Bitcoin Forum
December 17, 2017, 12:59:50 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 917 918 919 920 921 922 923 924 925 926 927 928 929 930 931 932 933 934 935 936 937 938 939 940 941 942 943 944 945 946 947 948 949 950 951 952 953 954 955 956 957 958 959 960 961 962 963 964 965 966 [967] 968 969 970 971 972 973 974 975 976 977 978 979 980 981 982 983 984 985 986 987 988 989 990 991 992 993 994 995 996 997 998 999 1000 1001 1002 1003 1004 1005 1006 1007 1008 1009 1010 1011 1012 1013 1014 1015 1016 1017 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] [MINT] Mintcoin (POS / 5%) [NO ICO] [Fair distro, community maintained]  (Read 1324008 times)
kiklo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
March 04, 2016, 06:36:46 PM
 #19321

MINT Staking is NOT the same as before those updates, it is Worse.

Do you think the orphans chart historical data at https://chainz.cryptoid.info/mint/#!extraction backs up this statement?

Compare
https://chainz.cryptoid.info/zeit/#!extraction


 Cool
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
kiklo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
March 04, 2016, 06:46:31 PM
 #19322

MINT Staking is NOT the same as before those updates, it is Worse.

Do you think the orphans chart historical data at https://chainz.cryptoid.info/mint/#!extraction backs up this statement?

Well to be fair, that chart only shows the last 1000 blocks, which is about 8 days worth of time.  it would be nice to see a bigger history.

Isn't the reason ZEIT can get away with a longer time is because their block time is longer than MINT's? With the presstab update, yes, I think the orphans went up a little bit like you were saying, from like 300 per day to 600 or so, but the security benefits outway the cost of performance due to orphans, imo. Security is number 1 priority, because if that is broken you don't even have a coin at all, so orphans are secondary concern. MINT is definitely pushing the limits with the 30 second blocks but it seems to perform well overall. This just shows why we can't just do 1 second blocks...some things need time to work right.

No exact same tech specs at the moment, we are both 30 second block times.
1 minute time drift is just as secure, we been running it since the update.
In fact, the 30 second rate means your PCs should never be more than 30 seconds off otherwise their blocks will be rejected.

Because when ZEIT Stakes normally and Mint Stakes are being rejected from bad code, Mint becomes a really frustrating software.
And like I said their were 2 changes , it might be that setting down to 15 that caused it , I don't know which.
IF everyone wants to pretend like it is not a pain, it is up to you.
But I am telling you it is a bug and can be fixed just by testing it back at 60 instead of 15 , and if that fails go to a 1 minute block time,
but it is one of those 2 that is causing the problem.

 Cool
Flyskyhigh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 292


Ezekiel 34:11, John 10:25-30


View Profile
March 04, 2016, 08:55:18 PM
 #19323

Im not totally against it. It Would require another hardfork...though. So thorough testing beforehand would be needed before making any change. Just another thing to add to the to-do list lol.

Sick of mining?  Start minting!  5% per year!  Mintcoin "MINT"
MarSas
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 565


View Profile
March 04, 2016, 11:47:08 PM
 #19324

I can't get no...
Sarticus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
March 05, 2016, 02:00:00 AM
 #19325

Renamed. Ran the mintcoin-qt.exe directly from its folder. Got no wallet found, option to import was presented. <didnt do so>
Program menu was running - stopped the synch attempt...


( I now recall that my PC crashed while mintcoin was runing -sorry forgot to mention that)

well, put your wallet.dat back in after closing it... the block chain got corrupted

Thanks for the quick help

Block chain finished loading day before yesterday, and new mining entries are accruing; but I see a message in the small window at the bottom of the UI that says the block chain checkpoint is too old. I ran repair wallet and it fixed an entry. I let it continue to run in hopes it would fix itself in a day or 2, but it has not.

20:54:11

getcheckpoint


20:54:11

{
"synccheckpoint" : "f19d64603d4144ce4c9db07b109cdf95cfa4110e0809c966a887c731153547f1",
"height" : 1274551,
"timestamp" : "2015-03-01 16:18:35 UTC"
}

I tried to use the open debug log file to provide the last entry here, but it will not open ( file in use by another process). If need those entries I can stop the process and snip a few.
Pls advise
Thanks
crzybilly
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 409


View Profile
March 05, 2016, 02:11:28 AM
 #19326

Renamed. Ran the mintcoin-qt.exe directly from its folder. Got no wallet found, option to import was presented. <didnt do so>
Program menu was running - stopped the synch attempt...


