Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2017, 09:30:53 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 [40] 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 ... 254 »
  Print  
Author Topic: HoboNickels - HBN - High Fast Stake - Version 2.0! More Secure, Less Intensive  (Read 400208 times)
Tranz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


May the force bit with you.


View Profile
February 12, 2014, 10:49:40 PM
 #781

Presstab is correct, these are orphans. The Mac client does work and will stake, however the staking algorithm is not very efficient on it. So you end up with more orphans then accepted. Not to worry though. If they are orphaned they retain their coin age and try again. Plus you will get the increased interest once they are finally accepted. I suggest using larger coin blocks with the Mac client.

Unick and I did some test on test net with the mac clients. They are producing the correct solution to solve a PoS block ,but they just do it a bit slower.

HBN: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=303749.0
hobonickels.info HBN F1TranzWqFGZyFeTMu6iLbtTQgdXuJPsiL
1511083853
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511083853

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511083853
Reply with quote  #2

1511083853
Report to moderator
1511083853
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511083853

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511083853
Reply with quote  #2

1511083853
Report to moderator
1511083853
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511083853

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511083853
Reply with quote  #2

1511083853
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511083853
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511083853

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511083853
Reply with quote  #2

1511083853
Report to moderator
unick
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
February 13, 2014, 01:42:00 AM
 #782

Presstab is correct, these are orphans. The Mac client does work and will stake, however the staking algorithm is not very efficient on it. So you end up with more orphans then accepted. Not to worry though. If they are orphaned they retain their coin age and try again. Plus you will get the increased interest once they are finally accepted. I suggest using larger coin blocks with the Mac client.

Unick and I did some test on test net with the mac clients. They are producing the correct solution to solve a PoS block ,but they just do it a bit slower.

Correct.

They stake but take more time.  That being said, I have virtualized a windows installation on my Mac with Virualbox because I just don't like having to many orphans.  They clutter my wallet. But nothing to worry about other than that.

I know there is a way to "clean" those orphans with -salvagewallet. But I must be using it wrong since it doesn't work for me!

Awesome Explorers for Awesome Coins | Show some BTC love here: 1AAYAZgaz2me7hyumexUZzcyGRZEYtCx5C
HoboNickels: hbn.blockx.info | BottleCaps: cap.blockx.info | GrowthCoin: grw.blockx.info
presstab
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288


Pivx Core Developer - HyperStake Founder


View Profile
February 13, 2014, 02:25:46 AM
 #783

Correct.

They stake but take more time.  That being said, I have virtualized a windows installation on my Mac with Virualbox because I just don't like having to many orphans.  They clutter my wallet. But nothing to worry about other than that.

I know there is a way to "clean" those orphans with -salvagewallet. But I must be using it wrong since it doesn't work for me!

It seems to me that if you were to unload your wallet and then reload your wallet it would probably lose the orphans... right?  I think that each time you load your wallet it grabs the wallet transactions from the blockchain not from the memory of the wallet client.  I am not positive on this, but it is worth a try I think.

presstab's Block Explorer Service | Only $10/mo for most coins! | Richlist w/ Address Claim | Market Cap Charts | Stake Weight Tracking | PoS % Rate Tracking
PIVX - Private Instant Verified Tx | HyperStake - Fun & Easy High Reward Staking
Tranz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


May the force bit with you.


View Profile
February 13, 2014, 02:33:18 AM
 #784

In version 1.4 I will update the repairwallet rpc command to remove the orphans.

HBN: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=303749.0
hobonickels.info HBN F1TranzWqFGZyFeTMu6iLbtTQgdXuJPsiL
wing_hk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
February 13, 2014, 02:39:53 AM
 #785

In version 1.4 I will update the repairwallet rpc command to remove the orphans.

I get corrupt 2nd wallet file again, no hard restart this time. Luckily it's empty.

It will be convenient if "repair wallet" command is added to rpc or menu.

Tranz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


May the force bit with you.


View Profile
February 13, 2014, 02:44:05 AM
 #786

In version 1.4 I will update the repairwallet rpc command to remove the orphans.

I get corrupt 2nd wallet file again, no hard restart this time. Luckily it's empty.

It will be convenient if "repair wallet" command is added to rpc or menu.



Were those wallets created from version 1.2 and moved to 1.3?

