Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 04:22:59 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 »
  Print  
Author Topic: ATTN Litecoin GPU Miners - Scrypt support for cgminer  (Read 169345 times)
pekv2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
July 23, 2012, 11:34:47 PM
 #341

802 Khash/s. Two 5850's.

Code:
cgminer --scrypt -o http://server -u username -p password --worksize 256 --lookup-gap 2 --thread-concurrency 5600 -g 1 --intensity 18


Image link broken. On 5850s you should try a multiple of 1440. So try 7200.


Same results.

Image link should work. But here is main. https://www.dropbox.com/s/b2hrkwrz688a5ta/Untitled.jpg
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481430179
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481430179

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481430179
Reply with quote  #2

1481430179
Report to moderator
1481430179
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481430179

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481430179
Reply with quote  #2

1481430179
Report to moderator
-ck
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 23, 2012, 11:37:07 PM
 #342

Okay I've thought about it some more and I think the best way forwards is to do away with the --lookup-gap and --thread-concurrency options and just get the user to input the shader count of their device and let cgminer choose. This will always set lookup gap to 2 and set the thread concurrency to the highest it can be that is a multiple of the shader count which would be much easier for users to configure. This then leaves you with the choice of gpu threads and intensity still. Otherwise there is far too much to configure, and most people won't be able to figure out how to do it. I plan to include a readme with the shader count of the various hardware like in that earlier post. What do people think of this?

Eg for a 6850 and 5770:
cgminer --shaders 960,800



Could you set those as the defaults and have the options to change them via command line or in the .conf file.
Which? The shader value or the tc or the lg or some combination? I can always leave the tc and lg values configurable but all that does is lead to MORE BUG REPORTS AND CONFUSION since the shader multiple and lg2 are best. So perhaps hidden options...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ElectricMucus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540


Drama Junkie


View Profile
July 24, 2012, 05:29:56 AM
 #343

There seems to be a problem with pools on higher share difficulty. cgminer reports the hashrate fine but what gets recognized by the pool is not. Neither invalids or stales are detected they seem just to disappear in a black hole.  Huh

I can't tell if I am the only one having this problem or if it is just cgminer - reaper doesn't really work for me, it always tries to use my cpu as well.

First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they keep laughing, then they start choking on their laughter, and then they go and catch their breath. Then they start laughing even more.
-ck
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 24, 2012, 05:33:06 AM
 #344

There seems to be a problem with pools on higher share difficulty. cgminer reports the hashrate fine but what gets recognized by the pool is not. Neither invalids or stales are detected they seem just to disappear in a black hole.  Huh

I can't tell if I am the only one having this problem or if it is just cgminer - reaper doesn't really work for me, it always tries to use my cpu as well.
What higher difficulty pool is that? On ozcoin difficulty is set to 20 and shares are returned fine and the pool reports the same hashrate. There is a change I do need to make to share difficulty checking as this code is as yet still incomplete so it's entirely possible you have just the right combination of difficulty and pool.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ElectricMucus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540


Drama Junkie


View Profile
July 24, 2012, 05:50:44 AM
 #345

ozcoin is working fine, the most problems are with p2pool which reports something like 20hashes/sec.

But also on coinotron (was working fine before they changes something), 3.6 kh. I Tried ltcmine too which seems to report 27kh instead of 240
trying ltc.kattare.com right now..

seems fine, using it now since ozcoin already seems actively hopped  Angry
I have 20shares/minutes with them if that helps anything. I would really prefer p2pool though with all the ddosing going on.

First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they keep laughing, then they start choking on their laughter, and then they go and catch their breath. Then they start laughing even more.
-ck
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 24, 2012, 08:02:28 AM
 #346

I've updated the target difficulty testing in the git tree. I'm reasonably sure it wasn't working properly before.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
dust
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840



View Profile WWW
July 24, 2012, 08:41:30 AM
 #347

Has anyone gotten decent hashrates with a 5970?

