Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 08:09:13 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 »
  Print  
Author Topic: FPGA development board "Icarus" - DisContinued/ important announcement  (Read 184373 times)
ngzhang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 592


We will stand and fight.


View Profile
January 12, 2012, 11:36:03 AM
 #261


oh, it looks like this capacitor is touched by some stuff during the transport.
it there any issues except the skew? Huh

and:

i suggest return that board and change that capacitor, i afraid there will be some damage inside that capacitor. Huh

and and:
looks like i must open the package again and do some reinforce to the package... Grin

CEO of Canaan-creative, Founder of Avalon project.
https://canaan.io/
Business contact: love@canaan.io
All PMs will be unread.
1481443753
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481443753

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481443753
Reply with quote  #2

1481443753
Report to moderator
1481443753
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481443753

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481443753
Reply with quote  #2

1481443753
Report to moderator
1481443753
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481443753

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481443753
Reply with quote  #2

1481443753
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481443753
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481443753

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481443753
Reply with quote  #2

1481443753
Report to moderator
1481443753
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481443753

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481443753
Reply with quote  #2

1481443753
Report to moderator
1481443753
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481443753

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481443753
Reply with quote  #2

1481443753
Report to moderator
sadpandatech
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
January 12, 2012, 12:01:53 PM
 #262


oh, it looks like this capacitor is touched by some stuff during the transport.
it there any issues except the skew? Huh

and:

i suggest return that board and change that capacitor, i afraid there will be some damage inside that capacitor. Huh

and and:
looks like i must open the package again and do some reinforce to the package... Grin

I highly doubt that capicitor is in any way damaged. Maybe if it got 'shoved' down on its pins or something, then maybe.
However, that resistor looks a lil funky.  Tongue

If you're not excited by the idea of being an early adopter 'now', then you should come back in three or four years and either tell us "Told you it'd never work!" or join what should, by then, be a much more stable and easier-to-use system. - GA
It is being worked on by smart people. -DamienBlack
ngzhang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 592


We will stand and fight.


View Profile
January 12, 2012, 12:13:43 PM
 #263


oh, it looks like this capacitor is touched by some stuff during the transport.
it there any issues except the skew? Huh

and:

i suggest return that board and change that capacitor, i afraid there will be some damage inside that capacitor. Huh

and and:
looks like i must open the package again and do some reinforce to the package... Grin

I highly doubt that capicitor is in any way damaged. Maybe if it got 'shoved' down on its pins or something, then maybe.
However, that resistor looks a lil funky.  Tongue
i agree with you.
that "resistor" infact is a ceramic capacitor. soldered  by hand and looks ugly. because i forgot to reserve a PCB edge for the SMT.  Wink

CEO of Canaan-creative, Founder of Avalon project.
https://canaan.io/
Business contact: love@canaan.io
All PMs will be unread.
sadpandatech
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
January 12, 2012, 12:51:34 PM
 #264

that "resistor" infact is a ceramic capacitor. soldered  by hand and looks ugly. because i forgot to reserve a PCB edge for the SMT.  Wink

Shows what I know. I should have recognized that by it's color. :/  Being by hand it's not bad. The last time I did any component lvl soldering like that, the caps/resistors, etc were about 3-4 times that size. I drink too much coffee to even attempt the little parts on there these days.  Edge would be nice. Atleast no one can accuse you of wasting edge space though. =)

I think I've probably asked this before but have you any plans to build a 4 chip board? Or a 7 series board when those become more available?

Cheers,
  Derek

If you're not excited by the idea of being an early adopter 'now', then you should come back in three or four years and either tell us "Told you it'd never work!" or join what should, by then, be a much more stable and easier-to-use system. - GA
It is being worked on by smart people. -DamienBlack
ngzhang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 592


We will stand and fight.


View Profile
January 12, 2012, 01:20:48 PM
 #265

that "resistor" infact is a ceramic capacitor. soldered  by hand and looks ugly. because i forgot to reserve a PCB edge for the SMT.  Wink

Shows what I know. I should have recognized that by it's color. :/  Being by hand it's not bad. The last time I did any component lvl soldering like that, the caps/resistors, etc were about 3-4 times that size. I drink too much coffee to even attempt the little parts on there these days.  Edge would be nice. Atleast no one can accuse you of wasting edge space though. =)

I think I've probably asked this before but have you any plans to build a 4 chip board? Or a 7 series board when those become more available?

