Bitcoin Forum
May 28, 2024, 07:19:58 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 »
  Print  
Author Topic: HashFast BabyJet users thread  (Read 68940 times)
edgie13
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 155
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 27, 2014, 07:27:33 PM
 #101

For those who want to update to the newest version (3.11.0) of cgminer on minepeon:

After MineForeman has updated the repositories you can do the following.

ssh to your pi then type:
cd /opt/minepeon
git pull

(optional: update http gui)
cd /opt/minepeon/http
git pull

Reboot your Pi.  Reconnect to the web gui. You can then look at the "Miner Version" field and see what version of cgminer is running.

Mineforeman usually waits a short period of time before updating the Minepeon repositories with the newest versions of cgminer and bfgminer.  So the above instructions might not update you to cgminer version 3.11.0 yet. If you are like me and need the newest version right now, then you can  compile cgminer yourself.

ssh to your pi then type:
wget http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-3.11.0.tar.bz2
tar -xvf cgminer-3.11.0.tar.bz2
cd cgminer-3.11.0
./configure --enable-hashfast
make
mv cgminer /opt/minepeon/bin/cgminer

Reboot your Pi.  Reconnect to the web gui. You can then look at the "Miner Version" field and see what version of cgminer is running.

I hope this helps.   I have been up for about 40 hours now. I'm on a caffeine rocket ship that is finally making it's reentry back to Earth.  Please excuse me if the above post is hard to follow. I will pretty it up a bit, once I've landed.


i tried the 2nd method and i'm getting this error.
Quote
[minepeon@minepeon ~]$ tar -xvf cgminer-3.11.0.tar.bz2
bzip2: (stdin) is not a bzip2 file.
tar: Child returned status 2
tar: Error is not recoverable: exiting now

and when i tried to do the first method with a git pull.  i get permission denied
Quote
[minepeon@minepeon ~]$ cd /opt/minepeon
[minepeon@minepeon minepeon]$ git pull
Permission denied (publickey).
fatal: Could not read from remote repository.

Please make sure you have the correct access rights
and the repository exists.



I apologize for that.  I don't have my Babyjet yet, but I have been using Minepeon for a while now.  The below will fix your issues with the first option:

Quote
http://minepeon.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=4642#p4642
There is the problem, you need to edit that file (vi or nano, your preference) and change the line that says;-

url = git@github.com:MineForeman/minepeon-base.git

to

url = https://github.com/MineForeman/minepeon-base.git

Neil

The following will fix the second option:

 bzip2 -cd cgminer-3.11.0.tar.bz2 | tar xvf -


I will edit my other post.

BTC Scotch fund: 1GFZos2WGknCeVgDtjpHwo3jeJ4tSLVrXS
mgio
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 27, 2014, 07:42:28 PM
 #102

You can run it off any PC, and that's preferable anyway since the RPi is a piece of shit. Just plug in a USB cable. The sierras don't even have one so you have to run them via USB. Any instability still around is firmware related and remember it's still early days since release (even though release was late) but once my sierra is running it does not miss a beat.

Mine is happily hashing from an old mini PC desktop.  Will try to resolve a driver conflict with Karin's help and get it hashing on the Mac mini later today.

Interestingly, after running overnight, this BJ seems a little off-spec.  It's doing about 395-7 g/hash (running cgminer 3.11).

OTOH, my HW error rate is very low and with an ambient temp of 21c (70f) my processor temp is 69-70c. What did other people get for out of the box processor temps?

I guess I should experiment with overclocking next...  I've seen 610 mentioned... other suggestions?

And sorry ckolivas, I didn't mean to suggest the Mac driver issue was your problem.  It was intended merely as an observation.

And finally... why don't we try to move all this operational discussion here, rather than in the other thread?

Your BJ is fine. They don't hit 400 GH/s unless they are overclocked. 3.11 is giving you the real hashrate. What you saw before 3.11 included hashing errors that aren't counted by the mining pools.
jermwerty
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 472
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 27, 2014, 08:22:53 PM
 #103

The RPi is a toy and a piece of shit. Why anyone would run thousands of dollars worth of equipment off it is beyond me. Toss it and connect your devices to a real PC or laptop.
+1  Cool

This. I have 5 of them that I've been using to run my other miners (BFL and BitBurners) and they are notoriously unreliable. Every once in a while the SD cards will die necessitating a rebuild of the whole image. And the USB ports are the worst. Even with a powered hub they aren't able to drive my bitburners anymore and I ended up having to buy a tiny computer and putting Linux on it.

