Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 02:51:38 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 ... 89 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Butterfly Labs - Bitforce Single and Mini Rig Box  (Read 176343 times)
triplehelix
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile
February 24, 2012, 02:06:31 AM
 #121

if they used actual thermal epoxy, it might indeed be a daunting task to remove the heatsink.  we'd need to know if it's naked silicon under the heatsink, or if there is a metal cap that the heatsink attaches to.  if its capped, often a razor blade and some patience go a long way, and you can scrape and sand any residue that can't be removed with a solvent.  can't do that with naked silicon.

It has a heat spreader (no naked silicon).  Still rather daunting.  I guess BFL might be willing to sell boards with no heatsink or thermal epoxy but mounting a waterblock w/ thermal epoxy isn't something I would be comfortable with.  Not the kind of wattage (thermal load) we are talking about here.  Obviously the current cooling system is sub-optimal and they might be looking to change.  If/when they do I hope they put some push pin holes in the board even if they aren't used.  That would allow alternative cooling.  Not just watercooling but miner's experimenting w/ larger cpu style heatpipe heatsink fan assemblies.

the big question then is exactly how tenacious the adhesive they used is.  if its just an adhesive TIM, no big job at all, if its thermal epoxy that cures strong like bull, well that's a much different situation, but most likely not a show stopper.

as for mounting the water block, i'm pretty sure a couple of zip ties and an adhesive thermal pad would do the job well.

i agree fully though, if they included mounting holes spaced like standard CPU holes, that would be the best option.
1480949498
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480949498

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480949498
Reply with quote  #2

1480949498
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480949498
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480949498

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480949498
Reply with quote  #2

1480949498
Report to moderator
1480949498
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480949498

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480949498
Reply with quote  #2

1480949498
Report to moderator
1480949498
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480949498

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480949498
Reply with quote  #2

1480949498
Report to moderator
abbeytim
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 333


View Profile
February 24, 2012, 04:57:54 AM
 #122

it seems like water cooling might be a good option for these units, both from a performance and noise perspective.

That was my first thought.  Since they appear to be the thermally limited I wonder if you could get 900 MH/s with watercooling.

Two problems
a) no mounting holes.  If it had any kind of pushthrough mounting holes you could use a universal northbridge water waterblock.

b) it looks like heatsink is epoxied on ?  If so removing it is going to be tough and depending on the thermal epoxy used you might not be able to get enough of it off to get a smooth surface for mounting.

Maybe in revision b?  A unit sold w/ no heat sinks or fans for watercooling?




remember these were made to plug and play easy to use  but i do agree  maybe they should use better heatsinks and or better fans
bombo999
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107


View Profile
February 24, 2012, 05:08:23 AM
 #123

looks like they have raised the price on the rig box to $30,055.00 ... and have removed bitcoin as a payment method
rph
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 176


View Profile
February 24, 2012, 05:11:53 AM
 #124

-has all the FPGA competition been wiped out with this weapon ?

BFL's performance per watt is only about half of a 45nm FPGA, and 1/4 of a 28nm FPGA.
It looks fine today compared to 45nm GPUs and I'm sure their marketing talents
will generate some short-term sales, but 45nm and 28nm FPGAs can and will destroy this thing technically.

The payoff for a BFL unit today (832MH/s, $599, constant price/difficulty) is around 7 months.
28nm FPGAs will be mining in large numbers well before then.

-rph

Ultra-Low-Cost DIY FPGA Miner: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=44891
triplehelix
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84



View Profile
February 24, 2012, 05:24:30 AM
 #125

looks like they have raised the price on the rig box to $30,055.00 ... and have removed bitcoin as a payment method

still showing $24.9 on the product page, but $29,890.00 on the detail page.  that a 20% price increase...which is huge.
nbtcminer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 247


View Profile
February 24, 2012, 02:40:28 PM
 #126

@RPH (Roger Patrick Harris?):

Do you really think that there will be 28nm FPGAs coming out in 7 - 8 months at an affordable price range? And if so, which companies are even doing R&D on a bitcoin mining solution?


Cheers,
nbtcminer



-has all the FPGA competition been wiped out with this weapon ?

BFL's performance per watt is only about half of a 45nm FPGA, and 1/4 of a 28nm FPGA.
It looks fine today compared to 45nm GPUs and I'm sure their marketing talents
will generate some short-term sales, but 45nm and 28nm FPGAs can and will destroy this thing technically.

The payoff for a BFL unit today (832MH/s, $599, constant price/difficulty) is around 7 months.
28nm FPGAs will be mining in large numbers well before then.

-rph

fred0
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 349


View Profile
February 24, 2012, 03:47:08 PM
 #127

Since Inaba's single is no longer online, I thought I'd post the spreadsheet(LibreOffice Calc) I was using to track its performance.

http://www.fileswap.com/dl/eO5m5bYRg/Inaba_Single.ods.html
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
February 24, 2012, 04:02:39 PM
 #128

I can put it back online if people want.  I just figured since one was in the wild, it was kind of redundant.

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
fred0
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 349


View Profile
February 24, 2012, 04:34:54 PM
 #129

I can put it back online if people want.  I just figured since one was in the wild, it was kind of redundant.
No need. I was simply measuring performance. On the second sheet is a graph, where you can see the MH/s over time.

makomk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


View Profile
February 24, 2012, 08:11:51 PM
 #130

Inaba, are CGminer and Ufasoft the only miner options available
I have a poclbm fork but it's a bit quirky, I've no idea if it works with the non-prototype hardware, and it probably doesn't work anyway right now due because there's a bug in the core poclbm code which that branch doesn't have the fix for. To be honest CGminer is better anyway.

