Bitcoin Forum
August 23, 2017, 09:53:49 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 877 878 879 880 881 882 883 884 885 886 887 888 889 890 891 892 893 894 895 896 897 898 899 900 901 902 903 904 905 906 907 908 909 910 911 912 913 914 915 916 917 918 919 920 921 922 923 924 925 926 [927] 928 929 930 931 932 933 934 935 936 937 938 939 940 941 942 943 944 945 946 947 948 949 950 951 952 953 954 955 956 957 958 959 960 961 962 963 964 965 966 967 968 969 970 971 972 973 974 975 976 977 ... 1011 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN][MINT] Mintcoin (POS) (5%) - New Wallet v2.0.2 released 3/1/16  (Read 1261770 times)
kiklo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
August 25, 2015, 02:12:00 AM
 #18521

I am not sure about that. Archcoin also uses Scrypt algo but it hardly uses any CPU & 200-300 MB RAM and it is almost a year old too. I think we need a developer who knows what he is doing or study other coins to get best bits together. My best guess is that most of the issues are related to faster block times/lots of blocks to process. I see same problem with UTC/Ultracoin as well. This why downloading the blockchain takes too long, lots of headers to process.

Archcoin has 278K blocks in 1 year but we have 1.82M blocks in 1.5 years. Faster block time has a trade off of having lots of blocks. But as i said we need to stop guessing and hire a dev that can study the code and work out some solutions. Do we have no devs in the community who can help?

Arch currently only has 16,408,824 coins and their block speed is 1 minute.
Mint has a 30 second block speed , but if you watch the block explorer , it average 3 or 4 blocks per minute where as Arch averages 1 or 2 minutes before finding a block.

Was'nt Supasonic supposed to be the new Mint Dev?

FYI:
Sprouts has a 2.5 minute block time and a different algo and they sync very fast.
HoboNickel is 30 second block time with scrypt algo and they also use ~1 gig of ram.

 Cool
1503525229
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503525229

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503525229
Reply with quote  #2

1503525229
Report to moderator
1503525229
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503525229

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503525229
Reply with quote  #2

1503525229
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1503525229
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503525229

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503525229
Reply with quote  #2

1503525229
Report to moderator
1503525229
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503525229

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503525229
Reply with quote  #2

1503525229
Report to moderator
1503525229
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1503525229

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1503525229
Reply with quote  #2

1503525229
Report to moderator
Fuzzbawls
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 738

★YoBit.Net★ 200+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
August 25, 2015, 03:17:58 AM
 #18522

Lot of talk about RAM usage going on. While I do agree that it can become an issue down the road, it isn't as "game breaking" as the excessive CPU usage currently present in MINT. RAM, much like HD space, is a fairly inexpensive thing to acquire more of (with certain limits obviously). But processor inefficiency is a killer in that end users can't just add more CPU power to their computers.
I agree, but if you are not mining on CPU or running other CPU intensive apps then Mint uses only 9-10% of a i5 quad core which is manageable, although it would be really nice to have it reduced. Also RAM can be upgraded but it will become an issue for adoption, a skeptic/cautious user would ditch something that uses RAM in GBs as opposed to bitcoin that only uses something like 200-400 MB. When competing in field of 10s of good altcoins these inefficiencies will pull us down.

Mint PoS currently uses scrypt algorithm,
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scrypt
to have a permanent lower CPU & memory usage, would require switching to another algorithm .

 Cool 

I am not sure about that. Archcoin also uses Scrypt algo but it hardly uses any CPU & 200-300 MB RAM and it is almost a year old too. I think we need a developer who knows what he is doing or study other coins to get best bits together. My best guess is that most of the issues are related to faster block times/lots of blocks to process. I see same problem with UTC/Ultracoin as well. This why downloading the blockchain takes too long, lots of headers to process.

Archcoin has 278K blocks in 1 year but we have 1.82M blocks in 1.5 years. Faster block time has a trade off of having lots of blocks. But as i said we need to stop guessing and hire a dev that can study the code and work out some solutions. Do we have no devs in the community who can help?

