Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 02:51:23 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 [57] 58 »
  Print  
Author Topic: X6500 Custom FPGA Miner  (Read 208031 times)
wmikrut
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 568



View Profile WWW
June 26, 2013, 02:11:26 AM
 #1121

Has anyone got this to work with BFGMiner's current version in Windows?

I see my X6500's installed in the control panel in Windows.
I can use MPBM to mine -- but that program is a little -- bulky.

When I run the bfgminer -D -d? -T command I do not see my devices listed.
I tried manually editing the .conf file and added :

"scan-serial" : [
        "x6500:A5CCCUQY",
        "x6500:A5XXX8IO"
],

But that doesn't work either.
The documentation on the x6500 in the readme file is a little lacking in getting the x6500's to work.

I will NEVER ask for any kind of funds up front in a buy/sale of anything on bitcointalk.

BM-2cTFihJKmSwusMAoYuUHPvpx56Jozv64KK
1480949483
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480949483

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480949483
Reply with quote  #2

1480949483
Report to moderator
1480949483
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480949483

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480949483
Reply with quote  #2

1480949483
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
purelithium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
July 04, 2013, 09:42:40 PM
 #1122

Has anyone got this to work with BFGMiner's current version in Windows?

I see my X6500's installed in the control panel in Windows.
I can use MPBM to mine -- but that program is a little -- bulky.

When I run the bfgminer -D -d? -T command I do not see my devices listed.
I tried manually editing the .conf file and added :

"scan-serial" : [
        "x6500:A5CCCUQY",
        "x6500:A5XXX8IO"
],

But that doesn't work either.
The documentation on the x6500 in the readme file is a little lacking in getting the x6500's to work.


Make sure you have the latest WinUSB driver installed as per this post: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=78192.msg1330416#msg1330416

Like my post? 1H7bfRYh7F89mfmFgsRCdn4awDaUHQmYqY
kdbaumann
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 11:08:01 PM
 #1123

I am trying to get mpbm working with a X6500 rev3 to connect to slush's pool.  I can't seem to do it.

Thoughts?
rocks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1153


View Profile
July 15, 2013, 05:53:30 AM
 #1124

So now that difficulty is going through the roof and many of us either have ASICs or will soon have an ASIC, soon it will make little sense to continue mining BTC with x6500 boards. Once difficulty hits 100M then in my area a x6500 is only break even with electricity cost...

What do people plan on using their x6500 boards for? Are any specific alt coins compatible and worthwhile?

vpereira
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
July 28, 2013, 09:49:18 AM
 #1125

many of us have ASIC, you mean many of us have asic erupter miner. some are waiting to receive their device and just a few have a real ASIC.. from altcoin, maybe nanocoin or wait until scrypt have been ported to lx150...
Zeronic
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 79



View Profile WWW
July 29, 2013, 02:59:53 AM
 #1126

Anyone have a good write up for getting either CGminer or BFGminer to work with the X6500 on windows or linux. I can only get them to work with MPBM atm.

360GH/s via AntMiner S1
JLM
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 165



View Profile
July 29, 2013, 02:18:48 PM
 #1127

Anyone have a good write up for getting either CGminer or BFGminer to work with the X6500 on windows or linux. I can only get them to work with MPBM atm.
+1 Somebody has drivers for CgMiner please!!!
Thanks!!!

1Hyawq17jkzfpunPC6tTikpgMGSsekd98z
shackleford
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 191


View Profile
July 29, 2013, 08:47:55 PM
 #1128

So now that difficulty is going through the roof and many of us either have ASICs or will soon have an ASIC, soon it will make little sense to continue mining BTC with x6500 boards. Once difficulty hits 100M then in my area a x6500 is only break even with electricity cost...

What do people plan on using their x6500 boards for? Are any specific alt coins compatible and worthwhile?



I am going to continue to mine with them for the foreseeable future, even when it goes against conventional “wisdom”. These devices take such a small amount of power to run that I will switch it over to solo mine and run a dedicated btc/tor Raspi node.  This will be a form of Lotto approach, even if I don’t hit a block for many years oh well  and if I do I will have virgin coin.  If somebody comes out will a really good low power ASIC I may replace it but the current landscape will need to change and prices go down dramatically with availability way up (1year or so maybe less is my guess).

