Bitcoin Forum
August 23, 2019, 05:49:22 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 [107] 108 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon A7 announced  (Read 142420 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
endi17
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 179
Merit: 1


View Profile
March 24, 2018, 05:34:02 PM
 #2121

Okay... That's weird. The yellow light indicates it going Idle. I'm guessing that this happens when you are running at 0 for voltage offset, and when it "restarts".

When it goes yellow like this does it just stay idle until you cycle power?

So a few more questions:

What are you using to power your Rasp PI at the wall?

Are you running just the 1 Miner?

Can you confirm that the airflow from your miner is exhausting from the front (where the fan and black shroud are)

The only times I remember getting the API connection refused are when I tried to point my miner at a pool and had input the Stratum information improperly; but you say it hashes fine at -1 and at 0 until it restarts so that shouldn't be the issue.

Can you post the API log while it is running?
Yes its stays yellow till i unplug it and plug it again. I am running just 1 miner.i have put the raspery pi direct in wall
1566539362
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1566539362

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1566539362
Reply with quote  #2

1566539362
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1566539362
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1566539362

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1566539362
Reply with quote  #2

1566539362
Report to moderator
1566539362
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1566539362

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1566539362
Reply with quote  #2

1566539362
Report to moderator
Steamtyme
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 1151



View Profile WWW
March 24, 2018, 05:42:15 PM
Last edit: April 30, 2018, 02:56:23 AM by Steamtyme
 #2122

Okay, but I am wondering what you are using to power the Rasp Pi, I can't remember for sure but you need to be powering the PI with a minimum of 2.5 AMP brick (plug for the wall).

That's all I can really help with without looking at the logs. Hopefully you can get this sorted.

SilentMining
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 15, 2018, 05:34:17 PM
 #2123

Have 2 machines down right now with dead fans.  Anyone know where to get more fans?
HagssFIN
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1358
Merit: 1391


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
April 15, 2018, 05:42:02 PM
 #2124

Have 2 machines down right now with dead fans.  Anyone know where to get more fans?

Where are you located?

Here is a list of compatible cooling fans for the Avalon 7.

.. <snip>

If your miner is out of warranty, here is a list of few compatible replacement cooling fan models:
  • Cooler Master A12038-60BB-4RP-F1
  • Delta Electronics QFR1212GHE
  • Delta Electronics QFR1212GHEXUM
  • Nidec V12E12BS1B5-07
  • Sanyo Denki 9GV1212P1J01
  • Shengjiu SG121238BS
  • Sunon PSD1212PMBXA-F-PWM
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3224256.0

This one usually has good availability in electronics stores: Delta Electronics QFR1212GHE


Can you find any of these fans at your local market? Where are you located?

here is an European seller --> https://www.cryptouniverse.at/shop/delta-electronics-qfr1212ghe-190-210cfm-replacement-fan-for-asic-miners/

here is an US seller --> https://www.ebay.com/itm/6000RPM-Cooling-Fan-Replacement-4-pin-Connector-For-Antminer-Bitmain-S7-S9-Black/112634675926?hash=item1a398cc2d6:g:nIIAAOSwYVlaA7fm


SilentMining
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 15, 2018, 06:00:39 PM
Last edit: April 16, 2018, 11:33:09 AM by frodocooper
 #2125

...

Thanks!  I have had the hardest time trying to find the Cooler Master.  Ordered a few extras in case more crash.  Thanks for the help!



Moderator's note: This post was edited by frodocooper to trim the quote from HagssFIN.
throwaway2
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41
Merit: 3


View Profile
April 30, 2018, 12:32:19 AM
 #2126

has anyone attempted to run a 741 in a chain with a few 841s?

does the firmware make this impossible? I seemed to recall people mixing 6s/7s

thanks
Steamtyme
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 1151



View Profile WWW
April 30, 2018, 03:17:08 AM
 #2127

has anyone attempted to run a 741 in a chain with a few 841s?

does the firmware make this impossible? I seemed to recall people mixing 6s/7s

thanks

I haven't run this setup. Most people just go with a second Pi for the cost versus potential issues/ lost feature.

Here is a post that explains things pretty well.

Foofighter
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 547


BTC Mining Hardware, Trading and more


View Profile WWW
April 30, 2018, 07:06:26 AM
 #2128

has anyone attempted to run a 741 in a chain with a few 841s?

does the firmware make this impossible? I seemed to recall people mixing 6s/7s

thanks
That does not work at the moment, you can chain A821 with A841 but not A7 with A8 series.
br
Tom

https://www.cryptouniverse.at - official Canaan Distributor
Check out our Mining Hardware shop in Europe: Shop
toptek
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000


View Profile
April 30, 2018, 10:16:29 PM
 #2129

has anyone attempted to run a 741 in a chain with a few 841s?

does the firmware make this impossible? I seemed to recall people mixing 6s/7s

thanks


I would use a second PI , i couldn't get my A6 or A7 to work to gather because of the cable form the miner to the AUC @ the miner end on the 741 the plug is bigger then the one for the A6 miner end if you can make a plug to either the A7 or A6 miner end form either miner that might work or try a USB HUB then plug that it into one PI with Custom software like Minera that might work . or edit one of the Avalon images to work with both a A6 and A7 and use a USB HUB that way but i that may not work well because of Avalon's software but should with minera or the black screen for CGminer running UBUNTU 16 .


