Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 08:37:02 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 »
  Print  
Author Topic: ATTN Litecoin GPU Miners - Scrypt support for cgminer  (Read 169194 times)
sgravina
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 442



View Profile
July 30, 2012, 01:15:05 AM
 #561

Update your sdk, and note that cgminer 2.6.0 is broken

Thanks for the advice.  I'm running Ubuntu 11.04.  I have:

   ati-driver-installer-11-6-x86.x86_64.run,
   AMD-APP-SDK-v2.5-lnx64.tgz

installed.  Which of those should I update?

I once updated Ubuntu to 12.04 and didn't like it because the newer ati driver that came with it made miner less efficient.  So I reinstalled Ubuntu 11.04.  Is Ubuntu 12.04 needed?  Is it safe?

I don't want to disable a perfectly good bitcoin miner for litecoins.

Sam
1480970222
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480970222

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480970222
Reply with quote  #2

1480970222
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480970222
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480970222

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480970222
Reply with quote  #2

1480970222
Report to moderator
1480970222
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480970222

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480970222
Reply with quote  #2

1480970222
Report to moderator
1480970222
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480970222

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480970222
Reply with quote  #2

1480970222
Report to moderator
-ck
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 30, 2012, 01:17:24 AM
 #562

Update your sdk, and note that cgminer 2.6.0 is broken

Thanks for the advice.  I'm running Ubuntu 11.04.  I have:

   ati-driver-installer-11-6-x86.x86_64.run,
   AMD-APP-SDK-v2.5-lnx64.tgz

installed.  Which of those should I update?

I once updated Ubuntu to 12.04 and didn't like it because the newer ati driver that came with it made miner less efficient.  So I reinstalled Ubuntu 11.04.  Is Ubuntu 12.04 needed?  Is it safe?

I don't want to disable a perfectly good bitcoin miner for litecoins.

Sam
Litecoin mining is not for the faint of heart. You need to be willing to break things and crash lots trying to get it working. You don't sound ready.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
sgravina
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 442



View Profile
July 30, 2012, 01:22:36 AM
 #563

Quote
Litecoin mining is not for the faint of heart. You need to be willing to break things and crash lots trying to get it working. You don't sound ready.

That's for sure.  Last thing I want to do is see a stuff crash.   I'm a slow adopter.  Let me know when it works.

But tell me.  Should I move to a new version of the graphics driver or SDK?  Is there any reason to, now or soon.  Do the new drivers work better?  Almost all of my 31 cards are 5870's.

Sam
Bigal
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 204



View Profile
July 30, 2012, 02:18:32 AM
 #564

Update your sdk, and note that cgminer 2.6.0 is broken

Thanks for the advice.  I'm running Ubuntu 11.04.  I have:

   ati-driver-installer-11-6-x86.x86_64.run,
   AMD-APP-SDK-v2.5-lnx64.tgz

installed.  Which of those should I update?

I once updated Ubuntu to 12.04 and didn't like it because the newer ati driver that came with it made miner less efficient.  So I reinstalled Ubuntu 11.04.  Is Ubuntu 12.04 needed?  Is it safe?

I don't want to disable a perfectly good bitcoin miner for litecoins.

Sam

I could not get it to run properly under 11.04, so I just loaded 12.04 onto another flash drive and installed the 12.6 driver and everything works great and I still have my headless bitcoin usb stick if I want to mine btc, now if I could just figure out how to get past the required keystroke at the first loading screen to make it a headless ltc miner, that one has me stumped.

The Small Time Miner Pools   CryptoCoin Ticker   BTC 1EHV2BY8JcvpBqnMqq5BSkbZvFHT7ndpnz    LTC  LaBigaLvm7L8XT5urnwJW5MpoArBAjsk2X
Bigal
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 204



View Profile
July 30, 2012, 05:21:42 AM
 #565

Ok I figured out how to get past the prompt on a live usb install of Ubuntu 12.04, in case anybody is wondering

go to the root /cdrom/syslinux/syslinux.cfg file

replace the contents with this

default live
label live
say Booting Ubuntu Live session...
kernel /casper/vmlinuz
append noprompt cdrom-detect/try-usb=true persistent file=/cdrom/preseed/ubuntu.seed boot=casper initrd=/casper/initrd.lz quiet splash noprompt --

Boots straight to the desktop with no prompts needed and my drivers and files all still there and work.