HBN: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=303749.0
hobonickels.info HBN F1TranzWqFGZyFeTMu6iLbtTQgdXuJPsiL
wing_hk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
February 13, 2014, 04:15:12 AM
 #787

Well no update, created in 1.3 and always using 1.3 client. Just strange.
Jamesco
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 240


View Profile
February 13, 2014, 04:15:54 AM
 #788

Thnkas guys, yeah what you said was correct, It did stake but I got slightly more coins . The previous 2 transactions didn't go through but the 3rd did. I also think potentially it could do with the mac client becoming unresponsive. This happens a lot if I have the client open(this may have to do with mac laptops sleeping). If I close and reopen, wait for it to load the block chain its fine though and thats when it restacke'ed. Very happy with hobo nickels  and must say stacking every 10 days feels quite good Smiley
Tranz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


May the force bit with you.


View Profile
February 13, 2014, 04:50:55 AM
 #789

Well no update, created in 1.3 and always using 1.3 client. Just strange.

What is your in %appdata%/HoboNickels/database directory?

HBN: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=303749.0
hobonickels.info HBN F1TranzWqFGZyFeTMu6iLbtTQgdXuJPsiL
unick
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
February 13, 2014, 05:28:51 AM
 #790

Correct.

They stake but take more time.  That being said, I have virtualized a windows installation on my Mac with Virualbox because I just don't like having to many orphans.  They clutter my wallet. But nothing to worry about other than that.

I know there is a way to "clean" those orphans with -salvagewallet. But I must be using it wrong since it doesn't work for me!

It seems to me that if you were to unload your wallet and then reload your wallet it would probably lose the orphans... right?  I think that each time you load your wallet it grabs the wallet transactions from the blockchain not from the memory of the wallet client.  I am not positive on this, but it is worth a try I think.

Negative.  Unloading/Reloading doesn't get rid of the orphans... It will if you unload from one client and reload on a different one where you never loaded the wallet before.

In version 1.4 I will update the repairwallet rpc command to remove the orphans.

That is going to be a great addition!  But does this mean -salvagewallet doesn't get rid of orphans?  I know it didn't for me but maybe I use it wrong.

Thnkas guys, yeah what you said was correct, It did stake but I got slightly more coins . The previous 2 transactions didn't go through but the 3rd did. I also think potentially it could do with the mac client becoming unresponsive. This happens a lot if I have the client open(this may have to do with mac laptops sleeping). If I close and reopen, wait for it to load the block chain its fine though and thats when it restacke'ed. Very happy with hobo nickels  and must say stacking every 10 days feels quite good Smiley

You're right stacking every 10 days is sweet.


I don't think I ever had a "responsiveness" issue.  I didn't try the close/open sequence i just let it open and eventually I'd have a successful stake.  Talking with Tranz it might be a timing issue with the network.  Tranz is looking into a possible solution, but maybe the Mac client is slower to talk to the network and if there is another client staking at the same time, you get the orphan.

On my setup, I use the same physical machine with a virtualization of windows 7 and on windows I barely get orphans where as on the mac it's the opposite... I barely get valid blocks! they go thru, but at a much slower rate!

Awesome Explorers for Awesome Coins | Show some BTC love here: 1AAYAZgaz2me7hyumexUZzcyGRZEYtCx5C
HoboNickels: hbn.blockx.info | BottleCaps: cap.blockx.info | GrowthCoin: grw.blockx.info
wing_hk
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
February 13, 2014, 09:21:46 AM
 #791

Well no update, created in 1.3 and always using 1.3 client. Just strange.

What is your in %appdata%/HoboNickels/database directory?

log.0000000015 & 16
Tranz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


May the force bit with you.


View Profile
February 13, 2014, 02:07:21 PM
 #792

Well no update, created in 1.3 and always using 1.3 client. Just strange.

What is your in %appdata%/HoboNickels/database directory?

log.0000000015 & 16

Hmmm..  I have been trying to corrupt a wallet by all reasonable means. I so far I haven't.

HBN: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=303749.0
hobonickels.info HBN F1TranzWqFGZyFeTMu6iLbtTQgdXuJPsiL
Tranz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


May the force bit with you.


View Profile
February 13, 2014, 02:08:47 PM
 #793


That is going to be a great addition!  But does this mean -salvagewallet doesn't get rid of orphans?  I know it didn't for me but maybe I use it wrong.