I run my A6 and A 7 with Minera https://getminera.com/ but not on the same controller i use two PI's that are not RPI  and compile Ccminer 4.10 to run with both on two controllers , and haven't tired with a USB Powered HUB On the same controller .

For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
HagssFIN
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1358
Merit: 1391


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
April 30, 2018, 10:20:08 PM
 #2130

A6 and A7 data communication is not compatible with each other,
and I would definitely put those two generations with a own Raspberry Pi controller unit.

And I would also run A7 and A8 generation miners with a own Raspberry Pi controller unit per generation.

throwaway2
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 41
Merit: 3


View Profile
May 03, 2018, 04:13:34 AM
 #2131

thank for the replies everyone, just gonna grab another pi3
akadamson
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 18


View Profile
May 06, 2018, 06:31:32 PM
 #2132

A6 and A7 data communication is not compatible with each other,
and I would definitely put those two generations with a own Raspberry Pi controller unit.

And I would also run A7 and A8 generation miners with a own Raspberry Pi controller unit per generation.

7 and 8 are not compat either.  A 7 on an 8 controller or vice versa does nothing to the opposite, miner won't even start.
HagssFIN
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1358
Merit: 1391


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
May 06, 2018, 08:00:40 PM
 #2133

A6 and A7 data communication is not compatible with each other,
and I would definitely put those two generations with a own Raspberry Pi controller unit.

And I would also run A7 and A8 generation miners with a own Raspberry Pi controller unit per generation.

7 and 8 are not compat either.  A 7 on an 8 controller or vice versa does nothing to the opposite, miner won't even start.

True.

NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1308


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
May 10, 2018, 07:38:47 PM
 #2134

Anyone know if the A7 supports 'More options' voltage control like the A8 does?
I want to use a 721 in my office and with just the offset option set to -2 is certainly quieter than other settings but still rather audible.

 I tried --avalon7-voltage-level -1 and miner did not start. I see -ck's cgminer read me only mentions support for Avalons 2 & 3 and wonder if Canaan extended the commands to A7.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
HagssFIN
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1358
Merit: 1391


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
May 10, 2018, 08:40:21 PM
Merited by NotFuzzyWarm (2), lok8nusa (1)
 #2135

@NotFuzzyWarm

Here are the cgminer commands for the A7 series.

These are the rows 1421 -> 1481 in the cgminer code.

Code:
#ifdef USE_AVALON7
OPT_WITH_CBARG("--avalon7-voltage",
    set_avalon7_voltage, NULL, &opt_set_avalon7_voltage,
    "Set Avalon7 default core voltage, in millivolts, step: 78"),
OPT_WITH_CBARG("--avalon7-voltage-level",
    set_avalon7_voltage_level, NULL, &opt_set_avalon7_voltage_level,
    "Set Avalon7 default level of core voltage, range:[0, 15], step: 1"),
OPT_WITH_CBARG("--avalon7-voltage-offset",
    set_avalon7_voltage_offset, NULL, &opt_set_avalon7_voltage_offset,
    "Set Avalon7 default offset of core voltage, range:[-2, 1], step: 1"),
OPT_WITH_CBARG("--avalon7-freq",
    set_avalon7_freq, NULL, &opt_set_avalon7_freq,
    "Set Avalon7 default frequency, range:[24, 1404], step: 12, example: 500"),
OPT_WITH_ARG("--avalon7-freq-sel",
    set_int_0_to_5, opt_show_intval, &opt_avalon7_freq_sel,
    "Set Avalon7 default frequency select, range:[0, 5], step: 1, example: 3"),
OPT_WITH_CBARG("--avalon7-fan",
    set_avalon7_fan, NULL, &opt_set_avalon7_fan,
    "Set Avalon7 target fan speed, range:[0, 100], step: 1, example: 0-100"),
OPT_WITH_ARG("--avalon7-temp",
    set_int_0_to_100, opt_show_intval, &opt_avalon7_temp_target,
    "Set Avalon7 target temperature, range:[0, 100]"),
OPT_WITH_ARG("--avalon7-polling-delay",
    set_int_1_to_65535, opt_show_intval, &opt_avalon7_polling_delay,
    "Set Avalon7 polling delay value (ms)"),
OPT_WITH_ARG("--avalon7-aucspeed",
    opt_set_intval, opt_show_intval, &opt_avalon7_aucspeed,
    "Set AUC3 IIC bus speed"),
OPT_WITH_ARG("--avalon7-aucxdelay",
    opt_set_intval, opt_show_intval, &opt_avalon7_aucxdelay,
    "Set AUC3 IIC xfer read delay, 4800 ~= 1ms"),
OPT_WITH_ARG("--avalon7-smart-speed",
    opt_set_intval, opt_show_intval, &opt_avalon7_smart_speed,
    "Set Avalon7 smart speed, range 0-1. 0 means Disable"),
OPT_WITH_ARG("--avalon7-th-pass",
    set_int_0_to_65535, opt_show_intval, &opt_avalon7_th_pass,
    "Set A3212 th pass value"),
OPT_WITH_ARG("--avalon7-th-fail",
    set_int_0_to_65535, opt_show_intval, &opt_avalon7_th_fail,
    "Set A3212 th fail value"),
OPT_WITH_ARG("--avalon7-th-init",
    set_int_0_to_65535, opt_show_intval, &opt_avalon7_th_init,
    "Set A3212 th init value"),
OPT_WITH_ARG("--avalon7-th-ms",
    set_int_0_to_65535, opt_show_intval, &opt_avalon7_th_ms,
    "Set A3212 th ms value"),
OPT_WITH_ARG("--avalon7-th-timeout",
    opt_set_uintval, opt_show_uintval, &opt_avalon7_th_timeout,
    "Set A3212 th timeout value"),
OPT_WITHOUT_ARG("--avalon7-iic-detect",
    opt_set_bool, &opt_avalon7_iic_detect,
    "Enable Avalon7 detect through iic controller"),
OPT_WITH_ARG("--avalon7-nonce-mask",
    set_int_24_to_32, opt_show_intval, &opt_avalon7_nonce_mask,
    "Set A3212 nonce mask, range 24-32."),
OPT_WITHOUT_ARG("--no-avalon7-asic-debug",
    opt_set_invbool, &opt_avalon7_asic_debug,
    "Disable A3212 debug."),
OPT_WITHOUT_ARG("--avalon7-ssplus-enable",
    opt_set_bool, &opt_avalon7_ssplus_enable,
    "Enable avalon7 smart speed plus."),
#endif

