Bitcoin Forum
December 14, 2017, 01:20:02 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Bi•Fury | 5 GH/s USB Miner [IN STOCK!] {SALE !}  (Read 304288 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
tokona
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110


View Profile WWW
January 15, 2014, 07:12:42 PM
 #501

Just got my bi*furys in the mail, but i cant get any of them to work. Not on windows or linux, triede both bfgminer and cgminer and alot of diffrent versions.

On windows it just says Unknown Device. And on linux i cant even find it in sudo lsusb

Triede with a powered hub, and directly into the usb 3 on the computer. Nothing seems to find the,. Can they all be defectiv, or is it this hard to get it working?
Try usb2 slots instead of 3.

Thanks, that solved the problem. Now they are getting detected as Bi*fury in windows.  Still cant get them to work on raspberry-pi, but i suspect the usb hub gets to little power.

Next problem is that the one at BXF 0  dosnt run, it stays at 0.000h/s  do i need to add something in the bat file for that to work?

EDIT;

Fixed it my self, had to hotplug them at once. Luckily my usb hub has a on off button Cheesy
Good you fixed it. in bfgminer bat file i have -S COM4

1513214402
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513214402

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513214402
Reply with quote  #2

1513214402
Report to moderator
1513214402
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513214402

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513214402
Reply with quote  #2

1513214402
Report to moderator
1513214402
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513214402

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513214402
Reply with quote  #2

1513214402
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513214402
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513214402

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513214402
Reply with quote  #2

1513214402
Report to moderator
1513214402
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513214402

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513214402
Reply with quote  #2

1513214402
Report to moderator
1513214402
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513214402

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513214402
Reply with quote  #2

1513214402
Report to moderator
rallasnackbar
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
January 15, 2014, 07:37:46 PM
 #502

Just got my bi*furys in the mail, but i cant get any of them to work. Not on windows or linux, triede both bfgminer and cgminer and alot of diffrent versions.

On windows it just says Unknown Device. And on linux i cant even find it in sudo lsusb

Triede with a powered hub, and directly into the usb 3 on the computer. Nothing seems to find the,. Can they all be defectiv, or is it this hard to get it working?
Try usb2 slots instead of 3.

Thanks, that solved the problem. Now they are getting detected as Bi*fury in windows.  Still cant get them to work on raspberry-pi, but i suspect the usb hub gets to little power.

Next problem is that the one at BXF 0  dosnt run, it stays at 0.000h/s  do i need to add something in the bat file for that to work?

EDIT;

Fixed it my self, had to hotplug them at once. Luckily my usb hub has a on off button Cheesy
Good you fixed it. in bfgminer bat file i have -S COM4




Is that for windows or linux? I still cant get them to run on raspberry pi. Neither with deberian or minepeon. None of them detects them
tokona
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110


View Profile WWW
January 15, 2014, 09:04:04 PM
 #503

Just got my bi*furys in the mail, but i cant get any of them to work. Not on windows or linux, triede both bfgminer and cgminer and alot of diffrent versions.

On windows it just says Unknown Device. And on linux i cant even find it in sudo lsusb

Triede with a powered hub, and directly into the usb 3 on the computer. Nothing seems to find the,. Can they all be defectiv, or is it this hard to get it working?
Try usb2 slots instead of 3.

Thanks, that solved the problem. Now they are getting detected as Bi*fury in windows.  Still cant get them to work on raspberry-pi, but i suspect the usb hub gets to little power.

Next problem is that the one at BXF 0  dosnt run, it stays at 0.000h/s  do i need to add something in the bat file for that to work?

EDIT;

Fixed it my self, had to hotplug them at once. Luckily my usb hub has a on off button Cheesy
Good you fixed it. in bfgminer bat file i have -S COM4




Is that for windows or linux? I still cant get them to run on raspberry pi. Neither with deberian or minepeon. None of them detects them
Oh thats for windows, in control panel,hardware and sound,devices and printers

ManeBjorn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
January 15, 2014, 09:17:32 PM
 #504

BFGminer is telling me COM9 does not have user privalages to install so I am not able to run my BiFury.
Does anyone no what I need to change?

ManeBjorn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
January 16, 2014, 01:02:13 AM
 #505

Ok here is what is going on with my BiFury.

If I plug it in and then startup BFG or Multiminer no devices at all are found not even my existing ASIC's.

If I start the program with the BiFury not plugged in then hot plug it detects and works great in BFG miner using the manual add.
Then it runs great 5 to 5.6 gh/s.