( I now recall that my PC crashed while mintcoin was runing -sorry forgot to mention that)

well, put your wallet.dat back in after closing it... the block chain got corrupted

Thanks for the quick help

Block chain finished loading day before yesterday, and new mining entries are accruing; but I see a message in the small window at the bottom of the UI that says the block chain checkpoint is too old. I ran repair wallet and it fixed an entry. I let it continue to run in hopes it would fix itself in a day or 2, but it has not.

20:54:11

getcheckpoint


20:54:11

{
"synccheckpoint" : "f19d64603d4144ce4c9db07b109cdf95cfa4110e0809c966a887c731153547f1",
"height" : 1274551,
"timestamp" : "2015-03-01 16:18:35 UTC"
}

I tried to use the open debug log file to provide the last entry here, but it will not open ( file in use by another process). If need those entries I can stop the process and snip a few.
Pls advise
Thanks

2 things...

1. release 2.0.2 fixes that issue
2. did you use a bootstrap or fresh download?
Sarticus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
March 05, 2016, 03:10:33 AM
 #19327

<snip>

Block chain finished loading day before yesterday, and new mining entries are accruing; but I see a message in the small window at the bottom of the UI that says the block chain checkpoint is too old. I ran repair wallet and it fixed an entry. I let it continue to run in hopes it would fix itself in a day or 2, but it has not.

20:54:11

getcheckpoint


20:54:11

{
"synccheckpoint" : "f19d64603d4144ce4c9db07b109cdf95cfa4110e0809c966a887c731153547f1",
"height" : 1274551,
"timestamp" : "2015-03-01 16:18:35 UTC"
}

I tried to use the open debug log file to provide the last entry here, but it will not open ( file in use by another process). If need those entries I can stop the process and snip a few.
Pls advise
Thanks

2 things...

1. release 2.0.2 fixes that issue
2. did you use a bootstrap or fresh download?
Fresh download from scratch. And I have 2.0.1... fetching update
crzybilly
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 409


View Profile
March 05, 2016, 03:33:53 AM
 #19328

since you download from scratch... use fuzzbawls download links... and tell me if you get an error on load
Sarticus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
March 05, 2016, 04:17:51 AM
 #19329

since you download from scratch... use fuzzbawls download links... and tell me if you get an error on load

..UPDATE. Found 2.0.2 <sorry for not seeing it before>
 loaded, ran - error gone.
Tx
kiklo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
March 05, 2016, 04:50:17 AM
 #19330

Im not totally against it. It Would require another hardfork...though. So thorough testing beforehand would be needed before making any change. Just another thing to add to the to-do list lol.

Only need a hard fork if the time drift was changed from 30 seconds to 1 minute,

easy way to test without hard fork ,
Is have the dev compile 1 version with nMaxStakeSearchInterval set back to 60 instead of 15
-        static int nMaxStakeSearchInterval = 60;

This requires no hard fork, and may fix the issue outright.  Smiley

If that does not fix the staking issue , then we know it is the timedrift of 30 seconds and they could wait until they go to the next version of wallet they are working on before they hard fork and fix it then.

 Cool
cidman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120


View Profile
March 06, 2016, 10:33:20 PM
 #19331


what about for linux? i get that same error
unless u have a better guide to compile the qt than is in the readme
but i do kinda prefer the pre-compiled qt, seems im always fighting to figure out how to compile something

edit: learned a lil how to compile qt in the past couple min this is the error that stopped me

sh: 1: /usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/qt5/bin/lrelease: not found
RCC: Error in 'src/qt/bitcoin.qrc': Cannot find file 'locale/bitcoin_en.qm'
RCC: Error in 'src/qt/bitcoin.qrc': Cannot find file 'locale/bitcoin_ru.qm'

assuming those are just for translations i tried removing them from the .pro file but it must be asked from the bitcoin.qrc and thats needed to compile i think?
crzybilly
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 409


View Profile
March 06, 2016, 10:47:40 PM
 #19332


what about for linux? i get that same error
unless u have a better guide to compile the qt than is in the readme
but i do kinda prefer the pre-compiled qt, seems im always fighting to figure out how to compile something

are you getting the blkindex.dat error?
cidman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120


View Profile
March 06, 2016, 11:07:30 PM
 #19333



what about for linux? i get that same error
unless u have a better guide to compile the qt than is in the readme
but i do kinda prefer the pre-compiled qt, seems im always fighting to figure out how to compile something

are you getting the blkindex.dat error?

yea same error as the windows guys
2.0.1 wasnt syncing at 1st but i let it sit for awhile and it start so im not walletless
crzybilly
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 409


