Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 10:45:37 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41] 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 »
  Print  
Author Topic: FPGA development board "Icarus" - DisContinued/ important announcement  (Read 184203 times)
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
March 21, 2012, 08:06:36 AM
 #801

Quote
PL-2303 USB to Serial Bridge (for HX, TA, EA chip versions) Installshield Driver Setup Program
Installer version & Build date: 1.5.0 (2011-10-21)
Windows 2000/XP/Server2003 (32 & 64-bit) WDM WHQL Driver: 2.1.27.185
Windows Vista/7/Server2008/Server2008R2 (32 & 64-bit) WDF WHQL Driver: v3.4.25.218
Language Support: English (default), Chinese (Traditional), Chinese (Simplified), Japanese
For Prolific USB VID_067B&PID_2303 Only


Download alternate WDM driver:
Driver Installer v1.5.2
Installer version & Build date: 1.5.2 (2012-2-7)
Windows 2000/XP/Server2003 (32 & 64-bit) WDM WHQL Driver: 2.1.27.185
Windows Vista/7/Server2008/Server2008R2 (32 & 64-bit) WDM WHQL Driver: v2.1.27.185

If you looks at the driver version info you'll see that the 1.5.0 package contains a newer version number. Kind of confusing.  So I'm wondering if anyone has tried 1.5.2 and noticed any difference.

For me MPBM still screws up the stats once in a while (negative hash rate, negative efficiency, unrealistic efficiency and hash rate, etc) plus I get a long string of timeouts when trying to retrieve work from the pool server (btcguild). Not sure if this is related to the pl2303 driver though. I have doubts.


1481107537
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107537

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107537
Reply with quote  #2

1481107537
Report to moderator
1481107537
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107537

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107537
Reply with quote  #2

1481107537
Report to moderator
1481107537
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107537

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107537
Reply with quote  #2

1481107537
Report to moderator
Each block is stacked on top of the previous one. Adding another block to the top makes all lower blocks more difficult to remove: there is more "weight" above each block. A transaction in a block 6 blocks deep (6 confirmations) will be very difficult to remove.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481107537
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107537

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107537
Reply with quote  #2

1481107537
Report to moderator
TheSeven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


FPGA Mining LLC


View Profile WWW
March 21, 2012, 11:09:52 AM
 #802

For me MPBM still screws up the stats once in a while (negative hash rate, negative efficiency, unrealistic efficiency and hash rate, etc) plus I get a long string of timeouts when trying to retrieve work from the pool server (btcguild). Not sure if this is related to the pl2303 driver though. I have doubts.

master or testing branch? If you have a log of boards and aren't using p2pool, I'd recommend the testing branch.
The testing branch supports X-Roll-NTime, so it shouldn't need to fetch anywhere as many jobs, which also helps avoiding these timeouts.

My tip jar: 13kwqR7B4WcSAJCYJH1eXQcxG5vVUwKAqY
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
March 21, 2012, 11:48:01 AM
 #803

For me MPBM still screws up the stats once in a while (negative hash rate, negative efficiency, unrealistic efficiency and hash rate, etc) plus I get a long string of timeouts when trying to retrieve work from the pool server (btcguild). Not sure if this is related to the pl2303 driver though. I have doubts.

master or testing branch? If you have a log of boards and aren't using p2pool, I'd recommend the testing branch.
The testing branch supports X-Roll-NTime, so it shouldn't need to fetch anywhere as many jobs, which also helps avoiding these timeouts.

Master. I tried testing but it did not display any average or total hash rate stats. It seemed as if it was mining with all boards but it wasn't really.

allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
March 22, 2012, 01:43:59 AM
 #804

Thanks ngzhang for putting together an awesome fpga board (Icarus)!! Smiley I can't wait to see what your next project will be. Enjoy your time off - you deserve it!

Cheers!


Energizer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 274



View Profile
March 22, 2012, 07:47:28 PM
 #805

If anyone is interested in joining our bulk order to get Icarus for a discounted price "469$", please join us here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=71422.0
xiangfu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123


View Profile
March 23, 2012, 02:31:02 AM
 #806

Hi

I am surprised TP-LINK WR703N router performance, it can handle 31 Icarus. the cgminer status: http://downloads.openmobilefree.net/Icarus/, I updated my stuff on this wiki page: http://en.qi-hardware.com/wiki/Icarus.

If you use cgminer with more Icarus, this little script file may helpful: (don't forget change the pool url and username  Grin).

#!/bin/sh
DEVS=`find /dev/ -type c -name "ttyUSB*"  | sed 's/^/-S/' |  sed ':a;N;$!ba;s/\n/ /g'`
cgminer $@ --api-network --api-listen -o http://pool.ABCPool.co -O xiangfu.0:x -o http://pit.deepbit.net:8332/ -O xiangfu.z@gmail.com_0:1234 ${DEVS}


I also have to bug a ATX power. the power adapter needs a lot of space, checkout this picture: (the little blue device is 703N router)

Mining is a drug, cherish your life, stay away from mining.
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
March 23, 2012, 02:46:34 AM
 #807

Hi

I am surprised TP-LINK WR703N router performance, it can handle 31 Icarus. the cgminer status: http://downloads.openmobilefree.net/Icarus/, I updated my stuff on this wiki page: http://en.qi-hardware.com/wiki/Icarus.