Wow all this hate for the RPi, not sure but they just work for me?  I use the MinePeon distro and get months of uptime no problem with my BFL & BitBurner Fury stacks.  Maybe I got lucky with good SD cards?  Maybe the MinePeon distro is configured to write less data to "disk" and extends the life?  I dunno.

But compared to spending $200-500 on a Mac Mini or using an old laptop and having to manage a huge spiderweb of USB hubs off the back and multiple cgminer configs I think I'll stick with my RPi's thank you very much (note I NEVER use usb hubs).  One dies?  I have a spare.  SD card were to die?  I have an image I can just reload on a new one and go.  And I get to build fun little cases for them out of the old box of legos I have laying around Wink
xunknownx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 27, 2014, 08:35:02 PM
 #104

For those who want to update to the newest version (3.11.0) of cgminer on minepeon:

After MineForeman has updated the repositories you can do the following.

ssh to your pi then type:
cd /opt/minepeon
git pull

(optional: update http gui)
cd /opt/minepeon/http
git pull

Reboot your Pi.  Reconnect to the web gui. You can then look at the "Miner Version" field and see what version of cgminer is running.

Mineforeman usually waits a short period of time before updating the Minepeon repositories with the newest versions of cgminer and bfgminer.  So the above instructions might not update you to cgminer version 3.11.0 yet. If you are like me and need the newest version right now, then you can  compile cgminer yourself.

ssh to your pi then type:
wget http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-3.11.0.tar.bz2
tar -xvf cgminer-3.11.0.tar.bz2
cd cgminer-3.11.0
./configure --enable-hashfast
make
mv cgminer /opt/minepeon/bin/cgminer

Reboot your Pi.  Reconnect to the web gui. You can then look at the "Miner Version" field and see what version of cgminer is running.

I hope this helps.   I have been up for about 40 hours now. I'm on a caffeine rocket ship that is finally making it's reentry back to Earth.  Please excuse me if the above post is hard to follow. I will pretty it up a bit, once I've landed.


i tried the 2nd method and i'm getting this error.
Quote
[minepeon@minepeon ~]$ tar -xvf cgminer-3.11.0.tar.bz2
bzip2: (stdin) is not a bzip2 file.
tar: Child returned status 2
tar: Error is not recoverable: exiting now

and when i tried to do the first method with a git pull.  i get permission denied
Quote
[minepeon@minepeon ~]$ cd /opt/minepeon
[minepeon@minepeon minepeon]$ git pull
Permission denied (publickey).
fatal: Could not read from remote repository.

Please make sure you have the correct access rights
and the repository exists.



I apologize for that.  I don't have my Babyjet yet, but I have been using Minepeon for a while now.  The below will fix your issues with the first option:

Quote
http://minepeon.com/forums/viewtopic.php?p=4642#p4642
There is the problem, you need to edit that file (vi or nano, your preference) and change the line that says;-

url = git@github.com:MineForeman/minepeon-base.git

to

url = https://github.com/MineForeman/minepeon-base.git

Neil

The following will fix the second option:

 bzip2 -cd cgminer-3.11.0.tar.bz2 | tar xvf -


I will edit my other post.


tried that and still getting error

Quote
[minepeon@minepeon ~]$ bzip2 -cd cgminer-3.11.0.tar.bz2 | tar xvf -
bzip2: cgminer-3.11.0.tar.bz2 is not a bzip2 file.
tar: This does not look like a tar archive
tar: Exiting with failure status due to previous errors
edgie13
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 155
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 27, 2014, 08:50:01 PM
Last edit: January 27, 2014, 09:05:32 PM by edgie13
 #105


[minepeon@minepeon ~]$ bzip2 -cd cgminer-3.11.0.tar.bz2 | tar xvf -
bzip2: cgminer-3.11.0.tar.bz2 is not a bzip2 file.
tar: This does not look like a tar archive
tar: Exiting with failure status due to previous errors

I just tried it on one of my PIs with minepeon.  It worked just fine for me.  Try deleting and  downloading the file again.

rm cgminer-3.11.0.tar.bz2
wget http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-3.11.0.tar.bz2

BTC Scotch fund: 1GFZos2WGknCeVgDtjpHwo3jeJ4tSLVrXS
minternj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 27, 2014, 09:03:10 PM
 #106

Who's overclocking? Seems most stable for me on cgminer 3.11.0 at clock 600. Reporting around 450GH. Not getting any benefits from higher clock speed than 600.

