Bitcoin Forum
October 16, 2018, 10:55:37 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Poll
Question: Do you want to see improvements in Ethash dual-mining with GGS?
I desperately need it. - 8 (16%)
It would be nice. - 10 (20%)
It's not worth it anymore. - 32 (64%)
Total Voters: 50

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 ... 197 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Gateless Gate Sharp 1.3.8: 30Mh/s (Ethash) on RX 480!  (Read 203552 times)
zawawa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 300


Miner Developer


View Profile
February 06, 2017, 06:03:55 PM
 #561

The ROCm OpenCL  driver doesn't seem to support inline GCN assembly and I have to use HCC after all.
Grrrrrrrrrr...

Yea their OpenCL implementation is pretty barebones...the current release was the first and it was just a developer beta. Will probably be a while before OpenCL matures on that platform.

It makes a perfect sense that AMD's commitment to OpenCL seems half-hearted if AMD wants to promote HCC over OpenCL in a long run. I'm not entirely sure if I want to rewrite the kernel, but their ROCm stuff looks pretty neat...

Yea but HCC does not make much sense for mining algorithms unless you find a speed up by utilizing inter-gpu memory and data sharing between gpu cores on multi gpu systems. Could be interesting to explore for more advanced Algos like ethash and equihash.

Well, the only real reason I would be interested in HCC is that I would be able to use the inline GCN assembly.
If I can convert ROCm (hsaco) binaries into OpenCL binaries, I wouldn't even need HCC.
I am running some experiments, and the results are pretty good so far.
In fact, I am almost done replacing one of the kernels with an LLVM-generated substitute.
It would be such a dirty hack, but, if it works well, who cares?

Gateless Gate Sharp, an open-source ETH/XMR miner: http://bit.ly/2rJ2x4V
BTC: 1BHwDWVerUTiKxhHPf2ubqKKiBMiKQGomZ
1539687337
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539687337

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539687337
Reply with quote  #2

1539687337
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1539687337
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539687337

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539687337
Reply with quote  #2

1539687337
Report to moderator
1539687337
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539687337

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539687337
Reply with quote  #2

1539687337
Report to moderator
1539687337
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539687337

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539687337
Reply with quote  #2

1539687337
Report to moderator
hawkfish007
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 897
Merit: 504


View Profile
February 06, 2017, 06:34:18 PM
 #562

Very nice zawawa, I appreciate that you are doing this for the community. What is the difference between platform 0 and 1, platform 0 seems to get more hash ~239 from 480 4 GB than platform 1 ~229.

For quality risers, splitters or 133 CFM fans, please visit my eBay listings,
http://www.ebay.com/sch/hawkfish007/m.html?_ipg=50&_sop=12&_rdc=1
woodaxe
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 120
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 06, 2017, 07:13:02 PM
 #563

I must be thick i cannot get the bat file to run on dwarfpool for  ether

this is my bat file

@echo off
@set GPU_FORCE_64BIT_PTR 0
@set GPU_MAX_HEAP_SIZE 100
@set GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
@set GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
@set GPU_SINGLE_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
gatelessgate.exe --gpu-platform 1 -k ethash -o stratum+tcp://eth-eu.dwarfpool.com:8008 u mywalletaddress  --xintensity 4620 --worksize 192 --gpu-threads 2 --no-extranonce
pause
zawawa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 300


Miner Developer


View Profile
February 06, 2017, 07:16:31 PM
 #564

Very nice zawawa, I appreciate that you are doing this for the community. What is the difference between platform 0 and 1, platform 0 seems to get more hash ~239 from 480 4 GB than platform 1 ~229.

clinfo should give you a pretty good idea.

Gateless Gate Sharp, an open-source ETH/XMR miner: http://bit.ly/2rJ2x4V
BTC: 1BHwDWVerUTiKxhHPf2ubqKKiBMiKQGomZ
zawawa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 300


Miner Developer


View Profile
February 07, 2017, 03:47:54 AM
 #565

Let's see if this actually works...

https://github.com/RadeonOpenCompute/LLVM-AMDGPU-Assembler-Extra

Gateless Gate Sharp, an open-source ETH/XMR miner: http://bit.ly/2rJ2x4V
BTC: 1BHwDWVerUTiKxhHPf2ubqKKiBMiKQGomZ
zawawa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 300


Miner Developer


View Profile
February 07, 2017, 08:50:10 AM
 #566

I must be thick i cannot get the bat file to run on dwarfpool for  ether

this is my bat file

@echo off
@set GPU_FORCE_64BIT_PTR 0
@set GPU_MAX_HEAP_SIZE 100
@set GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
@set GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
@set GPU_SINGLE_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
gatelessgate.exe --gpu-platform 1 -k ethash -o stratum+tcp://eth-eu.dwarfpool.com:8008 u mywalletaddress  --xintensity 4620 --worksize 192 --gpu-threads 2 --no-extranonce
pause

ETH mining hasn't been fully tested yet. I will take a look when I get a chance.

