Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 09:06:52 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 »
  Print  
Author Topic: ZTEX USB-FPGA Modules 1.15x and 1.15y: 215 and 860 MH/s FPGA Boards  (Read 174218 times)
BR0KK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
April 29, 2012, 10:42:00 AM
 #621

Tried that on two pcs.... Nothing helped so far. This unit seems to have died on me while i was playing arround with the Quad and the others.

1481360812
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481360812

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481360812
Reply with quote  #2

1481360812
Report to moderator
1481360812
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481360812

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481360812
Reply with quote  #2

1481360812
Report to moderator
1481360812
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481360812

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481360812
Reply with quote  #2

1481360812
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481360812
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481360812

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481360812
Reply with quote  #2

1481360812
Report to moderator
1481360812
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481360812

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481360812
Reply with quote  #2

1481360812
Report to moderator
1481360812
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481360812

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481360812
Reply with quote  #2

1481360812
Report to moderator
ummas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 274


View Profile
April 29, 2012, 10:49:11 AM
 #622

Using pad`s and grasse is kind of strange... I`ll use my best pad for one chip today and i`ll see.

seccond think is, to put small heatsink on bottom of the board, small aprx. 75x75mm in the center of the chip.

and the last think is, to put water block on it... Cheesy i got one to use...
those FPGA are real fun i must say.
pazor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966



View Profile
April 29, 2012, 10:53:50 AM
 #623

Using pad`s and grasse is kind of strange... I`ll use my best pad for one chip today and i`ll see.

seccond think is, to put small heatsink on bottom of the board, small aprx. 75x75mm in the center of the chip.

and the last think is, to put water block on it... Cheesy i got one to use...
those FPGA are real fun i must say.


 Tongue

treuhand-Dienst gewünscht? - frag per PM an
BTC 174X17nR7vEQBQo4GXKRGMGaTmB49Gf1yT
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
April 29, 2012, 11:10:18 AM
 #624

This unit seems to have died on me while i was playing arround with the Quad and the others.

I don't think so. I had this issue with both the 1.15x and 1.15d. It happened both times after removing and reconnecting them. I think the problem is on the micro USB side. Try there.

roomservice
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 190



View Profile
April 29, 2012, 11:18:08 AM
 #625

This unit seems to have died on me while i was playing arround with the Quad and the others.

I don't think so. I had this issue with both the 1.15x and 1.15d. It happened both times after removing and reconnecting them. I think the problem is on the micro USB side. Try there.


Same issue here, after repowering und reconnecting the boards (usb and power) several time, it worked again.

"Tonight's the night. And it's going to happen again, and again. It has to happen. Nice night."
nelisky
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554


View Profile
April 29, 2012, 11:19:17 AM
 #626

Using pad`s and grasse is kind of strange...

Look at the thermal conductivity and resistance numbers for whatever you are using. Using pads and grease is completely not useful unless you need to operate on a very much non flat surface and even there just grease will probably do a better job.

You see, good grease like MX-4 is rated at 8.5W/mK (higher is better), most greases I find in computer stores are at 1~3W/mK and most pads will fall at around 1W/mK. I have tried some high end thermal pads rated at around 6W/mK and some very good phobya ones at 7W/mK, but because the heatsink with the pushpins doesn't apply enough down force to compress the pads as designed, the result is that even 3W/mK grease works better than the best of pads.

I could use thicker pads but then thermal resistance comes into play and offsets any gain the pads could have on the grease. The pads (at least the very good ones) still have a place in testing scenarios as it is so much easier to snap on heatsink out and another in without having to clean up the grease mess left behind Smiley

So, in a nutshell, if you use grease+pad (+grease?) you will have the thermal conductivity of the worst link and the combined thermal resistance... not very useful.
ummas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 274


View Profile
April 29, 2012, 11:27:50 AM
 #627

I have got 7W/mK by Phobya, i`ll use.
Heatsinks are not good polished, lots of space in there. I`ll cut a square of phobya pad and screw heatsink on it.
As i said before, i got 0.5, 1.0 and 1.5mm - witch should i use ?
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
April 29, 2012, 11:33:21 AM
 #628

I have got 7W/mK by Phobya, i`ll use.
Heatsinks are not good polished, lots of space in there. I`ll cut a square of phobya pad and screw heatsink on it.
As i said before, i got 0.5, 1.0 and 1.5mm - witch should i use ?

I'd start with 0.5...

ummas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 274


View Profile
April 29, 2012, 01:25:09 PM
 #629

donne:
1-stock on screws and sommekind of grease
2-stock on screws and Thermal pad 1mm 7kw (the 0.5 was 5kw only?)
3-stock and AS5 grease
4-stock and sommekind of grease

testing under unfamilliar conditions - 34*C ambient - stay tuned

after 15 minutes - this same....
i`ll take it for a trip sowmere cooler - 25*C ambient.
this same...1 208 and the rest 196.... board is almost cold
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
April 29, 2012, 02:07:57 PM
 #630

 Undecided only this one board ?

ummas
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 274


View Profile
April 29, 2012, 02:14:06 PM
 #631

i got water block witch fits perfectly, but i cant se sense in doing it :/
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
April 29, 2012, 02:26:27 PM
 #632

i got water block witch fits perfectly, but i cant se sense in doing it :/


I had this one board (single) I was never able to cool down the way i wanted. I ended up taking a clamp (Schraubzwinge) to pull the heatsink down to the chip. The clamp is in place to this day. Perhaps you can take off one of the fans from one of the 196 MHz chips and try with a little clamp and some LIGHT pressure. This way you can see if it's a contact problem.