If you use cgminer with more Icarus, this little script file may helpful: (don't forget change the pool url and username  Grin).

#!/bin/sh
DEVS=`find /dev/ -type c -name "ttyUSB*"  | sed 's/^/-S/' |  sed ':a;N;$!ba;s/\n/ /g'`
cgminer $@ --api-network --api-listen -o http://pool.ABCPool.co -O xiangfu.0:x -o http://pit.deepbit.net:8332/ -O xiangfu.z@gmail.com_0:1234 ${DEVS}


I also have to bug a ATX power. the power adapter needs a lot of space, checkout this picture: (the little blue device is 703N router)
http://downloads.openmobilefree.net/Icarus/703N-with-Icarus.JPG
So epic. For those of you that can't figure it out, the little square white box on top of the computer tower with a single USB plugged into it is what is running the whole show.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
nelisky
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554


View Profile
March 23, 2012, 07:50:17 PM
 #808

Hi

I am surprised TP-LINK WR703N router performance, it can handle 31 Icarus. the cgminer status: http://downloads.openmobilefree.net/Icarus/, I updated my stuff on this wiki page: http://en.qi-hardware.com/wiki/Icarus.

I've been trying to get cgminer working on another TP-LINK device (TL-MR3420) but every time it submits a proof of work to the pool it segfaults. I haven't been able to properly debug it but it seems the json_rpc_call() is returning an empty string, so I'm pointing my quicker finger at libcurl. Can you give me a quick overview of your build env and process?
xiangfu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123


View Profile
March 24, 2012, 06:19:21 AM
 #809

I am using  Linux 3.0.0-14-generic #23-Ubuntu SMP x86_64, Ubuntu 11.10, the latest build is using  OpenWrt trunk 30834, you can find the .config file, VERSIONS here:
  http://downloads.qi-hardware.com/people/xiangfu/icarus/openwrt-ar71xx-generic-trunk-30834/

BTW: the MAX_DEVICES under miner.h define is 32. so if you want support more then 32 devices. just change that one. I changed MAX_DEVICES to 64 and connect 41 Icarus. works just fine.

Hi

I am surprised TP-LINK WR703N router performance, it can handle 31 Icarus. the cgminer status: http://downloads.openmobilefree.net/Icarus/, I updated my stuff on this wiki page: http://en.qi-hardware.com/wiki/Icarus.

I've been trying to get cgminer working on another TP-LINK device (TL-MR3420) but every time it submits a proof of work to the pool it segfaults. I haven't been able to properly debug it but it seems the json_rpc_call() is returning an empty string, so I'm pointing my quicker finger at libcurl. Can you give me a quick overview of your build env and process?

Mining is a drug, cherish your life, stay away from mining.
julz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
March 24, 2012, 02:42:31 PM
 #810

Just for the record..  I had one of the plug packs that came with the icarus die on me.

No big deal, I've got other suitable power packs - but thought I should mention it as a data point in case others experience failures.

@electricwings   BM-GtyD5exuDJ2kvEbr41XchkC8x9hPxdFd
ngzhang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 592


We will stand and fight.


View Profile
March 24, 2012, 03:06:51 PM
 #811

Just for the record..  I had one of the plug packs that came with the icarus die on me.

No big deal, I've got other suitable power packs - but thought I should mention it as a data point in case others experience failures.


yeah, it's possible . so i recommend if you have a number of boards, you'd better use a mod ATX power to power them.
i test about 150~200 adapters, the failure rate is about 2% (4) during the burn-in test.


CEO of Canaan-creative, Founder of Avalon project.
https://canaan.io/
Business contact: love@canaan.io
All PMs will be unread.
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
March 24, 2012, 03:35:52 PM
 #812

Just for the record..  I had one of the plug packs that came with the icarus die on me.

No big deal, I've got other suitable power packs - but thought I should mention it as a data point in case others experience failures.

So did mine but for another reason... i had to cut off the cord Cheesy. For all those who do this: be careful with polarity. For most cables the one with white is (+) but not for the Icarus supply. Not that we hear about a bad board design again...

ngzhang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 592


We will stand and fight.


View Profile
March 24, 2012, 03:53:40 PM
 #813

Just for the record..  I had one of the plug packs that came with the icarus die on me.

No big deal, I've got other suitable power packs - but thought I should mention it as a data point in case others experience failures.

So did mine but for another reason... i had to cut off the cord Cheesy. For all those who do this: be careful with polarity. For most cables the one with white is (+) but not for the Icarus supply. Not that we hear about a bad board design again...

i think a wrong polarity will burn up the fuse, but will not cause any further damage to the board.