-salvagewallet will for the wallet.dat file on start up. It doesn't hit every wallet in your %appdata% but it should remove orphans from the default wallet.

HBN: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=303749.0
hobonickels.info HBN F1TranzWqFGZyFeTMu6iLbtTQgdXuJPsiL
unick
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
February 13, 2014, 03:03:58 PM
 #794


That is going to be a great addition!  But does this mean -salvagewallet doesn't get rid of orphans?  I know it didn't for me but maybe I use it wrong.


-salvagewallet will for the wallet.dat file on start up. It doesn't hit every wallet in your %appdata% but it should remove orphans from the default wallet.

ok that's why! I had 2 custom wallets  Shocked

Thanks for the pro tip Grin

Awesome Explorers for Awesome Coins | Show some BTC love here: 1AAYAZgaz2me7hyumexUZzcyGRZEYtCx5C
HoboNickels: hbn.blockx.info | BottleCaps: cap.blockx.info | GrowthCoin: grw.blockx.info
presstab
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288


Pivx Core Developer - HyperStake Founder


View Profile
February 13, 2014, 03:48:44 PM
 #795

Hmmm..  I have been trying to corrupt a wallet by all reasonable means. I so far I haven't.

I haven't had any corruptions either, even though I have 8 secondary wallets, I updated from 1.2.3 to 1.3, and I have hard shutdown the computer that is running the wallets while the client was on.

presstab's Block Explorer Service | Only $10/mo for most coins! | Richlist w/ Address Claim | Market Cap Charts | Stake Weight Tracking | PoS % Rate Tracking
PIVX - Private Instant Verified Tx | HyperStake - Fun & Easy High Reward Staking
Xecsc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
February 14, 2014, 02:39:37 AM
 #796


Our Hobonickels pool is now up and running!
1% Fee



PPLNS
Payouts Run Every 2 min
VARDIFF
Always Updated with latest MPOS & Stratum


Code:
cgminer --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://hbn.cybermining.us:3333 -u Weblogin.Worker -p Worker password
ryanb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134



View Profile
February 14, 2014, 03:57:55 AM
 #797

price is going up real nice and steady but it still lacks volume

https://bitcoinfundingteam.com/ref/SatoshiTeam
turn 0.1 BTC to 80BTC week after week!!!
Tranz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


May the force bit with you.


View Profile
February 14, 2014, 05:51:17 AM
 #798

Hmmm..  I have been trying to corrupt a wallet by all reasonable means. I so far I haven't.

I haven't had any corruptions either, even though I have 8 secondary wallets, I updated from 1.2.3 to 1.3, and I have hard shutdown the computer that is running the wallets while the client was on.

I threw some code into an endless loop  Roll Eyes  and completely crashed my computer, to the point of having to run check disk to get it backup. HBN was mining and staking at the time, yet every wallet was perfectly fine. Hmmm..
 

I haven't run the newest win 7 updates, yet. I wonder if that could have anything to do with it?!


HBN: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=303749.0
hobonickels.info HBN F1TranzWqFGZyFeTMu6iLbtTQgdXuJPsiL
Tranz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


May the force bit with you.


View Profile
February 14, 2014, 05:51:52 AM
 #799


Our Hobonickels pool is now up and running!
1% Fee



PPLNS
Payouts Run Every 2 min
VARDIFF
Always Updated with latest MPOS & Stratum


Code:
cgminer --scrypt -o stratum+tcp://hbn.cybermining.us:3333 -u Weblogin.Worker -p Worker password

Nice. Thanks so much and good luck on your pool! We'll get this added to home page and forums after it gets a bit of hash.

HBN: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=303749.0
hobonickels.info HBN F1TranzWqFGZyFeTMu6iLbtTQgdXuJPsiL
Tranz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


May the force bit with you.


View Profile
February 14, 2014, 05:52:42 AM
 #800

price is going up real nice and steady but it still lacks volume

Volume is close 3-4k usd a day. Not bad really. Remember we don't have BILLIONS of coins, a nice steady inflation rate is what we are shooting for.

HBN: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=303749.0
hobonickels.info HBN F1TranzWqFGZyFeTMu6iLbtTQgdXuJPsiL
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 [40] 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 ... 254 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!