Bitcoin Forum
August 20, 2019, 12:00:53 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 [146] 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 ... 487 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Sia - Decentralized Storage  (Read 1340330 times)
MinermanNC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2016
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 14, 2016, 12:36:58 PM
 #2901

Wow this is great news for the development of Sia  Smiley I had not heard of this. New investments are always good and a sign of true progress!

*BTC: 1DiR25SPo84sThzTATr27EZEQZLt6hv6tG
1566259253
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1566259253

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1566259253
Reply with quote  #2

1566259253
Report to moderator
1566259253
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1566259253

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1566259253
Reply with quote  #2

1566259253
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1566259253
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1566259253

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1566259253
Reply with quote  #2

1566259253
Report to moderator
MonsterZeroPrice
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100



View Profile
February 14, 2016, 01:02:03 PM
 #2902

I heard that many SIA platform users providing hdd space complain about not receiving their reward.

You argue that they get no reward if their uptime is below 100%. That is not right because everyone has problems with their online provider which cause downtime many times.  This is not the SIA users' fault.

You shoud think of changing that as soon as possible. Further I see no success of SIA because downtime of a decentralized structure will always be a problem because of the telecommunication companies.
Vega
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 739
Merit: 500



View Profile
February 14, 2016, 01:11:36 PM
 #2903

I heard that many SIA platform users providing hdd space complain about not receiving their reward.
Wow, your trust rating is well earned.

economist2000
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 146
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 14, 2016, 02:12:17 PM
 #2904

Try this:

1. Backup everything (you've done that already I think)
2. Copy the 0.3.3.3 Sia\resources\app\Sia\wallet directory to the same directory of the 0.5.1 beta version
3. Restart the wallet
4. If it asks for a password this time, enter your seed password

This is not scientific. It's the procedure I went through to move my sia install to c:\ as I wasn't prepared to touch the version in the wrong directory until I confirmed that the new location was working. I performed a brand new installation and then copied over the existing wallet directory and consensus.db. It worked for me so it might work for you.

I'm just thinking that with the typical QT wallet, moving the wallet file is what's important for keeping your addresses and balance. That's why I followed my procedure above
Steps 1-4 I did before as written here for the first time. It does not work, since wallets 0.3.3.3 and 0.5.1 have different formats.
Wallet 0.5.1 ignores wallet files 0.3.3.3, as if they were not there. Then already I read about imports, but imports did not help.
numismatist
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1213
Merit: 1001



View Profile
February 14, 2016, 02:36:54 PM
 #2905

I heard that many SIA platform users providing hdd space complain about not receiving their reward.

You argue that they get no reward if their uptime is below 100%. That is not right because everyone has problems with their online provider which cause downtime many times.  This is not the SIA users' fault.

You shoud think of changing that as soon as possible. Further I see no success of SIA because downtime of a decentralized structure will always be a problem because of the telecommunication companies.

Hence the redundance in storage places. Next great idea would be downtime tolerance, so retrying to contact host for payments several times and then sending revard according to uptime percentage recordable. 50% downtimes detected ... 1/2 reward. More uptime reliability, more rewards. Who manages like 90% (privateer, desktop) should be eligible for recieving full rewards.

l8orre
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1066
Merit: 1002


View Profile
February 14, 2016, 03:48:25 PM
 #2906


I am just synching wallet on ubuntu 15.04 with
Sia UI version: v0.5.1-beta
Sia version: 0.5.1

currently, I am at block 22690, and it has been going since a cpl hours - how mayn blocks are there currently?

Will it be better to DL a blockchian and use that?
MinermanNC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2016
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 14, 2016, 04:33:55 PM
 #2907


I am just synching wallet on ubuntu 15.04 with
Sia UI version: v0.5.1-beta
Sia version: 0.5.1

currently, I am at block 22690, and it has been going since a cpl hours - how mayn blocks are there currently?

Will it be better to DL a blockchian and use that?

http://explore.sia.tech/

*BTC: 1DiR25SPo84sThzTATr27EZEQZLt6hv6tG
kidyubyub
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 439
Merit: 250


http://taas.fund


View Profile
February 14, 2016, 04:59:06 PM
 #2908

Mining from wallet, is the GPU memory minimum 2GB? Thanks in advance for any advice.

Can anyone answer this? If its 2GB minimum, I will order a new card. Right now when I start mining, it starts and then promptly stops.

██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████
██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████
██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████
██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████
██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████
███████████
███     ██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████
███
███████████     ██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████
███
███████████     ██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████
██████████████     ███████████
███     ██████████████     ██████████████
██████████████     ███████████
███     ██████████████     ██████████████

T O K E N  -  A S  -  A  -  S E R V I C E

████
████
████
████
██ ░ ██
██ ░ ██
██ ░ ██
████
████
████
████

████
████
████
████
██ ░ ██
██ ░ ██
██ ░ ██
████
████
████
████
MinermanNC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2016
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 14, 2016, 08:32:33 PM
 #2909

Mining from wallet, is the GPU memory minimum 2GB? Thanks in advance for any advice.