The Small Time Miner Pools   CryptoCoin Ticker   BTC 1EHV2BY8JcvpBqnMqq5BSkbZvFHT7ndpnz    LTC  LaBigaLvm7L8XT5urnwJW5MpoArBAjsk2X
VelvetLeaf
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
July 30, 2012, 04:49:19 PM
 #566

I'm using 2x5970, with cgminer and this parameter :
--scrypt --thread-concurrency 6144 --intensity 16 --lookup-gap 2 --gpu-memclock 1100 --auto-fan --temp-target 75
AMD Driver 11.12
Windows 7

Got display driver not responding.
Tried it again and cgminer restarted my computer.
It's working fine on reaper, parameters that I use in reaper :

worksize 256
aggression 16
threads_per_gpu 1
sharethreads 18
lookup_gap 2
gpu_thread_concurrency 6144

BTC : 1GN81dxzxyFPQsyAtdocXr5S9Mcg4wcfFG
LTC : LgmYvXsYXc4xdjsMKXJWqtagxVvioK6iaw
FC : 6dpSnKMtttUUYzaRu1EB7Lu18PBRVHU3V7
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
July 30, 2012, 05:30:34 PM
 #567

I'm using 2x5970, with cgminer and this parameter :
--scrypt --thread-concurrency 6144 --intensity 16 --lookup-gap 2 --gpu-memclock 1100 --auto-fan --temp-target 75
AMD Driver 11.12
Windows 7

Got display driver not responding.
Tried it again and cgminer restarted my computer.
It's working fine on reaper, parameters that I use in reaper :

worksize 256
aggression 16
threads_per_gpu 1
sharethreads 18
lookup_gap 2
gpu_thread_concurrency 6144


Try intensity 13
VelvetLeaf
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
July 30, 2012, 07:24:42 PM
 #568

I'm using 2x5970, with cgminer and this parameter :
--scrypt --thread-concurrency 6144 --intensity 16 --lookup-gap 2 --gpu-memclock 1100 --auto-fan --temp-target 75
AMD Driver 11.12
Windows 7

Got display driver not responding.
Tried it again and cgminer restarted my computer.
It's working fine on reaper, parameters that I use in reaper :

worksize 256
aggression 16
threads_per_gpu 1
sharethreads 18
lookup_gap 2
gpu_thread_concurrency 6144


Try intensity 13

Not crashing this once, but got 30 kH/s instead

BTC : 1GN81dxzxyFPQsyAtdocXr5S9Mcg4wcfFG
LTC : LgmYvXsYXc4xdjsMKXJWqtagxVvioK6iaw
FC : 6dpSnKMtttUUYzaRu1EB7Lu18PBRVHU3V7
Tittiez
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686



View Profile
July 30, 2012, 09:52:50 PM
 #569

I'm using 2x5970, with cgminer and this parameter :
--scrypt --thread-concurrency 6144 --intensity 16 --lookup-gap 2 --gpu-memclock 1100 --auto-fan --temp-target 75
AMD Driver 11.12
Windows 7

Got display driver not responding.
Tried it again and cgminer restarted my computer.
It's working fine on reaper, parameters that I use in reaper :

worksize 256
aggression 16
threads_per_gpu 1
sharethreads 18
lookup_gap 2
gpu_thread_concurrency 6144


Try intensity 13

Not crashing this once, but got 30 kH/s instead

That means the settings aren't at best. Play with it, try lower concurrencys and higher ones. The settings won't be the same as reaper. Try other worksizes.
bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
July 30, 2012, 11:28:51 PM
 #570

I am extremely happy with the auto-tune.

With only having to specify --shaders/Intensity and having the rest done seems to have each of my cards running at their best.

It's also nice to be running CGMiner again, as Reaper was a pile o'crap in comparison. I never realized how much garbage I was submitting when solo mining.
My luck has greatly improved now, as the blocks are rollin' in even better than before.

Thanks Con. Great Job.

