Bitcoin Forum
April 23, 2018, 03:58:38 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin Wallet for Android  (Read 120328 times)
Wekkel
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1820
Merit: 1026


yes


View Profile
October 21, 2012, 09:30:57 PM
 #221

Your device only assigns very little memory (32 MB) to each app. Thus, you are experiencing lots of out of memory errors. Try uninstalling all apps you don't really need.
[...] so your best bet is upgrading to a decent phone like the Galaxy Nexus.

Good to know that the problem is my aging device (HTC Desire HD)  Tongue

           ▀██▄ ▄██▀
            ▐█████▌
           ▄███▀███▄
         ▄████▄  ▀███▄
       ▄███▀ ▀██▄  ▀███▄
     ▄███▀  ▄█████▄  ▀███▄
   ▄███▀  ▄███▀ ▀███▄  ▀███▄
  ███▀  ▄████▌   ▐████▄  ▀███
 ███   ██▀  ██▄ ▄██  ▀██   ███
███   ███  ███   ███  ███   ███
███   ███   ███████   ███   ███
 ███   ███▄▄       ▄▄███   ███
  ███▄   ▀▀█████████▀▀   ▄███
   ▀████▄▄           ▄▄████▀
      ▀▀███████████████▀▀
DeepOnion★  Anonymity Guaranteed
★  Anonymous and Untraceable
★  Guard Your Privacy
      ▄▄██████████▄▄
    ▄███▀▀      ▀▀█▀   ▄▄
   ███▀              ▄███
  ███              ▄███▀   ▄▄
 ███▌  ▄▄▄▄      ▄███▀   ▄███
▐███  ██████   ▄███▀   ▄███▀
███▌ ███  ███▄███▀   ▄███▀
███▌ ███   ████▀   ▄███▀
███▌  ███   █▀   ▄███▀  ███
▐███   ███     ▄███▀   ███
 ███▌   ███  ▄███▀     ███
  ███    ██████▀      ███
   ███▄             ▄███
    ▀███▄▄       ▄▄███▀
      ▀▀███████████▀▀
1524499118
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524499118

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524499118
Reply with quote  #2

1524499118
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1524499118
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524499118

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524499118
Reply with quote  #2

1524499118
Report to moderator
1524499118
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524499118

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524499118
Reply with quote  #2

1524499118
Report to moderator
Mike Hearn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1000


View Profile
October 21, 2012, 10:04:02 PM
 #222

Well, the problem is really that we haven't finished (or even started) deploying bloom filters. It means the RAM requirements are going up over time as Bitcoin usage scales.

There's no theoretical reason Bitcoin can't run well on your phone. But as Andreas said, we haven't finished all the programming for that yet.
Atlas
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 22, 2012, 12:41:30 AM
 #223

Well, the problem is really that we haven't finished (or even started) deploying bloom filters. It means the RAM requirements are going up over time as Bitcoin usage scales.

There's no theoretical reason Bitcoin can't run well on your phone. But as Andreas said, we haven't finished all the programming for that yet.

It already runs well on mobile devices through web-based thin clients. It may not be your ideal security scheme nor be a node like you like, but it works just fine for the end user. And they will move on without your suggestions.

No, Bitcoin will not die because everyone and their grandma is not running a node. Mining nodes can become numerous enough.
abracadabra
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 942
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 22, 2012, 03:31:30 AM
 #224

I just released 2.31 final to market. So key import/export is now available to everyone. Well mostly everyone. I had to raise the minimum requirement to Froyo (Android 2.2) and above.

Andreas, thanks for the updates!
Remember remember the 5th of November
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708
Merit: 1001

Reverse engineer from time to time


View Profile
October 22, 2012, 11:49:46 PM
 #225

In the first post it is mentioned that the Android heap limit is 4MB, on other devices it is 16 and 24 respectively. However, this heap limit applies to Dalvik, and not for Native code, so that's a solution, unless the author has already found a solution.

BTC:1AiCRMxgf1ptVQwx6hDuKMu4f7F27QmJC2
Mike Hearn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1000


View Profile
October 23, 2012, 01:03:18 PM
 #226

It's a process size limit:

https://groups.google.com/d/topic/android-developers/2tW-jKJsHFE/discussion

so there's no native-code get out of jail free card.