Gateless Gate Sharp, an open-source ETH/XMR miner: http://bit.ly/2rJ2x4V
BTC: 1BHwDWVerUTiKxhHPf2ubqKKiBMiKQGomZ
elgi76
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 10


View Profile
February 07, 2017, 09:16:34 AM
 #567

I must be thick i cannot get the bat file to run on dwarfpool for  ether

this is my bat file

@echo off
@set GPU_FORCE_64BIT_PTR 0
@set GPU_MAX_HEAP_SIZE 100
@set GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
@set GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
@set GPU_SINGLE_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
gatelessgate.exe --gpu-platform 1 -k ethash -o stratum+tcp://eth-eu.dwarfpool.com:8008 u mywalletaddress  --xintensity 4620 --worksize 192 --gpu-threads 2 --no-extranonce
pause

maybe -u and not just u. and i don't show -p.
for me work fine on miningpoolhub :
Code:
gatelessgate.exe --api-listen -k ethash -o stratum+ssl://hub.miningpoolhub.com:17020 -u <login.worker> -p x --gpu-threads 1 --worksize 512 --xintensity 2048

zawawa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 300


Miner Developer


View Profile
February 07, 2017, 09:31:48 AM
 #568

I finally tracked down the last bug and was able to confirm that LLVM/Clang can be used to generate binaries for AMD's proprietary OpenCL drivers. Since LLVM is only capable of generating ROCm binaries, I had to insert a thin ABI translation layer at the beginning of the kernel.

At this point, I don't think it's difficult to rewrite LLVM and make it compatible with CLRadeonExtender and have it directly generate OpenCL binaries. This would be huge for open-source mining as LLVM has a variety of neat features such as inline GCN assembly and limiting the number of registers. More importantly, we wouldn't have to rely on AMD's flaky drivers for code generation any more!

Gateless Gate Sharp, an open-source ETH/XMR miner: http://bit.ly/2rJ2x4V
BTC: 1BHwDWVerUTiKxhHPf2ubqKKiBMiKQGomZ
m1n1ngP4d4w4n
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100

CryptoLearner


View Profile
February 07, 2017, 02:44:41 PM
 #569

I finally tracked down the last bug and was able to confirm that LLVM/Clang can be used to generate binaries for AMD's proprietary OpenCL drivers. Since LLVM is only capable of generating ROCm binaries, I had to insert a thin ABI translation layer at the beginning of the kernel.

At this point, I don't think it's difficult to rewrite LLVM and make it compatible with CLRadeonExtender and have it directly generate OpenCL binaries. This would be huge for open-source mining as LLVM has a variety of neat features such as inline GCN assembly and limiting the number of registers. More importantly, we wouldn't have to rely on AMD's flaky drivers for code generation any more!

This would be indeed a revolution, amd has plagued us with bad drivers for years, keep up the good work man, it's impressive  Shocked

BTC - 1B1RBYkzxiTmrbnFe2vj8EaNPSYftW8186 for tips Wink
IOTUSA
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
February 07, 2017, 03:52:16 PM
 #570

Does anyone here have the 'Eco Bios' for R9 Fury and Rx 480 cards? I don't like using wattman or software to get power draw down and would prefer to flash bios for lowest possible power consumption at stock clocks or close to.

xeridea
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 419
Merit: 251


View Profile WWW
February 07, 2017, 05:00:34 PM
 #571

Does anyone here have the 'Eco Bios' for R9 Fury and Rx 480 cards? I don't like using wattman or software to get power draw down and would prefer to flash bios for lowest possible power consumption at stock clocks or close to.
I just use the miner to set voltage and clocks, really easy, and flexible, since different algorithms have different optimal clocks and undervolts.  The Eco bios isn't undervolted, it is just lower clocks (lower volts, but still stock).  You can easily undevolt another 50-100mv+ and save tons of power. I use CM, but SGM/GG supports all that stuff right?

