Bitcoin Forum
December 18, 2017, 10:40:11 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Bi•Fury | 5 GH/s USB Miner [IN STOCK!] {SALE !}  (Read 304289 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784



View Profile
December 26, 2013, 01:04:54 PM
 #421

Hi There,

so i have 2 5ghs bi-fury modules. i try to use them with Windows but i got several Problems with that. under Windows XP its unable to use the Driver from bfgminer. they are not accepted. under Windows 7 it install with Error unable to start. I think the Driver is not working too there.
Is an USB 3.0 hub necassary to use this Blocks?  Can anybody help please Sad

Where did you find drivers for bfgminer? i can only find the BFGminer windows inf file and then i don't know what to do...

Here's the FTDI drivers for BFGminer:

http://www.ftdichip.com/FTDrivers.htm

Pick your OS,plug your device in with it powered,run the driver,then you may need to reboot.Check in device manager to see if your device shows,if not reinstall driver.Run BFGminer,it should work  Wink
So you say that i should only install the drivers on windows and nothing on the fury?
Now the name in control panel is Bi•Fury (COM3) Ports (COM & LPT) Manufacturer: c-scape for Cryptopol
Trying to find it with bfgminer and nothing, and the green and red lights are on the Bi•Fury, Red light does not feel like its good.
Now green light is on, but this? and then red light was on again...


The driver and CGMiner seem to fine now for you... The problem is overheating.  Do you have a fan on your Bi*Fury?   You should never run these without one.
Yapp i need a fan, but its so hot can a fan fix that to normal temp...

Depends on your ambient temp... But I've just got a USB fan on mine and a few other sticks like the RedFury and my Bi*Fury never goes above 50C.   You need to move some air through the big Heatsink to get it working.  It's a pretty big Heatsink afterall.

Don't keep running it without some active cooling or you'll destroy your bi*Fury.

1513636811
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513636811

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513636811
Reply with quote  #2

1513636811
Report to moderator
1513636811
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513636811

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513636811
Reply with quote  #2

1513636811
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
tokona
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110


View Profile WWW
December 26, 2013, 01:15:08 PM
 #422

Hi There,

so i have 2 5ghs bi-fury modules. i try to use them with Windows but i got several Problems with that. under Windows XP its unable to use the Driver from bfgminer. they are not accepted. under Windows 7 it install with Error unable to start. I think the Driver is not working too there.
Is an USB 3.0 hub necassary to use this Blocks?  Can anybody help please Sad

Where did you find drivers for bfgminer? i can only find the BFGminer windows inf file and then i don't know what to do...

Here's the FTDI drivers for BFGminer:

http://www.ftdichip.com/FTDrivers.htm

Pick your OS,plug your device in with it powered,run the driver,then you may need to reboot.Check in device manager to see if your device shows,if not reinstall driver.Run BFGminer,it should work  Wink
So you say that i should only install the drivers on windows and nothing on the fury?
Now the name in control panel is Bi•Fury (COM3) Ports (COM & LPT) Manufacturer: c-scape for Cryptopol
Trying to find it with bfgminer and nothing, and the green and red lights are on the Bi•Fury, Red light does not feel like its good.
Now green light is on, but this? and then red light was on again...


The driver and CGMiner seem to fine now for you... The problem is overheating.  Do you have a fan on your Bi*Fury?   You should never run these without one.
Yapp i need a fan, but its so hot can a fan fix that to normal temp...

Depends on your ambient temp... But I've just got a USB fan on mine and a few other sticks like the RedFury and my Bi*Fury never goes above 50C.   You need to move some air through the big Heatsink to get it working.  It's a pretty big Heatsink afterall.

Don't keep running it without some active cooling or you'll destroy your bi*Fury.
Ok thanks! i hope the bi*Fury is alright. i order a usb fan right now. i did not know it would be this warm without doing mining.

cscape
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251



View Profile
December 26, 2013, 01:47:20 PM
 #423

Ok thanks! i hope the bi*Fury is alright. i order a usb fan right now. i did not know it would be this warm without doing mining.

The latest firmware is smarter, and will only power up the chips when it has received some recent data from the miner software. It will also power down the chips again when the miner software stops, or when the board gets too hot.