Warning about Nitrogensports.eu
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=709114.0
xunknownx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 12:17:39 AM
 #107


[minepeon@minepeon ~]$ bzip2 -cd cgminer-3.11.0.tar.bz2 | tar xvf -
bzip2: cgminer-3.11.0.tar.bz2 is not a bzip2 file.
tar: This does not look like a tar archive
tar: Exiting with failure status due to previous errors

I just tried it on one of my PIs with minepeon.  It worked just fine for me.  Try deleting and  downloading the file again.

rm cgminer-3.11.0.tar.bz2
wget http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-3.11.0.tar.bz2

ok i figured out why its not working.  my company's proxy is detecting it as a virus and is stripping the contents of the file.  i updated the config file in method 1 and was able to get it to work but its not the latest version.  on minepeon, its showing
Miner Version
    cgminer3.10.0
xunknownx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62
Merit: 10


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 12:24:19 AM
 #108

Who's overclocking? Seems most stable for me on cgminer 3.11.0 at clock 600. Reporting around 450GH. Not getting any benefits from higher clock speed than 600.

did you went straight from stock clock to 600?  or did you do slight incremental increases?  i havent tried overclocking mines yet.
edgie13
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 155
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 12:31:51 AM
 #109


[minepeon@minepeon ~]$ bzip2 -cd cgminer-3.11.0.tar.bz2 | tar xvf -
bzip2: cgminer-3.11.0.tar.bz2 is not a bzip2 file.
tar: This does not look like a tar archive
tar: Exiting with failure status due to previous errors

I just tried it on one of my PIs with minepeon.  It worked just fine for me.  Try deleting and  downloading the file again.

rm cgminer-3.11.0.tar.bz2
wget http://ck.kolivas.org/apps/cgminer/cgminer-3.11.0.tar.bz2

ok i figured out why its not working.  my company's proxy is detecting it as a virus and is stripping the contents of the file.  i updated the config file in method 1 and was able to get it to work but its not the latest version.  on minepeon, its showing
Miner Version
    cgminer3.10.0
Mineforeman usually waits a few days after cgminer & bfgminer releases before updating the bins on Minepeon. You can try a git pull in a couple of days. You could also download the source to a USB drive from home. Then plug the drive into you PI.

BTC Scotch fund: 1GFZos2WGknCeVgDtjpHwo3jeJ4tSLVrXS
minternj
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 02:02:22 AM
 #110

Who's overclocking? Seems most stable for me on cgminer 3.11.0 at clock 600. Reporting around 450GH. Not getting any benefits from higher clock speed than 600.

did you went straight from stock clock to 600?  or did you do slight incremental increases?  i havent tried overclocking mines yet.

I did go up from 550 clock adding 10 at a time to 640 to see what the rates were like. So far noticing these things are pretty inconsistent even at standard clockrate. Notice I get different performance from restarting cgminer. Very wierd.

Warning about Nitrogensports.eu
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=709114.0
fhh
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1206
Merit: 1000



View Profile
January 28, 2014, 08:21:17 AM
 #111

and again a miner that fails on p2pool Sad 20% rejected shares
anybody tried with cgminer 3.11 is this getting better performance?

and they are making a lot of noise! you can't let a baby sit next to it as they promoted.

Deutsche Bitcoinbörse: https://www.bitcoin.de/r/yyfrkv
das passende Konto gibts bei der fidor Bank https://banking.fidor.de/registrierung?ibid=43076568
-ck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4116
Merit: 1635


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 28, 2014, 12:22:40 PM
 #112

and again a miner that fails on p2pool Sad 20% rejected shares
anybody tried with cgminer 3.11 is this getting better performance?
I'm not seeing anything like these reject levels. Only when I first start p2pool and first connect the device. After a while diff rises, p2pool stops chewing up CPU and then it all calms down to very normal reject and DOA rates and good efficiency.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer, ckpool/ckproxy, and the -ck kernel
2% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
fhh
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1206
Merit: 1000



View Profile
January 28, 2014, 04:12:01 PM
Last edit: January 28, 2014, 04:48:38 PM by fhh
 #113

and again a miner that fails on p2pool Sad 20% rejected shares
anybody tried with cgminer 3.11 is this getting better performance?
I'm not seeing anything like these reject levels. Only when I first start p2pool and first connect the device. After a while diff rises, p2pool stops chewing up CPU and then it all calms down to very normal reject and DOA rates and good efficiency.