I have looked around but I don't see any solutions.  This is the same either in my Anker hub or directly into the ports on the PC.

I am running Win7.


chek2fire
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


Ιntergalactic Conciliator


View Profile
January 16, 2014, 02:09:21 AM
 #506

The same happens in linux and cgminer. If i start the programme i have to unplugged and then plugged again to see it

ManeBjorn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
January 16, 2014, 02:31:07 AM
 #507

The same happens in linux and cgminer. If i start the programme i have to unplugged and then plugged again to see it

I have not found a solution yet either.

ManeBjorn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
January 16, 2014, 03:32:37 AM
 #508

The same happens in linux and cgminer. If i start the programme i have to unplugged and then plugged again to see it

I got it fixed.
Reload the firmware.  I used the method in this thread with this tutorial.  It works perfect now at 5.7 gh/s 47 degrees C.
This site will show you how and has a great pic on how to do it.

http://c-scape.nl/bi-fury/

I chose the 90 degree version and it works great.

I hope it helps.

Bearclaw
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
January 16, 2014, 04:13:28 AM
 #509

Wow that's a great speed there ManeBjorn. I might have to try the new firmwares, I am just using stock firmware right now.  I wonder if the newer firmwares would help.  I've also seen some mention of lights flashing on them but they are just solid green for me.

And I stand corrected, I received back a 7-port Anker USB 3 hub from Amazon today and they work in it.  Maybe they just don't like my 10-port Anker hubs.  They were running for a little while fine till I knocked one out trying to capture both speeds and the hub in the same picture, but I was able to hotplug it back in.


ManeBjorn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
January 16, 2014, 04:17:19 AM
 #510

Wow that's a great speed there ManeBjorn. I might have to try the new firmwares, I am just using stock firmware right now.  I wonder if the newer firmwares would help.  I've also seen some mention of lights flashing on them but they are just solid green for me.

And I stand corrected, I received back a 7-port Anker USB 3 hub from Amazon today and they work in it.  Maybe they just don't like my 10-port Anker hubs.  They were running for a little while fine till I knocked one out trying to capture both speeds and the hub in the same picture, but I was able to hotplug it back in.




I'm using the Anker 7 port as well.  LOL
Yes the firmware made a big difference. 
I will post a pic tomorrow of it running.

I was very surprised when it just ran and so well to boot after the update.

rallasnackbar
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
January 16, 2014, 10:47:00 AM
 #511

Still cant get mine to work properly.

In windows 7, i can get only ONE running in cgminer(various versions) no matter how i do, its always the last i plug in that gets used. Also tried plugging the USB hub in with all switched on, still only uses one.
After running for less then an hour, on Windows, the keyboard becomes unresponsible.


Havnt bin able to get Raspberry Pi with cgminer 3.10.0 to find them. Just says No Devices Detected, no matter what i do. Tried several guides for it, and a number of systems(MinePeon, RaspBian) but none of them detects it. Also tried BFGminer in minepeon, with same result.

Got a 7 port USB 2.0 hub, with external power supply, noname. The AC adapter that came with it only provided 1amp, so i made a molex cable for my computer so it would get more amps that way. Also cut the red wire in the USB, just to check if that would help, either on the raspberry, or the keyboard that becomes unrespnsible. But it didnt.

The guide i used for RaspBian Cgminer

$ sudo apt-get update
$ sudo apt-get install build-essential git pkg-config libtool libcurl4-openssl-dev libncurses5-dev libudev-dev autoconf automake
$ git clone https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer.git
$ cd cgminer
$ ./autogen.sh
$ ./configure --enable-bitfury
$ make
$ sudo make install

Then i use ./cgminer and fill in the pool and worker specs.



Any help on this will be great, and if anyone solves this so it works, will get a reward(BTC).


Going out to buy a better hub now, to see if that helps.

jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784



View Profile
January 16, 2014, 11:57:40 AM
 #512

Still cant get mine to work properly.

In windows 7, i can get only ONE running in cgminer(various versions) no matter how i do, its always the last i plug in that gets used. Also tried plugging the USB hub in with all switched on, still only uses one.
After running for less then an hour, on Windows, the keyboard becomes unresponsible.


Havnt bin able to get Raspberry Pi with cgminer 3.10.0 to find them. Just says No Devices Detected, no matter what i do. Tried several guides for it, and a number of systems(MinePeon, RaspBian) but none of them detects it. Also tried BFGminer in minepeon, with same result.