Can anyone answer this? If its 2GB minimum, I will order a new card. Right now when I start mining, it starts and then promptly stops.
Not real sure as I have always mined with 2 GB or more cards, so maybe?,,,,, out of curiosity what are you trying to mine with?

*BTC: 1DiR25SPo84sThzTATr27EZEQZLt6hv6tG
kidyubyub
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 439
Merit: 250


http://taas.fund


View Profile
February 15, 2016, 01:49:40 AM
 #2910

Mining from wallet, is the GPU memory minimum 2GB? Thanks in advance for any advice.

Can anyone answer this? If its 2GB minimum, I will order a new card. Right now when I start mining, it starts and then promptly stops.
Not real sure as I have always mined with 2 GB or more cards, so maybe?,,,,, out of curiosity what are you trying to mine with?

All I have right now is an old ATI 5850 1GB, but in market for newer card. Just wanted to get started mining until I got new card. I think I may need a 2GB card. I know ETH needs at least 2GB. Must be same for SIA.

██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████
██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████
██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████
██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████
██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████
███████████
███     ██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████
███
███████████     ██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████
███
███████████     ██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████
██████████████     ███████████
███     ██████████████     ██████████████
██████████████     ███████████
███     ██████████████     ██████████████

T O K E N  -  A S  -  A  -  S E R V I C E

████
████
████
████
██ ░ ██
██ ░ ██
██ ░ ██
████
████
████
████

████
████
████
████
██ ░ ██
██ ░ ██
██ ░ ██
████
████
████
████
Tobo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 763
Merit: 500


View Profile
February 15, 2016, 01:58:32 AM
 #2911

I heard that many SIA platform users providing hdd space complain about not receiving their reward.
You argue that they get no reward if their uptime is below 100%. That is not right because everyone has problems with their online provider which cause downtime many times.  This is not the SIA users' fault.
You shoud think of changing that as soon as possible. Further I see no success of SIA because downtime of a decentralized structure will always be a problem because of the telecommunication companies.

I don't think many people complain about not receiving their rewards. Some time some hosts asked questions regarding when they would receive the rewards when they had not seen the rewards showing up before the reward payoff time. I think they always receive the rewards in the end of the the contract period.

Also the hosts will receive their rewards if their up-time is below 100%. Sia does not required 100% up-time. I think the recommend up-time is 95%. But I think lower than that is still fine. If you have questions regarding that you can ask the devs either here or on the Slack. You can get quicker relies on the Slack.
MinermanNC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2016
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 15, 2016, 03:11:32 AM
 #2912

Mining from wallet, is the GPU memory minimum 2GB? Thanks in advance for any advice.

Can anyone answer this? If its 2GB minimum, I will order a new card. Right now when I start mining, it starts and then promptly stops.
Not real sure as I have always mined with 2 GB or more cards, so maybe?,,,,, out of curiosity what are you trying to mine with?

All I have right now is an old ATI 5850 1GB, but in market for newer card. Just wanted to get started mining until I got new card. I think I may need a 2GB card. I know ETH needs at least 2GB. Must be same for SIA.
I went back through some of my older post and I did mine with a couple of 7790's at one point and they did work/hash and are 1 GB cards.
 
Seems there may be something about the older cards like even the 6870's I have, seems they would not mine. I know the cores changed with the Radeon 7790's on up. So it may be the design of the GPU... Ill keep digging lol

*BTC: 1DiR25SPo84sThzTATr27EZEQZLt6hv6tG
kidyubyub
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 439
Merit: 250


http://taas.fund


View Profile
February 15, 2016, 05:08:51 AM
 #2913

Mining from wallet, is the GPU memory minimum 2GB? Thanks in advance for any advice.

Can anyone answer this? If its 2GB minimum, I will order a new card. Right now when I start mining, it starts and then promptly stops.
Not real sure as I have always mined with 2 GB or more cards, so maybe?,,,,, out of curiosity what are you trying to mine with?

All I have right now is an old ATI 5850 1GB, but in market for newer card. Just wanted to get started mining until I got new card. I think I may need a 2GB card. I know ETH needs at least 2GB. Must be same for SIA.
I went back through some of my older post and I did mine with a couple of 7790's at one point and they did work/hash and are 1 GB cards.
 
Seems there may be something about the older cards like even the 6870's I have, seems they would not mine. I know the cores changed with the Radeon 7790's on up. So it may be the design of the GPU... Ill keep digging lol

Awesome! Thank you so much for all of your help. It is greatly appreciated!