Both Supasonic and myself are actively working on updates and there is a lot of ground to cover. My previous post wasn't intended to come off as a request for somebody else to handle this, just a statement of fact that CPU utilization is higher than it needs to be. It is one item on the list of things to do.

sambiohazard
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840



View Profile
August 25, 2015, 03:41:40 AM
 #18523

Thats great to hear!! Keep forging your way, i will keep donating to dev bounty when i can. I just keep nudging when an issue comes up. I have no real skills that i can help with so i just keep talking about what can be done. heh. Grin

Rent Rigs @ MiningRigRentals: https://www.miningrigrentals.com/register?ref=9685 | Mine Zcash, X11, ETH, BTC, LTC hashrate available @ Genesis Mining: 9yx2ib (Promo Code for 3% off)
Sell & Buy/Rent hashing power @ Nicehash.com: https://www.nicehash.com/?refby=63551
Trade BTCINR on Coinsecure.in (Global trade available: http://blog.coinsecure.in/post/153309186530/coinsecure-goes-global-by-reducing-the-barrier-for): https://coinsecure.in/signup/z5ehHIOLvHN5sWAq3wTu
Flyskyhigh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 292


Ezekiel 34:11, John 10:25-30


View Profile
August 25, 2015, 03:44:53 AM
 #18524

The CPU is somewhat "high", but at least it seems to be constant, and not really increasing.... (at least from what I can see, am i wrong?) If so, I don't see that as much of a threat.
On the other-hand, the RAM is rising noticeably as months go by...

But maybe working on the CPU issues will also help solve some RAM issues?

EDIT: Thanks Fuzzballs and Supasonic, and all contributors, you are making a mintcoin the best!  Smiley
FYI: I just want to say, that I personally know of some big investment getting ready to flow in to mintcoin as these issues get resolved.



Sick of mining?  Start minting!  5% per year!  Mintcoin "MINT"
Fuzzbawls
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 738

★YoBit.Net★ 200+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
August 25, 2015, 04:27:49 AM
 #18525

I've spent most of my time overhauling the GUI interface. This past week was spent ironing out the syncing/connection issues and making sure that is stable as well as working towards the removal of orphan blocks in user's local wallets.

Last night a crash issue was reported regarding the importing of wallets so I spent some time looking into that. And now...well...now i'm out of beer Sad

sambiohazard
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 840



View Profile
August 25, 2015, 04:50:14 AM
 #18526

I've spent most of my time overhauling the GUI interface. This past week was spent ironing out the syncing/connection issues and making sure that is stable as well as working towards the removal of orphan blocks in user's local wallets.

Last night a crash issue was reported regarding the importing of wallets so I spent some time looking into that. And now...well...now i'm out of beer Sad

I will try to get some beer for you by this weekend. I am having lots of power cuts & internet outage this so my mining income is all too shitty. I hope someone else can donate some beers till then.

Rent Rigs @ MiningRigRentals: https://www.miningrigrentals.com/register?ref=9685 | Mine Zcash, X11, ETH, BTC, LTC hashrate available @ Genesis Mining: 9yx2ib (Promo Code for 3% off)
Sell & Buy/Rent hashing power @ Nicehash.com: https://www.nicehash.com/?refby=63551
Trade BTCINR on Coinsecure.in (Global trade available: http://blog.coinsecure.in/post/153309186530/coinsecure-goes-global-by-reducing-the-barrier-for): https://coinsecure.in/signup/z5ehHIOLvHN5sWAq3wTu
JohnSmithy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87


View Profile
August 25, 2015, 08:43:39 AM
 #18527

From my standpoint the cpu and ram usage of mintcoin are too high, i have a sub-average computer however.

30-50% cpu usage of a dual core and 700 MB on a 3 GB physical ram system (while regularly using up to 1.5 GB virtual ram, which gives massive lag when it is being assigned).