Got a 7 port USB 2.0 hub, with external power supply, noname. The AC adapter that came with it only provided 1amp, so i made a molex cable for my computer so it would get more amps that way. Also cut the red wire in the USB, just to check if that would help, either on the raspberry, or the keyboard that becomes unrespnsible. But it didnt.

The guide i used for RaspBian Cgminer

$ sudo apt-get update
$ sudo apt-get install build-essential git pkg-config libtool libcurl4-openssl-dev libncurses5-dev libudev-dev autoconf automake
$ git clone https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer.git
$ cd cgminer
$ ./autogen.sh
$ ./configure --enable-bitfury
$ make
$ sudo make install

Then i use ./cgminer and fill in the pool and worker specs.



Any help on this will be great, and if anyone solves this so it works, will get a reward(BTC).


Going out to buy a better hub now, to see if that helps.



Did you firmware update yet?

chek2fire
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


Ιntergalactic Conciliator


View Profile
January 16, 2014, 11:58:02 AM
 #513

The same happens in linux and cgminer. If i start the programme i have to unplugged and then plugged again to see it

I got it fixed.
Reload the firmware.  I used the method in this thread with this tutorial.  It works perfect now at 5.7 gh/s 47 degrees C.
This site will show you how and has a great pic on how to do it.

http://c-scape.nl/bi-fury/

I chose the 90 degree version and it works great.

I hope it helps.

thank! i will try it

tokona
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110


View Profile WWW
January 16, 2014, 01:36:04 PM
 #514

So got it working, a orico A3H10 usb Hub and usb fan + new firmware.

Question the red light is blinking, is that because its getting accepted blocks for the pool?
And its running att 4.8 GH how can i crank it up?
And whats Best Intensity Settings?
There's no such thing as intensity for these devices or anything in current cgminer code. The only thing that will happen is they'll run slower if it runs too hot with the current cgminer code throttling it, but if you have a fan on it that should never happen.
Ok thanks, but i use bfg i had problems finding the fury in CG

BFG has some tweakable settings for the Bi*fury... hit M to manage the device, then highlight your Bi*Fury on the list.  From there you can change the "Oscillator bits" by hitting O.  Default is 54.  I tried other values but for mine, it seems to like the default value just fine.
Tried Oscillator bits, but the only thing that changes is the temp getting higher, should it not get more speed?

rallasnackbar
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
January 16, 2014, 01:37:45 PM
 #515

Still cant get mine to work properly.

In windows 7, i can get only ONE running in cgminer(various versions) no matter how i do, its always the last i plug in that gets used. Also tried plugging the USB hub in with all switched on, still only uses one.
After running for less then an hour, on Windows, the keyboard becomes unresponsible.


Havnt bin able to get Raspberry Pi with cgminer 3.10.0 to find them. Just says No Devices Detected, no matter what i do. Tried several guides for it, and a number of systems(MinePeon, RaspBian) but none of them detects it. Also tried BFGminer in minepeon, with same result.

Got a 7 port USB 2.0 hub, with external power supply, noname. The AC adapter that came with it only provided 1amp, so i made a molex cable for my computer so it would get more amps that way. Also cut the red wire in the USB, just to check if that would help, either on the raspberry, or the keyboard that becomes unrespnsible. But it didnt.

The guide i used for RaspBian Cgminer

$ sudo apt-get update
$ sudo apt-get install build-essential git pkg-config libtool libcurl4-openssl-dev libncurses5-dev libudev-dev autoconf automake
$ git clone https://github.com/ckolivas/cgminer.git
$ cd cgminer
$ ./autogen.sh
$ ./configure --enable-bitfury
$ make
$ sudo make install

Then i use ./cgminer and fill in the pool and worker specs.



Any help on this will be great, and if anyone solves this so it works, will get a reward(BTC).


Going out to buy a better hub now, to see if that helps.



Did you firmware update yet?


Bought a new USB 2.0 hub with a 3.5 amp ac adapter.

Updatede the firmware on both, via this guide http://c-scape.nl/bi-fury/  chose the 90 degree version.

Kind of the same problem on windows. Except this time, one of them is unknown device. They both work fine alone, with a higher speed then before 5gh/s+, but it will still only run one.

And the problem hasnt changede at all in linux, dosnt find any of them, no matter what hub, or how i hotplug them.