Cheers,
  Derek

it looks like my future plan will reduce to 1 FPGA board. and with a daughter - mother architecture.

CEO of Canaan-creative, Founder of Avalon project.
https://canaan.io/
Business contact: love@canaan.io
All PMs will be unread.
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
January 12, 2012, 02:27:52 PM
 #266

that "resistor" infact is a ceramic capacitor. soldered  by hand and looks ugly. because i forgot to reserve a PCB edge for the SMT.  Wink

Shows what I know. I should have recognized that by it's color. :/  Being by hand it's not bad. The last time I did any component lvl soldering like that, the caps/resistors, etc were about 3-4 times that size. I drink too much coffee to even attempt the little parts on there these days.  Edge would be nice. Atleast no one can accuse you of wasting edge space though. =)

I think I've probably asked this before but have you any plans to build a 4 chip board? Or a 7 series board when those become more available?

Cheers,
  Derek

it looks like my future plan will reduce to 1 FPGA board. and with a daughter - mother architecture.

Really? Is this due to high manufacturing costs of board with more than 1 FPGA? Or?

When you say daughter - mother architecture you mean to say that you'll have one mother board and several expansion slots (aka daughter boards) into which one can plug several (how many?) daughter boards?

I would really like to see a nice fpga cluster geared solution - a nicely done backplane with several (10+) spots to plug in daughterboards that will each have either 1 or 2 fpga per daughterboard Smiley

ngzhang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 592


We will stand and fight.


View Profile
January 12, 2012, 04:25:20 PM
 #267



8 package, 16 Icarus are on the way. delivery with reinforced packaging. all payed buyer's product is on the way.

i will send them to EMS agent tomorrow.

Xiangfu already received the first 3 boards today, we are in the same city.


Really? Is this due to high manufacturing costs of board with more than 1 FPGA? Or?

When you say daughter - mother architecture you mean to say that you'll have one mother board and several expansion slots (aka daughter boards) into which one can plug several (how many?) daughter boards?

I would really like to see a nice fpga cluster geared solution - a nicely done backplane with several (10+) spots to plug in daughterboards that will each have either 1 or 2 fpga per daughterboard Smiley

i'm still thinking... Cheesy

CEO of Canaan-creative, Founder of Avalon project.
https://canaan.io/
Business contact: love@canaan.io
All PMs will be unread.
eldentyrell
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966


felonious vagrancy, personified


View Profile WWW
January 13, 2012, 03:01:02 AM
 #268

it looks like my future plan will reduce to 1 FPGA board. and with a daughter - mother architecture.

I have been very happy with this approach.

The only stuff you need on the daughterboard are the .47/4.7 caps and the FPGA (I've moved the clock and 100uF caps to the motherboard but haven't taken new photos).  Putting everything else on a different board means that you can continue improving the "other stuff" and upgrade later without having to reball a 484-pin BGA chip.

Just make sure that the inter-board connectors can carry the massive amount of current that the 1V2 rail pulls...

The printing press heralded the end of the Dark Ages and made the Enlightenment possible, but it took another three centuries before any country managed to put freedom of the press beyond the reach of legislators.  So it may take a while before cryptocurrencies are free of the AML-NSA-KYC surveillance plague.
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
January 13, 2012, 03:21:39 AM
 #269

it looks like my future plan will reduce to 1 FPGA board. and with a daughter - mother architecture.

I have been very happy with this approach.

The only stuff you need on the daughterboard are the .47/4.7 caps and the FPGA (I've moved the clock and 100uF caps to the motherboard but haven't taken new photos).  Putting everything else on a different board means that you can continue improving the "other stuff" and upgrade later without having to reball a 484-pin BGA chip.

Just make sure that the inter-board connectors can carry the massive amount of current that the 1V2 rail pulls...

I like your approach eldentyrell. Speaking of which I asked you on the thread if you were still thinking of selling your boards, but you never replied. Have you decided that it's not really worth your time marketing your boards?