You can get firmware upgrades here: http://c-scape.nl/bi-fury/

Happy with your c-scape product ? Consider a tip: 16X2FWVRz6UzPWsu4WjKBMJatR7UvyKzcy
tokona
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110


View Profile WWW
December 26, 2013, 02:40:09 PM
 #424

Ok thanks! i hope the bi*Fury is alright. i order a usb fan right now. i did not know it would be this warm without doing mining.

The latest firmware is smarter, and will only power up the chips when it has received some recent data from the miner software. It will also power down the chips again when the miner software stops, or when the board gets too hot.

You can get firmware upgrades here: http://c-scape.nl/bi-fury/
Ohh nice, is it easy to do, i have looked at the pdf. On number 5 Open up the removable disk window, delete FIRMWARE.BIN, and copy new firmware.bin in its place. Is that 100% going to work or can it happen that windows will not find the "removable disk" and i cant put the new firmware there? because when its connected without doing this i cant open the b*fury in device manager and look inside.
But i will probably try it anyway while waiting for the fan.

cscape
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251



View Profile
December 26, 2013, 04:21:48 PM
 #425

If windows doesn't see the removable disk, there's no harm done. You can pull the device out, and plug it back in, to use it normally with the old firmware.

Only when you delete/replace the firmware and something goes wrong there, it may not start up properly. But even in that case, using the tweezer trick again takes you back to the removable disk, and you can try again.

For Mac/Linux users, please read back a few posts in this thread.

Happy with your c-scape product ? Consider a tip: 16X2FWVRz6UzPWsu4WjKBMJatR7UvyKzcy
mahoni
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile
December 26, 2013, 08:21:43 PM
 #426

Hi There,

so i have 2 5ghs bi-fury modules. i try to use them with Windows but i got several Problems with that. under Windows XP its unable to use the Driver from bfgminer. they are not accepted. under Windows 7 it install with Error unable to start. I think the Driver is not working too there.
Is an USB 3.0 hub necassary to use this Blocks?  Can anybody help please Sad

Where did you find drivers for bfgminer? i can only find the BFGminer windows inf file and then i don't know what to do...

Here's the FTDI drivers for BFGminer:

http://www.ftdichip.com/FTDrivers.htm

Pick your OS,plug your device in with it powered,run the driver,then you may need to reboot.Check in device manager to see if your device shows,if not reinstall driver.Run BFGminer,it should work  Wink

Hi there,

so this is not a Device Driver its a  Virtual COM Port Driver. Anyway i have tested. On another win7 Maschine and its not working.

Can anybody tell us his Setup who is still mining with this Furys (5ghs)  on an Window OS (Win7 prefered)  - wich way to install the drivers - wich driver - wich miner including options etc.
Sad
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2366


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
December 26, 2013, 08:23:49 PM
 #427

Latest version of cgminer also dynamically clocks the current bi*fury firmware to keep them below a certain temperature.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Unacceptable
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212



View Profile
December 27, 2013, 12:25:49 AM
 #428

Hi There,

so i have 2 5ghs bi-fury modules. i try to use them with Windows but i got several Problems with that. under Windows XP its unable to use the Driver from bfgminer. they are not accepted. under Windows 7 it install with Error unable to start. I think the Driver is not working too there.
Is an USB 3.0 hub necassary to use this Blocks?  Can anybody help please Sad

Where did you find drivers for bfgminer? i can only find the BFGminer windows inf file and then i don't know what to do...

Here's the FTDI drivers for BFGminer:

http://www.ftdichip.com/FTDrivers.htm

Pick your OS,plug your device in with it powered,run the driver,then you may need to reboot.Check in device manager to see if your device shows,if not reinstall driver.Run BFGminer,it should work  Wink

Hi there,

so this is not a Device Driver its a  Virtual COM Port Driver. Anyway i have tested. On another win7 Maschine and its not working.

Can anybody tell us his Setup who is still mining with this Furys (5ghs)  on an Window OS (Win7 prefered)  - wich way to install the drivers - wich driver - wich miner including options etc.
Sad

My bad,I forgot you need -S COM?(add your com #,find it in device manager under PORTS) like this:

bfgminer.exe -o stratum.mining.eligius.st:3334 -u Username -p password -S COM?

bfgminer.exe -o stratum.btcguild.com:3333 -u Username -p password -S COM?