Also noticed that the LED's on the pens behave different now. Before the green led was always on, when the device was plugged in. Now when you start it, the red led turns on, then off. And when the pen is in use the green led flashes.
merv77
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


1.21 GIGA WATTS


View Profile
January 16, 2014, 03:30:47 PM
 #516

Bought a new USB 2.0 hub with a 3.5 amp ac adapter.

Updatede the firmware on both, via this guide http://c-scape.nl/bi-fury/  chose the 90 degree version.

Kind of the same problem on windows. Except this time, one of them is unknown device. They both work fine alone, with a higher speed then before 5gh/s+, but it will still only run one.

And the problem hasnt changede at all in linux, dosnt find any of them, no matter what hub, or how i hotplug them.

Also noticed that the LED's on the pens behave different now. Before the green led was always on, when the device was plugged in. Now when you start it, the red led turns on, then off. And when the pen is in use the green led flashes.

have you tried this method....  (I'm using Windows 7)

First plug the Bi-Fury into a USB port and look in 'Devices & Printers' in the control panel to see if Bi-Fury is there.  If not download 'zadig.exe', run it and select in 'Options' menu to 'show all devices', then select the Bi-Fury in the drop down list and select 'WinUSB' driver and click install.

Then re-check 'Devices & Printers' in the control panel to see if the Bi-Fury has come up, if not reboot PC and check again.  When the Bi-Fury is visible in the 'Devices & Printers' in the control panel then unplug it from USB port and run 'cgminer' with you pool settings and replug (hot plug) the Bi-Fury's one by one (not to quick, let it start hashing and then plug another).
rallasnackbar
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
January 16, 2014, 06:20:09 PM
 #517

Bought a new USB 2.0 hub with a 3.5 amp ac adapter.

Updatede the firmware on both, via this guide http://c-scape.nl/bi-fury/  chose the 90 degree version.

Kind of the same problem on windows. Except this time, one of them is unknown device. They both work fine alone, with a higher speed then before 5gh/s+, but it will still only run one.

And the problem hasnt changede at all in linux, dosnt find any of them, no matter what hub, or how i hotplug them.

Also noticed that the LED's on the pens behave different now. Before the green led was always on, when the device was plugged in. Now when you start it, the red led turns on, then off. And when the pen is in use the green led flashes.

have you tried this method....  (I'm using Windows 7)

First plug the Bi-Fury into a USB port and look in 'Devices & Printers' in the control panel to see if Bi-Fury is there.  If not download 'zadig.exe', run it and select in 'Options' menu to 'show all devices', then select the Bi-Fury in the drop down list and select 'WinUSB' driver and click install.

Then re-check 'Devices & Printers' in the control panel to see if the Bi-Fury has come up, if not reboot PC and check again.  When the Bi-Fury is visible in the 'Devices & Printers' in the control panel then unplug it from USB port and run 'cgminer' with you pool settings and replug (hot plug) the Bi-Fury's one by one (not to quick, let it start hashing and then plug another).

Yeh sorry about not mentioning it earlier, did the zadig thing yesterday, after reading through some forums for a solution.

Used zadig_v2.0.1.162.exe and added winusb driver to them.

After my last post, i got them both to run on Windows 7, without my keyboard being rejected. So either the bigger AC adapter, or firmware helped.

The next problem is to get it running on my Raspberry Pi, since the computer i use for Bi*Fury, as of now, is also my scrypt mining rig. And it has some restarts....

Also, see how it still says No devices detected!

merv77
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


1.21 GIGA WATTS


View Profile
January 16, 2014, 06:49:14 PM
 #518

some wanted to see how I wired up power supply with 10 port USB 2.0 hubs


5V 30A 150W power supply

   
connections are self explanatory  

 
Silver 10 port USB hub        


soldered power wires directly to PCB       


close up of solder connction to PCB

 
Blue (better quality) 10 port USB hub  

 
again soldered power wires directly to PCB  

 
close up again of blue USB hub 


cut outs for wires to come through hub case


if you're not comfortable with soldering then you can buy something like this above with screw terminals
below are couple links of these DC power plugs:
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/CCTV-Camera-5-5mm-x-2-1-mm-DC-Power-Male-Jack-Plug-Connector-Adapter-/360726637870
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/20pcs-2-1-x-5-5mm-DC-Power-Male-Plug-Jack-Adapter-Connector-for-CCTV-System-/161115013698
use wire that's heavy enough to carry power to hub to prevent high voltage drop.  eg. thick figure 8 (speaker) wire with 24 strands minimum, also known as 24/020 wire.
I used 14AWG wire which is probably over kill but I had this type of wire because I use to tinker with battery powered RC helicopters.


