Bitcoin Forum
September 25, 2018, 08:18:22 PM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 [304] 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitmain's Released Antminer S9, World's First 16nm Miner Ready to Order  (Read 506475 times)
rizla.plus
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 1


View Profile
January 18, 2018, 09:59:42 AM
 #6061

I'm not discussing will or won't. Just asking what if it does?

I just said, it would be really really really good for miners elsewhere in the world if the total network hashrate would all of the sudden drop by 70%.

It’s as if a pie that was previously cut into 10 pieces is now cut into 3 pieces, you still get one piece but it’s now a hell of a lot bigger. :-)
1537906702
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537906702

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537906702
Reply with quote  #2

1537906702
Report to moderator
1537906702
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537906702

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537906702
Reply with quote  #2

1537906702
Report to moderator
1537906702
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537906702

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537906702
Reply with quote  #2

1537906702
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537906702
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537906702

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537906702
Reply with quote  #2

1537906702
Report to moderator
1537906702
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537906702

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537906702
Reply with quote  #2

1537906702
Report to moderator
CrypotoCreanis
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 131
Merit: 10

Don’t do a screen name after 4 glasses of Chianti


View Profile
January 18, 2018, 12:52:26 PM
 #6062

FYI, our Dec 20-30 Jan 11-20 order finally shipped.

Same here. Already got the call from ups for my SS info. Expected to be stateside Friday


Customs Fees for 2 to the US $110.25
Megaquake
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 603
Merit: 505


View Profile WWW
January 18, 2018, 10:07:28 PM
 #6063

I just received an S9 late Dec. start using it 31st with no issue till today, I notice fan 1 was saying 0 and the temp went up from 79 to 82c so I carefully removed fan 1 and it was working but not reporting a speed signal, should I replace the fan or let it run?

I have the fan speed manually set to 80%
Druiz287
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58
Merit: 8


View Profile
January 18, 2018, 10:18:49 PM
 #6064

What if hashrate drops? Say China goes down. Or S. Korea. Just for the sake of argument.

It looks like they are already relocating their operations.

It would be really really really good for miners elsewhere in the world if all big mining farms in China would just go “Oh well, we’ve had a good run, lets throw all our S9’s in the bin and close the place down”.

But seriously, these giant mining farms with millions of their dollars locked up in thousands of miners are going to just move their investment and when they do, it will be so quick you won’t even notice it. Miners that are not running are miners that are costing you money so if you move them, you want to make sure you do this as efficiently as possible and you make sure everything is ready on the other side to turn them on as soon as they arrive.

I agree here.  The mining equipment will not be permanently shut down.  At worse, they will be temporarily turned off until they are relocated whether within that company or with new owners.

Edit:  If you buy miners using your company, and you don't expense them right away, I would suggest the double declining method for amortizing your equipment costs if you're worried about difficulty increases and profits diminishing over time, which I also agree is pretty much a given at this point.
lossol
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 18, 2018, 11:03:19 PM
 #6065

I have 2 miners coming from Bitmain and got screwed choosing UPS for $140 shipping.They wouldn't let me choose Fedex and Bitmain said I might not get my miners if I chose DHL. They shipped both my miners together instead of individually like some members said on this forum. Others said UPS only charged them $50 or less to USA. UPS is charging me $277 for customs duties and brokerage fees. I should've went with DHL. Is anyone else getting charged these fees? Which is cheaper with all duties & fees included, DHL or FEdEx?
CrypotoCreanis
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 131
Merit: 10

Don’t do a screen name after 4 glasses of Chianti


View Profile
January 18, 2018, 11:08:41 PM
 #6066

I have 2 miners coming from Bitmain and got screwed choosing UPS for $140 shipping.They wouldn't let me choose Fedex and Bitmain said I might not get my miners if I chose DHL. They shipped both my miners together instead of individually like some members said on this forum. Others said UPS only charged them $50 or less to USA. UPS is charging me $277 for customs duties and brokerage fees. I should've went with DHL. Is anyone else getting charged these fees? Which is cheaper with all duties & fees included, DHL or FEdEx?

The customs and duty fees are the same regardless of what shipper you use. The cost will depend on the value of your shipment. I paid $110 today at ups for 2 $1415 S9’s. The shipping charges are clearly stated before  you checkout.
rizla.plus
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 1


View Profile
January 18, 2018, 11:08:54 PM
 #6067

Edit:  If you buy miners using your company, and you don't expense them right away, I would suggest the double declining method for amortizing your equipment costs if you're worried about difficulty increases and profits diminishing over time, which I also agree is pretty much a given at this point.

