Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 01:56:29 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 [48] 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 »
  Print  
Author Topic: X6500 Custom FPGA Miner  (Read 207982 times)
arklan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204


Just along for the ride...


View Profile
May 25, 2012, 11:14:38 PM
 #941

pondering picking up some of these. what kind of time frame would i be looking at for an order of ten or so?
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
fizzisist
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720



View Profile WWW
May 25, 2012, 11:18:36 PM
 #942

pondering picking up some of these. what kind of time frame would i be looking at for an order of ten or so?

For an order of 10 boards, we could ship the next business day. As I said above, heatsink availability may be a problem, though. Please email sales@fpgamining.com to discuss bulk prices!

arklan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204


Just along for the ride...


View Profile
May 25, 2012, 11:31:52 PM
 #943

pondering picking up some of these. what kind of time frame would i be looking at for an order of ten or so?

For an order of 10 boards, we could ship the next business day. As I said above, heatsink availability may be a problem, though. Please email sales@fpgamining.com to discuss bulk prices!

good to know. thanks.
nbtcminer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 247


View Profile
May 29, 2012, 02:55:01 PM
 #944

@TheSeven/Fizzisist:

Question about power: Would using a 12v 5a 2.1mm power adapter with a splitter be alright to power two x6500?

I keep wanting to come up with things to do with my x6500 XD!!!
fizzisist
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720



View Profile WWW
May 29, 2012, 04:44:57 PM
 #945

@TheSeven/Fizzisist:

Question about power: Would using a 12v 5a 2.1mm power adapter with a splitter be alright to power two x6500?

I keep wanting to come up with things to do with my x6500 XD!!!

Sounds perfectly fine to me. 2A per board is generally more than enough, unless you're running some crazy bitstream or powering special fans.

TheSeven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


FPGA Mining LLC


View Profile WWW
May 29, 2012, 08:52:14 PM
 #946

@TheSeven/Fizzisist:

Question about power: Would using a 12v 5a 2.1mm power adapter with a splitter be alright to power two x6500?

I keep wanting to come up with things to do with my x6500 XD!!!

Assuming the PSU can really delive 5A (and I've seen quite a lot of them which break their promises), even three boards should work with the current bitstreams.

My tip jar: 13kwqR7B4WcSAJCYJH1eXQcxG5vVUwKAqY
coretechs
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 362



View Profile
May 30, 2012, 02:56:54 PM
 #947

I have an unopened set of 8 heatsinks/fans for these if anyone needs them.  I used different heatsinks on mine for passive cooling.

http://bitcoindoc.com - The Rise and Rise of Bitcoin | http://nxtportal.org - Nxt blockchain explorer
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
May 30, 2012, 02:58:33 PM
 #948

I have an unopened set of 8 heatsinks/fans for these if anyone needs them.  I used different heatsinks on mine for passive cooling.

Can you please post a pic !
coretechs
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 362



View Profile
May 30, 2012, 03:38:28 PM
 #949

Well, I guess technically it's not "passive cooling", they just happen to sit directly in front of the air conditioner vent...  Grin

I'm using the same Enzotech copper heatsinks that were used in the mineral oil submerged rig a few posts back in this thread.  Temps are usually ~25-35C depending on how hot it is in the room.

http://bitcoindoc.com - The Rise and Rise of Bitcoin | http://nxtportal.org - Nxt blockchain explorer
fizzisist
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720



View Profile WWW
May 30, 2012, 03:43:38 PM
 #950

Well, I guess technically it's not "passive cooling", they just happen to sit directly in front of the air conditioner vent...  Grin

I'm using the same Enzotech copper heatsinks that were used in the mineral oil submerged rig that someone posted the other day.

Nice, coretechs! Another option for passive would be these heatsinks: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835999031

I haven't tried those myself, but mike2kt said they worked great for him.

thirdlight
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 281



View Profile
June 01, 2012, 07:59:23 AM
 #951

What's your take on this development?

Does the x6500 have enough power to do it justice?

Will you be submitting the details to get an x6500 bitstream?

Thanks,
nbtcminer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 247


View Profile
June 01, 2012, 02:08:29 PM
 #952

What's your take on this development?

Does the x6500 have enough power to do it justice?

Will you be submitting the details to get an x6500 bitstream?

Thanks,

Few notes on this development (for when they make the Bitstream available):

1.) Anyone using the 12v 2a 5.5x2.1mm wall worts will have to change over to either a brick power supply (i.e 12V 5a or higher) or a 200W PSU or higher.

2.) Rev 2.0 units with their stock heatsinks may not be good enough to keep the X6500 cool. An active cooling solution or heatsink replacement (i.e Logisys or Zalman "Flower" will be needed for sure. Rev 3.0 may fair a lot better since they have push-pin mountable heatsinks and active cooling already included in the solution.

3.) Note that 5% of your total hashing power will go towards paying Eldentyrell for his work (on 540 mh/s on a X6500, you'd be paying around 27mh/s).

4.) Power regulator should be ok, but I remember Fizzisist mentioning something about swapping resistors to get more power to the spartan chips. Not sure if this is needed or not for the new bitstream.


This development definitely shakes the FPGA /  ASIC market up
shad
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 148


View Profile
June 01, 2012, 03:22:58 PM
 #953

i guess nobody is driving his rev2 board without active cooling since 200mhz/mhs firmware

Quote
How much is the commission?

