Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2016, 06:18:26 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 ... 89 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Butterfly Labs - Bitforce Single and Mini Rig Box  (Read 176263 times)
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
March 09, 2012, 09:53:52 PM
 #361

Yeah. I know how PSU works ( if you have 1200 W PSU it does not pull all the 1200 but only how much you need ) but the sign that a bigger PSU is needed means that the power consumption was AGAIN underestimated and will probably end up being close to 3000 W.
* P_Shep *slowly shakes head*
1480702706
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480702706

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480702706
Reply with quote  #2

1480702706
Report to moderator
1480702706
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480702706

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480702706
Reply with quote  #2

1480702706
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480702706
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480702706

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480702706
Reply with quote  #2

1480702706
Report to moderator
1480702706
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480702706

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480702706
Reply with quote  #2

1480702706
Report to moderator
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 09, 2012, 09:54:22 PM
 #362

Well ... actually ... the original faulty estimate was 20W per 1GH/s
That, as everyone knows, blew up to 80W for 832Mh/s (if you ignore Inaba's results except the very best one he got)

The web site now says 50.4GH/s @ 2,500w

Doing a simple 50.4/0.832 x 80W gives 4846W so we are talking almost a halving of the power requirements ... and an 18% reduction in price.
That's gonna be interesting.

Unless you bought them at 25k/ea.
Well that's an even better price reduction Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
March 09, 2012, 09:55:14 PM
 #363

According to "People Familiar with the Matter" (TM)

The phrase is:
"A source close to the situation"

Wink
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
March 09, 2012, 09:55:42 PM
 #364

Well ... actually ... the original faulty estimate was 20W per 1GH/s
That, as everyone knows, blew up to 80W for 832Mh/s (if you ignore Inaba's results except the very best one he got)

The web site now says 50.4GH/s @ 2,500w

Doing a simple 50.4/0.832 x 80W gives 4846W so we are talking almost a halving of the power requirements ... and an 18% reduction in price.
That's gonna be interesting.

They are not the same cards in the RigBox as are shipping in the singles.

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
BFL-Engineer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227



View Profile WWW
March 09, 2012, 09:56:13 PM
 #365

Well ... actually ... the original faulty estimate was 20W per 1GH/s
That, as everyone knows, blew up to 80W for 832Mh/s (if you ignore Inaba's results except the very best one he got)

The web site now says 50.4GH/s @ 2,500w

Doing a simple 50.4/0.832 x 80W gives 4846W so we are talking almost a halving of the power requirements ... and an 18% reduction in price.
That's gonna be interesting.

The RigBox power spec was calculated after what we learned from singles. So the increased power has
already been taken into consideration...


Good Luck,

BF Labs Inc.  www.butterflylabs.com   -  Bitcoin Mining Hardware
kakobrekla
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Psi laju, karavani prolaze.


View Profile
March 09, 2012, 10:00:15 PM
 #366

Well ... actually ... the original faulty estimate was 20W per 1GH/s
That, as everyone knows, blew up to 80W for 832Mh/s (if you ignore Inaba's results except the very best one he got)

The web site now says 50.4GH/s @ 2,500w

Doing a simple 50.4/0.832 x 80W gives 4846W so we are talking almost a halving of the power requirements ... and an 18% reduction in price.
That's gonna be interesting.

The RigBox power spec was calculated after what we learned from singles. So the increased power has
already been taken into consideration...


Good Luck,

Implying you don't have a working unit?

coblee
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


firstbits.com/1ce5j


View Profile WWW
March 09, 2012, 10:01:28 PM
 #367

balanula, i try to be nice to people on the forums as it is how i want to be treated, but you posts push the limits of my patients. Why are you always trying to find fault and start controversy? Are you unhappy that you didn't buy a single sooner?

He's been that way forever. I just ignore him.

Unless you bought them at 25k/ea.

Now that's a good price! Breakeven in 5 months. That's incredible if they can deliver it... it will breakeven before the mining rewards drop to 25btc.

Ok folks, I have some good news with regards to the power requirements for the RigBox.  According to "People Familiar with the Matter" (TM) - the RigBox will use dual 1500w PSUs, meaning they will be 120v/220v switchable units... also meaning you can plug, (presumably) each PSU into a separate circuit to prevent overloading one circuit with impossible current draw.

That's awesome. Inaba, you should as the people in the know if they've thought about splitting the rigbox into 2 devices then? Sell them for $15,000 each, mining 25.2 Ghash/s for 1250W. That would make more sense, right? Send 2 of these devices to the people that ordered a big rig already. Or would they not be able to achieve those specs then?

MelMan2002
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434



View Profile
March 09, 2012, 10:01:48 PM
 #368

If it does, thats sure as hell not the real picture. That thing has to be much bigger.

Ahem, TWSS
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 09, 2012, 10:02:27 PM
 #369

Well ... actually ... the original faulty estimate was 20W per 1GH/s
That, as everyone knows, blew up to 80W for 832Mh/s (if you ignore Inaba's results except the very best one he got)

The web site now says 50.4GH/s @ 2,500w

Doing a simple 50.4/0.832 x 80W gives 4846W so we are talking almost a halving of the power requirements ... and an 18% reduction in price.
That's gonna be interesting.

The RigBox power spec was calculated after what we learned from singles. So the increased power has
already been taken into consideration...


Good Luck,
Hmm interesting - so I guess that means there must be some relationship between the single and the board used in the rig box Smiley

Edit: so looking at this in a different way ... it seems to me that the power/temperature is the driving force with these.
Anyone got any more guesses to make about the chip - taking that into consideration?