Hmmm, that's a hard one, you might be right
You certainly need an accelerated depreciation method simply because mining time lost today is worse than mining time lost tomorrow (because of the increasing total network hashrate & following difficulty).
Normally the double declining balance method assumes faster depreciation in the beginning of the asset's life and slower depreciation near the end to account for lower maintenance costs in the beginning of the asset's life vs. the end, but it could be seen to account for the above as well.
bl1nd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53
Merit: 1


View Profile
January 19, 2018, 12:55:03 AM
 #6068

Hey guys a small question i ordered 6 antminers s9 in the last batch sold i paid using a wire transfer from USA did everything perfect, selected pay all fees, my order status now is PAYING and VALID also it shows what they recieved it shows i sent 14447$ and they recieved 14442$ not my fault since i paid my fees on my side. Am i in the clear? or do i need to pay those 5$ for them to change my order to paid?

PD: First time ordering from bitmain
lossol
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 19, 2018, 01:55:29 AM
 #6069

@CryptoCreanis
That $277 UPS is asking for is for 2 S9 at $1415 also. Customs tax & duty is $98.50 out of the $277; UPS is charging me $178.5 for broker fee.
accssg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 24
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 19, 2018, 02:23:49 AM
 #6070

Hey guys a small question i ordered 6 antminers s9 in the last batch sold i paid using a wire transfer from USA did everything perfect, selected pay all fees, my order status now is PAYING and VALID also it shows what they recieved it shows i sent 14447$ and they recieved 14442$ not my fault since i paid my fees on my side. Am i in the clear? or do i need to pay those 5$ for them to change my order to paid?

PD: First time ordering from bitmain


open a ticket, they give you a bitcoin address to pay the difference. or have a new wire.
If you do not pay, do not send,
CrypotoCreanis
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 131
Merit: 10

Don’t do a screen name after 4 glasses of Chianti


View Profile
January 19, 2018, 02:57:54 AM
 #6071

@CryptoCreanis
That $277 UPS is asking for is for 2 S9 at $1415 also. Customs tax & duty is $98.50 out of the $277; UPS is charging me $178.5 for broker fee.

That’s odd for sure
bl1nd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53
Merit: 1


View Profile
January 19, 2018, 06:36:54 AM
 #6072

Hey guys a small question i ordered 6 antminers s9 in the last batch sold i paid using a wire transfer from USA did everything perfect, selected pay all fees, my order status now is PAYING and VALID also it shows what they recieved it shows i sent 14447$ and they recieved 14442$ not my fault since i paid my fees on my side. Am i in the clear? or do i need to pay those 5$ for them to change my order to paid?

PD: First time ordering from bitmain


open a ticket, they give you a bitcoin address to pay the difference. or have a new wire.
If you do not pay, do not send,

Damnnnn paying 45$ for a 5$ wire that sucks i guess im gonna do it just in case
lossol
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 19, 2018, 09:09:03 AM
 #6073

@CryptoCreanis
UPS doesn't charge you a fee for clearing customs or do you clear the items thru customs yourself?
If I don't pay the fee, they'll probably ship it back to Bitmain.

Has anyone used DHL in the US and not paid an exorbitant fee like UPS is charging me?
lossol
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 75
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 19, 2018, 09:22:37 AM
 #6074

I decided to google customs Broker fees and UPS comes up quite often for price gouging people on international shipping. If they not charging you broker fees, then you're extremely fortunate.
Sandal_Hat
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 420
Merit: 118


View Profile
January 19, 2018, 10:21:27 AM
 #6075

Hey guys a small question i ordered 6 antminers s9 in the last batch sold i paid using a wire transfer from USA did everything perfect, selected pay all fees, my order status now is PAYING and VALID also it shows what they recieved it shows i sent 14447$ and they recieved 14442$ not my fault since i paid my fees on my side. Am i in the clear? or do i need to pay those 5$ for them to change my order to paid?

PD: First time ordering from bitmain


open a ticket, they give you a bitcoin address to pay the difference. or have a new wire.
If you do not pay, do not send,

Damnnnn paying 45$ for a 5$ wire that sucks i guess im gonna do it just in case

Why not juz use bitcoincash. Transaction cost for me was a few cents and in like 10mins lol. Pretty good yes

Selling 100 dollar coupons (8units expire 11th June, 14 units expire 1st july) and 125 dollar coupon (2 unit exp 30th June). Selling at 20% of value
JohnDoe3490
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 102


View Profile
January 19, 2018, 02:40:34 PM
 #6076

Hey guys a small question i ordered 6 antminers s9 in the last batch sold i paid using a wire transfer from USA did everything perfect, selected pay all fees, my order status now is PAYING and VALID also it shows what they recieved it shows i sent 14447$ and they recieved 14442$ not my fault since i paid my fees on my side. Am i in the clear? or do i need to pay those 5$ for them to change my order to paid?