As I said, we already know the solution.
Yuhfhrh
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100



View Profile
October 24, 2012, 07:04:30 AM
 #227

Is there a way to import your own private key?
pointbiz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 430
Merit: 251

1ninja


View Profile
October 27, 2012, 03:14:58 AM
 #228

I just released 2.31 final to market. So key import/export is now available to everyone. Well mostly everyone. I had to raise the minimum requirement to Froyo (Android 2.2) and above.

Thank you!!!!!
I've been patiently waiting :-)


Coder of: https://www.bitaddress.org      Thread
Open Source JavaScript Client-Side Bitcoin Wallet Generator
Donations: 1NiNja1bUmhSoTXozBRBEtR8LeF9TGbZBN   PGP
Wekkel
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1820
Merit: 1026


yes


View Profile
October 27, 2012, 08:59:02 PM
 #229

For those that need guidance, I wrote a piece on retrieving BTC: http://wekkelos.blogspot.nl/2012/10/save-bitcoins-from-android-bitcoin.html

           ▀██▄ ▄██▀
            ▐█████▌
           ▄███▀███▄
         ▄████▄  ▀███▄
       ▄███▀ ▀██▄  ▀███▄
     ▄███▀  ▄█████▄  ▀███▄
   ▄███▀  ▄███▀ ▀███▄  ▀███▄
  ███▀  ▄████▌   ▐████▄  ▀███
 ███   ██▀  ██▄ ▄██  ▀██   ███
███   ███  ███   ███  ███   ███
███   ███   ███████   ███   ███
 ███   ███▄▄       ▄▄███   ███
  ███▄   ▀▀█████████▀▀   ▄███
   ▀████▄▄           ▄▄████▀
      ▀▀███████████████▀▀
DeepOnion★  Anonymity Guaranteed
★  Anonymous and Untraceable
★  Guard Your Privacy
      ▄▄██████████▄▄
    ▄███▀▀      ▀▀█▀   ▄▄
   ███▀              ▄███
  ███              ▄███▀   ▄▄
 ███▌  ▄▄▄▄      ▄███▀   ▄███
▐███  ██████   ▄███▀   ▄███▀
███▌ ███  ███▄███▀   ▄███▀
███▌ ███   ████▀   ▄███▀
███▌  ███   █▀   ▄███▀  ███
▐███   ███     ▄███▀   ███
 ███▌   ███  ▄███▀     ███
  ███    ██████▀      ███
   ███▄             ▄███
    ▀███▄▄       ▄▄███▀
      ▀▀███████████▀▀
Jouke
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 427
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
October 28, 2012, 07:26:10 PM
 #230

What are the timestamps in the keys-file? Are they necessary?

Koop en verkoop snel en veilig bitcoins via iDeal op Bitonic.nl
Jouke
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 427
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
October 29, 2012, 11:09:39 AM
 #231

What are the timestamps in the keys-file? Are they necessary?
Made up some timeformat and imported my vanitygen key \o/.

For personal uses I now totally switched to the android wallet Smiley

Maybe a nice feature would be to be able to import private keys trough qr-codes Smiley

Koop en verkoop snel en veilig bitcoins via iDeal op Bitonic.nl
Distribution
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 712
Merit: 500


Fight fire with photos.


View Profile
October 29, 2012, 04:54:13 PM
 #232

I'm not sure if this has been addressed, but I think I accidentally sent bitcoins to an old address I had with this app. I have the prodnet.wallet fileand I was wondering how I can import the keys now that it uses a different wallet file.
Syke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2576
Merit: 1003


View Profile
October 31, 2012, 10:27:53 PM
 #233

I just released 2.31 final to market. So key import/export is now available to everyone.

Loving the key import feature. Now I have my mobile privkey backed up, and I don't have to worry about losing it.