The commission is 20% of the difference in hashrate between the TML and the leading open-source implementation. The current TML achieves 270MH/s, and the leading open-source implementation achieves 210MH/s; this means that you must devote 12MH/s worth of hashpower to commission jobs in order to keep your hardware busy. The remaining post-commission hashrate at your disposal is 258MH/s.

so you pay 24mh/s with an X6500, but you get extra 116mh/s for yourself

the question is more will it be possible to run that firmware with MPBM

some infos of supporting that firmeware would be nice


15dUzJEUkxgjrtcvDSdsEDkXu7E7RCbNN3
TheSeven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


FPGA Mining LLC


View Profile WWW
June 01, 2012, 11:04:54 PM
 #954

1.) Anyone using the 12v 2a 5.5x2.1mm wall worts will have to change over to either a brick power supply (i.e 12V 5a or higher) or a 200W PSU or higher.

Those numbers are simply bullshit. 12V 3A will be sufficient for sure, even 2A might be sufficient with some luck. And that PSU wattage is also way off, and highly depends on the number of boards you want to power from it.

2.) Rev 2.0 units with their stock heatsinks may not be good enough to keep the X6500 cool. An active cooling solution or heatsink replacement (i.e Logisys or Zalman "Flower" will be needed for sure. Rev 3.0 may fair a lot better since they have push-pin mountable heatsinks and active cooling already included in the solution.

For Rev3, this all depends on your fan setup. Rev3 stock heatsinks should handle it well.

4.) Power regulator should be ok, but I remember Fizzisist mentioning something about swapping resistors to get more power to the spartan chips. Not sure if this is needed or not for the new bitstream.

The voltage regulators are actually going to be the bottleneck. I'm fairly certain that they can handle it, but they might require some airflow to prevent overheating. And swapping the resistors on a Rev2 board is definitely going to increase the achievable hashrate, at the expense of power consumption.

My tip jar: 13kwqR7B4WcSAJCYJH1eXQcxG5vVUwKAqY
TheSeven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


FPGA Mining LLC


View Profile WWW
June 01, 2012, 11:07:46 PM
 #955

i guess nobody is driving his rev2 board without active cooling since 200mhz/mhs firmware

Quote
How much is the commission?

The commission is 20% of the difference in hashrate between the TML and the leading open-source implementation. The current TML achieves 270MH/s, and the leading open-source implementation achieves 210MH/s; this means that you must devote 12MH/s worth of hashpower to commission jobs in order to keep your hardware busy. The remaining post-commission hashrate at your disposal is 258MH/s.

so you pay 24mh/s with an X6500, but you get extra 116mh/s for yourself

the question is more will it be possible to run that firmware with MPBM

some infos of supporting that firmeware would be nice

I'm very willing to support this in MPBM, but it doesn't look like E.T. is. At least he didn't release any information about the protocol, thereby forcing people to stick with his bloaty Java miner thing for now. But I'm tempted to bet that it will be reverse engineered from the class files if he doesn't provide the source code rather soon, once this software is actually available.

Oh, and on another side note: This is not going to work well with p2pool. There will be two effects: High stales, and a higher-than-normal commission if you run this on a pool with a high "heart rate".

My tip jar: 13kwqR7B4WcSAJCYJH1eXQcxG5vVUwKAqY
nbtcminer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 247


View Profile
June 02, 2012, 04:49:03 PM
 #956

Those numbers are simply bullshit. 12V 3A will be sufficient for sure, even 2A might be sufficient with some luck. And that PSU wattage is also way off, and highly depends on the number of boards you want to power from it.

I apologize for sharing the wrong numbers. I read that the firmwre would demand 48 watts or more, which works out to 12V 2.886a. In anycase, I'm just trying to err on the side of error / shitty power brick power supplies, but I don't know as much about power draw as an engineer as yourself.
fizzisist
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720



View Profile WWW
June 03, 2012, 05:27:53 PM
 #957

Those numbers are simply bullshit. 12V 3A will be sufficient for sure, even 2A might be sufficient with some luck. And that PSU wattage is also way off, and highly depends on the number of boards you want to power from it.

I apologize for sharing the wrong numbers. I read that the firmwre would demand 48 watts or more, which works out to 12V 2.886a. In anycase, I'm just trying to err on the side of error / shitty power brick power supplies, but I don't know as much about power draw as an engineer as yourself.

I don't think TheSeven meant that to sound so harsh! We don't have any firm numbers from eldentyrell on the power consumption, but the most the regulators on the X6500 can supply is about 12W to each FPGA. Taking into account inefficiencies, 12V*3A=36W seems like a good power supply limit to aim for, and is definitely higher than the X6500 will ever draw.

Qoheleth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 882


Spurn wild goose chases. Seek that which endures.


View Profile WWW
June 10, 2012, 07:59:22 AM
 #958

Does the overclocker firmware clock up to 200MHz yet? If not, has there been any work recently towards that?

If there is something that will make Bitcoin succeed, it is growth of utility - greater quantity and variety of goods and services offered for BTC. If there is something that will make Bitcoin fail, it is the culture of naive fools and conmen, the former convinced that BTC is a magic box that will turn them into millionaires, and the latter arriving by the busload to devour them.
bonks
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71


View Profile WWW
June 10, 2012, 08:06:55 AM
 #959

Does the overclocker firmware clock up to 200MHz yet? If not, has there been any work recently towards that?

I'm using the revision 4 overclocker on http://fpgamining.com/documentation/firmware and seeing 182-210 MH/s with an average of 199.

When you load the firmware, set the initial clock to 200 and max to 250.
Pipesnake
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 249


View Profile
June 10, 2012, 08:19:53 PM
 #960

Does the overclocker firmware clock up to 200MHz yet? If not, has there been any work recently towards that?

I'm using the revision 4 overclocker on http://fpgamining.com/documentation/firmware and seeing 182-210 MH/s with an average of 199.

When you load the firmware, set the initial clock to 200 and max to 250.
+1
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 [48] 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!