrum.exe in the same folder.

Works great with default wallet path!
flatfly
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


View Profile
March 24, 2012, 09:58:26 AM
 #6

Thanks for your feedback!

There's no support for -w at this time due to the way I am packaging it,
but I might be able to fix that (perhaps later today!)   

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
flatfly
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


View Profile
March 24, 2012, 04:13:55 PM
 #7

OK, here's my latest Windows build (with today's updates in!), compatible with XP, and with -w support:

http://dre.tx0.org/electrum042.exe

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
minimalB
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 669


View Profile
March 24, 2012, 11:36:19 PM
 #8

Wow, that was quick!

It works great with -w parameter! And no need for console window, thank you.

Hope you'll continue to create binaries for future official electrum releases.
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
March 25, 2012, 02:15:36 AM
 #9

Nice

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
mila
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile
March 26, 2012, 07:49:02 AM
 #10

Is it a kind of 'portable apps' thing? I can't install stuff on the desktop here but can execute pretty much everything else that does not need admin privileges. also proxy uname/pwd I have to provide for apps that try to go online.
Could you confirm/deny usability or is testing needed?
thanks

p.s. In 10 or so hrs I'll probably give it a try at home anyway. just curious : )

your ad here:
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
March 26, 2012, 07:51:02 AM
 #11

i dont think it escalates to admin but it doesnt support proxies

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
mila
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile
March 26, 2012, 08:11:59 AM
 #12

i dont think it escalates to admin but it doesnt support proxies

ok, I'm also tunnelling part of my traffic through local socks proxy. can I specify a local port to use?
(or no support for proxies means that neither a local port can be specified?)

your ad here:
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
March 26, 2012, 08:25:33 AM
 #13

u have tunnel the entire system like a vpn, or a socks tunnelizer

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
mila
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile
March 26, 2012, 08:27:56 AM
 #14

u have tunnel the entire system like a vpn, or a socks tunnelizer

seems exactly what I'm running (open local port and it what uses it shows up on the other side of the ssh connection in the server)
I'll post a test review. thanks for the replies

your ad here:
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
March 26, 2012, 08:50:03 AM
 #15

you dont make sense to me, but ok. a socks port isnt tunneling. let me know.

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
minimalB
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 669


View Profile
March 26, 2012, 09:13:14 AM
 #16

Few quirks:

I found out that i can't restore from seed (words or code) with 0.42 binary

and

Few icons still don't work for me - it behaves the same as with 0.40 binary:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=52003.msg797218#msg797218

I also found out, that icon for unconfirmed transaction (unconfirmed.png) is not showing either. Again, it's the same with 0.40 previous binary builds.

I am on XP 32bit SP3
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2156


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
March 26, 2012, 09:19:55 AM
 #17

youre right, missing on my 7 x64 too


Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
flatfly
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


View Profile
March 26, 2012, 10:08:32 AM
 #18

Strange, recovery from seed works fine for me, I've just tested it again.

One caveat though (which is actually not a new issue):
 I do get the message "No transactions found for this seed" once the recovery is done.
 Ignore it, and close and reopen Electrum. It should then sync fine. (Once, I had to close
 and reopen it 2 or 3 times before everything was fully synchronized - but still, it didn't take
 more than 30 seconds total)

 Regarding the icons, I'll try rebuilding the RC file. Thanks for the tip, Thomas!

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
flatfly
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


View Profile
March 26, 2012, 10:49:40 AM
 #19

Yes I'm still encountering this with the latest version...
Let me know it you need more detail from me.

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
flatfly
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


View Profile
March 26, 2012, 10:53:16 AM
 #20

This build should help with the little icon issues Smiley
Initial decompression should be a bit snappier as well.
Try it out and let me know.

EXE: http://dre.tx0.org/electrum-042c.exe
MD5: 8224A24909280BEBC7719369841ED6CE


EDIT: reflected in top post.

1111127SpvabYpoeDoiz5L7QPkfiSh2Q. Only donate if you have a reason to.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!