PD: First time ordering from bitmain


open a ticket, they give you a bitcoin address to pay the difference. or have a new wire.
If you do not pay, do not send,

Damnnnn paying 45$ for a 5$ wire that sucks i guess im gonna do it just in case

Why not juz use bitcoincash. Transaction cost for me was a few cents and in like 10mins lol. Pretty good yes

Don't forget the exchange fees. And the time to takes to pull it off.
JonnyRocket
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 19, 2018, 10:21:13 PM
 #6077

Hey guys a small question i ordered 6 antminers s9 in the last batch sold i paid using a wire transfer from USA did everything perfect, selected pay all fees, my order status now is PAYING and VALID also it shows what they recieved it shows i sent 14447$ and they recieved 14442$ not my fault since i paid my fees on my side. Am i in the clear? or do i need to pay those 5$ for them to change my order to paid?

PD: First time ordering from bitmain


open a ticket, they give you a bitcoin address to pay the difference. or have a new wire.
If you do not pay, do not send,

This is 100% false. Bitmain will eat their 5 dollar fee. They did it several times for me last year.
Druiz287
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 58
Merit: 8


View Profile
January 19, 2018, 11:57:14 PM
 #6078

Edit:  If you buy miners using your company, and you don't expense them right away, I would suggest the double declining method for amortizing your equipment costs if you're worried about difficulty increases and profits diminishing over time, which I also agree is pretty much a given at this point.

Hmmm, that's a hard one, you might be right
You certainly need an accelerated depreciation method simply because mining time lost today is worse than mining time lost tomorrow (because of the increasing total network hashrate & following difficulty).
Normally the double declining balance method assumes faster depreciation in the beginning of the asset's life and slower depreciation near the end to account for lower maintenance costs in the beginning of the asset's life vs. the end, but it could be seen to account for the above as well.

I think the only hope we have is that Moore's law continues to prove true for mining equipment.  If hashrates and difficulty is curvilinear, we know for sure that so is processing power according to Moore's law.  So, I will say this: it is no surprise that this far into the product life cycle of the S9 we are looking at these types of predictions. 

Although the expectancy for sustainable levels of profitability is still debatable, what is not debatable is that we will sooner or later hit the point where the S9 generates less BTC (at that moment's BTC/USD rate) than it uses in electricity (at that moment's USD price per kWh).  I believe the point that is trying to made is that if difficulty rises and we hit a point where you spend $300 in electricity per month, but you only mine .025 BTC per month, you are paying the equivalent of $12,000 per BTC.  And if the USD/BTC exchange rate ends up being $11,000, then it doesn't make much sense to keep mining at that price because if you are counting on appreciating of value, you get more buying 1 BTC at the $11,000 rate than .025 at the $12,000 rate (your electricity costs vs the amount of BTC mined).

Hope that doesn't confuse anybody too much.  Let me put this in perspective: at the current difficulty I am currently scoring about .06 BTC per month with my S9 and paying $150 for the electricity to keep it running.  That means the S9 is allowing me to gain BTC at a $2,500 purchasing price.  This is a great deal if the USD/BTC rate stays at $11,000 (Profit ratios are at 440%).  If difficulty rises to where my S9 only generates .01 BTC per month for the same $150 in electricity costs, that same S9 is now allowing me to gain BTC at a $15,000 purchasing price.  This is a terrible deal if the USD/BTC rate stays at $11,000 but if the BTC/USD rate jumps to $25,000 its a great deal again (Profit rations are at 167%).

The only thing this doesn't take into consideration is the purchase price of the equipment and its salvage value at the end of its life, notwithstanding malfunctions or dead equipment.
dapooper
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
January 20, 2018, 12:42:39 AM
 #6079

Hi guys,

Re: Bitmain, what's the ballpark timeline for US wire transfers going from "unpaid" to "paid"?  I've sent the wire and uploaded proof. I can see it in my account.
Today will be the second day after sending proof and it still says "Unpaid". Not freaking out - just wondering what others have experienced as far as wires go.
Btw, i used BofA and it is my first time ordering with them.

Thanks
gs777
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 20, 2018, 06:02:41 AM
 #6080

Hi guys,

Re: Bitmain, what's the ballpark timeline for US wire transfers going from "unpaid" to "paid"?  I've sent the wire and uploaded proof. I can see it in my account.
Today will be the second day after sending proof and it still says "Unpaid". Not freaking out - just wondering what others have experienced as far as wires go.
Btw, i used BofA and it is my first time ordering with them.

Thanks
I have exactly same problem
and already created ticket for their customer support
 Sad
Pages: « 1 ... 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 [304] 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!