Profitability over time charts for many GPUs - http://xeridea.us/charts

BTC:  16wzGLYLh1ximotu3Ln7htKnbUUcwWvQUv   LTC:  LdPvSJoAwgH87TXSMBuxDefBvp2bweXApY   Eth:  0xb508131ca5d983ebe72f8af61ecfb7d1b61f6d18
IOTUSA
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
February 07, 2017, 05:35:21 PM
 #572

Does anyone here have the 'Eco Bios' for R9 Fury and Rx 480 cards? I don't like using wattman or software to get power draw down and would prefer to flash bios for lowest possible power consumption at stock clocks or close to.
I just use the miner to set voltage and clocks, really easy, and flexible, since different algorithms have different optimal clocks and undervolts.  The Eco bios isn't undervolted, it is just lower clocks (lower volts, but still stock).  You can easily undevolt another 50-100mv+ and save tons of power. I use CM, but SGM/GG supports all that stuff right?

I am mostly looking to undervolt to run Fury/480 at low power to squeeze 6 cards into a 1300w PSU so I'd have to load it on Bios level no?

laik2
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 469
Merit: 260



View Profile
February 07, 2017, 05:43:14 PM
 #573

Does anyone here have the 'Eco Bios' for R9 Fury and Rx 480 cards? I don't like using wattman or software to get power draw down and would prefer to flash bios for lowest possible power consumption at stock clocks or close to.
I just use the miner to set voltage and clocks, really easy, and flexible, since different algorithms have different optimal clocks and undervolts.  The Eco bios isn't undervolted, it is just lower clocks (lower volts, but still stock).  You can easily undevolt another 50-100mv+ and save tons of power. I use CM, but SGM/GG supports all that stuff right?
Wrong.
GG/SGM basicly supports what driver supports.
If u use fglrx(ADL) and it does support undervolting, you can do it, but if you are using amdgpu/amdgpu-pro there's no vddc/vddci support(yet).

ZEC: t1KbbHtXqzSS6qHBaPZDKyWnzxhRjr9oCtW
nerdralph
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 251


View Profile
February 07, 2017, 06:33:51 PM
 #574

I finally tracked down the last bug and was able to confirm that LLVM/Clang can be used to generate binaries for AMD's proprietary OpenCL drivers. Since LLVM is only capable of generating ROCm binaries, I had to insert a thin ABI translation layer at the beginning of the kernel.

At this point, I don't think it's difficult to rewrite LLVM and make it compatible with CLRadeonExtender and have it directly generate OpenCL binaries. This would be huge for open-source mining as LLVM has a variety of neat features such as inline GCN assembly and limiting the number of registers. More importantly, we wouldn't have to rely on AMD's flaky drivers for code generation any more!

AMD's drivers embed llvm, so "flakiness" in the drivers is often related to problems with the version of llvm they included.  So using clang/llvm directly doesn't completely bypass problems, but it certainly does give you more control.
nerdralph
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 251


View Profile
February 07, 2017, 06:46:30 PM
 #575

I finally tracked down the last bug and was able to confirm that LLVM/Clang can be used to generate binaries for AMD's proprietary OpenCL drivers. Since LLVM is only capable of generating ROCm binaries, I had to insert a thin ABI translation layer at the beginning of the kernel.

According to a source at AMD, the ROCm ABI is the same as the HSAIL/brig ABI.  When I used CodeXL to generate a kernel binary on a system with Crimson 16.10 drivers, the binary contained HSAIL as well as brig symbols.  Since AMDs drivers can handle HSA/brig kernels, I would think they should also handle ROCm binaries.
cryptomined
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 104



View Profile WWW
February 07, 2017, 07:04:06 PM
 #576

This runs great for pascal coin
is there anyway to get claymore type speeds for ETH or XMR with rx cards??  both seem to hash a bit less than with the corresponding claymore miners... ETH for example gets 2 Mh/s less on each rx470.

Thanks

xeridea
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 419
Merit: 251


View Profile WWW
February 07, 2017, 07:06:53 PM
 #577

Does anyone here have the 'Eco Bios' for R9 Fury and Rx 480 cards? I don't like using wattman or software to get power draw down and would prefer to flash bios for lowest possible power consumption at stock clocks or close to.
I just use the miner to set voltage and clocks, really easy, and flexible, since different algorithms have different optimal clocks and undervolts.  The Eco bios isn't undervolted, it is just lower clocks (lower volts, but still stock).  You can easily undevolt another 50-100mv+ and save tons of power. I use CM, but SGM/GG supports all that stuff right?
Wrong.
GG/SGM basicly supports what driver supports.
If u use fglrx(ADL) and it does support undervolting, you can do it, but if you are using amdgpu/amdgpu-pro there's no vddc/vddci support(yet).
Oh, yeah, I use Windows, I know there are some limitations for Polaris under Linux, but Fury should be fine I think.

