Bitcoin Forum
October 20, 2018, 10:06:28 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] [LTC] [PPS] [OTP 2FA] [Stratum only] LTCMine PPS mining pool (3.3%)  (Read 226872 times)
Balthazar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422
Merit: 1012


Terran Emperor


View Profile WWW
April 27, 2013, 07:43:59 PM
 #521

Actually it's more secure to use mobile application.
Why is this? In my experience at least mobile os are much more vulnerable to trojans and viruses as it is that their av development usually falls far behind even compared to windows. And I for one feel uncomfortable running anything that private on anything else than on a *nix platform at home.
It's more secure than authenticate using local generator just because the secret key is stored in another place. It will be required to compromise two devices instead of one.

P.S. Just one example - I use JAuth on my Windows tablet. But there is nothing linked with pool at this tablet. No history records, no saved passwords, etc. Smiley

novaco.in | ETC.HVPPS.NET (100 GH/s, PoT 1.5%) | EtherDig.Net (Deterministic Solo, 0.5%)
ETH: 0x8d35067233605bef6069191ae0922d134ff80d48
1540029988
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540029988

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540029988
Reply with quote  #2

1540029988
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540029988
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540029988

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540029988
Reply with quote  #2

1540029988
Report to moderator
1540029988
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540029988

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540029988
Reply with quote  #2

1540029988
Report to moderator
talvivaara
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104
Merit: 10



View Profile
April 27, 2013, 07:59:01 PM
 #522

Gotcha! That's absolutely true about not running it on the same machine you are logging in with, but still i think it's better to ssh to my miner/server through lan and run it there, no way mobile is gonna be more secure(?) The miner/server is a headless *nix box that has only the ports needed for mining opened to internet. Grin

Excuse me, spare a coin for a cyber bum? - BTC: 1KiiToSx5G1ySGrSohvYtTxw5DUjbF7XYc - GET 10% OFF YOUR TRADING FEES FOR A YEAR @ Vircurex (referral link)
Balthazar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422
Merit: 1012


Terran Emperor


View Profile WWW
April 27, 2013, 08:01:53 PM
 #523

You are right with that, separated key storage on VPS/DS/Box/whatever will be more secure than mobile application. But it looks quite paranoid, I think.  Cheesy

novaco.in | ETC.HVPPS.NET (100 GH/s, PoT 1.5%) | EtherDig.Net (Deterministic Solo, 0.5%)
ETH: 0x8d35067233605bef6069191ae0922d134ff80d48
talvivaara
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104
Merit: 10



View Profile
April 27, 2013, 08:10:11 PM
 #524

You are right with that, separated key storage on VPS/DS/Box/whatever will be more secure than mobile application. But it looks quite paranoid, I think.  Cheesy
Guilty as charged! But still feeling safe at your pool party.
Пpивeтcтвия!

Edit: After all, it's java... and can't trust oracle! Grin

Excuse me, spare a coin for a cyber bum? - BTC: 1KiiToSx5G1ySGrSohvYtTxw5DUjbF7XYc - GET 10% OFF YOUR TRADING FEES FOR A YEAR @ Vircurex (referral link)
Balthazar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422
Merit: 1012


Terran Emperor


View Profile WWW
April 27, 2013, 08:15:38 PM
 #525

Not at all. Mobile may be more secure because it can't be physically accessed without you knowing.  Wink

Edit: After all, it's java... and can't trust oracle! Grin
You can write your own OTP generator... Algorithm is quite simple Smiley

https://github.com/mbmccormick/Authenticator/blob/master/Common/CodeGenerator.cs#L182

novaco.in | ETC.HVPPS.NET (100 GH/s, PoT 1.5%) | EtherDig.Net (Deterministic Solo, 0.5%)
ETH: 0x8d35067233605bef6069191ae0922d134ff80d48
Balthazar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422
Merit: 1012


Terran Emperor


View Profile WWW
April 27, 2013, 08:39:04 PM
 #526

Minor changes, service restarted.

  • Shares startup difficulty is increased to x64 from x16.
  • Targeting goal is decreased from 8 shares per minute to 6 shares per minute.

I'll perform some DB tweaks soon, this should help to make it faster.

novaco.in | ETC.HVPPS.NET (100 GH/s, PoT 1.5%) | EtherDig.Net (Deterministic Solo, 0.5%)
ETH: 0x8d35067233605bef6069191ae0922d134ff80d48
kronut
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86
Merit: 10



View Profile
April 27, 2013, 08:58:11 PM
 #527

Getting really bad rejects the last few hours, earnings are also way down. Looks like I'm not the only one, the leaderboard is showing 10-30% rejects for all.

