Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2017, 12:13:10 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 [40] 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Gateless Gate Sharp 1.1.3: zawawa's open-source dual ETH/XMR/PASC/LBC miner  (Read 161721 times)
toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120


View Profile
February 27, 2017, 11:17:18 PM
 #781

well... its confirmed...
in current implementation of cryptonite samsung with 1625 straps give better hash at 1750 than 2000.
And now my question, once again to the algo devs: wtf? Smiley

For my 470 Samsung cards, I loosen the 1625 strap just a bit and run mem @ 2060-2080mhz, which allows me to get good XMR and ETH rates.   Its unfortunate there is no silver bullet, because ETH wants one thing, and XMR another, and ZEC yet another.    So I've decided to just keep my core clocks lower and run XMR when its warm outside.

Also... 470 Hynix can do 750 XMR with 1375 strap @ 1780-1800mhz... but that makes it useless for ETH.   But if you are setting up XMR rigs, and want lowest power option, that might be a good option.



The way i do it with my 470 is edit the timing in the bios sense ETH uses memory more then any thing and then over clock as needed per coin with all most the same results as using three different bios with afterburner profiles  but yea i wish there was one size fits all ... no over clocking profiles needed just switch coins ,,,,,
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1512994390
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1512994390

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1512994390
Reply with quote  #2

1512994390
Report to moderator
h311m4n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 337


View Profile
February 28, 2017, 12:53:55 PM
 #782

Guys,

What settings do you use for GG for ethereum with RX470s?

With Claymore, I get 28MH/s on 470s 4GB and 8GB, but with gatelessgate, the 4GB are stuck at 24.7MH/s (haven't tried it on the 8GB). I'm getting that hashrate with the default xintensity of 4620, worksize of 192 and 2 GPU threads contained in the batfile.

Thanks!
toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120


View Profile
February 28, 2017, 01:11:30 PM
 #783

Guys,

What settings do you use for GG for ethereum with RX470s?

With Claymore, I get 28MH/s on 470s 4GB and 8GB, but with gatelessgate, the 4GB are stuck at 24.7MH/s (haven't tried it on the 8GB). I'm getting that hashrate with the default xintensity of 4620, worksize of 192 and 2 GPU threads contained in the batfile.

Thanks!

me i don't use gateless to mine ETH or ZEC but use it for all my other coins like XMR PASC etc that I mine ...I'm pretty much like most who feel thy are forced to use claymore and before anyone says this or that i don't care and also don't mean it how it sounds. but did have it hitting 26 MH with my 470's mining eth  when i did try one less MH then i do with CM ..  but CM is more Stable atm for long term mining .
h311m4n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 337


View Profile
February 28, 2017, 02:35:10 PM
 #784

Guys,

What settings do you use for GG for ethereum with RX470s?

With Claymore, I get 28MH/s on 470s 4GB and 8GB, but with gatelessgate, the 4GB are stuck at 24.7MH/s (haven't tried it on the 8GB). I'm getting that hashrate with the default xintensity of 4620, worksize of 192 and 2 GPU threads contained in the batfile.

Thanks!

me i don't use gateless to mine ETH or ZEC but use it for all my other coins like XMR PASC etc that I mine ...I'm pretty much like most who feel thy are forced to use claymore and before anyone says this or that i don't care and also don't mean it how it sounds. but did have it hitting 26 MH with my 470's mining eth  when i did try one less MH then i do with CM ..  but CM is more Stable atm for long term mining .

I feel what you're saying. Claymore makes good software, but once you've used something that gives the same performance while being open source and without fees, it kinda sucks "having" to use it. Hence why I'd love using GG. Also, GG uses less power on my rigs which is always a big plus...
lexele
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 164


View Profile
February 28, 2017, 09:11:23 PM
 #785

well... its confirmed...
in current implementation of cryptonite samsung with 1625 straps give better hash at 1750 than 2000.
And now my question, once again to the algo devs: wtf? Smiley

For my 470 Samsung cards, I loosen the 1625 strap just a bit and run mem @ 2060-2080mhz, which allows me to get good XMR and ETH rates.   Its unfortunate there is no silver bullet, because ETH wants one thing, and XMR another, and ZEC yet another.    So I've decided to just keep my core clocks lower and run XMR when its warm outside.

Also... 470 Hynix can do 750 XMR with 1375 strap @ 1780-1800mhz... but that makes it useless for ETH.   But if you are setting up XMR rigs, and want lowest power option, that might be a good option.



470 hynix does 820 here with 1375 straps and higher mem freq.
zawawa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


Miner Developer


View Profile
March 01, 2017, 04:19:54 AM
 #786

Sorry guys, my wife is not feeling well right now and I didn't have a chance to work on the miner today.
Just to let you know.

