Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 01:57:52 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30] 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 »
  Print  
Author Topic: FPGA development board "Icarus" - DisContinued/ important announcement  (Read 184115 times)
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 04, 2012, 09:33:26 PM
 #581

Well ... the android media players could probably already run the Icarus with little effort.
Xiangfu compiled cgminer to run on his MIPS router and was using that during our testing.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
1480773472
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773472

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773472
Reply with quote  #2

1480773472
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480773472
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773472

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773472
Reply with quote  #2

1480773472
Report to moderator
1480773472
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773472

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773472
Reply with quote  #2

1480773472
Report to moderator
1480773472
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480773472

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480773472
Reply with quote  #2

1480773472
Report to moderator
O_Shovah
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 410


Watercooling the world of mining


View Profile
March 05, 2012, 07:25:12 AM
 #582

I am sucessfully running the icarus board of an "gumstix" ARM board using the modular python bitcoin miner  p2pool and the bitcoin-qt client.

I am working for an implementation for the pandaboard and will also create one for the rasberry pi as soon as i get my hands on one.

Smiley

I will create a thread regarding this as soon as i get the time ( maybe end of this week)

antirack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 491


Immersionist


View Profile
March 05, 2012, 12:41:08 PM
 #583

Could I run 2 Icarus with 1 of the original power supplies from ngzhang?
(by cutting the wires and adding a Y cable)

If not, how many ampere do I need for 1 Icarus? I am trying to cut down on power supplies. Best would be one power supply for all 5 of them.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 05, 2012, 01:01:05 PM
 #584

Could I run 2 Icarus with 1 of the original power supplies from ngzhang?
(by cutting the wires and adding a Y cable)

If not, how many ampere do I need for 1 Icarus? I am trying to cut down on power supplies. Best would be one power supply for all 5 of them.

Well ... considering it is supposed to be 19.5W per board and the original plug pack is 12V x 2A = 24W ...

Edit: A simple spliced cable connected to a plug that can connect straight to a PSU is sounding better every day ...
I think my plug packs might be drawing 30W each at the  wall socket
(my watt meter says it has gone up 60W since I added 2 Icarus - but I'm not 100% sure that's correct)
and I know the higher power PSUs in computers are way better able to transfer the majority of the supplied power to the devices connected to them.

Hmm - new quick project to do one day - make a pair cable to use one of the computer PSU's ...

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
ngzhang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 592


We will stand and fight.


View Profile
March 05, 2012, 02:13:57 PM
 #585

Could I run 2 Icarus with 1 of the original power supplies from ngzhang?
(by cutting the wires and adding a Y cable)

If not, how many ampere do I need for 1 Icarus? I am trying to cut down on power supplies. Best would be one power supply for all 5 of them.


i suggest you to reserve 2A current to each board.

Could I run 2 Icarus with 1 of the original power supplies from ngzhang?
(by cutting the wires and adding a Y cable)

If not, how many ampere do I need for 1 Icarus? I am trying to cut down on power supplies. Best would be one power supply for all 5 of them.

Well ... considering it is supposed to be 19.5W per board and the original plug pack is 12V x 2A = 24W ...

Edit: A simple spliced cable connected to a plug that can connect straight to a PSU is sounding better every day ...
I think my plug packs might be drawing 30W each at the  wall socket
(my watt meter says it has gone up 60W since I added 2 Icarus - but I'm not 100% sure that's correct)
and I know the higher power PSUs in computers are way better able to transfer the majority of the supplied power to the devices connected to them.

Hmm - new quick project to do one day - make a pair cable to use one of the computer PSU's ...

by my review, the adapter consuming about 20W (+/- 0.5W ) from the wall.  i'm using a 1% accuracy meter, but ... made in China.

CEO of Canaan-creative, Founder of Avalon project.
https://canaan.io/
Business contact: love@canaan.io
All PMs will be unread.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 05, 2012, 02:23:01 PM
 #586

...
by my review, the adapter consuming about 20W (+/- 0.5W ) from the wall.  i'm using a 1% accuracy meter, but ... made in China.
Yeah I'm no longer certain how accurate mine is.
If I ever get around to making the molex cable to power the 2 boards I'll then have a better idea Smiley
If it drops to close to 20W then yep my meter is OK.
If it stays around 30W then I may need to get a better watt meter ...

However, my 60W is the total wall increase on everything when adding 2 Icarus boards and plug packs
(including any extra USB power to the computer and any tiny increase in CPU power to the computer already mining 2x6950)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
ngzhang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 592


We will stand and fight.


View Profile
March 05, 2012, 03:02:14 PM
 #587

ok, let's do some deeper research. i find a DC power supply with monitor.
input is 12V, fan is running :
IDLE: 0.36A, 4.32W
MINING: 1.66A, 19.92W

power slightly grow up because 3rd batch uses a faster fan. Sad


test shows the board can operate normally under 10-13.5V.
when the input is 12V, you will get the best power efficiency. both 10V or 13.5V will slightly higher (1-2%, means 20.1W)

CEO of Canaan-creative, Founder of Avalon project.
https://canaan.io/
Business contact: love@canaan.io
All PMs will be unread.
randomguy7
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 528


View Profile
March 05, 2012, 04:36:22 PM
 #588

To add more data Smiley, I measured for one board (but using 3 and took the average):

30 VA
16,3 Watt
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
March 05, 2012, 05:54:28 PM
 #589

Icarus and Ztex boards working side by side. On the right my little 20.5A PSU Cheesy




antirack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 491


Immersionist


View Profile
March 06, 2012, 01:24:53 AM
 #590

Thanks for all the Watt/Ampere information. I am going to buy a ATX power supply. I've seen lots of them in local PC shops with 350 to 1200 Watt (I guess if I look at server shops I can also find higher ones). The question is what makes most sense for my little mining farm with future upgrades.

