Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 06:45:26 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 »
  Print  
Author Topic: ZTEX USB-FPGA Modules 1.15x and 1.15y: 215 and 860 MH/s FPGA Boards  (Read 174236 times)
ztex
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 367

ZTEX FPGA Boards


View Profile WWW
March 14, 2012, 10:18:01 AM
 #401

I'd like to ask you a question about your bulk pricing, in particular, if I buy, for example, 25 units, do I pay them 229 EUR each (so the total is 229 * 25), or do I pay the first four 309, then the next four 284 and so on?

The total net price of a 25 unit order is 25*229 EUR.


Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481395526
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481395526

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481395526
Reply with quote  #2

1481395526
Report to moderator
nelisky
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554


View Profile
March 14, 2012, 10:45:31 PM
 #402

(cross posting from the cgminer thread)

A small status update: the cgminer support for ztex boards now compiles and runs on linux, osx and windows. There are still features missing and the hash rate reporting is pretty broken but the boards hash at their expected speed. Check it out: https://github.com/nelisky/cgminer/tree/ztex

Let me know of any problems / suggestions.
PulsedMedia
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 402


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2012, 07:32:19 PM
 #403

I just noticed Z-Tex offers 2years warranty, while BFL is 6months, and Icarus probably case by case.
So i would think the MTBF is to be calculated around 4-5 years then?

So i did some number crunching and all of sudden Z-Tex actually looks promising when bought at lots of 10 (or more), if lifetime can be expected to be at least 4yrs on average.

Am i correct that it achieves now 225Mhash/s with high confidence? Or what should i expect as the average rate?

Using the fastest bitstream, under proper conditions, does the 2 year warranty extend to businesses as well?

Package contents include heatsink, usb cable, and heatsink?

http://PulsedMedia.com - Semidedicated rTorrent seedboxes
TheSeven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


FPGA Mining LLC


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2012, 08:43:48 PM
 #404

I just noticed Z-Tex offers 2years warranty, while BFL is 6months, and Icarus probably case by case.
So i would think the MTBF is to be calculated around 4-5 years then?

So i did some number crunching and all of sudden Z-Tex actually looks promising when bought at lots of 10 (or more), if lifetime can be expected to be at least 4yrs on average.

Am i correct that it achieves now 225Mhash/s with high confidence? Or what should i expect as the average rate?

Using the fastest bitstream, under proper conditions, does the 2 year warranty extend to businesses as well?

Package contents include heatsink, usb cable, and heatsink?

The only component besides the FPGA that I can imagine failing is the power supply. All but BFL currently use the same FPGA type (just with a slightly different package), so which board you're using shouldn't really matter for that. Keeping it cool is probably the most important factor to extend its lifespan, and ztex's dynamic overclocking might not exactly help with that.
As far as I can tell, the only board where it is really easy to replace failed voltage regulators is the X6500, which has them on separate PCBs, which are soldered to the main one by just a few pins. The voltage regulator modules used are nothing special, should be available at digikey.

My tip jar: 13kwqR7B4WcSAJCYJH1eXQcxG5vVUwKAqY
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2012, 11:12:15 PM
 #405

...and ztex's dynamic overclocking might not exactly help with that...

Why do you think that ?! It's not that the board changes the frequency every five minutes. You start the board, it changes the frequency and after that it runs for weeks at that speed if your temperature is constant (within 5 degree C). Compared to Icarus the ZTEX modules run cooler. And that with almost 30 MHz difference. Not sure why ?

rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
March 17, 2012, 11:30:50 PM
 #406

...and ztex's dynamic overclocking might not exactly help with that...

Why do you think that ?! It's not that the board changes the frequency every five minutes. You start the board, it changes the frequency and after that it runs for weeks at that speed if your temperature is constant (within 5 degree C). Compared to Icarus the ZTEX modules run cooler. And that with almost 30 MHz difference. Not sure why ?
Because ztex uses speed grade -3 chips, and Icarus uses speed grade -2 with industrial thermal ratings.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2012, 11:40:19 PM
 #407

...and ztex's dynamic overclocking might not exactly help with that...

Why do you think that ?! It's not that the board changes the frequency every five minutes. You start the board, it changes the frequency and after that it runs for weeks at that speed if your temperature is constant (within 5 degree C). Compared to Icarus the ZTEX modules run cooler. And that with almost 30 MHz difference. Not sure why ?
Because ztex uses speed grade -3 chips, and Icarus uses speed grade -2 with industrial thermal ratings.

That makes sense. Not really the expert Cheesy

Dhomochevsky
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 240



View Profile
March 18, 2012, 02:32:45 PM
 #408

Ztex uses speed grade -3 chips, and Icarus uses speed grade -2 with industrial thermal ratings.

Does that mean that the Icarus is more durable in time/at higher temps? Or is it the other way around? Or is the Icarus more durable as long as you keep it under 200 MHz?
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
March 18, 2012, 02:57:51 PM
 #409

C = Commercial (Tj = 0°C to +85°C), I = Industrial (Tj = –40°C to +100°C). Would be nice to know what exactly makes the difference between a commercial and an industrial rated chip. I guess not much Tongue

neuronics
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


satoshkey - activate everything !


