Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 10:44:01 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 »
  Print  
Author Topic: X6500 Custom FPGA Miner  (Read 208189 times)
TheSeven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


FPGA Mining LLC


View Profile WWW
April 08, 2012, 08:48:16 AM
 #821

Quote
Anyone know how to get the x6500 to mine on GPUMAX.  Having no luck.
Using x6500-miner software or MPBM? If you're using MPBM, TheSeven can help address that issue, though I don't know if he has access to GPUMAX so it could be difficult until he does. I recall the issue being brought up before, and it may be related to the way MPBM handles Long Poll address changes.
It was another long polling issue (the address change thing was with some other proxys), but that should have been fixed some time ago, and I think it has been pushed to master by now (not sure though).

My tip jar: 13kwqR7B4WcSAJCYJH1eXQcxG5vVUwKAqY
1481409841
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409841

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409841
Reply with quote  #2

1481409841
Report to moderator
1481409841
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409841

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409841
Reply with quote  #2

1481409841
Report to moderator
1481409841
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409841

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409841
Reply with quote  #2

1481409841
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481409841
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409841

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409841
Reply with quote  #2

1481409841
Report to moderator
1481409841
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481409841

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481409841
Reply with quote  #2

1481409841
Report to moderator
Dexter770221
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1026


View Profile
April 09, 2012, 10:11:23 AM
 #822

Which revision will have I/O routed out? It's not that much work to do, and this should increase resale value and usefulness. Lack of I/O is one of not so many cons of this great mining board.

Under development Modular UPGRADEABLE Miner (MUM). Looking for investors.
Changing one PCB with screwdriver and you have brand new miner in hand... Plug&Play, scalable from one module to thousands.
hashking
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


View Profile
April 09, 2012, 05:37:07 PM
 #823

Hey guys. I finally put together an installation package of sorts for Windows:

X6500 Easy Package for Windows
Download


This should make it simple and easy take an X6500 and go from 0 to Bitcoin in no time (on Windows). It includes a driver installation program for the libusb driver, MPBM with compiled EXE, and all the current mining firmware. I tested it out on a clean VM install of Windows 7 64-bit, Windows 7 32-bit, and Windows XP 32-bit.

If that's too convenient for you, the individual pieces can also be downloaded:


Let me know if there are any problems. Though I did take a lot of time testing it, this is still fresh off the presses Smiley
Very nice!  Will test it out asap and post up any issues.

When I run the web interface http://127.0.0.1:8832.  Some of the information is written over other informationi and I can't use it.  I'm using mozilla firefox.  Any help would be great.
TheSeven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


FPGA Mining LLC


View Profile WWW
April 09, 2012, 06:06:35 PM
 #824

When I run the web interface http://127.0.0.1:8832.  Some of the information is written over other informationi and I can't use it.  I'm using mozilla firefox.  Any help would be great.

Use Chrome. It's known broken in IE/FF/Opera, and I don't really know why this happens.
I'll happily accept a patch if someone figures out how to fix that.

My tip jar: 13kwqR7B4WcSAJCYJH1eXQcxG5vVUwKAqY
hashking
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


View Profile
April 09, 2012, 06:33:19 PM
 #825

When I run the web interface http://127.0.0.1:8832.  Some of the information is written over other informationi and I can't use it.  I'm using mozilla firefox.  Any help would be great.

Use Chrome. It's known broken in IE/FF/Opera, and I don't really know why this happens.
I'll happily accept a patch if someone figures out how to fix that.

Thanks.  It worked, but now to of my miners arent loading.  All of my other ones are. I keep getting traceback errors.
hashking
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


View Profile
April 10, 2012, 02:26:28 AM
 #826

Got it working.  Had to unplug the usb cable and plug it back in   Thanks.
Garr255
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


What's a GPU?


View Profile
April 10, 2012, 02:32:47 AM
 #827

That just cycles power, unloading the firmware from the fpga. Ticking the box mentioned above will give you the same result most of the time.

“First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win.”  -- Mahatma Gandhi

Average time between signing on to bitcointalk: Two weeks. Please don't expect responses any faster than that!
Pipesnake
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 249


View Profile
April 10, 2012, 09:18:06 AM
 #828

Have a board stuck at 50mh/s per core.  Any ideas as to why?
fizzisist
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720



View Profile WWW
April 10, 2012, 09:43:34 AM
 #829

Have a board stuck at 50mh/s per core.  Any ideas as to why?

Using the new overclocker firmware? That is the starting frequency if you don't send the FPGA any commands to set the clock. I'm guessing an MPBM bug that caused that command to not go out. Can you restart the worker in MPBM? You might not even need to upload the firmware again, although that couldn't hurt.

If you're on a fixed-clock firmware, like ztexmerge, then I don't know what's going on. First thing to try is reprogramming it. If you've done that already, then I'm pretty stumped.

nbtcminer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 247


View Profile
April 10, 2012, 03:19:14 PM
 #830

BTW I've been testing and playing around with my X6500 Rev 3.0 and I got to say: this thing is solid! I'm using the Zalman "flower" coolers and so far getting a fairly consistent hash power from my unit! Pics to come later once I've gotten it all settled!