Edit: Seems to be normalizing now.
Balthazar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422
Merit: 1012


Terran Emperor


View Profile WWW
April 27, 2013, 09:14:57 PM
 #528

I'm working on service structure reorganization plan, it will resolve such issues.

novaco.in | ETC.HVPPS.NET (100 GH/s, PoT 1.5%) | EtherDig.Net (Deterministic Solo, 0.5%)
ETH: 0x8d35067233605bef6069191ae0922d134ff80d48
Balthazar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2422
Merit: 1012


Terran Emperor


View Profile WWW
April 27, 2013, 10:07:08 PM
 #529

You are right with that, separated key storage on VPS/DS/Box/whatever will be more secure than mobile application. But it looks quite paranoid, I think.  Cheesy
Guilty as charged! But still feeling safe at your pool party.
Пpивeтcтвия!

Edit: After all, it's java... and can't trust oracle! Grin
In the case of a special paranoia:

Code:
apt-get install libpam-google-authenticator



 Cheesy

http://www.howtogeek.com/121650/how-to-secure-ssh-with-google-authenticators-two-factor-authentication/

novaco.in | ETC.HVPPS.NET (100 GH/s, PoT 1.5%) | EtherDig.Net (Deterministic Solo, 0.5%)
ETH: 0x8d35067233605bef6069191ae0922d134ff80d48
talvivaara
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104
Merit: 10



View Profile
April 28, 2013, 01:05:54 AM
 #530

Whoa, thanks again! In libpam I trust! I think this latest HOWTO is pretty much the approach that i was looking for. Guess It's my morning cup of coffee and setting this up, didn't look too difficult, even thou not running ubuntu... no it's not because i don't trust Canonical, Debian just has more suitable collection of obsolete.. *ahem* ...I mean... stable packages for my paranoia.  Roll Eyes

Excuse me, spare a coin for a cyber bum? - BTC: 1KiiToSx5G1ySGrSohvYtTxw5DUjbF7XYc - GET 10% OFF YOUR TRADING FEES FOR A YEAR @ Vircurex (referral link)
Duetschpire
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 369
Merit: 250


bitify.com - Bitcoin Marketplace & Auction site


View Profile WWW
April 28, 2013, 01:13:39 AM
 #531

Anyone having issues with the pool?

My miners are showing 800kh/s on cgminer, but 0kh/s on the worker list and index!!!

imafish2002
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 28, 2013, 01:22:31 AM
 #532

Anyone having issues with the pool?

My miners are showing 800kh/s on cgminer, but 0kh/s on the worker list and index!!!

I am submitting shares at 600kh/s and showing as 0 also. I presume it is just a display error, will see if I get a reward credited on the next hour.
Duetschpire
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 369
Merit: 250


bitify.com - Bitcoin Marketplace & Auction site


View Profile WWW
April 28, 2013, 01:23:55 AM
 #533

Anyone having issues with the pool?

My miners are showing 800kh/s on cgminer, but 0kh/s on the worker list and index!!!

I am submitting shares at 600kh/s and showing as 0 also. I presume it is just a display error, will see if I get a reward credited on the next hour.

I am rebooting now just in case the issue is from my end!  Huh Huh

imafish2002
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 28, 2013, 01:24:39 AM
 #534

Anyone having issues with the pool?

My miners are showing 800kh/s on cgminer, but 0kh/s on the worker list and index!!!

I am submitting shares at 600kh/s and showing as 0 also. I presume it is just a display error, will see if I get a reward credited on the next hour.

I am rebooting now just in case the issue is from my end huh

The pool speed is showing as 0 total too so I doubt it is just us Smiley

Quote
Average pool speed for 10 minutes ~ 0 MH/s.
Duetschpire
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 369
Merit: 250


bitify.com - Bitcoin Marketplace & Auction site


View Profile WWW
April 28, 2013, 01:25:59 AM
 #535

Anyone having issues with the pool?

My miners are showing 800kh/s on cgminer, but 0kh/s on the worker list and index!!!

I am submitting shares at 600kh/s and showing as 0 also. I presume it is just a display error, will see if I get a reward credited on the next hour.

I am rebooting now just in case the issue is from my end huh

The pool speed is showing as 0 total too so I doubt it is just us Smiley

Quote
Average pool speed for 10 minutes ~ 0 MH/s.

True!

grobbes
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 60
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 28, 2013, 01:39:42 AM
 #536

normally I blame a ID 10T issue (user is fuking retarded) but showing 0 KH/s and pool 0 MH/s as well :/
offbyone
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 45
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 28, 2013, 01:55:24 AM
 #537

same here.
imafish2002
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 28, 2013, 02:01:25 AM
 #538

Only a tiny reward for 06:00 so moving to another pool for now!
Duetschpire
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 369
Merit: 250


bitify.com - Bitcoin Marketplace & Auction site


View Profile WWW
April 28, 2013, 02:09:56 AM
 #539

Only a tiny reward for 06:00 so moving to another pool for now!

Same here mate, the reward was for the 1st few min when the kh/s was showing fine

kronut
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86
Merit: 10



View Profile
April 28, 2013, 02:19:55 AM
 #540

I got a few worker down e-mails and ran to check out the farm, everything hashing normally, probably just a front end issue. I'm sure Balthazar will fix it when he wakes up.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!