Bitcoin Forum
October 19, 2017, 06:59:26 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Bi•Fury | 5 GH/s USB Miner [IN STOCK!] {SALE !}  (Read 302839 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2310


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 22, 2014, 01:44:05 PM
 #541

I'm having an interesting problem with one of these sticks. I had a DOA that when it arrive reported a temperature of 20C and did nothing, usually you plug these in and they report 50C before they start hashing. Sent it back and the replacement came and reports temperature as 100C before it begins hashing.

This has not been a problem as i have used the temp cut off option in cgminer to stop it throttling as they are all under cooling and never reach more then 55C. However now it is showing no more then 1.7GHs with cg miner started with cgminer.exe --drillbit-options ext:230:1:950 --temp-cutoff 110 on 3.10.0. Running on a USB3 hub and nothing has changed.

I am guessing i have had a chip go bad but thought i would post in case CGminer preemptively cuts off before the 110 limit, i have tried the different firmwares but get the same result. Anyone know what these use as a temperature sensor? and if there is a way to trick it back to normal range(i suspect my DOA was returned with a tricked temp sensor)?
Upgrade to the latest firmware.

cgminer also supports a target temperature for these:
--bxf-temp-target <arg> Set target temperature for BXF devices (default: 82)

It does not cut off, it throttles to the slowest possible speed if it's over the range.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1508439566
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508439566

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508439566
Reply with quote  #2

1508439566
Report to moderator
1508439566
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508439566

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508439566
Reply with quote  #2

1508439566
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508439566
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508439566

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508439566
Reply with quote  #2

1508439566
Report to moderator
1508439566
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508439566

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508439566
Reply with quote  #2

1508439566
Report to moderator
1508439566
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508439566

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508439566
Reply with quote  #2

1508439566
Report to moderator
rallasnackbar
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 02:42:14 PM
 #542

Still cant get my bi*fury's to run on raspberry... If its the same problem a week from now, im going to sell them again.

What a waste of money and time, and no support from sellers what so ever.



DONT BUY THESE
cscape
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251



View Profile
January 22, 2014, 02:45:18 PM
 #543

Anyone know what these use as a temperature sensor? and if there is a way to trick it back to normal range(i suspect my DOA was returned with a tricked temp sensor)?

The temperature sensor is a 330 Ohm (nominal value at 25C) NTC resistor, located between the 2 bitfury chips and big black inductor. It's a 0603 component, slightly larger than the 0402 caps around the bitfurys.


Happy with your c-scape product ? Consider a tip: 16X2FWVRz6UzPWsu4WjKBMJatR7UvyKzcy
wunch
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 04:02:20 PM
 #544

I'm having an interesting problem with one of these sticks. I had a DOA that when it arrive reported a temperature of 20C and did nothing, usually you plug these in and they report 50C before they start hashing. Sent it back and the replacement came and reports temperature as 100C before it begins hashing.

This has not been a problem as i have used the temp cut off option in cgminer to stop it throttling as they are all under cooling and never reach more then 55C. However now it is showing no more then 1.7GHs with cg miner started with cgminer.exe --drillbit-options ext:230:1:950 --temp-cutoff 110 on 3.10.0. Running on a USB3 hub and nothing has changed.

I am guessing i have had a chip go bad but thought i would post in case CGminer preemptively cuts off before the 110 limit, i have tried the different firmwares but get the same result. Anyone know what these use as a temperature sensor? and if there is a way to trick it back to normal range(i suspect my DOA was returned with a tricked temp sensor)?
Upgrade to the latest firmware.

cgminer also supports a target temperature for these:
--bxf-temp-target <arg> Set target temperature for BXF devices (default: 82)

It does not cut off, it throttles to the slowest possible speed if it's over the range.

Yep was on the latest firmware but buggered up my batch file using --temp-cutoff instead of --bxf-temp-target. Classical case of PEBKAC thanks for pointing me in the right direction Smiley
wunch
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 04:04:16 PM
 #545

Still cant get my bi*fury's to run on raspberry... If its the same problem a week from now, im going to sell them again.