Ok. Thanks for the feedback.

Will give it an other try. I stopped after 40 minutes as I saw no improvements.

Deutsche Bitcoinbörse: https://www.bitcoin.de/r/yyfrkv
das passende Konto gibts bei der fidor Bank https://banking.fidor.de/registrierung?ibid=43076568
mgio
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 05:20:03 PM
 #114

The RPi is a toy and a piece of shit. Why anyone would run thousands of dollars worth of equipment off it is beyond me. Toss it and connect your devices to a real PC or laptop.
+1  Cool

This. I have 5 of them that I've been using to run my other miners (BFL and BitBurners) and they are notoriously unreliable. Every once in a while the SD cards will die necessitating a rebuild of the whole image. And the USB ports are the worst. Even with a powered hub they aren't able to drive my bitburners anymore and I ended up having to buy a tiny computer and putting Linux on it.

Wow all this hate for the RPi, not sure but they just work for me?  I use the MinePeon distro and get months of uptime no problem with my BFL & BitBurner Fury stacks.  Maybe I got lucky with good SD cards?  Maybe the MinePeon distro is configured to write less data to "disk" and extends the life?  I dunno.

But compared to spending $200-500 on a Mac Mini or using an old laptop and having to manage a huge spiderweb of USB hubs off the back and multiple cgminer configs I think I'll stick with my RPi's thank you very much (note I NEVER use usb hubs).  One dies?  I have a spare.  SD card were to die?  I have an image I can just reload on a new one and go.  And I get to build fun little cases for them out of the old box of legos I have laying around Wink

How do you drive a stack of 8 bitburner boards without a USB hub?? I've never gotten the CANBUS to work with more than 4 at a time and even then it is extremely unreliable. I have 16 bitburner boards and use 2 7-port hubs. I used various raspberry pis to drive them for a month or so, but with tons of USB errors and reduced performance. Its a known bug that the power supply circuitry on the raspberry pi is not enough to drive the USB ports up to spec, even when using powered hubs. It is so bad that people even have problems with certain brands of USB keyboards and mice.

I eventually got a $150 computer from Intel to run all 16 of my bitburners, http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00B7I8HZ4/ref=oh_details_o02_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1 and I'm MUCH happier now. I still use 3 other raspberry pis to run my BFLs and they are fairly reliable, although I've had to the replace the SD cards on two of them in the past 6 months they've been running. I really like the raspberry pi and I wish they worked better but they aren't quite reliable enough to control bitcoin miners.
perezoso
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 250


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 10:27:38 PM
 #115

Anybody with more overclocking reports?
MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1004


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 10:41:10 PM
 #116

Is there a BabyJet delivery thread similar to the BFL ones where people are noting the order numbers being received? I'd be interested to see what kind of sequence (if any) they are following.
jspielberg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 255



View Profile
January 28, 2014, 10:43:07 PM
 #117

I received a low 500s order on Friday from california and a low 1500s order number today from Canada.
ninjarobot
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 761
Merit: 500


Mine Silent, Mine Deep


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 02:27:37 AM
 #118

Just wondering, what temperature are you guys seeing on your BJs?

I'm @ 80C with stock settings (550 MHz):

Code:
 HFA 0: 80C/.79V 80C/.79V 73C/.79V 74C/.79V 452.8G/423.4Gh/s | A:3112200 R:8550 HW:5363 WU:5473.7/m                             

I assume that since there are 4 cores we get temp for each one? So my hottest core is 80C and my coolest 73C.

In other news, my BJ still goes belly up after ~30 hrs of stable mining. I'm still on cgminer3.9.0h2 so I might try compiling the 3.11 version to see if that fixes my stability issues.
jspielberg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 255



View Profile
January 29, 2014, 02:51:15 AM
 #119

I am using 3.11 compiled for ubuntu.

The temperatures were reading 80 to 85 range (with occasional thermal throttling at 85).
I threw big box fan in back of the units and now they rarely go above 80.

They have been stable for me (1 since friday and 1 since this morning).
jddebug
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 446
Merit: 250



View Profile
January 29, 2014, 03:16:08 AM
 #120

I am using 3.11 compiled for ubuntu.

The temperatures were reading 80 to 85 range (with occasional thermal throttling at 85).
I threw big box fan in back of the units and now they rarely go above 80.

They have been stable for me (1 since friday and 1 since this morning).

Whats the ambient temperature in the room?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!