Games you can play and get Bitcoins/Altcoins from: BTC - CoinBrawl, FarmSatoshi, MyBitMine, FreeBTCMiner, IdleMiners. HYPER/GP/C2 - Dragon Knights of Valeria. Get paid HYPER for playing ANY steam game: CnC Sponsorship, don't forget to set your referrer to JohnSmith (not JohnSmithy!). Donations are welcome and accepted in over 160 cryptocurrencies, just send me a personal message to get you the corresponding address.
Derek492
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 357



View Profile
August 25, 2015, 04:33:16 PM
 #18528

Lot of talk about RAM usage going on. While I do agree that it can become an issue down the road, it isn't as "game breaking" as the excessive CPU usage currently present in MINT. RAM, much like HD space, is a fairly inexpensive thing to acquire more of (with certain limits obviously). But processor inefficiency is a killer in that end users can't just add more CPU power to their computers.
I agree, but if you are not mining on CPU or running other CPU intensive apps then Mint uses only 9-10% of a i5 quad core which is manageable, although it would be really nice to have it reduced. Also RAM can be upgraded but it will become an issue for adoption, a skeptic/cautious user would ditch something that uses RAM in GBs as opposed to bitcoin that only uses something like 200-400 MB. When competing in field of 10s of good altcoins these inefficiencies will pull us down.

Mint PoS currently uses scrypt algorithm,
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scrypt
to have a permanent lower CPU & memory usage, would require switching to another algorithm .

 Cool 
But changing algorithm doesn't change anything long-term, does it? Eventually the RAM keeps rising?. I think there is some degree of benefit using scypt.

Stop Mining.   Start Minting.   Mintcoin  [MINT]
5% annual minting reward. Mintcoins don't wear out like mining gear. They keep on minting!
Derek492
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 357



View Profile
August 25, 2015, 04:47:19 PM
 #18529

On a side note, is everything ready to go as far as the block reward reduction coming up? Last yea, the drop from 20% to 15% resulted in the network freezing. Is that expected to happen again? According to my calculations we only have about 1-2 months until the drop to 10%.

Stop Mining.   Start Minting.   Mintcoin  [MINT]
5% annual minting reward. Mintcoins don't wear out like mining gear. They keep on minting!
kiklo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
August 25, 2015, 09:43:30 PM
 #18530

But changing algorithm doesn't change anything long-term, does it? Eventually the RAM keeps rising?. I think there is some degree of benefit using scypt.

Ram will keep rising , however scrypt was designed for the memory requirements to grow faster than other algos , originally to keeps asics from being able to mine it.  Tongue
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=213872.0

If the goal is to run mint on low powered devices , then groestl algo is a better choice.
If low powered devices are not a concern stay with scrypt as it is more widely used.


 Cool


FYI:
If someone gets a genesis block system working, it would keep the memory requirements lower.
Basically every 6 months worth of blocks , a new genesis block is created which has all of the account balances, that way new blockchains are never older than 6 months, keeping the memory requirements down and speeding up install for new users. Smiley
Only other option is to change block speed after a chain swap takes place.
Where Mint & Hobo take forever to sync after being off for a few days, Sprouts sync in seconds since they have a 2.5 minute block speed verses a 30 second block.
Derek492
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 357



View Profile
August 26, 2015, 12:30:46 AM
 #18531

But changing algorithm doesn't change anything long-term, does it? Eventually the RAM keeps rising?. I think there is some degree of benefit using scypt.

Ram will keep rising , however scrypt was designed for the memory requirements to grow faster than other algos , originally to keeps asics from being able to mine it.  Tongue
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=213872.0

If the goal is to run mint on low powered devices , then groestl algo is a better choice.
If low powered devices are not a concern stay with scrypt as it is more widely used.


 Cool


FYI:
If someone gets a genesis block system working, it would keep the memory requirements lower.
Basically every 6 months worth of blocks , a new genesis block is created which has all of the account balances, that way new blockchains are never older than 6 months, keeping the memory requirements down and speeding up install for new users. Smiley
Only other option is to change block speed after a chain swap takes place.
Where Mint & Hobo take forever to sync after being off for a few days, Sprouts sync in seconds since they have a 2.5 minute block speed verses a 30 second block.
We have already decided to keep the faster block time. I think the idea of a new Genesis block the way you describe sounds good. How hard would that be to implement? It would have to be generated from a timestamp of say 1000 blocks in the past though right? Long enough to ensure chain consensus and such. Is that how it works?

Stop Mining.   Start Minting.   Mintcoin  [MINT]
5% annual minting reward. Mintcoins don't wear out like mining gear. They keep on minting!
kiklo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
August 26, 2015, 01:01:37 AM
 #18532

We have already decided to keep the faster block time. I think the idea of a new Genesis block the way you describe sounds good. How hard would that be to implement? It would have to be generated from a timestamp of say 1000 blocks in the past though right? Long enough to ensure chain consensus and such. Is that how it works?