The voltage level command has value range from 0 to 15.

NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1308


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
May 10, 2018, 08:56:50 PM
 #2136

Ah ha! So the voltage value is not a step down from default like the A8 does but rather is being directly set by the command. No wonder the A721 dina like -1 Wink

Thanks, I'll try this tomorrow. I was running an uc/uv s7 in the office but since it provide ~3.5THs @ 930w and the A721 with -2 offset is doing 5.5THs @ 850W ya can see how it would be nice to go with the 721 if I can quiet it down a bit more.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
HagssFIN
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1358
Merit: 1391


Electrical engineer (B.E.). Mining since 2014.


View Profile WWW
May 10, 2018, 09:07:22 PM
 #2137

Yeah I think if you can get it running stable with fixed fan speed somewhere between 2500 to 3000 rpm, it should be a reasonable noise level machine.

NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1308


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
May 11, 2018, 12:45:49 AM
 #2138

Ja. Right now in the 70-75F office the fan is running around 60-65% and still makes a soft howling. As it ramps up to temp the sound starts around 55% speed so just a little direct under-volting & low offset should work perfectly - and knock the socks off of the 2 remaining uv/uc s7's I still have. It is already beating them for THs/Watts, just not anywhere near as quiet.

That just leave me where to put my other winter space heater - a R4 batch-6 that works perfect... Hate to just shut it off for the summer and lose the 8-9THs but starting to get too warm in my office...

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1308


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
May 11, 2018, 03:14:51 PM
Last edit: May 11, 2018, 03:44:56 PM by NotFuzzyWarm
Merited by HagssFIN (1), lok8nusa (1)
 #2139

Got the 721 to be office friendly.
Using  --avalon7-voltage-level 12  and voltage offset of -2 after 1 hour it reports a hair over 5THs, temp of 88-89C and fan is at 3450RPM / 53%. Still audible but actually quieter than my dual-conversion UPS's. Haven't yet measured actual power draw but I'm guessing it is around 600w or less as the APW3++ PSU is at same temp as the room even running off of 120v.

Faboo! I have 2 more 721's and those will now go into our inspection room to replace the other uv/uc s7 I have running there. Being able to bring the other 721's back online certainly makes me feel better about turning off the R4 during summer Smiley

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
lok8nusa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 254
Merit: 11

Call 811 before you dig


View Profile
May 13, 2018, 02:19:10 AM
Merited by NotFuzzyWarm (1)
 #2140

Got the 721 to be office friendly.
~ Smiley

I've been following this with keen interest. My 741's operate in an 'unfriendly' (warm) environment. This little tweak makes a huge difference for 'em.

Edit: I had already been running with -2 voltage offset.

Thanks to HagssFIN, and NotFuzzyWarm (who knew the question to ask  Grin ).

Coining bits since 2017 
Kano Pool is the BEST BTC mining pool.
Pages: « 1 ... 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 [107] 108 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!