I run BFGminer with a bat file,to make one:

Now to make a bat file,in Notepad copy & paste this & add your pool info:

bfgminer -o http://pool:port -u username -p password -S COM?

If you want a backup pool,use this:

bfgminer -o http://pool1:port -u pool1username -p pool1password -o http://pool2:port -u pool2usernmae -p pool2password -S COM?

Save it to your desktop,call it bfgminer.bat,paste it in bfgminer folder,double click the bat file to run bfgminer.

I don't know how to compile or use a config file,never got em to work..................  Roll Eyes

Good luck  Wink






"If you run into an asshole in the morning, you ran into an asshole. If you run into assholes all day long, you are the asshole."  -Raylan Givens
Got GOXXED ?? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KiqRpPiJAU&feature=youtu.be
"An ASIC being late is perfectly normal, predictable, and legal..."Hashfast & BFL slogan Smiley
tokona
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110


View Profile WWW
December 27, 2013, 02:00:40 PM
 #429

If windows doesn't see the removable disk, there's no harm done. You can pull the device out, and plug it back in, to use it normally with the old firmware.

Only when you delete/replace the firmware and something goes wrong there, it may not start up properly. But even in that case, using the tweezer trick again takes you back to the removable disk, and you can try again.

For Mac/Linux users, please read back a few posts in this thread.
Thanks!!!

tokona
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110


View Profile WWW
December 27, 2013, 02:09:56 PM
 #430

Latest version of cgminer also dynamically clocks the current bi*fury firmware to keep them below a certain temperature.
Thanks that is good to know,./

shofty
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
December 29, 2013, 03:14:44 PM
 #431

been linked here by nwoolls, think i've got a hardware issue with a bi*fury stick.

would you say the following results from a bi*fury left to run for 30 secondsish indicates an issue?

so this is a bi*fury, in a usb 3 slot on a new macbook pro, running bfgminer --HEAD installed by home-brew

Code:
Summary of runtime statistics:
                    
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Started at [2013-12-29 13:13:51]                    
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Pool: http://pit.deepbit.net:8332                    
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Runtime: 0 hrs : 1 mins : 47 secs                    
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Average hashrate: 0.0 Megahash/s                    
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Solved blocks: 0                    
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Best share difficulty: 33                    
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Share submissions: 32                    
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Accepted shares: 32                    
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Rejected shares: 0 + 0 stale (0.00%)                    
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Accepted difficulty shares: 32                    
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Rejected difficulty shares: 0                    
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Hardware errors: 79                    
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Network transfer: 153.0 /  67.9 kB  (  1.5 /   0.7 kB/s)                    
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Efficiency (accepted shares * difficulty / 2 KB): 0.30                    
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Utility (accepted shares / min): 18.81/min
                    
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Unable to get work from server occasions: 0                    
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Work items generated locally: 0                    
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Submitting work remotely delay occasions: 0                    
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] New blocks detected on network: 1
                    
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Summary of per device statistics:
                    
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] BIF0 53.1C | 5s: 0.00 avg: 0.00 u: 1.27 Gh/s | A:32 R:0+0(none) HW:79/ 71%                    
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] BIF0a 53.1C | 5s: 0.00 avg: 0.00 u: 1.27 Gh/s | A:32 R:0+0(none) HW:73/ 70%                    
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] BIF0b 53.1C | 5s:  0.0 avg:  0.0 u:  0.0  h/s | A:0 R:0+0(none) HW:6/100%                    
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39]                      
Shutdown signal received.



if i read it right, one of the two chips isn't hashing, hardware errors of 100%. the other one has a pretty terrible return of 70%.