Gateless Gate Sharp, an open-source ETH/XMR miner: http://bit.ly/2rJ2x4V
BTC: 1BHwDWVerUTiKxhHPf2ubqKKiBMiKQGomZ
h311m4n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 337


View Profile
March 01, 2017, 01:49:38 PM
 #787

Sorry guys, my wife is not feeling well right now and I didn't have a chance to work on the miner today.
Just to let you know.

No worries dude Wink

So, what kind of timing/frequencies does everyone run around here?

I've got a rig with 6 RX470 4GB (2 Hynix, 2 Elpida and 2 Samsung).

On the hynix: 1375 strap and memory @ 2000
On the elpida: 1500 strap and memory @ 2000 (I think it can't go higher, Watttool just resets the memory to 2000 when I try something higher)
On the samsung: 1750 and memory @ 2000.

That rig averages 4200Kh/s on XMR, but I feel it could do better. I do not have a lot of time to do tests though Sad. Also since GG, Wattool and GPUz all have their own way to "assign" cards it's kind of a nightmare figuring out which is which on that rig, lol.

All cores run at 1100MHz and I'm bios undervolted at -137.5mv.
Balitorium
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23


View Profile
March 01, 2017, 04:07:40 PM
 #788

Sorry guys, my wife is not feeling well right now and I didn't have a chance to work on the miner today.
Just to let you know.

appreciated! Hope she'll get well soon.
dallase
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 113


View Profile
March 02, 2017, 02:53:03 PM
 #789


That rig averages 4200Kh/s on XMR, but I feel it could do better. I do not have a lot of time to do tests though Sad. Also since GG, Wattool and GPUz all have their own way to "assign" cards it's kind of a nightmare figuring out which is which on that rig, lol.

All cores run at 1100MHz and I'm bios undervolted at -137.5mv.

Trick I use is to set different mhz in bios for each card, so in my rig left to right, i have 1141, 1142, 1143, etc.

root@rig14:/home/dallas# clocks
1: 2012Mhz *    # GPU 0
7: 1142Mhz *
1: 2013Mhz *    # GPU 1
7: 1143Mhz *
1: 2006Mhz *    # GPU 2
7: 1146Mhz *
1: 2015Mhz *    # GPU 3
7: 1145Mhz *
1: 2014Mhz *    # GPU 4
7: 1144Mhz *
1: 2011Mhz *   # GPU 5
7: 1141Mhz *

Then I know GPU #2 reported above is the furthest card on the right, GPU #5 is furthest left Smiley

laik2
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
March 03, 2017, 12:17:29 AM
 #790


That rig averages 4200Kh/s on XMR, but I feel it could do better. I do not have a lot of time to do tests though Sad. Also since GG, Wattool and GPUz all have their own way to "assign" cards it's kind of a nightmare figuring out which is which on that rig, lol.

All cores run at 1100MHz and I'm bios undervolted at -137.5mv.

Trick I use is to set different mhz in bios for each card, so in my rig left to right, i have 1141, 1142, 1143, etc.

root@rig14:/home/dallas# clocks
1: 2012Mhz *    # GPU 0
7: 1142Mhz *
1: 2013Mhz *    # GPU 1
7: 1143Mhz *
1: 2006Mhz *    # GPU 2
7: 1146Mhz *
1: 2015Mhz *    # GPU 3
7: 1145Mhz *
1: 2014Mhz *    # GPU 4
7: 1144Mhz *
1: 2011Mhz *   # GPU 5
7: 1141Mhz *

Then I know GPU #2 reported above is the furthest card on the right, GPU #5 is furthest left Smiley


Or simply read mobo's specs and find out which pcie is connected to cpu and which to the northbridge Smiley
most common order is PCIe x16 is where GPU0 sits, looking at the DVI/HDMI connectors on the left of GPU0  is GPU1 and on the right are GPU2,GPU3, GPU4,GPU5, in that order.

ZEC: t1KbbHtXqzSS6qHBaPZDKyWnzxhRjr9oCtW
zawawa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


Miner Developer


View Profile
March 03, 2017, 03:14:51 AM
 #791

I am trying to extend GG's Linux support by making it compatible with fglrx. Not exactly a fun thing to do, but still...

By the way, I have been using AMDGPU-PRO 16.60 for a while on Ubuntu 16.04 LTS without problems. All I had to do was to upgrade the Linux kernel to 4.10.1. It's amazing that this requirement is documented nowhere...

Gateless Gate Sharp, an open-source ETH/XMR miner: http://bit.ly/2rJ2x4V
BTC: 1BHwDWVerUTiKxhHPf2ubqKKiBMiKQGomZ
zzzzzzzzzz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 148


View Profile
March 03, 2017, 03:29:34 AM
 #792

I am trying to extend GG's Linux support by making it compatible with fglrx. Not exactly a fun thing to do, but still...