-ck
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 30, 2012, 11:33:44 PM
 #571

I am extremely happy with the auto-tune.

With only having to specify --shaders/Intensity and having the rest done seems to have each of my cards running at their best.

It's also nice to be running CGMiner again, as Reaper was a pile o'crap in comparison. I never realized how much garbage I was submitting when solo mining.
My luck has greatly improved now, as the blocks are rollin' in even better than before.

Thanks Con. Great Job.
You're most welcome. I wish I could have made it better at getting the settings right itself, but the nature of the tuning with different GPUs, different system RAM and different OSs just doesn't lend itself to anything meaningful. I'm very aware of how much grief this will give us all on the forums as new people try litecoin mining and ask the same questions and run into the same problems over and over, which is why I wrote a fairly extensive readme to get them started. However I know hardly anyone reads documentation...

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
July 30, 2012, 11:38:56 PM
 #572

I am extremely happy with the auto-tune.

With only having to specify --shaders/Intensity and having the rest done seems to have each of my cards running at their best.

It's also nice to be running CGMiner again, as Reaper was a pile o'crap in comparison. I never realized how much garbage I was submitting when solo mining.
My luck has greatly improved now, as the blocks are rollin' in even better than before.

Thanks Con. Great Job.
You're most welcome. I wish I could have made it better at getting the settings right itself, but the nature of the tuning with different GPUs, different system RAM and different OSs just doesn't lend itself to anything meaningful. I'm very aware of how much grief this will give us all on the forums as new people try litecoin mining and ask the same questions and run into the same problems over and over, which is why I wrote a fairly extensive readme to get them started. However I know hardly anyone reads documentation...

Well, I am running 5770s, 5830s, a lone 6950 and a bunch of 7970s and can summarize by saying that although the few lower end cards may be just-on-par, or perhaps slightly under... the 6 & 7xxx series cards MORE than make up for them.

Again, thanks.

12gaFacelift
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 277



View Profile
July 31, 2012, 07:21:26 PM
 #573

solo mining : No suitable long-pool found for pool http://192.168.0.100:9332

¤¿¤

Never argue with idiots, they just drag you down to their level then beat you with experience. ~ *CANADA ONLY* Colloidal Silver Wire Rod - 12 Gauge Pure Silver .9999 - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=775964.0

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=731923.0
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1323657.0
OtaconEmmerich
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237



View Profile
July 31, 2012, 08:46:31 PM
 #574

Just got BACK into BTC/LTC mining this month, Thanks for the awesome update. It's nice to use cgminer for nearly everything now.
Currently using this for my 5850 at stock settings.
cgminer --scrypt --worksize 256 --lookup-gap 2 --thread-concurrency 7200 -g 1 -I 18 -o http://ltc.xurious.com:9332/ -u LVSJjJqViv6Y7GmXUFqJK33pbhkG75LZji -p GPU
Any advice on overclocking? Is it worth using 20 Intensity? Should I really be using 13 Intensity on Windows?
-ck
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
July 31, 2012, 08:54:21 PM
 #575

solo mining : No suitable long-pool found for pool http://192.168.0.100:9332

¤¿¤
Right. Your litecoind doesn't have such a thing as longpoll. Only pools do. Set up a pool as a backup and cgminer will use your pool longpoll to help your solo mining Wink

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
12gaFacelift
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 277



View Profile
July 31, 2012, 09:01:48 PM
 #576

yeah thx, i was reading about it on bitcoin then i have made some change in cgminer.conf with 1 solo + 3 mining pool as backup....same conf as for bitcoin. Thx again

¤¿¤

Never argue with idiots, they just drag you down to their level then beat you with experience. ~ *CANADA ONLY* Colloidal Silver Wire Rod - 12 Gauge Pure Silver .9999 - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=775964.0

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=731923.0
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1323657.0
bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
July 31, 2012, 09:05:43 PM
 #577

solo mining : No suitable long-pool found for pool http://192.168.0.100:9332

¤¿¤

Another way to take advantage of CGMiner's MANY features is to add multiple pools, or even a single secondary pool when solo mining, as CGMiner will take it's Long Polling queue from a backup pool in your config and apply it to solo mining from BitcoinD.