I know the temperature is sky high, was running it away from the fan briefly. I get very similar results from the device when i run it in an enclosure with a fan on it, on a ubuntu pc with latest bfgminer too. it did cause crashes in 3.8.0 every so often, segmentation faults. couldn't get it to run very long at all on the ubuntu box.

any thoughts?
jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784



View Profile
December 29, 2013, 04:56:43 PM
 #432

been linked here by nwoolls, think i've got a hardware issue with a bi*fury stick.

would you say the following results from a bi*fury left to run for 30 secondsish indicates an issue?

so this is a bi*fury, in a usb 3 slot on a new macbook pro, running bfgminer --HEAD installed by home-brew

Code:
Summary of runtime statistics:
                   
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Started at [2013-12-29 13:13:51]                   
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Pool: http://pit.deepbit.net:8332                   
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Runtime: 0 hrs : 1 mins : 47 secs                   
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Average hashrate: 0.0 Megahash/s                   
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Solved blocks: 0                   
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Best share difficulty: 33                   
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Share submissions: 32                   
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Accepted shares: 32                   
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Rejected shares: 0 + 0 stale (0.00%)                   
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Accepted difficulty shares: 32                   
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Rejected difficulty shares: 0                   
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Hardware errors: 79                   
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Network transfer: 153.0 /  67.9 kB  (  1.5 /   0.7 kB/s)                   
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Efficiency (accepted shares * difficulty / 2 KB): 0.30                   
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Utility (accepted shares / min): 18.81/min
                   
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Unable to get work from server occasions: 0                   
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Work items generated locally: 0                   
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Submitting work remotely delay occasions: 0                   
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] New blocks detected on network: 1
                   
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] Summary of per device statistics:
                   
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] BIF0 53.1C | 5s: 0.00 avg: 0.00 u: 1.27 Gh/s | A:32 R:0+0(none) HW:79/ 71%                   
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] BIF0a 53.1C | 5s: 0.00 avg: 0.00 u: 1.27 Gh/s | A:32 R:0+0(none) HW:73/ 70%                   
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39] BIF0b 53.1C | 5s:  0.0 avg:  0.0 u:  0.0  h/s | A:0 R:0+0(none) HW:6/100%                   
 [2013-12-29 13:15:39]                     
Shutdown signal received.



if i read it right, one of the two chips isn't hashing, hardware errors of 100%. the other one has a pretty terrible return of 70%.

I know the temperature is sky high, was running it away from the fan briefly. I get very similar results from the device when i run it in an enclosure with a fan on it, on a ubuntu pc with latest bfgminer too. it did cause crashes in 3.8.0 every so often, segmentation faults. couldn't get it to run very long at all on the ubuntu box.

any thoughts?


Try running it using the latest 3.9.0 BFGMiner with sudo privileges.  It was the only way I could run it without segmentation faults.

shofty
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
December 30, 2013, 11:47:41 AM
 #433

Try running it using the latest 3.9.0 BFGMiner with sudo privileges.  It was the only way I could run it without segmentation faults.


Code:
sudo apt-get install bfgminer

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
bfgminer is already the newest version.

i know theres a 3.9.0 but apt-get doesn't seem to.
i've got ppa as repo and i've done a 'sudo apt-get update'.

so i guess i have to download it myself compile it and install it. linux hell, right there.
jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784



View Profile
December 30, 2013, 01:15:46 PM
 #434

Try running it using the latest 3.9.0 BFGMiner with sudo privileges.  It was the only way I could run it without segmentation faults.


Code:
sudo apt-get install bfgminer

Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree       
Reading state information... Done
bfgminer is already the newest version.

i know theres a 3.9.0 but apt-get doesn't seem to.
i've got ppa as repo and i've done a 'sudo apt-get update'.

so i guess i have to download it myself compile it and install it. linux hell, right there.

Git clone it directly.  Best way to keep the source up-to-date instead of relying on the always delayed repos.

FalconFly
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252

Sentinel


View Profile
December 31, 2013, 11:07:15 AM
 #435

Hm, since 2 days I'm running into a curious issue :

cgminer 3.9.0 shows my BiFury at 0 MHashes and room temperature (the hub with the USB devices is cooled well with a large USB fan, the other 3 BlueFury installed in the powered 10hub USB port run completely normal).
Restarting cgminer either via options or restarting the program works, the BiFury runs absolutely normal (0 HW errors reported) at rated speed - until it after some hours or a day silently drops to 0 MHs again.

The only thing I changed in the setup was basically going from cgminer 3.8.5 to 3.9.0....
(I left the Firmware untouched since purchase as it ran flawless so far)

Is there anything known in cgminer 3.9.0 to cause this maybe?