-n
Pipesnake
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 249


View Profile
April 10, 2012, 04:04:29 PM
 #831

Have tried rebooting the board several times....



 Huh
nbtcminer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 247


View Profile
April 10, 2012, 04:38:42 PM
 #832

Have tried rebooting the board several times....



 Huh

@ Pipesnake:
A couple of questions for you:

1.) Which rev of the x6500 are you using?
2.) Which bitstream / firmware are you using?
3.) Have you tried 0.4 of MPBM or only 1.0 MPBM?
TheSeven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


FPGA Mining LLC


View Profile WWW
April 10, 2012, 06:26:24 PM
 #833

Which bitstream are you using?
Can you post a screenshot of the worker configuration?
Can you paste the full MPBM log, from startup until the first couple of shares were found?

My tip jar: 13kwqR7B4WcSAJCYJH1eXQcxG5vVUwKAqY
Pipesnake
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 249


View Profile
April 10, 2012, 09:58:56 PM
 #834

Wow I'm a 'tard.  Forgot to update bitstream from default.  Thanks for the quick response guys.
freshzive
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 447


View Profile
April 17, 2012, 04:46:06 AM
 #835

So does program.py not work to program the new rev of boards? I get this error on both

Code:
2012-04-16 21:45:07 | Device 3 opened (A4014PHJ)
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "program.py", line 91, in <module>
    fpga.detect()
  File "/Users/christian/x6500-6/fpga.py", line 82, in detect
    with self.ft232r.lock: self.jtag.detect()
  File "/Users/christian/x6500-6/jtag.py", line 81, in detect
    raise NoDevicesDetected

Shows up in listDevices.py fine though?

fizzisist
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 720



View Profile WWW
April 17, 2012, 06:50:39 AM
 #836

So does program.py not work to program the new rev of boards? I get this error on both

Code:
2012-04-16 21:45:07 | Device 3 opened (A4014PHJ)
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "program.py", line 91, in <module>
    fpga.detect()
  File "/Users/christian/x6500-6/fpga.py", line 82, in detect
    with self.ft232r.lock: self.jtag.detect()
  File "/Users/christian/x6500-6/jtag.py", line 81, in detect
    raise NoDevicesDetected

Shows up in listDevices.py fine though?

It should... Have you tried MPBM? NoDevicesDetected means no FPGAs were detected, which usually happens when you don't have power on the board. Can you double check your power supply?

freshzive
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 447


View Profile
April 17, 2012, 03:36:51 PM
 #837

So does program.py not work to program the new rev of boards? I get this error on both

Code:
2012-04-16 21:45:07 | Device 3 opened (A4014PHJ)
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "program.py", line 91, in <module>
    fpga.detect()
  File "/Users/christian/x6500-6/fpga.py", line 82, in detect
    with self.ft232r.lock: self.jtag.detect()
  File "/Users/christian/x6500-6/jtag.py", line 81, in detect
    raise NoDevicesDetected

Shows up in listDevices.py fine though?

It should... Have you tried MPBM? NoDevicesDetected means no FPGAs were detected, which usually happens when you don't have power on the board. Can you double check your power supply?

Yeah, you were right. I was able to upload the firmware, but now I'm having issues connecting in MPBM 0.4.

I get the error:

2012-04-17 08:35:58.714317: X6500 board A4014PHJ: Can not open the specified device

Ztex200 is definitely loaded on the board, so I'm not sure what's up? All of my old rev work fine with this version.

freshzive
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 447


View Profile
April 17, 2012, 03:42:24 PM
 #838

Yeah, and the old mine.py works fine with it as well...strange!

TheSeven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


FPGA Mining LLC


View Profile WWW
April 17, 2012, 05:04:07 PM
 #839

Yeah, and the old mine.py works fine with it as well...strange!

Maybe ftdi_sio got loaded accidentally? x6500-miner tries to remove that automatically, MPBM doesn't.

My tip jar: 13kwqR7B4WcSAJCYJH1eXQcxG5vVUwKAqY
bitcowok
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48


View Profile
April 18, 2012, 01:38:22 AM
 #840

Just a photo of the latest progress on my rig (4 x x6500's so far). TIP: if you live in Australia, order these individually otherwise customs will slug you if it's worth over A$1000 (even if you paid in bitcoins).  These are the new rev3 boards with old style heatsinks, attached with arctic alumina thermal adhesive. The new boards are very slightly too big for my original design, but with a bit of shoving and wiggling, they fit fine.



Heres the rest of the build photos, if interested: http://jabawok.net/gallery/v/random/201201-x6500-30x-enclosure/

The boards are all running at 200Mhz (1.6Gh/s total), the fans are @ 7V and total power consumption at the AC is 95W

Temperature at 25C ambient is 36C on lower heatsink and 42C on upper heatsink. I'm not getting any invalids, if I start getting them when the ambient temperature is higher, i'll increase fan voltage a bit (which costs a few watts).

@fizzisist: if you have any blue heatsinks left, save them for me! What was your supplier for those blue heatsinks? On the rev3 boards sold with heatsnk/fan, how high do the standoffs need to be to stack the boards and allow adequate airflow? I can work with it, but I think i wont be able to fit 30 boards in my enclosure any more with the new heatsink/fan: blowing air down rather than across is not really optimal for stacking.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!