What a waste of money and time, and no support from sellers what so ever.



DONT BUY THESE

They won't run on a rasberry pi as the native usb ports do not give enougth power. The pi also does not detect USB 3 hubs which you pretty much need for these. Try hooking the pi up to a POWERED USB 2 hub and make sure it has plenty of power. Using a 48W USB3 hub i can only run 4 of these on one hub.
rallasnackbar
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 05:00:27 PM
 #546

Still cant get my bi*fury's to run on raspberry... If its the same problem a week from now, im going to sell them again.

What a waste of money and time, and no support from sellers what so ever.



DONT BUY THESE

They won't run on a rasberry pi as the native usb ports do not give enougth power. The pi also does not detect USB 3 hubs which you pretty much need for these. Try hooking the pi up to a POWERED USB 2 hub and make sure it has plenty of power. Using a 48W USB3 hub i can only run 4 of these on one hub.

I am using a powered USB 2.0 Hub, with the red wire cut in the usb cable. Works just fine on windows 7. But no matter what i do, i cant get them to be detected on the rasp. Not even one.

I really think Felipeo or someone else from the store should come with a solution to this. Since there is no point in running them on a machine with a big psu, i end up using more power then im gaining from mining this way.
FlensGold
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 05:55:44 PM
 #547

They do work on a raspberry PI:


At least they work running cgminer 3.8.4 compiled with the correct drivers.
rallasnackbar
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 06:01:52 PM
 #548

They do work on a raspberry PI:


At least they work running cgminer 3.8.4 compiled with the correct drivers.

What OS for the rasp did you use (Raspbian, Pidora, RaspBMC or other)??

Did you update the firmware on the bi*fury's?

What USB hub do you use, and how much power does the ac adapter provide?
FlensGold
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 06:33:09 PM
 #549

They do work on a raspberry PI:


At least they work running cgminer 3.8.4 compiled with the correct drivers.

What OS for the rasp did you use (Raspbian, Pidora, RaspBMC or other)??

Did you update the firmware on the bi*fury's?

What USB hub do you use, and how much power does the ac adapter provide?
Minepeon, current version afaik (version which was current in mid december).
No, I did not change the firmware. It was as shipped in early december.
The screenshot was taken while running all those devices on a 49 Port USB HUB with a "cheap" ATX PSU (25A).

Unfortunately I have no more BI*Fury's anymore so I can not do further tests, sorry.
rallasnackbar
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 06:44:35 PM
 #550

They do work on a raspberry PI:


At least they work running cgminer 3.8.4 compiled with the correct drivers.

What OS for the rasp did you use (Raspbian, Pidora, RaspBMC or other)??

Did you update the firmware on the bi*fury's?

What USB hub do you use, and how much power does the ac adapter provide?
Minepeon, current version afaik (version which was current in mid december).
No, I did not change the firmware. It was as shipped in early december.
The screenshot was taken while running all those devices on a 49 Port USB HUB with a "cheap" ATX PSU (25A).

Unfortunately I have no more BI*Fury's anymore so I can not do further tests, sorry.

Triede that, didnt work.
FlensGold
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 07:05:08 PM
 #551

On Minepeon you might also have to edit the "/etc/udev/rules.d/01-miner.rules".
Don't forget to add the following lines if they do not already exist:

Quote
# BXF
ATTRS{idVendor}=="198c", ATTRS{idProduct}=="b1f1", SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ACTION=="add", MODE="0666", GROUP="minepeon"

Oh..and you have to hot plug them. First start mining software, then plug them in.
rallasnackbar
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 07:29:30 PM
 #552

On Minepeon you might also have to edit the "/etc/udev/rules.d/01-miner.rules".
Don't forget to add the following lines if they do not already exist:

Quote
# BXF
ATTRS{idVendor}=="198c", ATTRS{idProduct}=="b1f1", SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ACTION=="add", MODE="0666", GROUP="minepeon"

Oh..and you have to hot plug them. First start mining software, then plug them in.