Right now I've taken the BiFury onto its own USB port with extender chord and placed it into the airstream (the usual 40.8deg Celsius @ full load) , seeing if that helps.

-- edit --

Didn't help, BiFury went to 0MHs after about 1 hour.
I reverted back to cgminer 3.8.5, hope that fixes the issue.

This forum signature is like its owner - it can't be bought
wunch
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49


View Profile
January 01, 2014, 08:37:31 PM
 #436

Hm, since 2 days I'm running into a curious issue :

cgminer 3.9.0 shows my BiFury at 0 MHashes and room temperature (the hub with the USB devices is cooled well with a large USB fan, the other 3 BlueFury installed in the powered 10hub USB port run completely normal).
Restarting cgminer either via options or restarting the program works, the BiFury runs absolutely normal (0 HW errors reported) at rated speed - until it after some hours or a day silently drops to 0 MHs again.

The only thing I changed in the setup was basically going from cgminer 3.8.5 to 3.9.0....
(I left the Firmware untouched since purchase as it ran flawless so far)

Is there anything known in cgminer 3.9.0 to cause this maybe?

Right now I've taken the BiFury onto its own USB port with extender chord and placed it into the airstream (the usual 40.8deg Celsius @ full load) , seeing if that helps.

-- edit --

Didn't help, BiFury went to 0MHs after about 1 hour.
I reverted back to cgminer 3.8.5, hope that fixes the issue.

Was it a USB 3.0 port? These things are power thirsty i can only run 4 on a 48W USB 3 hub before i get issues similar to what you describe. Anymore then 4 and there is an issue but 4 + 1 Drillbit/Nanofury + fan works fine
FalconFly
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252

Sentinel


View Profile
January 01, 2014, 09:09:10 PM
 #437

No, it's a powered USB 2 Hub (10port, only 4 occupied). The config ran for weeks without issues.
Strangely, after moving around the BiFury into another Port several times and reverting to cgminer 3.8.5, everything is back to normal.

I do notice though, plugging it out and back in temporarily seems to interrupt power to the other ports, causing 3 BlueFury miners to go offline for a short time. Could be my powered port is operating near its limits (5V/4A should be plenty for 4x 2.5W devices I thought).

I may take a PowerMeter and get a good estimation of total consumption of that powered USB hub @ full load.

This forum signature is like its owner - it can't be bought
FalconFly
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252

Sentinel


View Profile
January 02, 2014, 12:29:18 AM
 #438

Crap, looks like I ran out of luck.

The BiFury apparently died on me...
After it went to 0MHs/s again, this time that is where it stayed, no matter how often I restarted/rebooted, even went back to cgminer 3.9.0....
All to no avail.

I also attempted a Firmware upgrade (also to see if the firmware file was still there and undamaged) but didn't get far - despite carefully following instructions (green light off, Windows now sees a USB mass storage device), it failed to register as a Drive (error in device manager after a few seconds - device failed to respond).

Looks like I'll have to try to get a replacement.

A pity, it ran flawless and unchanged right off factory settings, never got warmer than 42deg Celsius with my big USB fan... Was very happy with it until recently Sad

(Sent an EMail to the store, maybe they can help)

This forum signature is like its owner - it can't be bought
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2366


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 02, 2014, 12:48:30 AM
 #439

You are almost certainly running out of power. Even if you have lots of slots, doesn't mean you have enough power.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
FalconFly
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252

Sentinel


View Profile
January 02, 2014, 01:31:22 AM
 #440

You are almost certainly running out of power. Even if you have lots of slots, doesn't mean you have enough power.

I tried running the BiFury solo on the powered Hub (which otherwise ran 1x BiFury and 3x BlueFury v2 without issues) and solo connected direct to various USB ports, the results were the same unfortunately Sad
I also tried it solo in another powered hub (different brand) to make sure it's not my 10port Hub at fault, that didn't change anything as well.
I even tried it with the USB fan directly connected to the Notebook disabled (to cut total USB power draw), no change as expected.

Now the USB Hub is running the 3 remaining BlueFury ASICs, never had any issue with those so far.
Basically (that doesn't happen often) I ran out of ideas what I could do. The very same config ran flawless for weeks ever since I set it up, absolutely nothing changed, didn't even touch it.

This forum signature is like its owner - it can't be bought
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!