By the way, I have been using AMDGPU-PRO 16.60 for a while on Ubuntu 16.04 LTS without problems. All I had to do was to upgrade the Linux kernel to 4.10.1. It's amazing that this requirement is documented nowhere...

Thank you very much for working on the fglrx driver support! AMDGPU-PRO has virtually no GPU control on linux, other than fan and temp, and they require root privileges, which is nonsense (being a member of the "video" group aught to be enough, you would think).
zawawa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


Miner Developer


View Profile
March 03, 2017, 05:05:32 AM
 #793

Good news, guys! ZEC mining is working with fglrx and 7990, including the assembly version.
I will update the repository either tonight or tomorrow morning.

Edit: I just pushed the changes to the repo. Let me know how that goes.

Gateless Gate Sharp, an open-source ETH/XMR miner: http://bit.ly/2rJ2x4V
BTC: 1BHwDWVerUTiKxhHPf2ubqKKiBMiKQGomZ
h311m4n
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 337


View Profile
March 03, 2017, 07:35:20 AM
 #794

I am trying to extend GG's Linux support by making it compatible with fglrx. Not exactly a fun thing to do, but still...

By the way, I have been using AMDGPU-PRO 16.60 for a while on Ubuntu 16.04 LTS without problems. All I had to do was to upgrade the Linux kernel to 4.10.1. It's amazing that this requirement is documented nowhere...

Are you saying that mining with ADMGPU-PRO is finally working even when you mod your cards? I remember last year when I got my RX470s and AMDGPU-PRO was required to make them work, as soon as you modded them, millions of errors would be thrown in the syslog and the rig was highly unstable. This is the only reason I switched to window$...
Ursul0
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
March 03, 2017, 01:59:22 PM
 #795

Guys,

What settings do you use for GG for ethereum with RX470s?

With Claymore, I get 28MH/s on 470s 4GB and 8GB, but with gatelessgate, the 4GB are stuck at 24.7MH/s (haven't tried it on the 8GB). I'm getting that hashrate with the default xintensity of 4620, worksize of 192 and 2 GPU threads contained in the batfile.

Thanks!

me i don't use gateless to mine ETH or ZEC but use it for all my other coins like XMR PASC etc that I mine ...I'm pretty much like most who feel thy are forced to use claymore and before anyone says this or that i don't care and also don't mean it how it sounds. but did have it hitting 26 MH with my 470's mining eth  when i did try one less MH then i do with CM ..  but CM is more Stable atm for long term mining .

yeah. claymore is good, also dual mine is useful.
I've tried ETH on SGminer and the fastest was 5.5.4 for some reason... it gave me just below 27 at the top, while in claymore I get 28.5 in dual mode and 27.5 eth only

         ▄███████████████▄
       ▄██▀             ▀██▄
    ▄▄██▀                 ▀██▄▄
█████▀▀       ▄▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄▄    ▀▀█████
██          ▄▀ ▄▄▄▀▀▀▀▄▀█▄▄      ██
▐█▌       ▄▀ ▄▀ ▄▄▄▀▀▀▄▀▀▀███   ▐█▌
 ██      ▄▀▄▀▄▀▀▄▄▄▀▀▀▀▀█ ▄█▀   ██
 ▐█▌    █▄▀▄▀▄█▀▀▀ ▀█▀ ▄▀▄▀█   ▐█▌
  ██    █▄▀▄▀▄▄█▀ ▄▀ ▄▀▄▀▄▀█   ██
  ▐█▌ ▀▄█████▀▄▄▀▀▄▄▀▄▀▄▀▄▀█  ▐█▌
   ██▌▀████▀██▄▄▀▀▄▄▀▄▀▄▀▄█▀ ▐██
    ██▌▀█▀▀█▄▀▀▄▀▀▄▄▀▄█▄▄█▀ ▐██
     ██▌ ▀  ▀███▄▄▄█████▀  ▐██
      ██▄      ▀▀▀▀▀      ▄██
       ▀██▄             ▄██▀
         ▀██▄         ▄██▀
           ▀██▄     ▄██▀
             ▀███▄███▀
               ▀███▀
DeepOnion 
★ ★ ★ ★ ★   ❱❱❱ JOIN AIRDROP NOW!
TOR INTEGRATED & SECURED
★  Your Anonymity Guaranteed
★  Your Assets Secured by TOR
★  Guard Your Privacy!
|Bitcointalk
Reddit
Telegram
|                        ▄▄▀▄▄▀▄▄▀▄▀▀
                    ▄▄██▀█▀▄▀▀▀
                  ▄██▄█▄██▀
                ▄██████▀
              ▄██████▀
  ▄█▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██████▀
██████▀▀▀▀▀██████▀
 ▀█████  ▄███████
  ████████████▀██
  ██▀███████▀  ██
  ██ ▀████▀    ██
  ██   ▀▀      ██
  ▀█████████████▀
zawawa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


Miner Developer


View Profile
March 03, 2017, 08:16:42 PM
 #796

I am trying to extend GG's Linux support by making it compatible with fglrx. Not exactly a fun thing to do, but still...