I laugh at everyone who always thinks they are so smart with their profitability projections. If I listened to these geniuses I would not have been mining when BTC was under 0.50$ because people were saying the same thing back then. 

vpereira
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
July 29, 2013, 08:59:53 PM
 #1129

So now that difficulty is going through the roof and many of us either have ASICs or will soon have an ASIC, soon it will make little sense to continue mining BTC with x6500 boards. Once difficulty hits 100M then in my area a x6500 is only break even with electricity cost...

What do people plan on using their x6500 boards for? Are any specific alt coins compatible and worthwhile?



I am going to continue to mine with them for the foreseeable future, even when it goes against conventional “wisdom”. These devices take such a small amount of power to run that I will switch it over to solo mine and run a dedicated btc/tor Raspi node.  This will be a form of Lotto approach, even if I don’t hit a block for many years oh well  and if I do I will have virgin coin.  If somebody comes out will a really good low power ASIC I may replace it but the current landscape will need to change and prices go down dramatically with availability way up (1year or so maybe less is my guess).

I laugh at everyone who always thinks they are so smart with their profitability projections. If I listened to these geniuses I would not have been mining when BTC was under 0.50$ because people were saying the same thing back then. 



And the "ASIC is almost there" I'm reading here since end 2011...
shackleford
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 191


View Profile
July 29, 2013, 09:20:46 PM
 #1130

So now that difficulty is going through the roof and many of us either have ASICs or will soon have an ASIC, soon it will make little sense to continue mining BTC with x6500 boards. Once difficulty hits 100M then in my area a x6500 is only break even with electricity cost...

What do people plan on using their x6500 boards for? Are any specific alt coins compatible and worthwhile?



I am going to continue to mine with them for the foreseeable future, even when it goes against conventional “wisdom”. These devices take such a small amount of power to run that I will switch it over to solo mine and run a dedicated btc/tor Raspi node.  This will be a form of Lotto approach, even if I don’t hit a block for many years oh well  and if I do I will have virgin coin.  If somebody comes out will a really good low power ASIC I may replace it but the current landscape will need to change and prices go down dramatically with availability way up (1year or so maybe less is my guess).

I laugh at everyone who always thinks they are so smart with their profitability projections. If I listened to these geniuses I would not have been mining when BTC was under 0.50$ because people were saying the same thing back then. 



And the "ASIC is almost there" I'm reading here since end 2011...

I assure you they are definitely here. Now with multiple chip makers with a working "recipe" (Avalon/BFL/Bitfurry?) it is going to be a race to the bottom.
vpereira
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
July 29, 2013, 09:25:30 PM
 #1131

some of them are here, some of them still having problems to delivery.. I know that until mid-2014 I'm still able to mine BTC with fpga, then we will be able to reuse the FPGAs to mine another SHA256 altcoin or reprogram our xilinx6 to do some scrypt... in almost all threads there is somebody trolling with this argumentum ad asicem  "buuuh ASIC is coming". it is just bo ring..
vpereira
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52


View Profile
July 29, 2013, 09:37:15 PM
 #1132

So now that difficulty is going through the roof and many of us either have ASICs or will soon have an ASIC, soon it will make little sense to continue mining BTC with x6500 boards. Once difficulty hits 100M then in my area a x6500 is only break even with electricity cost...

What do people plan on using their x6500 boards for? Are any specific alt coins compatible and worthwhile?



I am going to continue to mine with them for the foreseeable future, even when it goes against conventional “wisdom”. These devices take such a small amount of power to run that I will switch it over to solo mine and run a dedicated btc/tor Raspi node.  This will be a form of Lotto approach, even if I don’t hit a block for many years oh well  and if I do I will have virgin coin.  If somebody comes out will a really good low power ASIC I may replace it but the current landscape will need to change and prices go down dramatically with availability way up (1year or so maybe less is my guess).

I laugh at everyone who always thinks they are so smart with their profitability projections. If I listened to these geniuses I would not have been mining when BTC was under 0.50$ because people were saying the same thing back then. 



And the "ASIC is almost there" I'm reading here since end 2011...