Profitability over time charts for many GPUs - http://xeridea.us/charts

BTC:  16wzGLYLh1ximotu3Ln7htKnbUUcwWvQUv   LTC:  LdPvSJoAwgH87TXSMBuxDefBvp2bweXApY   Eth:  0xb508131ca5d983ebe72f8af61ecfb7d1b61f6d18
xeridea
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 419
Merit: 251


View Profile WWW
February 07, 2017, 07:11:57 PM
 #578

Does anyone here have the 'Eco Bios' for R9 Fury and Rx 480 cards? I don't like using wattman or software to get power draw down and would prefer to flash bios for lowest possible power consumption at stock clocks or close to.
I just use the miner to set voltage and clocks, really easy, and flexible, since different algorithms have different optimal clocks and undervolts.  The Eco bios isn't undervolted, it is just lower clocks (lower volts, but still stock).  You can easily undevolt another 50-100mv+ and save tons of power. I use CM, but SGM/GG supports all that stuff right?

I am mostly looking to undervolt to run Fury/480 at low power to squeeze 6 cards into a 1300w PSU so I'd have to load it on Bios level no?

Not sure about getting to work on Linux, but you can undervolt 6 470s, stock 1260 clock, and run ~930W at wall Zec mining (CM 11.1, Platinum PSU, ~1020mv), 480s would be ~1000 or so at wall.  Underclocking allows substantial undervolting, but affects Zec speed, I dual mine Eth/Dcr right now so not as much of an issue.

If you can't change volts in Linux on 480s, in Windows, use atiwinflash to pull bios, edit voltages with polarisbioseditor, the reflash. Dunno about Linux flashing/editing tools.  What cards do you have?  If there is dual bios, there is usually a "silent" bios.

Profitability over time charts for many GPUs - http://xeridea.us/charts

BTC:  16wzGLYLh1ximotu3Ln7htKnbUUcwWvQUv   LTC:  LdPvSJoAwgH87TXSMBuxDefBvp2bweXApY   Eth:  0xb508131ca5d983ebe72f8af61ecfb7d1b61f6d18
m0niker
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 07, 2017, 08:19:55 PM
 #579

Does anyone here have the 'Eco Bios' for R9 Fury and Rx 480 cards? I don't like using wattman or software to get power draw down and would prefer to flash bios for lowest possible power consumption at stock clocks or close to.
I just use the miner to set voltage and clocks, really easy, and flexible, since different algorithms have different optimal clocks and undervolts.  The Eco bios isn't undervolted, it is just lower clocks (lower volts, but still stock).  You can easily undevolt another 50-100mv+ and save tons of power. I use CM, but SGM/GG supports all that stuff right?

I am mostly looking to undervolt to run Fury/480 at low power to squeeze 6 cards into a 1300w PSU so I'd have to load it on Bios level no?

Not sure about getting to work on Linux, but you can undervolt 6 470s, stock 1260 clock, and run ~930W at wall Zec mining (CM 11.1, Platinum PSU, ~1020mv), 480s would be ~1000 or so at wall.  Underclocking allows substantial undervolting, but affects Zec speed, I dual mine Eth/Dcr right now so not as much of an issue.

If you can't change volts in Linux on 480s, in Windows, use atiwinflash to pull bios, edit voltages with polarisbioseditor, the reflash. Dunno about Linux flashing/editing tools.  What cards do you have?  If there is dual bios, there is usually a "silent" bios.

Running 6x480s overclocked, 1050w at wall in most of my rigs, overclocking is fun! Smiley
zawawa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 300


Miner Developer


View Profile
February 07, 2017, 09:27:55 PM
 #580

I finally tracked down the last bug and was able to confirm that LLVM/Clang can be used to generate binaries for AMD's proprietary OpenCL drivers. Since LLVM is only capable of generating ROCm binaries, I had to insert a thin ABI translation layer at the beginning of the kernel.

According to a source at AMD, the ROCm ABI is the same as the HSAIL/brig ABI.  When I used CodeXL to generate a kernel binary on a system with Crimson 16.10 drivers, the binary contained HSAIL as well as brig symbols.  Since AMDs drivers can handle HSA/brig kernels, I would think they should also handle ROCm binaries.


What I found out was that AMD's drivers add extra hidden arguments to kernels, which completely messes up the order of arguments. Therefore, modifications to LLVM are necessary in order to use it for AMD's proprietary drivers.

Gateless Gate Sharp, an open-source ETH/XMR miner: http://bit.ly/2rJ2x4V
BTC: 1BHwDWVerUTiKxhHPf2ubqKKiBMiKQGomZ
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 ... 197 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!