...just a thought, not that it really matters for solo mining though.

Tittiez
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686



View Profile
August 01, 2012, 05:46:08 AM
 #578

Quote
GPU Mining: CGMiner


Step 1 -  Downloading the Miner
___________________________________________________________________

Windows users, you can grab the windows build of cgminer from here. Compiled by me of course <3

If you would feel more comfortable building it yourself, I understand. Download the latest of the git tree and follow the instructions in the included windows-build.txt file.


If you downloaded the prebuild binarys, please extract it somewhere. Your desktop maybe? It doesn't matter.

Step 2 - Making A .bat File
___________________________________________________________________

Go into your new cgminer folder, right click in an empty white space, go to New -------> and click Text Document. Open the new file you made.
Click on File, and click on Save As. A new window will open, asking you where to save and what to name it as. You should still be in your cgminer folder.

Make sure you add .bat to the end of the file name, and change the "Text Documents" to All Files.

Once your settings match the above, click save. It should create a .bat file. If it doesn't then you did something wrong.


Step 3 - Configurating - Setting Up A Pool
___________________________________________________________________

Now we can move onto the hard part. We have to configure cgminer, so lets start with the basics, lets set the pool up. Any pool will work as long as you have the username and password correct.

If you would rather use another pool you can find others on the mining pools wiki page.


cgminer --scrypt -o http://notroll.in:6332 -u Username.1 -p 12345


cgminer - That is telling the bat file that you want to execute cgminer, and whatever follows it as the configuration.


--scrypt - Telling cgminer to mine scrypt.


-o http://notroll.in:6332 - This is telling cgminer that the pool you want to connect to is http://notroll.in:6332, notice how it includes the port at the end.


-u Username.1 - This tells cgminer what username you want to log onto the pool with. Username should be replaced with your username/worker on the pool. The .1, that is the worker. By default on a lot of pools the default worker is .1, that is why I have it here.


-p x - Another pool setting for cgminer, this simply sets the password. The password is usually defined on the workers page of a pool. It is usually x or 1 by default.


So, now I have to tell you that was the easy part. The next part I can't really help you all that much, it mostly depends on you to figure it out yourself if it doesn't work correctly.


Step 4 - Configurating - Finding the Right Settings
___________________________________________________________________

Recommended to set (And kinda sorta required):

cgminer --scrypt -o http://notroll.in:6332 -u Username.1 -p x --shaders #### --intensity ## --worksize ### -g #


A lot. Yeah. Let me break it down one at a time.


--shaders #### - This tries to choose the best settings for mining scrypt on your graphics cards. It does mathy witchcraft stuff to chooses the best settings for your gpu based on your shaders.

To find the best number for this, look at the table in this post, find your gpu and set this setting as the number of shaders your card has.


--intensity ## - This sets the "intensity" of the gpu scanning. A high number is good for dedicated miners, a lower mining should be used if you plan on using your desktop. Most cards do well at 12 for desktop usage and 13+ for dedicated mining.


--worksize ### - Tweaking this can improve your performance.
Try 256, 128, or 64. Larger doesn't equal better sometimes.


-g # - Sets the threads per gpu. You usually want to keep this at 1


Some notes:
- For multible gpu setups, you can use commas to control both cards. Say you have two cards and one does better at worksize 128 and another at 256, just set --worksize 128,256 in the order of your gpus.

- You may not get the results you expect. I suggest you search or browse the scrypt cgminer thread for other users optimal settings.

Just cross-posting from another thread. Obviously this is a windows guide.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 01, 2012, 06:44:13 AM
 #579

There is already a windows build from ckolivas, why would someone download a windows version from somewhere else?

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
ehmdjii
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


View Profile
August 01, 2012, 07:12:57 AM
 #580

so if i am not mistaken the main difference between LTC and BTC was the fact that LTC was targeted at CPU mining only.

now that you can mine it on GPU, arent both currencies basically the same? making one redundant?

BTC: 1LsD5HpnX1Kfyti7CnHiVB1rjUEXGqmR2H
LTC: LQbpdMZmYyJa9bJG6NweBNxkSTfgZorkrG
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!