I assure you they are definitely here. Now with multiple chip makers with a working "recipe" (Avalon/BFL/Bitfurry?) it is going to be a race to the bottom.

the DIY ASIC thread remembers me pretty much the Open FPGA thread, back in the days.. its great, but not for the average miner, looking for usb miner... the K1 is a nice one, but it will be available in september or october.. maybe it will be already to late..
156216
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
January 17, 2014, 03:26:06 PM
 #1133

I am running an x6500 with bfgminer 3.10.0 with bitstream "fpgaminer_x6500-overclocker-0402.bit".

It default starts at 190Mhz per processor and jumps 2Mhz up every minute or so until it hangs at about 222Mhz per processor. Is there a way to lock the clock rate of the processors? When I [M]anage devices and set both processor clocks to 200Mhz, it continues to increases the clock by 2Mhz every minute.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

BTC: 14b5eoUntFnZVAjESb1RnuMv6EQb4Gryxk
LTC: LNsAg79Qnnz6d3eV3f3vsqVX64JxzXiAQP
DOGE: DSj1fAY6536om7RboctCimykneLcS4QfQm
shackleford
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 191


View Profile
January 18, 2014, 08:14:47 PM
 #1134

I am running an x6500 with bfgminer 3.10.0 with bitstream "fpgaminer_x6500-overclocker-0402.bit".

It default starts at 190Mhz per processor and jumps 2Mhz up every minute or so until it hangs at about 222Mhz per processor. Is there a way to lock the clock rate of the processors? When I [M]anage devices and set both processor clocks to 200Mhz, it continues to increases the clock by 2Mhz every minute.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Are other versions of BFG working for you? I am still running mine on 3.9 and the OC firmware. I don't think you can use the set speed firmware with bfg (I think) and cg didn't want to support if for some political BS as far as I could tell, this is a shame since when I used the fastest set rate firmware it ran with 0 errors. Overclocker runs slower on some chips and a good amount of errors (higher than 0). TML was the best way to run these but was linux only.

With cheap USB sticks doing 1.5-2.5Gh I am about to pull the plug on the x6500 and perhaps use it as a toy to mess around with (probably won't get around to it)...
Taugeran
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


CCNA: There i fixed the internet.


View Profile
January 19, 2014, 11:45:43 AM
 #1135

I am running an x6500 with bfgminer 3.10.0 with bitstream "fpgaminer_x6500-overclocker-0402.bit".

It default starts at 190Mhz per processor and jumps 2Mhz up every minute or so until it hangs at about 222Mhz per processor. Is there a way to lock the clock rate of the processors? When I [M]anage devices and set both processor clocks to 200Mhz, it continues to increases the clock by 2Mhz every minute.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

bfgminer 3.10.0

you can add --set-device x6500:maxclock=XXX i believe that is the correct syntax

Bitfury HW & Habañero : 1.625Th/s
tips/Donations: 1NoS89H3Mr6U5CmP4VwWzU2318JEMxHL1
Come join Coinbase
99Percent
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 179



View Profile
February 05, 2014, 06:57:20 AM
 #1136

I took offline my two FPGA a long time ago, but I am now wondering if they can be used for altcoin mining? Any guides or suggestions?
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
February 05, 2014, 07:53:03 AM
 #1137

I took offline my two FPGA a long time ago, but I am now wondering if they can be used for altcoin mining? Any guides or suggestions?

check out kramble's LTC mining code.

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
bhai
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93


View Profile
February 08, 2014, 11:01:05 PM
 #1138

yep that works.

I get 70Kh/s with my ztex 1.15y.

rgdz,
bhai
abracadabra
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 946



View Profile
February 10, 2014, 04:52:00 PM
 #1139

I took offline my two FPGA a long time ago, but I am now wondering if they can be used for altcoin mining? Any guides or suggestions?

check out kramble's LTC mining code.

my search fu fails me.. could you provide a link please?

Never mind.. google found it for me..

BitBlitz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 287


Turning money into heat since 2011.


View Profile
April 23, 2014, 03:55:29 AM
 #1140

This is interesting.. Does anyone have scrypt bitstreams that work on X6500s?  From what I've read, work on porting this to x6500s was stopped late last year.

I see the value of Bitcoin, so I don't worry about the price...
Pages: « 1 ... 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 [57] 58 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!