CEO of Canaan-creative, Founder of Avalon project.
https://canaan.io/
Business contact: love@canaan.io
All PMs will be unread.
TheSeven
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


FPGA Mining LLC


View Profile WWW
March 25, 2012, 12:39:41 AM
 #814

Just had some weird share spam incident: http://pastebin.com/hUF6FtJ8
Seems like it sent a repetitive garbage pattern for 5 seconds, for no apparent reason. Recovered by itself after that. Really odd.

My tip jar: 13kwqR7B4WcSAJCYJH1eXQcxG5vVUwKAqY
nelisky
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554


View Profile
March 25, 2012, 02:24:10 PM
 #815

I am using  Linux 3.0.0-14-generic #23-Ubuntu SMP x86_64, Ubuntu 11.10, the latest build is using  OpenWrt trunk 30834, you can find the .config file, VERSIONS here:
  http://downloads.qi-hardware.com/people/xiangfu/icarus/openwrt-ar71xx-generic-trunk-30834/

BTW: the MAX_DEVICES under miner.h define is 32. so if you want support more then 32 devices. just change that one. I changed MAX_DEVICES to 64 and connect 41 Icarus. works just fine.

Thanks. I know about MAX_DEVICES and I don't yet have enough cards to make it worth changing Smiley

But doing  some more debug I realized the function that triggers the segfault (in an unrelated place, so I'm guessing memory mismanage) is cgminer.c:regeneatehash(work). This is only called if doing verbose output and since you are passing -q to your cgminer you do net follow this code path. Could you give it a try without the -q, just to make sure it's not some weird thing with my setup? It segfaults as soon as a nonce is submitted to the pool.

Also, did you have to do anything to handle the device's endianess? It's weird, because I had to swab32 the data I receive which is consistent with BIG_ENDIAN, but defining __BIG_ENDIAN__ breaks everything hard. Could be an effect of the bi-endianess of mips, dunno.
xiangfu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 123


View Profile
March 25, 2012, 02:45:57 PM
 #816

Hi

I have tried:
  cgminer -T --verbose ...
  cgminer ....(direct use the ncurses)
all works fine. so far I didn't met segfault. (except direct un-plug the Icarus usb cable when cgminer running)

I have this patch apply when compile OpenWrt package:
  http://projects.qi-hardware.com/index.php/p/openwrt-packages/source/tree/master/cgminer/patches/0001-add-MIPSED-to-icarus-for-BIG_ENDIAN.patch.patch


But doing  some more debug I realized the function that triggers the segfault (in an unrelated place, so I'm guessing memory mismanage) is cgminer.c:regeneatehash(work). This is only called if doing verbose output and since you are passing -q to your cgminer you do net follow this code path. Could you give it a try without the -q, just to make sure it's not some weird thing with my setup? It segfaults as soon as a nonce is submitted to the pool.

Also, did you have to do anything to handle the device's endianess? It's weird, because I had to swab32 the data I receive which is consistent with BIG_ENDIAN, but defining __BIG_ENDIAN__ breaks everything hard. Could be an effect of the bi-endianess of mips, dunno.

Mining is a drug, cherish your life, stay away from mining.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 25, 2012, 04:31:50 PM
 #817

...
cgminer.c:regeneatehash(work)
...
I wrote it (including the difficulty generation, which is in fact my own original code)
What's wrong with it?
It is called every time cgminer shows you an Accepted or Rejected share.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
nelisky
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554


View Profile
March 25, 2012, 06:01:58 PM
 #818

...
cgminer.c:regeneatehash(work)
...
I wrote it (including the difficulty generation, which is in fact my own original code)
What's wrong with it?
It is called every time cgminer shows you an Accepted or Rejected share.

Because xiangfu tested and found no issues I'm pretty sure nothing's wrong with the code itself. It's probably my toolchain or something with the device, I just mentioned the code because without calling that function my openwrt cgminer has been running for 2 days now and as soon as it gets called, segfault.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 25, 2012, 08:10:47 PM
 #819

...
cgminer.c:regeneatehash(work)
...
I wrote it (including the difficulty generation, which is in fact my own original code)
What's wrong with it?
It is called every time cgminer shows you an Accepted or Rejected share.

Because xiangfu tested and found no issues I'm pretty sure nothing's wrong with the code itself. It's probably my toolchain or something with the device, I just mentioned the code because without calling that function my openwrt cgminer has been running for 2 days now and as soon as it gets called, segfault.
As I mentioned it gets called every time cgminer shows an Accepted or Rejected share ... in normal output.
So ... no Accepted or Rejected shares for 2 days?
(That code is used to generate the actual share displayed, the "00000000.xxxxxxxx.xxxxxxxx" bit that is also used to determine if you generated a block)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
nelisky
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554


View Profile
March 26, 2012, 09:32:57 AM
 #820

So ... no Accepted or Rejected shares for 2 days?
(That code is used to generate the actual share displayed, the "00000000.xxxxxxxx.xxxxxxxx" bit that is also used to determine if you generated a block)

I'm not explaining myself too well. I disabled (i.e. commented out) the call to that function and everything works great. The block gerenation detection is only there for logging purposes and doesn't prevent normal functioning.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 [41] 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!