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
March 09, 2012, 10:08:44 PM
 #370

Ok folks, I have some good news with regards to the power requirements for the RigBox.  According to "People Familiar with the Matter" (TM) - the RigBox will use dual 1500w PSUs, meaning they will be 120v/220v switchable units... also meaning you can plug, (presumably) each PSU into a separate circuit to prevent overloading one circuit with impossible current draw.

This also means, I presume, that each PSU will be field replaceable by the end user without too much hassle and downtime.

This pleases me a great deal.


Thanks for the details.  Hopefully anyone with the $30K also is aware that two different outlets isn't necessarily two different circuits.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
March 09, 2012, 10:11:58 PM
 #371

That's awesome. Inaba, you should as the people in the know if they've thought about splitting the rigbox into 2 devices then? Sell them for $15,000 each, mining 25.2 Ghash/s for 1250W. That would make more sense, right? Send 2 of these devices to the people that ordered a big rig already. Or would they not be able to achieve those specs then?

That's a good idea.  Honestly since they need to use 2 PSU and multiple boards it isn't like 2x 25 GH units would be significantly more expensive than a single unit.  With dual PSU I hope they have though about what happens if one trips offline and the other remains powered.  Having a single PSU unit eliminates that risk/complexity.
fred0
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 349


View Profile
March 09, 2012, 10:18:15 PM
 #372

That's awesome. Inaba, you should as the people in the know if they've thought about splitting the rigbox into 2 devices then? Sell them for $15,000 each, mining 25.2 Ghash/s for 1250W. That would make more sense, right? Send 2 of these devices to the people that ordered a big rig already. Or would they not be able to achieve those specs then?

That's a good idea.  Honestly since they need to use 2 PSU and multiple boards it isn't like 2x 25 GH units would be significantly more expensive than a single unit.  With dual PSU I hope they have though about what happens if one trips offline and the other remains powered.  Having a single PSU unit eliminates that risk/complexity.
It definitely makes it look more attractive to me.
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
March 09, 2012, 10:18:50 PM
 #373

That's awesome. Inaba, you should as the people in the know if they've thought about splitting the rigbox into 2 devices then? Sell them for $15,000 each, mining 25.2 Ghash/s for 1250W. That would make more sense, right? Send 2 of these devices to the people that ordered a big rig already. Or would they not be able to achieve those specs then?

That's a good idea.  Honestly since they need to use 2 PSU and multiple boards it isn't like 2x 25 GH units would be significantly more expensive than a single unit.  With dual PSU I hope they have though about what happens if one trips offline and the other remains powered.  Having a single PSU unit eliminates that risk/complexity.
When we first heard about it on the website so many months ago, I remember specific reference to pluggable modules, up to 32 such per rig. I haven't looked to see that is still specified on the site, but you could possibly buy them with fewer modules for lower power consumption and cost.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
fred0
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 349


View Profile
March 09, 2012, 10:33:42 PM
 #374

On another note, I measured about 83.3W for the Wal-Wart power supplies.  Does anyone have any idea about what the power would drop to if I make a number for ATX to coax power adapters? I've a couple of bronze PS units idle.  I also am using a couple of Gold units which may free up in the future.

Edit: I may wind up doing it in any case to avoid having a bunch of wall-wart psus cluttering up the place.
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
March 09, 2012, 10:48:42 PM
 #375

See if you can put a multimeter on the power input to the single and get the actual current draw. That'll be very useful.
SgtSpike
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344



View Profile
March 09, 2012, 10:57:18 PM
 #376

See if you can put a multimeter on the power input to the single and get the actual current draw. That'll be very useful.
You need an ampmeter specifically (not usually included on most multimeters), and it only works if you can separate the wires.  Otherwise, the positive/negative power draws cancel each other out, and you'd see 0 amps on the ampmeter.
fred0
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 349


View Profile
March 09, 2012, 10:59:14 PM
 #377

See if you can put a multimeter on the power input to the single and get the actual current draw. That'll be very useful.
The last time I used a multimeter was like 20 years ago.  I don't even know where it is...it probably has the same batteries!
jddebug
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420



View Profile
March 10, 2012, 02:29:42 AM
 #378

I have 3 singles running now. 258 watts including the laptop. Averaging 2426 Mh/s after 10 minutes of mining using cgminer.

I've not really mined before so I don't know if this is common but my hash rate takes a hit when stale shares happen. I get a few rejects either just before or just after the stales and it saying something about a Long Poll detecting a new block or a new block detected before long poll.

Is this due to the way the Bitforce Single does its thing or ?

Can I change settings to reduce the stale shares and rejects?

Thanks



cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
March 10, 2012, 02:31:21 AM
 #379

I have 3 singles running now. 258 watts including the laptop. Averaging 2426 Mh/s after 10 minutes of mining using cgminer.

I've not really mined before so I don't know if this is common but my hash rate takes a hit when stale shares happen. I get a few rejects either just before or just after the stales and it saying something about a Long Poll detecting a new block or a new block detected before long poll.

Is this due to the way the Bitforce Single does its thing or ?

Can I change settings to reduce the stale shares and rejects?

Thanks





what pool you mining on?
jddebug
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420



View Profile
March 10, 2012, 02:40:21 AM
 #380

I have 3 singles running now. 258 watts including the laptop. Averaging 2426 Mh/s after 10 minutes of mining using cgminer.

I've not really mined before so I don't know if this is common but my hash rate takes a hit when stale shares happen. I get a few rejects either just before or just after the stales and it saying something about a Long Poll detecting a new block or a new block detected before long poll.

Is this due to the way the Bitforce Single does its thing or ?

Can I change settings to reduce the stale shares and rejects?

Thanks





what pool you mining on?

bitcoin.cz
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 ... 89 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!