View Profile WWW
March 18, 2012, 04:57:36 PM
 #410

Another Atom driven FPGA-miner. One 12V single source - UPS via FET-Switch directly from 12 V accumulator.
Diskless (USB Stick) Ubuntu OS. Works very well, silent & stable.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/66700729/PHOTO/fpga10atom.png

www.satoshkey.com  BTC Universal Vending Machines
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
March 18, 2012, 05:11:15 PM
 #411

Cool setup Wink

TheSeven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


FPGA Mining LLC


View Profile WWW
March 18, 2012, 05:13:46 PM
 #412

Another Atom driven FPGA-miner. One 12V single source - UPS via FET-Switch directly from 12 V accumulator.
Diskless (USB Stick) Ubuntu OS. Works very well, silent & stable.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/66700729/PHOTO/fpga10atom.png

What kind of UPS is that? UPSes that use 12V batteries usually don't provide all that much charging current, so the current draw of these boards might overload that or at least confuse it.

My tip jar: 13kwqR7B4WcSAJCYJH1eXQcxG5vVUwKAqY
neuronics
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


satoshkey - activate everything !


View Profile WWW
March 18, 2012, 05:22:21 PM
 #413

Another Atom driven FPGA-miner. One 12V single source - UPS via FET-Switch directly from 12 V accumulator.
Diskless (USB Stick) Ubuntu OS. Works very well, silent & stable.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/66700729/PHOTO/fpga10atom.png

What kind of UPS is that? UPSes that use 12V batteries usually don't provide all that much charging current, so the current draw of these boards might overload that or at least confuse it.

Its drawing from switching power supply or, in case of power failure, from accumulator (directly connected). FET-switch to prevent
return current damaging power supply. Actual current not more than 12 Amps - no problem at all.

www.satoshkey.com  BTC Universal Vending Machines
rupy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 724



View Profile
March 19, 2012, 12:16:27 AM
 #414

Another Atom driven FPGA-miner. One 12V single source - UPS via FET-Switch directly from 12 V accumulator.
Diskless (USB Stick) Ubuntu OS. Works very well, silent & stable.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/66700729/PHOTO/fpga10atom.png

Silent? Hm, I run my D510MO and 5 x 1.15x passively. That's silent! You just hear the chips chirp as they meet hard work. Wink

You can actually hear what the CPU is doing... actually very useful when you have a server and it's getting lots of load; you hear it... specially when you wrote the software, performance tuning by ear! Cheesy

BANKBOOK GWT Wallet & no-FIAT Billing API
BTC 14xr5Q1j61A1eA6Mrs5MRhUmYZKboY8iq2 | Vanillacoin FPGA Miner
Beaflag VonRathburg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 472



View Profile
March 19, 2012, 01:30:56 AM
 #415

Ztex, is there any way you could add a running total for the amount of orders placed in the past 10 weeks? If we knew the number we could colaborate to place a large order to achieve the maximum savings. I'm not sure if having 100+ units ordered at the same time is something you'd like versus having them slightly spaced out. My ability to maximize the amount of units I could order given Y funds could potentially increase and you're probably still making $X / unit regardless of the run due to bulk ordering. Just something to consider.

ztex
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 367

ZTEX FPGA Boards


View Profile WWW
March 19, 2012, 08:56:21 AM
 #416

Ztex, is there any way you could add a running total for the amount of orders placed in the past 10 weeks? If we knew the number we could colaborate to place a large order to achieve the maximum savings. I'm not sure if having 100+ units ordered at the same time is something you'd like versus having them slightly spaced out. My ability to maximize the amount of units I could order given Y funds could potentially increase and you're probably still making $X / unit regardless of the run due to bulk ordering. Just something to consider.

I do not post quotations in the forum.

Please contact me per email () or using the contact form at http://www.ztex.de/contact.e.html for availability / reservation requests.

ztex
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 367

ZTEX FPGA Boards


View Profile WWW
March 19, 2012, 09:06:14 AM
 #417

Ztex uses speed grade -3 chips, and Icarus uses speed grade -2 with industrial thermal ratings.

Does that mean that the Icarus is more durable in time/at higher temps? Or is it the other way around? Or is the Icarus more durable as long as you keep it under 200 MHz?

I'm using -N3 chips. As far I know Icarus uses the FPGA's that are available on the gray marked.

The absolute maximum junction temperature for all temperature ratings is 125°C. The difference is the operating temperature range, i.e. the over temperature protection trigger (based on error measurement / frequency) may be triggered earlier.


Dhomochevsky
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 240



View Profile
March 19, 2012, 10:00:09 AM
 #418

As far I know Icarus uses the FPGA's that are available on the gray marked.

What do you mean? Could you elaborate on that?
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
March 19, 2012, 11:18:46 AM
 #419

As far I know Icarus uses the FPGA's that are available on the gray marked.

What do you mean? Could you elaborate on that?

Probably some anti-competitive BS rant that he wants to use to get more sales than Icarus. Most people will buy Icarus anyway because things made + designed in China are cheaper and lower quality than things made + designed in Germany etc.

FPGA on the black market ... LOL.
ztex
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 367

ZTEX FPGA Boards


View Profile WWW
March 19, 2012, 01:56:31 PM
 #420

As far I know Icarus uses the FPGA's that are available on the gray marked.

What do you mean? Could you elaborate on that?

Since 2010 there are only two official Xilinx distributors, Avnet and Digikey.

Items that are are offered by non-official distributors / IC brokers (= gray market) are usually overstocks of manufacturers.


Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!