Sorry btw for the cross-thread pollution.

server
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 813


~\/~


View Profile
January 14, 2012, 07:32:41 PM
 #270

max in montreal
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
January 16, 2012, 05:31:30 AM
 #271

wow great job!
xiangfu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123


View Profile
January 16, 2012, 06:12:04 AM
 #272

Hi

anyone try to synthesis the bitsteam from scratch? I follow the README:https://github.com/ngzhang/Icarus/blob/master/FPGA_project/README.txt
 1. first synthesize the stuff under ./miner_core, then you got a NGC file, named sha256_top.ngc
     I do get this file name 'sha256_top.ngc'. but it give some 1 error[1]. is there any problem about this error? should I take care of it?

 2. now I am doing the step [put this file to ./miner , than run the flow by using Synplify E-2011.03-SP2 as synthesizer and ./src/miner_top.ncd as smartguide file]

[1]----
ERROR:Pack:198 - NCD was not produced.  All logic was removed from the design.
   This is usually due to having no input or output PAD connections in the
   design and no nets or symbols marked as 'SAVE'.  You can either add PADs or
   'SAVE' attributes to the design, or run 'map -u' to disable logic trimming in
   the mapper.  For more information on trimming issues search the Xilinx
   Answers database for "ERROR:Pack:198" and read the Master Answer Record for
   MAP Trimming Issues.

Mapping completed.
See MAP report file "sha256_top_map.mrp" for details.
Problem encountered during the packing phase.

Design Summary
--------------
Number of errors   :   1
Number of warnings : 422

Process "Map" failed


Mining is a drug, cherish your life, stay away from mining.
ngzhang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 592


We will stand and fight.


View Profile
January 16, 2012, 06:16:11 AM
 #273

Hi

anyone try to synthesis the bitsteam from scratch? I follow the README:https://github.com/ngzhang/Icarus/blob/master/FPGA_project/README.txt
 1. first synthesize the stuff under ./miner_core, then you got a NGC file, named sha256_top.ngc
     I do get this file name 'sha256_top.ngc'. but it give some 1 error[1]. is there any problem about this error? should I take care of it?

 2. now I am doing the step [put this file to ./miner , than run the flow by using Synplify E-2011.03-SP2 as synthesizer and ./src/miner_top.ncd as smartguide file]

[1]----
ERROR:Pack:198 - NCD was not produced.  All logic was removed from the design.
   This is usually due to having no input or output PAD connections in the
   design and no nets or symbols marked as 'SAVE'.  You can either add PADs or
   'SAVE' attributes to the design, or run 'map -u' to disable logic trimming in
   the mapper.  For more information on trimming issues search the Xilinx
   Answers database for "ERROR:Pack:198" and read the Master Answer Record for
   MAP Trimming Issues.

Mapping completed.
See MAP report file "sha256_top_map.mrp" for details.
Problem encountered during the packing phase.

Design Summary
--------------
Number of errors   :   1
Number of warnings : 422

Process "Map" failed



do you copy the "sha256_top.ngc" NGC file(first step you got) to the 2nd step "right_with_bigID_and_ZERONonceMod2" folder?

CEO of Canaan-creative, Founder of Avalon project.
https://canaan.io/
Business contact: love@canaan.io
All PMs will be unread.
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
January 16, 2012, 06:45:16 AM
 #274



Damn! 451 peak!  Shocked

I wonder if there is a way to increase the average speed (ie shorten the gap between the peak and the minimum). 400 Mh/s average would be really sweet to have.

ngzhang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 592


We will stand and fight.


View Profile
January 16, 2012, 06:59:45 AM
 #275



Damn! 451 peak!  Shocked

I wonder if there is a way to increase the average speed (ie shorten the gap between the peak and the minimum). 400 Mh/s average would be really sweet to have.

a close beta ver bitsteam is already reached that speed (400M average), but looks like not 100% stable on all -2 device.
so ... Cheesy

CEO of Canaan-creative, Founder of Avalon project.
https://canaan.io/
Business contact: love@canaan.io
All PMs will be unread.
BkkCoins
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784


firstbits:1MinerQ


View Profile WWW
January 16, 2012, 07:19:20 AM
 #276

Hi

anyone try to synthesis the bitsteam from scratch? I follow the README:https://github.com/ngzhang/Icarus/blob/master/FPGA_project/README.txt
 1. first synthesize the stuff under ./miner_core, then you got a NGC file, named sha256_top.ngc
     I do get this file name 'sha256_top.ngc'. but it give some 1 error[1]. is there any problem about this error? should I take care of it?