Quad XC6SLX150 Board: 860 MHash/s or so.
SIGS ABOUT BUTTERFLY LABS ARE PAID ADS
matthewh3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372



View Profile WWW
February 24, 2012, 08:13:45 PM
 #131

Just ordered one today with PayPal how long is UK delivery?  Emailed them this morning and they haven't got back yet?

Epoch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917



View Profile
February 24, 2012, 08:31:17 PM
 #132

Just ordered one today with PayPal how long is UK delivery?  Emailed them this morning and they haven't got back yet?
I suspect they have been inundated with orders ever since Inaba and Gigavps started to publicly display their units. My understanding is that BFL has generally been quite timely in responding to customers (via email correspondence).

BTC: 1DJVUnLuPA2bERTkyeir8bKn1eSoRCrYvx
NMC: NFcfHSBBnq622pAr1Xoh9KtnBPA5CUn6id
matthewh3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372



View Profile WWW
February 24, 2012, 09:48:49 PM
 #133

Does anyone know how difficult/easy these are to set up to do merged mining on P2Pool?

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 24, 2012, 10:02:22 PM
 #134

Does anyone know how difficult/easy these are to set up to do merged mining on P2Pool?

It shouldn't be any different.

The miner hardware (actual CPU/GPU/FPGA) simply gets a binary blob of data combines it with a nonce that it increments, hashes it and looks for nonces "small" enough". It has really no concept of what it is doing.

It is the mining software which sets up those "work units" and returns proofs of work. 
It is the pool (p2pool daemon for p2pool) which ensures the blockheaders work for both chains.

matthewh3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372



View Profile WWW
February 24, 2012, 10:06:26 PM
 #135

Does anyone know how difficult/easy these are to set up to do merged mining on P2Pool?

It shouldn't be any different.

The miner hardware (actual CPU/GPU/FPGA) simply gets a binary blob of data combines it with a nonce that it increments, hashes it and looks for nonces "small" enough". It has really no concept of what it is doing.

It is the mining software which sets up those "work units" and returns proofs of work. 
It is the pool (p2pool daemon for p2pool) which ensures the blockheaders work for both chains.



Does anyone know where I should look for info on setting one up using Ubuntu.  Only ever set up a CPU miner before on Ubuntu which wasn't very difficult thanks to simple instructions.

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
February 24, 2012, 10:12:09 PM
 #136

Does anyone know how difficult/easy these are to set up to do merged mining on P2Pool?

It shouldn't be any different.

The miner hardware (actual CPU/GPU/FPGA) simply gets a binary blob of data combines it with a nonce that it increments, hashes it and looks for nonces "small" enough". It has really no concept of what it is doing.

It is the mining software which sets up those "work units" and returns proofs of work. 
It is the pool (p2pool daemon for p2pool) which ensures the blockheaders work for both chains.



Does anyone know where I should look for info on setting one up using Ubuntu.  Only ever set up a CPU miner before on Ubuntu which wasn't very difficult thanks to simple instructions.
The P2Pool thread?
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=18313.0

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
matthewh3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372



View Profile WWW
February 24, 2012, 10:16:29 PM
 #137

Does anyone know how difficult/easy these are to set up to do merged mining on P2Pool?

It shouldn't be any different.

The miner hardware (actual CPU/GPU/FPGA) simply gets a binary blob of data combines it with a nonce that it increments, hashes it and looks for nonces "small" enough". It has really no concept of what it is doing.

It is the mining software which sets up those "work units" and returns proofs of work. 
It is the pool (p2pool daemon for p2pool) which ensures the blockheaders work for both chains.



Does anyone know where I should look for info on setting one up using Ubuntu.  Only ever set up a CPU miner before on Ubuntu which wasn't very difficult thanks to simple instructions.
The P2Pool thread?
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=18313.0

This thread - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=62842.0 - looks better for setting up P2Pool to merge mine on Ubuntu but there is no instructions on setting the BFL's up on cgminer using Ubuntu.

bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
February 24, 2012, 11:25:30 PM
 #138

Just ordered one today with PayPal how long is UK delivery?  Emailed them this morning and they haven't got back yet?

PLEASE let us know when they arrive and how much you are taxed, VAT, import duty, shipping etc.

Eg all in all how much does a single unit cost fully in GBP to my door with all the extra $$$ included etc.

I bet they won't be marking them as "gifts" Roll Eyes

Thanks !
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
February 25, 2012, 12:40:41 AM
 #139

I have placed two orders in the last couple of days, first i placed an order 2 BFL singles  with bitcoin as payment but like an hour later they took Bitcoin off their site as accepted payment, so I placed another order this morning to order paying with dwolla

I have not heard back from them at all by email or by phone

I am hoping they are just not working today (friday) and will be around monday. I would really like to get my order in motion.

Anyone else having a similar experience or currently trying to place an order with BFL other than with PayPal?

matthewh3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372



View Profile WWW
February 25, 2012, 12:44:16 AM
 #140

Just ordered one today with PayPal how long is UK delivery?  Emailed them this morning and they haven't got back yet?

PLEASE let us know when they arrive and how much you are taxed, VAT, import duty, shipping etc.

Eg all in all how much does a single unit cost fully in GBP to my door with all the extra $$$ included etc.

I bet they won't be marking them as "gifts" Roll Eyes

Thanks !

My PayPal payment came to £449.15

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 ... 89 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!