I checked my heatsink then and it was perfect level... you can check it on a window glass. Floatglass is very even.

CA Coins
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 306


View Profile
April 29, 2012, 09:36:02 PM
 #633

This unit seems to have died on me while i was playing arround with the Quad and the others.

I don't think so. I had this issue with both the 1.15x and 1.15d. It happened both times after removing and reconnecting them. I think the problem is on the micro USB side. Try there.


Same issue here, after repowering und reconnecting the boards (usb and power) several time, it worked again.
Ditto.  I had this happened to me on 2 separate occasions, both on windows XP (on a laptop I use to program the fpgas individually).  The first time with the single it resolved after reconnecting several times.  The second time (with the quad) windows wouldn't recognize it even after several tries.  I plug it into the production machine running Ubuntu and it recognized it just fine.
CA Coins
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 306


View Profile
April 29, 2012, 09:50:56 PM
 #634

Now a test to prove my theory.

I've applied some new AS5 and scrachted it linear very slightly. Then I've put the heatsink and moved it around a little bit. With the same result: the heatsink touches only at the corners. Here are the photos:




What can I do???
I am surprised that the contact is so poor even with the stock heatsink that should hold the heatsink down pretty good.  Do you know if the heatsink is bent or it is the FPGA?
 
The most straight forward way if it is the heatsink is just to replace the heatsink.  The alternative (which I know will sound like heresy to some) is to put quite a bit of the paste in the middle instead of the nice and thin layer that you have.  My first few boards I applied a thick layer of AR5.  Some of it will spill over onto the board.  2 of the boards I cleaned off the AR5 and re-applied a nice thin layer.  It actually didn't make a difference in the performance.  From measuring the temperatures with a probe, a thin layer and a thicker one didn't make any difference in the heatsink or the temperature under the LX150.  So what I am saying is that if you have an air pocket between the LX150 and the heatsink, you might be able to get away with putting a little bit more paste to fill the air pocket.  The thermal conductivity of AR5 is not as good as aluminum, but it should be good enough for running the LX150 (and definitely better than air). 
CA Coins
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 306


View Profile
April 29, 2012, 10:03:43 PM
 #635

donne:
1-stock on screws and sommekind of grease
2-stock on screws and Thermal pad 1mm 7kw (the 0.5 was 5kw only?)
3-stock and AS5 grease
4-stock and sommekind of grease

testing under unfamilliar conditions - 34*C ambient - stay tuned

after 15 minutes - this same....
i`ll take it for a trip sowmere cooler - 25*C ambient.
this same...1 208 and the rest 196.... board is almost cold
Sorry for the multiple posts.  There seems to be multiple topics going on.

If you have a temperature probe, try measuring the temperature on the heatsink and directly under the LX150 to see if the heat is being conducted efficiently from the LX150 to your heatsink.  I had one board where the contact was not as good (no paste at the corners of the LX150).  The underbelly is hot while the heatsink was not as hot as the other boards.  Try to see if you get the same temps from the 4 LX150s.

For example, data I got testing a 1.15x, ambient 19C, bottom of LX150 = 30C, top of heatsink = 24C
pazor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966



View Profile
April 29, 2012, 10:07:18 PM
 #636

Now a test to prove my theory.

I've applied some new AS5 and scrachted it linear very slightly. Then I've put the heatsink and moved it around a little bit. With the same result: the heatsink touches only at the corners. Here are the photos:




What can I do???

try to clean both surfaces with isopropylen alcohol. they became clean from the old grease.
you should be able to read the letters on the fpga chip.
after that put carefully a thin film of grease and the heatsink on the chip, fix it with the clips and start the miner.

good luck!

treuhand-Dienst gewünscht? - frag per PM an
BTC 174X17nR7vEQBQo4GXKRGMGaTmB49Gf1yT
BR0KK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
April 29, 2012, 10:11:05 PM
 #637

ill download ubuntu right now ... Smiley

But its not only limited to my mac. It doesn't show up in any windows PC i currently own....

CA Coins
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 306


View Profile
April 29, 2012, 10:13:10 PM
 #638

That is weird that it doesn't work on any of the PCs.  Good luck with Ubuntu.  Hopefully it works for you.  Remember to use sudo before the command, ie sudo java -cp...
BR0KK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
April 29, 2012, 10:16:25 PM
 #639

thx Smiley

Ill try it and i hope that Ztex will reply to my posts and emails on monday.

Actualy it shows up on windows but only as an unknown device witch I'm unable to install drivers for (see posts above)

ztex
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 367

ZTEX FPGA Boards


View Profile WWW
April 30, 2012, 08:36:49 AM
 #640

can i have some values in mh/s about ztex 1.15x ?

(Measured) hash rates from different lots and and for both FPGA variants can be found in the initial posting.

The variance of the first 1.15y batch is very large because it was build from several FPGA lots.


Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!