 2. now I am doing the step [put this file to ./miner , than run the flow by using Synplify E-2011.03-SP2 as synthesizer and ./src/miner_top.ncd as smartguide file]


I've tried synthesizing the Ztex core but had no success. That message you get seems to imply that no pins are connected. Maybe you need to add a UCF file to define I/O pins so they don't all get removed?

When I try to synthesize I get thousands of warnings like,

WARNING:Xst:1895 - Due to other FF/Latch trimming, FF/Latch <S[1].data15_p2_0> (without init value) has a constant value of 0 in block <sha256_pipe2_base_2>. This FF/Latch will be trimmed during the optimization process.

and
WARNING:Xst:2677 - Node <S[61].state_buf_128> of sequential type is unconnected in block <p2/P>.
and others. 53018 warnings total.

I have no idea if that is supposed to happen or if I've just done something wrong. In the end I get a message about 118% of LUT resources being used and mapping fails.

Is there a reason that Synplify is used instead of Xilinx tools? Will the Xilinx tools not work here?

allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002



View Profile
January 16, 2012, 08:03:03 AM
 #277



Damn! 451 peak!  Shocked

I wonder if there is a way to increase the average speed (ie shorten the gap between the peak and the minimum). 400 Mh/s average would be really sweet to have.

a close beta ver bitsteam is already reached that speed (400M average), but looks like not 100% stable on all -2 device.
so ... Cheesy

So you are saying that the beta ver bitstream would be 100% stable on all -3 devices or are you saying that only SOME -2 devices will work 100% stable with this  beta version bitstream?

Personally I would take my chances loading the bitstream on the Icarus board if it meant the reward would be consistent 400 MH/s performance.

xiangfu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123


View Profile
January 16, 2012, 08:13:39 AM
 #278

Hi

anyone try to synthesis the bitsteam from scratch? I follow the README:https://github.com/ngzhang/Icarus/blob/master/FPGA_project/README.txt
 1. first synthesize the stuff under ./miner_core, then you got a NGC file, named sha256_top.ngc
     I do get this file name 'sha256_top.ngc'. but it give some 1 error[1]. is there any problem about this error? should I take care of it?

do you copy the "sha256_top.ngc" NGC file(first step you got) to the 2nd step "right_with_bigID_and_ZERONonceMod2" folder?

Hi ngzhang

I got this error while doing the first step( synthesize the stuff under ./miner_core). nothing relate to 2nd step.  Wink I do get this file sha256_top.ngc. but it give me 1 error. should I take care of this error or just ignore. jump to 2nd step?

thanks ngzhang
xiangfu

Mining is a drug, cherish your life, stay away from mining.
ngzhang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 592


We will stand and fight.


View Profile
January 16, 2012, 08:15:49 AM
 #279

Hi

anyone try to synthesis the bitsteam from scratch? I follow the README:https://github.com/ngzhang/Icarus/blob/master/FPGA_project/README.txt
 1. first synthesize the stuff under ./miner_core, then you got a NGC file, named sha256_top.ngc
     I do get this file name 'sha256_top.ngc'. but it give some 1 error[1]. is there any problem about this error? should I take care of it?

do you copy the "sha256_top.ngc" NGC file(first step you got) to the 2nd step "right_with_bigID_and_ZERONonceMod2" folder?

Hi ngzhang

I got this error while doing the first step( synthesize the stuff under ./miner_core). nothing relate to 2nd step.  Wink I do get this file sha256_top.ngc. but it give me 1 error. should I take care of this error or just ignore. jump to 2nd step?

thanks ngzhang
xiangfu

no map need at the first step. just sync and get a NGC file.

CEO of Canaan-creative, Founder of Avalon project.
https://canaan.io/
Business contact: love@canaan.io
All PMs will be unread.
xiangfu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123


View Profile
January 16, 2012, 08:19:20 AM
 #280

Hi ngzhang

I got this error while doing the first step( synthesize the stuff under ./miner_core). nothing relate to 2nd step.  Wink I do get this file sha256_top.ngc. but it give me 1 error. should I take care of this error or just ignore. jump to 2nd step?

thanks ngzhang
xiangfu

no map need at the first step. just sync and get a NGC file.

thanks ngzhang.

another question. how can I create the smartguide file: ./src/miner_top.ncd? it is a binary file. I want know which sources generate this smartguide file?  by read the help of xilinx. it's should be one of the files when running synthesis.

Mining is a drug, cherish your life, stay away from mining.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 [14] 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!