In theory ,
yes it would have to be generated far enough back that their is no issue of consensus,
So after 1000 blocks it would become Block 0 of a new block chain, for anyone downloading a new wallet.

Implementation difficulty and precise details, the devs will have to answer once they explore it.  Smiley


 Cool

FYI:
A running Genesis block that cuts off the old section of blockchain is still theory, so whoever designs it will be the 1st.
someguy4
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
August 26, 2015, 01:13:30 AM
 #18533

What would be in this genesis block, all the coin values/ages that the previous blocks amounted to?
kiklo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
August 26, 2015, 01:23:57 AM
 #18534

What would be in this genesis block, all the coin values/ages that the previous blocks amounted to?

That and more, but the devs will have to answer if anything like it is possible at this stage of crypto development.  If not that just leaves a chain swap and block time and algo change to fix the memory/cpu issues which would be easier to implement.

 Cool
someguy4
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
August 26, 2015, 01:25:47 AM
 #18535

If that could be done, then surely a better alternative would be to have a wallet that does that automatically by creating a running "genesis block" and keeping it say 6 months (or less) behind while retaining the last 6 months of blocks.
kiklo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
August 26, 2015, 01:29:51 AM
 #18536

If that could be done, then surely a better alternative would be to have a wallet that does that automatically by creating a running "genesis block" and keeping it say 6 months (or less) behind while retaining the last 6 months of blocks.

No argument there, a running Genesis block would solve blockchain bloat issue for everyone.


 Cool
Flyskyhigh
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 292


Ezekiel 34:11, John 10:25-30


View Profile
August 26, 2015, 04:13:20 AM
 #18537

If that could be done, then surely a better alternative would be to have a wallet that does that automatically by creating a running "genesis block" and keeping it say 6 months (or less) behind while retaining the last 6 months of blocks.

This is basically block-chain trimming, right? I am not a programmer, but I am a conceptualizer.

If I understand this, it would have to be set up so that it would be created every so many blocks... Like every 1-million blocks. So when the 1,000,001 block arrives it has code that automatically pulls in the information required. Then after 1,000 more blocks go by, the 1,000,001 block becomes block 1.  Is this possible to implement? We just need someone who can code it. I really think we should do this if possible. All problems would be solved.   Cool

Sick of mining?  Start minting!  5% per year!  Mintcoin "MINT"
cryptomommy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 423


View Profile
August 27, 2015, 06:11:49 PM
 #18538

#MintcoinOfficial IRC Stats Now Available:
http://ircstats.mintcoinofficial.com/
fonzerrellie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


MZC, BERN, TECH, SQL


View Profile
August 29, 2015, 10:16:26 PM
 #18539

so whats the issue with cryptsy??

my wallet starts up begins sync'n right away... I haven't had any issues since the latest update

just bought a bunch more and was hope'n to start minting them asap

EXP -Expanse-  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1173722.0
https://www.crypto-city.com (needs more users but is a great site)
PIVX, ARK, STRAT, NXS, AMP, LBC, SQL, EDG, TRST, WNGS, VRC/VRM
Fuzzbawls
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 738

★YoBit.Net★ 200+ Coins Exchange & Dice


View Profile
August 30, 2015, 12:02:57 AM
 #18540

so whats the issue with cryptsy??

my wallet starts up begins sync'n right away... I haven't had any issues since the latest update

just bought a bunch more and was hope'n to start minting them asap

I have sent a ticket to Cryptsy requesting information and details as to why their MINT wallet has been in maintenance mode for such an extended period of time. Waiting to hear back from them now...

Pages: « 1 ... 877 878 879 880 881 882 883 884 885 886 887 888 889 890 891 892 893 894 895 896 897 898 899 900 901 902 903 904 905 906 907 908 909 910 911 912 913 914 915 916 917 918 919 920 921 922 923 924 925 926 [927] 928 929 930 931 932 933 934 935 936 937 938 939 940 941 942 943 944 945 946 947 948 949 950 951 952 953 954 955 956 957 958 959 960 961 962 963 964 965 966 967 968 969 970 971 972 973 974 975 976 977 ... 1011 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!