The highest multiple I can set thread-concurrency is 1600. With intensity 11, I get about 130kh/s per gpu.  At intensities 12 and over, the best I can get is 250kh/s from each gpu on the first card the both gpus on the second 5970 get "SICK".

How are you guys able to use such high thread-concurrency settings?

Cryptocoin Mining Info | OTC | PGP | Twitter | freenode: dust-otc | BTC: 1F6fV4U2xnpAuKtmQD6BWpK3EuRosKzF8U
-ck
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 24, 2012, 08:46:41 AM
 #348

Has anyone gotten decent hashrates with a 5970?

The highest multiple I can set thread-concurrency is 1600. With intensity 11, I get about 130kh/s per gpu.  At intensities 12 and over, the best I can get is 250kh/s from each gpu on the first card the both gpus on the second 5970 get "SICK".

How are you guys able to use such high thread-concurrency settings?
Your system ram matters as well as your OS with this.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 24, 2012, 08:47:23 AM
 #349

I've updated the target difficulty testing in the git tree. I'm reasonably sure it wasn't working properly before.
tested on coinotron works fine now

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
penek
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 767



View Profile
July 24, 2012, 09:05:09 AM
 #350

I've updated the target difficulty testing in the git tree. I'm reasonably sure it wasn't working properly before.
tested on coinotron works fine now
what internal difficulty on coinontron?
with internal difficulty 256 dont work on intensivity >10 on old and updated git's

Tittiez
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686



View Profile
July 24, 2012, 09:16:55 AM
 #351

I've updated the target difficulty testing in the git tree. I'm reasonably sure it wasn't working properly before.

win32: http://www.mediafire.com/?0ue7860yv89o05y  Wink
ElectricMucus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540


Drama Junkie


View Profile
July 24, 2012, 09:21:01 AM
 #352

I've updated the target difficulty testing in the git tree. I'm reasonably sure it wasn't working properly before.

win32: http://www.mediafire.com/?0ue7860yv89o05y  Wink
thanks alot Smiley

on a somewhat related issue: can I nail you some time on getting a mingw gcc environment capable of compiling btc and ltc running?

First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they keep laughing, then they start choking on their laughter, and then they go and catch their breath. Then they start laughing even more.
-ck
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 24, 2012, 09:38:56 AM
 #353

I've updated the target difficulty testing in the git tree. I'm reasonably sure it wasn't working properly before.
tested on coinotron works fine now
what internal difficulty on coinontron?
with internal difficulty 256 dont work on intensivity >10 on old and updated git's
I assume you read my long post about intensity, maximum buffer size, valid shares, trampled memory, thread concurrency and so on? I mined for half hour on coinotron and it returned valid shares for that half hour and coinotron reported back the same rate I was hashing at.

coinotron difficulty is
"target": "000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000000c0cc0c0000"
default is
0xffff

Edit: There is an upper limit to difficulty it will accept, but that's only relevant to solo mining magnitudes, and then it will safely submit more attempts at solving it than necessary, not the other way around, so you should never miss a share unless you screw up your tc/lg settings making for invalid work.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
penek
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 767



View Profile
July 24, 2012, 10:36:08 AM
 #354

I assume you read my long post about intensity, maximum buffer size, valid shares, trampled memory, thread concurrency and so on? I mined for half hour on coinotron and it returned valid shares for that half hour and coinotron reported back the same rate I was hashing at.