██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████
██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████
██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████
██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████
██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████
███████████
███     ██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████
███
███████████     ██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████
███
███████████     ██████████████     ██████████████     ██████████████
██████████████     ███████████
███     ██████████████     ██████████████
██████████████     ███████████
███     ██████████████     ██████████████

T O K E N  -  A S  -  A  -  S E R V I C E

████
████
████
████
██ ░ ██
██ ░ ██
██ ░ ██
████
████
████
████

████
████
████
████
██ ░ ██
██ ░ ██
██ ░ ██
████
████
████
████
bitspill
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918
Merit: 1012



View Profile
February 15, 2016, 05:26:47 AM
 #2914

When you say export to 0.5.1 do you mean click the "Import Legacy Wallet" button from in the 0.5.1 UI?

It's not explained the most clearly so this has led to some confusion and I have not done this myself. rather I'm only stating it from memory after seeing it in Slack...

1) Firstly backup everything.
2) If you haven't already initialize a new wallet in the 0.5.1 UI, it will give you a password/seed
2.5) Backup the new wallet/password/seed
3) Click Import Legacy Wallet, from 0.5.1 and select the old wallet file
4) Enter the password from step 2
5) Close and re open the UI
6) Profit???
1. +
2. +
2.5. +
3. + - from 0.3.3.3
4. - The password is not requested, balance = 0
5. +
6. Balance = 0

So, I can forget about your coins?


There's plenty of people who have this working fine, you're doing something wrong and not putting much effort into these replies to fix it other than apparently trying to trash the coin. If you are serious about this join Slack where someone will walk you through it step by step.

Like in step 3, what do you mean "+ - from 0.3.3.3"? How does that help us help you?

{ BitSpill }
l8orre
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1066
Merit: 1002


View Profile
February 15, 2016, 06:16:41 AM
 #2915

my Blockchain seems to be stuck at 34820 - what can I do?

and where are the Blockchain and the wallet files located on ubuntu?
Thanks!
bitspill
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918
Merit: 1012



View Profile
February 15, 2016, 06:53:52 AM
 #2916

my Blockchain seems to be stuck at 34820 - what can I do?

Unfortunately not much other than wait. It's a known issue and the network gateway system was overhauled for the next release which should make syncing a much smoother process.


Quote
and where are the Blockchain and the wallet files located on ubuntu?
Thanks!

They are within folders titled "consensus/consesus.db" and "wallet/wallet.json" respectively. The path to those folders depends on how you launched Sia, if you launch 'siad' they should be in the same folder, if you launched 'sia-ui' they should be under '/resources/app/Sia'

{ BitSpill }
l8orre
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1066
Merit: 1002


View Profile
February 15, 2016, 08:02:22 AM
 #2917

my Blockchain seems to be stuck at 34820 - what can I do?

Unfortunately not much other than wait. It's a known issue and the network gateway system was overhauled for the next release which should make syncing a much smoother process.


Quote
and where are the Blockchain and the wallet files located on ubuntu?
Thanks!

They are within folders titled "consensus/consesus.db" and "wallet/wallet.json" respectively. The path to those folders depends on how you launched Sia, if you launch 'siad' they should be in the same folder, if you launched 'sia-ui' they should be under '/resources/app/Sia'

yes I see- I am now up to 34970 Blocks, so it will get there.

consensus.db is ~580MB.

Interesting to see the unusual wallet.json format - is there a link to an explanation of that wallet format?
Just curious, I don't really need to know this right now..
redjedievolution
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1044
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 15, 2016, 11:14:10 AM
 #2918

Hi.

Anyone could tell me how much coins are producing SIA each day?

All is an illusion, there is only energy flowing
pallas
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100
Merit: 1087


Black Belt Developer


View Profile
February 15, 2016, 04:18:24 PM
 #2919

Mining from wallet, is the GPU memory minimum 2GB? Thanks in advance for any advice.

Can anyone answer this? If its 2GB minimum, I will order a new card. Right now when I start mining, it starts and then promptly stops.
Not real sure as I have always mined with 2 GB or more cards, so maybe?,,,,, out of curiosity what are you trying to mine with?

All I have right now is an old ATI 5850 1GB, but in market for newer card. Just wanted to get started mining until I got new card. I think I may need a 2GB card. I know ETH needs at least 2GB. Must be same for SIA.
I went back through some of my older post and I did mine with a couple of 7790's at one point and they did work/hash and are 1 GB cards.
 
Seems there may be something about the older cards like even the 6870's I have, seems they would not mine. I know the cores changed with the Radeon 7790's on up. So it may be the design of the GPU... Ill keep digging lol

The mining algo doesn't use gpu memory (except for passing parameters to the kernel, of course).
I guess you could do with a 256MB card as well.
I see no reason why the miner wouldn't work on a VLIW card like yours (the final OpenCL code is very simple and compact).

l8orre
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1066
Merit: 1002


View Profile
February 15, 2016, 04:20:45 PM
 #2920


yeah so my wallet blockchain has synch'ed- took about 12 hrs or so.

I have a wallet password and a bunch of addresse in the wallet- is there a 'dumpprivkey' as in bitcoin where I can store it independently of the wallet file?
Or do I have to preserve the wallet file?
Pages: « 1 ... 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 [146] 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 ... 487 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!