And how do i do that, saw some other guy having trouble with it in the mac too, but he didnt add what command he used either.
FlensGold
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 07:35:13 PM
 #553

On Minepeon you might also have to edit the "/etc/udev/rules.d/01-miner.rules".
Don't forget to add the following lines if they do not already exist:

Quote
# BXF
ATTRS{idVendor}=="198c", ATTRS{idProduct}=="b1f1", SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ACTION=="add", MODE="0666", GROUP="minepeon"

Oh..and you have to hot plug them. First start mining software, then plug them in.

And how do i do that, saw some other guy having trouble with it in the mac too, but he didnt add what command he used either.
I only know the way using minepeon. Maybe the file on your system is somewhere else:

Code:
sudo su
nano /etc/udev/rules.d/01-miner.rules
then add the above lines to the end of the file and save it afterwards. Reboot your machine and it should work.
rallasnackbar
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 07:38:58 PM
 #554

On Minepeon you might also have to edit the "/etc/udev/rules.d/01-miner.rules".
Don't forget to add the following lines if they do not already exist:

Quote
# BXF
ATTRS{idVendor}=="198c", ATTRS{idProduct}=="b1f1", SUBSYSTEMS=="usb", ACTION=="add", MODE="0666", GROUP="minepeon"

Oh..and you have to hot plug them. First start mining software, then plug them in.

And how do i do that, saw some other guy having trouble with it in the mac too, but he didnt add what command he used either.
I only know the way using minepeon. Maybe the file on your system is somewhere else:

Code:
sudo su
nano /etc/udev/rules.d/01-miner.rules
then add the above lines to the end of the file and save it afterwards. Reboot your machine and it should work.




that line is already there.
chek2fire
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


Ιntergalactic Conciliator


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 11:09:30 PM
 #555

why some times flash a red light and other time green? What that means?

tokona
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110


View Profile WWW
January 23, 2014, 03:34:43 AM
 #556

why some times flash a red light and other time green? What that means?
That is when it is working on the shares and stuff when mining.

klintay
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1496

I thought we all equal -_-


View Profile WWW
January 23, 2014, 05:10:19 AM
 #557

Still cant get my bi*fury's to run on raspberry... If its the same problem a week from now, im going to sell them again.

What a waste of money and time, and no support from sellers what so ever.



DONT BUY THESE

They won't run on a rasberry pi as the native usb ports do not give enougth power. The pi also does not detect USB 3 hubs which you pretty much need for these. Try hooking the pi up to a POWERED USB 2 hub and make sure it has plenty of power. Using a 48W USB3 hub i can only run 4 of these on one hub.

I think you need some Dipo Electronic USB hubs. Professional standarded, 700 mA per port so all 19 ports can work even if you fill them up with bi-furies!

Check out my thread here:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=418087.0

or

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=413406.0

SavellM
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 305


View Profile
January 23, 2014, 09:40:05 AM
 #558

So can anyone tell me if a Raspberry Pi would actually work 100% with these at full speed?

I am using a http://www.amazon.co.uk/ORICO-Splitter-Aluminum-Backward-Compatible/dp/B00ECTIFW0/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1390469941&sr=8-2&keywords=ORICO+A3H10
ORICO A3H10 as my USB hub.

Will this work 100% with a Raspberry Pi and these BiFury's?
Would I install MinePeon on the Pi?
rallasnackbar
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
January 23, 2014, 11:13:02 AM
 #559

So can anyone tell me if a Raspberry Pi would actually work 100% with these at full speed?

I am using a http://www.amazon.co.uk/ORICO-Splitter-Aluminum-Backward-Compatible/dp/B00ECTIFW0/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1390469941&sr=8-2&keywords=ORICO+A3H10
ORICO A3H10 as my USB hub.

Will this work 100% with a Raspberry Pi and these BiFury's?
Would I install MinePeon on the Pi?

I wouldnt buy these again.  I had mines for two weeks now, and im still not able to run them on raspberry pi.
SavellM
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 305


View Profile
January 23, 2014, 11:25:25 AM
 #560

But what kind of issues were you having?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 [28] 29 30 31 32 33 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!