I readed that post

but I don't undestend why:

cgminer with Nvidia GF 560 OC (--scrypt --lookup-gap 2 --thread-concurrency 8192 -w 256 -g 1 -I 20) say
 [2012-07-23 21:48:33] Maximum buffer memory device 0 supports says 268353536, your scrypt settings come to 536870912
but continues work

but with ATI 6930 and 6870 (--scrypt -I 10 -w 256 --lookup-gap 2 --thread-concurrency 4096 -g 2) with the same message
 [2012-07-23 21:58:43] Maximum buffer memory device 0 supports says 134217728, your scrypt settings come to 268435456
says the following
 [2012-07-23 21:58:43] Error -61: clCreateBuffer (padbuffer8), decrease CT or increase LG
 [2012-07-23 21:58:43] Failed to init GPU thread 0, disabling device 0

-ck
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 24, 2012, 10:39:02 AM
 #355

I assume you read my long post about intensity, maximum buffer size, valid shares, trampled memory, thread concurrency and so on? I mined for half hour on coinotron and it returned valid shares for that half hour and coinotron reported back the same rate I was hashing at.

I readed that post

but I don't undestend why:

cgminer with Nvidia GF 560 OC (--scrypt --lookup-gap 2 --thread-concurrency 8192 -w 256 -g 1 -I 20) say
 [2012-07-23 21:48:33] Maximum buffer memory device 0 supports says 268353536, your scrypt settings come to 536870912
but continues work

but with ATI 6930 and 6870 (--scrypt -I 10 -w 256 --lookup-gap 2 --thread-concurrency 4096 -g 2) with the same message
 [2012-07-23 21:58:43] Maximum buffer memory device 0 supports says 134217728, your scrypt settings come to 268435456
says the following
 [2012-07-23 21:58:43] Error -61: clCreateBuffer (padbuffer8), decrease CT or increase LG
 [2012-07-23 21:58:43] Failed to init GPU thread 0, disabling device 0
1. it reports you are over the limit and the device merrily goes away trashing data
2. it reports you are over the limit and you try to set it over that limit and the device just refuses

Devices respond differently to different invalid values. That's why it's a warning.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 24, 2012, 11:08:05 AM
 #356

Added the --shaders option now
- Make the thread concurrency and lookup gap options hidden on the command line and autotune parameters with a newly parsed --shaders option.

So you should only need to try --shaders and -I now. Note that any intensity above 13 is a gamble and highly dependent on hardware/software combination as to whether it's better, so -I 13 is a good start.

Here's the table again:
Code:
GPU  Processing Elements
7750 512
7770 640
7850 1024
7870 1280
7950 1792
7970 2048

6850 960
6870 1120
6950 1408
6970 1536
6990 (6970x2)

6570 480
6670 480
6790 800

6450 160

5670 400
5750 720
5770 800
5830 1120
5850 1440
5870 1600
5970 (5870x2)

And for those who need me to spell it out, let's say you have a 5830, try this first:
--shaders 1120 -I 13

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Greedi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


LitecoinTalk


View Profile WWW
July 24, 2012, 03:47:59 PM
 #357

any body else having troubles running cgminer on p2pool?

LitecoinTalk - Sign up today!
Try out LTC-Aarade!
Buy Shares!
penek
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 767



View Profile
July 24, 2012, 04:28:55 PM
 #358

Added the --shaders option now

More better, more effectively

Mobius
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 957



View Profile
July 24, 2012, 04:48:33 PM
 #359

Here is a more detailed breakdown of the most common AMD/ATI Based mining cards with their shader/processor count:
Look up your card, and then in the "Clock rate" column, your "Core (MHz)" and the corresponding processors/shaders is the first # in column "Config core"

Some cards have the same model numbers yet they differ in their shader/processor count

HD 5xxx https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_AMD_graphics_processing_units#Evergreen_series_.28HD_5xxx.29

HD 6xxx https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_AMD_graphics_processing_units#Northern_Islands_.28HD_6xxx.29_series

HD 7xxx https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comparison_of_AMD_graphics_processing_units#Southern_Islands_.28HD_7xxx.29_series

Zoiner
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74



View Profile
July 24, 2012, 06:10:03 PM
 #360

any body else having troubles running cgminer on p2pool?
  Fixed as of version f98774c

https://vircurex.com/welcome/index?referral_id=648-281
The QR code in my picture is not me but a worthwhile software.
LWwhT53CdLsSaenoMy2AqhwsxL5MMFmwWY
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!