View Profile
March 06, 2016, 11:09:40 PM
 #19334



yea same error as the windows guys
2.0.1 wasnt syncing at 1st but i let it sit for awhile and it start so im not walletless

did you by chance use the bootstrap?
cidman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120


View Profile
March 06, 2016, 11:11:00 PM
 #19335



yea same error as the windows guys
2.0.1 wasnt syncing at 1st but i let it sit for awhile and it start so im not walletless

did you by chance use the bootstrap?

i suppose i could try it but i didnt yet cuz it didnt seem to work for them
ill try it now and msg back

edit: after the 2.0.1 finishes ill give 2.0.2 a try as well, before deleting old and doin the bootstrap, maybe syncing the past couple weeks on that version will fix it
crzybilly
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 409


View Profile
March 06, 2016, 11:15:46 PM
 #19336



yea same error as the windows guys
2.0.1 wasnt syncing at 1st but i let it sit for awhile and it start so im not walletless

did you by chance use the bootstrap?

i suppose i could try it but i didnt yet cuz it didnt seem to work for them
ill try it now and msg back

edit: after the 2.0.1 finishes ill give 2.0.2 a try as well, before deleting old and doin the bootstrap, maybe syncing the past couple weeks on that version will fix it

no no, it was a general question... did you sync from scratch or use a bootstrap when you first started your wallet when you first got into mint?
cidman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120


View Profile
March 06, 2016, 11:22:15 PM
 #19337



yea same error as the windows guys
2.0.1 wasnt syncing at 1st but i let it sit for awhile and it start so im not walletless

did you by chance use the bootstrap?

i suppose i could try it but i didnt yet cuz it didnt seem to work for them
ill try it now and msg back

edit: after the 2.0.1 finishes ill give 2.0.2 a try as well, before deleting old and doin the bootstrap, maybe syncing the past couple weeks on that version will fix it

no no, it was a general question... did you sync from scratch or use a bootstrap when you first started your wallet when you first got into mint?

i was on windows a few months ago and switched to linux 
i think i might have just copied all the old files from that when i synced 2.0.1 here or maybe used the bootstrap from around that time
but it was a couple months ago so i dont remember
i just havent synced for about a month
crzybilly
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 409


View Profile
March 06, 2016, 11:26:58 PM
 #19338



yea same error as the windows guys
2.0.1 wasnt syncing at 1st but i let it sit for awhile and it start so im not walletless

did you by chance use the bootstrap?

i suppose i could try it but i didnt yet cuz it didnt seem to work for them
ill try it now and msg back

edit: after the 2.0.1 finishes ill give 2.0.2 a try as well, before deleting old and doin the bootstrap, maybe syncing the past couple weeks on that version will fix it

no no, it was a general question... did you sync from scratch or use a bootstrap when you first started your wallet when you first got into mint?

i was on windows a few months ago and switched to linux 
i think i might have just copied all the old files from that when i synced 2.0.1 here or maybe used the bootstrap from around that time
but it was a couple months ago so i dont remember
i just havent synced for about a month

 yeah we think the bootstrap is causing the issue
cidman
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120


View Profile
March 06, 2016, 11:31:47 PM
 #19339


i was on windows a few months ago and switched to linux 
i think i might have just copied all the old files from that when i synced 2.0.1 here or maybe used the bootstrap from around that time
but it was a couple months ago so i dont remember
i just havent synced for about a month

 yeah we think the bootstrap is causing the issue

ok i got time then, if it doesnt work after 2.0.1 syncs to whatever block ill move the old blk0001 out and try from scratch on 2.0.2
URSAY
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918



View Profile
March 07, 2016, 01:40:16 AM
 #19340

I'd like to thank cryptomommy for handing over the mintcointeam account now that she is currently too busy for updates.  I've already started updating the op with current info.

I'm looking forward to helping improve things and continuing to help build an even fresher and smoother mintcoin.   Smiley

MINT MINT MINT

coin coin coin

...

^
Pages: « 1 ... 917 918 919 920 921 922 923 924 925 926 927 928 929 930 931 932 933 934 935 936 937 938 939 940 941 942 943 944 945 946 947 948 949 950 951 952 953 954 955 956 957 958 959 960 961 962 963 964 965 966 [967] 968 969 970 971 972 973 974 975 976 977 978 979 980 981 982 983 984 985 986 987 988 989 990 991 992 993 994 995 996 997 998 999 1000 1001 1002 1003 1004 1005 1006 1007 1008 1009 1010 1011 1012 1013 1014 1015 1016 1017 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!