cut red power wire in USB cable that connects from USB hub to PC USB port.
this is to prevent PC USB port trying to power anything connected to USB hub (power isn't required as your using power supply for power)

here's a thread where there's good info on USB hub, etc.. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=253749.0

Note. if you're going to do similar with a USB 3.0 hubs they may be powered with 12V instead of 5V, the same applies but 12V power supply required.
intron
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 428


- electronics design|embedded software|verilog -


View Profile
January 16, 2014, 06:55:45 PM
 #519

some wanted to see how I wired up power supply with 10 port USB 2.0 hubs

http://i.imgur.com/POEeNVp.jpg
5V 30A 150W power supply

http://i.imgur.com/RvlyTNR.jpg
connections are self explanatory  

http://i.imgur.com/ErhyOmu.jpg
Silver 10 port USB hub        

http://i.imgur.com/gVgv99n.jpg
soldered power wires directly to PCB      

http://i.imgur.com/VisTiN2.jpg
close up of solder connction to PCB

http://i.imgur.com/mlwjPsl.jpg
Blue (better quality) 10 port USB hub  

http://i.imgur.com/tmZLyk8.jpg
again soldered power wires directly to PCB  

http://i.imgur.com/SbSHqvi.jpg
close up again of blue USB hub  

http://i.imgur.com/mKfz1jD.jpg
cut outs for wires to come through hub case

http://i.imgur.com/kGIyhjD.jpg
if you're not comfortable with soldering then you can buy something like this above with screw terminals
below are couple links of these DC power plugs:
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/CCTV-Camera-5-5mm-x-2-1-mm-DC-Power-Male-Jack-Plug-Connector-Adapter-/360726637870
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/20pcs-2-1-x-5-5mm-DC-Power-Male-Plug-Jack-Adapter-Connector-for-CCTV-System-/161115013698
use wire that's heavy enough to carry power to hub to prevent high voltage drop.  eg. thick figure 8 (speaker) wire with 24 strands minimum, also known as 24/020 wire.
I used 14AWG wire which is probably over kill but I had this type of wire because I use to tinker with battery powered RC helicopters.

http://i.imgur.com/ZMpnQCK.jpg
cut red power wire in USB cable that connects from USB hub to PC USB port.
this is to prevent PC USB port trying to power anything connected to USB hub (power isn't required as your using power supply for power)

here's a thread where there's good info on USB hub, etc.. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=253749.0

Note. if you're going to do similar with a USB 3.0 hubs they may be powered with 12V instead of 5V, the same applies but 12V power supply required.


Very nice!

Found out I need something like this for
powering hex•fury also:)

And if you remove the polyfuse in the blue hub
(that green thingy), you don't need to cut the
red wire.

ManeBjorn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
January 16, 2014, 07:04:46 PM
 #520

Excellent.
Thanks that looks much easier than I was worried it would be.
Great job.


some wanted to see how I wired up power supply with 10 port USB 2.0 hubs


5V 30A 150W power supply

   
connections are self explanatory  

 
Silver 10 port USB hub        


soldered power wires directly to PCB       


close up of solder connction to PCB

 
Blue (better quality) 10 port USB hub  

 
again soldered power wires directly to PCB  

 
close up again of blue USB hub 


cut outs for wires to come through hub case


if you're not comfortable with soldering then you can buy something like this above with screw terminals
below are couple links of these DC power plugs:
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/CCTV-Camera-5-5mm-x-2-1-mm-DC-Power-Male-Jack-Plug-Connector-Adapter-/360726637870
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/20pcs-2-1-x-5-5mm-DC-Power-Male-Plug-Jack-Adapter-Connector-for-CCTV-System-/161115013698
use wire that's heavy enough to carry power to hub to prevent high voltage drop.  eg. thick figure 8 (speaker) wire with 24 strands minimum, also known as 24/020 wire.
I used 14AWG wire which is probably over kill but I had this type of wire because I use to tinker with battery powered RC helicopters.


cut red power wire in USB cable that connects from USB hub to PC USB port.
this is to prevent PC USB port trying to power anything connected to USB hub (power isn't required as your using power supply for power)

here's a thread where there's good info on USB hub, etc.. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=253749.0

Note. if you're going to do similar with a USB 3.0 hubs they may be powered with 12V instead of 5V, the same applies but 12V power supply required.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 [26] 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!