Buy & Hold
teste
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 314
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 01, 2012, 01:16:18 PM
 #234

Hi Bitcoin Wallet for Android Developer,

I have a tablet with BlackBerry Playbook system and I really would like to run Bitcoin Wallet app on it.
It's possible to repackage Android apps to BlackBerry App World, see: http://developer.blackberry.com/android/documentation/Mastertopic_1849583_11.html

Could you do it?

Thanks.
BitCoiner2012
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 04, 2012, 09:50:45 PM
 #235

App is driving me nuts.. did a couple larger transactions fine and seemed useful as a utility. However now even after trying to reset the chain etc it just randomly decides I have unavailable balance, even if I have previously spent some and received none in the mean time. Really making me pull my hair out right now.

Reset blockchain, managed to get it up to date and send one transaction before it locked up again. Freezes after three resets on 2week sync, refuses to finish.. should have used that one transactions ti send my coins out!

BTC Long.
barbarousrelic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 675
Merit: 500


View Profile
November 05, 2012, 12:22:31 PM
 #236

App is driving me nuts.. did a couple larger transactions fine and seemed useful as a utility. However now even after trying to reset the chain etc it just randomly decides I have unavailable balance, even if I have previously spent some and received none in the mean time. Really making me pull my hair out right now.

Reset blockchain, managed to get it up to date and send one transaction before it locked up again. Freezes after three resets on 2week sync, refuses to finish.. should have used that one transactions ti send my coins out!

This is the same problem I'm having, if you start with an empty wallet, receive 10 Bitcoins, get a lot of confirmations, and you then  spend .01 Bitcoins, it now tells you that you have 9.99 Bitcoins waiting for confirmation again. This is a bug and needs to be fixed.

Do not waste your time debating whether Bitcoin can work. It does work.

"Early adopters will profit" is not a sufficient condition to classify something as a pyramid or Ponzi scheme. If it was, Apple and Microsoft stock are Ponzi schemes.

There is no such thing as "market manipulation." There is only buying and selling.
Yuhfhrh
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100



View Profile
November 05, 2012, 07:28:31 PM
 #237

Is there a way to import your own private key?

Thanks so much!  Grin

Edit: I'm not seeing how we are supposed to import our private key. Do I need to save it as some type of file?
BitCoiner2012
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 05, 2012, 09:19:09 PM
 #238

App is driving me nuts.. did a couple larger transactions fine and seemed useful as a utility. However now even after trying to reset the chain etc it just randomly decides I have unavailable balance, even if I have previously spent some and received none in the mean time. Really making me pull my hair out right now.

Reset blockchain, managed to get it up to date and send one transaction before it locked up again. Freezes after three resets on 2week sync, refuses to finish.. should have used that one transactions ti send my coins out!

This is the same problem I'm having, if you start with an empty wallet, receive 10 Bitcoins, get a lot of confirmations, and you then  spend .01 Bitcoins, it now tells you that you have 9.99 Bitcoins waiting for confirmation again. This is a bug and needs to be fixed.


Bingo. It is good if I want to make one transaction every six hours or more, but that's about the extent of it.

BTC Long.
Mike Hearn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1000


View Profile
November 06, 2012, 07:48:27 PM
 #239

You only have to wait one block to spend coins. In future we'll let you spend change with no confirmations, but this is just a change to the spending policy. From the perspective of the Bitcoin network if you receive 10 coins, wait for 6 confirmations and then send 0.1 coins somewhere else, what actually happened behind the scenes is that you received a new payment of 9.9 coins back to yourself (as "change"). So it's correct that it's unconfirmed.

Of course, you don't really need to wait for confirmation in this case as you know you aren't going to double spend against yourself.
Yuhfhrh
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100



View Profile
November 06, 2012, 10:07:02 PM
 #240

You only have to wait one block to spend coins. In future we'll let you spend change with no confirmations, but this is just a change to the spending policy. From the perspective of the Bitcoin network if you receive 10 coins, wait for 6 confirmations and then send 0.1 coins somewhere else, what actually happened behind the scenes is that you received a new payment of 9.9 coins back to yourself (as "change"). So it's correct that it's unconfirmed.

Of course, you don't really need to wait for confirmation in this case as you know you aren't going to double spend against yourself.

+1 Thanks
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!