I don't know how many Molex cables the ATX power supply usually has.  Wikipedia says the Molex plug is limited to 11A/132 Watt. So 6 Icarus per Molex. If this is the case, then it doesn't make sense to buy a higher wattage ATX power supply with more watt than I have Molex connectors.

Can anyone confirm this?

ZTEX wrote somewhere in his thread that you can power 30 of his boards with a ATX PSU. He also put up this guide how to build a PSU for a cluster. He also said this in the guide:

GND wires from PSU (black) should not power more than 3 FPGA Boards and +12V wires (yellow) should not power more than 5 FPGA Boards. (GND wires are more critical in order to reduce current flows through USB cable)
allinvain
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
March 06, 2012, 01:46:12 AM
 #591

Icarus and Ztex boards working side by side. On the right my little 20.5A PSU Cheesy


What's the name of that PSU?

ngzhang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 592


We will stand and fight.


View Profile
March 06, 2012, 04:27:21 AM
 #592

Thanks for all the Watt/Ampere information. I am going to buy a ATX power supply. I've seen lots of them in local PC shops with 350 to 1200 Watt (I guess if I look at server shops I can also find higher ones). The question is what makes most sense for my little mining farm with future upgrades.

I don't know how many Molex cables the ATX power supply usually has.  Wikipedia says the Molex plug is limited to 11A/132 Watt. So 6 Icarus per Molex. If this is the case, then it doesn't make sense to buy a higher wattage ATX power supply with more watt than I have Molex connectors.

Can anyone confirm this?

ZTEX wrote somewhere in his thread that you can power 30 of his boards with a ATX PSU. He also put up this guide how to build a PSU for a cluster. He also said this in the guide:

GND wires from PSU (black) should not power more than 3 FPGA Boards and +12V wires (yellow) should not power more than 5 FPGA Boards. (GND wires are more critical in order to reduce current flows through USB cable)

by my experience, with low wire quality in usual, i suggest to power NO MORE than 4 icarus with one D type plug (molex plug). even 3 is safer.

CEO of Canaan-creative, Founder of Avalon project.
https://canaan.io/
Business contact: love@canaan.io
All PMs will be unread.
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
March 06, 2012, 05:48:05 AM
 #593

Icarus and Ztex boards working side by side. On the right my little 20.5A PSU Cheesy


What's the name of that PSU?

Kenwood PS 33

marked
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168



View Profile
March 06, 2012, 11:37:24 AM
 #594

I am working for an implementation for the pandaboard and will also create one for the rasberry pi as soon as i get my hands on one.

there is a QEMU dev environment that you can download to cross-compile.

marked
Glasswalker
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350



View Profile WWW
March 06, 2012, 04:17:28 PM
 #595

Just wanted to say that Bitcoin Syndicate (www.btcsyn.com) just ordered and paid for 17 Icarus FPGA boards from this batch to be shipped out shortly! Smiley

Once I get them operational, I'll post pics of the rig. (we plan to scale it well past 17 but that's our first wave).

Just trying to make Bitcoin a Success... One crazy project at a time. (13rwPKskyATcAq3PpnCikfFG8989DQ8M3c)
HashVoodoo Open Source FPGA Mining Bitstream: https://github.com/pmumby/hashvoodoo-fpga-bitcoin-miner
hardpick
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 246



View Profile
March 06, 2012, 08:48:05 PM
 #596

what miner software is best for batch 3 icarus
julz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
March 07, 2012, 04:27:26 AM
 #597

I suspect the plug pack supplied is wasting quite a bit of power.. at least when run on a 240V supply - it gets quite warm.
My power meter is showing 23.3W.

I have a high efficiency supply on order, so I'll see if that makes a difference.


@electricwings   BM-GtyD5exuDJ2kvEbr41XchkC8x9hPxdFd
ngzhang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 592


We will stand and fight.


View Profile
March 07, 2012, 04:54:29 AM
 #598

I suspect the plug pack supplied is wasting quite a bit of power.. at least when run on a 240V supply - it gets quite warm.
My power meter is showing 23.3W.

I have a high efficiency supply on order, so I'll see if that makes a difference.



 Huh



220V/50Hz

CEO of Canaan-creative, Founder of Avalon project.
https://canaan.io/
Business contact: love@canaan.io
All PMs will be unread.
julz
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092



View Profile
March 07, 2012, 06:01:27 AM
 #599

I've tested with each of my 2 powerpack + Icarus boards
Both show 23.1 to 23.4 watts.

With just the plugpack alone - the meter shows 1.1 Watts.

I wouldn't say the plugpacks are 'hot' - but they're warmer than various other plugpacks I have running switches etc.


edit: This is the meter I'm using - http://wattsclever.com/product/energy-watch-monitor-EW5001

@electricwings   BM-GtyD5exuDJ2kvEbr41XchkC8x9hPxdFd
ngzhang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 592


We will stand and fight.


View Profile
March 07, 2012, 06:13:38 AM
 #600

I've tested with each of my 2 powerpack + Icarus boards
Both show 23.1 to 23.4 watts.

With just the plugpack alone - the meter shows 1.1 Watts.

I wouldn't say the plugpacks are 'hot' - but they're warmer than various other plugpacks I have running switches etc.


edit: This is the meter I'm using - http://wattsclever.com/product/energy-watch-monitor-EW5001

hummmm...
my meter shows a zero if all boards turned off.

i think the default adapter is Ok for a few boards, because the waste (if there is) is rather low.

i use a ATX with 80plus label to handle multi-boards. compact and effective.  Grin

CEO of Canaan-creative, Founder of Avalon project.
https://canaan.io/
Business contact: love@canaan.io
All PMs will be unread.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30] 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!