By the way, I have been using AMDGPU-PRO 16.60 for a while on Ubuntu 16.04 LTS without problems. All I had to do was to upgrade the Linux kernel to 4.10.1. It's amazing that this requirement is documented nowhere...

Are you saying that mining with ADMGPU-PRO is finally working even when you mod your cards? I remember last year when I got my RX470s and AMDGPU-PRO was required to make them work, as soon as you modded them, millions of errors would be thrown in the syslog and the rig was highly unstable. This is the only reason I switched to window$...

My AMDGPU-PRO rigs are pretty stable so far. I'm overhauling my farm right now, so I will keep you updated.

Gateless Gate Sharp, an open-source ETH/XMR miner: http://bit.ly/2rJ2x4V
BTC: 1BHwDWVerUTiKxhHPf2ubqKKiBMiKQGomZ
zawawa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


Miner Developer


View Profile
March 04, 2017, 01:35:44 PM
 #797

It turned out that it takes too long to make the new compiler compatible with GCN1, so I decided to keep the previous assembly version for it. Oh well.

Gateless Gate Sharp, an open-source ETH/XMR miner: http://bit.ly/2rJ2x4V
BTC: 1BHwDWVerUTiKxhHPf2ubqKKiBMiKQGomZ
nerdralph
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
March 04, 2017, 02:44:22 PM
 #798

I am trying to extend GG's Linux support by making it compatible with fglrx. Not exactly a fun thing to do, but still...

By the way, I have been using AMDGPU-PRO 16.60 for a while on Ubuntu 16.04 LTS without problems. All I had to do was to upgrade the Linux kernel to 4.10.1. It's amazing that this requirement is documented nowhere...

Are you using 16.04.1 or 16.04.2?  16.04.2 desktop includes kernel 4.8.0 instead of 4.4.0.  With 4.8.0 I get /sys/class/drm entries for my Rx 470 even before installing the amdgpu-pro driver, while 4.4.0 did not.
I had problems with 4.4.0 and amdgpu-pro 16.40, and am only now getting around to testing 4.8.0.

Subw
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672


View Profile
March 04, 2017, 04:08:23 PM
 #799

bit offtopic but will ask if anyone have same memory leaks as i am:

Code:
$ free
              total        used        free      shared  buff/cache   available
Mem:        8118412     6358508      640888       21812     1119016     1424880
Swap:             0           0           0
user@miner3:~$ top

top - 10:06:15 up 5 days, 18:06,  2 users,  load average: 0.06, 0.05, 0.01
Tasks: 282 total,   2 running, 280 sleeping,   0 stopped,   0 zombie
%Cpu(s):  1.6 us,  0.5 sy,  0.0 ni, 97.7 id,  0.2 wa,  0.0 hi,  0.0 si,  0.0 st
KiB Mem :  8118412 total,   639916 free,  6359212 used,  1119284 buff/cache
KiB Swap:        0 total,        0 free,        0 used.  1424076 avail Mem

  PID USER      PR  NI    VIRT    RES    SHR S  %CPU %MEM     TIME+ COMMAND                                                                                                                                                                                   
 1180 root      20   0 5516208 5.036g  41400 S   6.7 65.0 142:42.87 Xorg                                                                                                                                                                                       
 1879 user      20   0  657276  37012  28080 S   6.7  0.5  67:47.74 gnome-terminal-                                                                                                                                                                           
    1 root      20   0  120824   6924   3936 S   0.0  0.1   0:02.17 systemd                                                                                                                                                                                   
    2 root      20   0       0      0      0 S   0.0  0.0   0:00.02 kthreadd                                                                                                                                                                                   
    3 root      20   0       0      0      0 S   0.0  0.0   0:04.21 ksoftirqd/0                                                                                                                                                                               
    5 root       0 -20       0      0      0 S   0.0  0.0   0:00.00 kworker/0:0H                                                                                                                                                                               
    7 root      20   0       0      0      0 S   0.0  0.0  12:53.01 rcu_sched                                                                                                                                                                                 

Ubuntu 16.04.1 LTS
latest AMDPRO drivers
Subw
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672


View Profile
March 04, 2017, 04:09:48 PM
 #800

i'm using cpp-ethereum/build/ethminer/ethminer to mine ETH on this machines (several of them have same Xorg memory leakage)
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 [40] 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!