Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2016, 10:25:18 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 [69] 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 »
  Print  
Author Topic: MultiBit  (Read 282347 times)
lunarboy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 544



View Profile
July 22, 2013, 09:24:07 AM
 #1361

Having been playing with multibit for a few months now, i'd have to say I really like the simplicity and user friendly GUI, will definitely be recommending it to new bitcoin users. Seems ideally suited for the novice to intermediate set.

One comment though. I'm finding the send request tab a little bit frustrating. Its very easy to set up a new send to address. The problem is it's also very easy to accidentally write over an old send to address 'C/P', with say Bobs address and before you know it you've lost track of who is who, or unsure if it accidentally changed last time before closing.

I'd like to see the option being a little more robust. If I set up an send to Alice address, i'd like the option to save this and have to click edit to change it, or at least get a prompt that i'm changing Alices address before it disappears forever.

 O as a quick fix, have it set with the default send address being blank, rather than the editable address text that was the last 'send' used.


Keep up the great work Jim.

Lunar

1480717518
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480717518

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480717518
Reply with quote  #2

1480717518
Report to moderator
1480717518
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480717518

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480717518
Reply with quote  #2

1480717518
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
prof7bit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672



View Profile WWW
July 22, 2013, 10:09:07 AM
 #1362

The problem is it's also very easy to accidentally write over an old send to address

+1

This is the only remaining usability problem I am seeing too. Once that s improved it will be perfect. Default send address should be empty (don't force the user to click the new button because "new" is what he needs anyways in 99.999% of all use cases, so just remove the need for that additional click at all and make this the default state in which this tab opens) and after BTC have been sent it should again imply a click to new to switch to a new empty address immediately again.

Old Bitcoins recycling and disposal: 1N7ZcHoe77JncRYAg27RVqJZbrjqUQ77WE
Blockchain.info -> Multibit converter (and much more) https://github.com/prof7bit/wallet-key-tool
jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile WWW
July 22, 2013, 07:28:49 PM
 #1363

@lunarboy, profbit

Thanks for your feedback. Yes I agree that the Send tab needs more work.
In addition to the usability issues that you've raised, now that there is a feesolver it is practicable to have multi-send.
(It was not doable before because it can generate large transactions).

Also further down the pipe is the work on the payment protocol which would no doubt change things again.


At the moment my priority is HD wallets and preparation for Trezor work.
UI fixes I think might have to wait a while - I find you can only really work on one area at a time.

Cheers


MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
btctraderr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 120


View Profile
July 28, 2013, 09:17:10 AM
 #1364

Just started using MultiBit, works great! Is there a way to add more than 2 rows in the exchange tickers up the top though? I want to keep an eye on about 4-5 markets at a glance.

Cheers
jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile WWW
July 28, 2013, 10:48:33 AM
 #1365

Hi btctraderr,

Thanks for your feedback.

You can only have 2 exchange tickers up at the top - it is a case of diminishing returns/ use of space. MultiBit isn't meant to be a full blown trading app.

I reckon everyone wants to see their local currency and there is a good justification for seeing another currency or another exchange. (Lots of people track USD for instance). Beyond two you are more into the trader/ power user usage.

Cheers,

Jim

MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
semaforo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
August 02, 2013, 03:42:41 PM
 #1366

 

  Hello,
    I have lost track of one bitcoin in multibit. The program was downloaded on my friend's computer and I didn't create a wallet, I just clicked request bitcoin. An address popped up, I sent 1 bitcoin to it, and then he clicked close wallet.


  We didn't actually specify a location for the wallet and couldn't find it when we tried to open it again. I tried searching in finder (mac) and tried showing hidden files and searching for all .wallet files, but we couldn't find it.

  Where are the private keys? Please can someone help or link to somewhere where this question was already answered?

 Thank you!
mjb
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 44


View Profile
August 02, 2013, 03:48:06 PM
 #1367

A wallet is created automatically in /Users/USERNAME/Library/Application Support/MultiBit . Did you check this directory (and its subdirectories)?
semaforo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


View Profile
August 02, 2013, 05:17:46 PM
 #1368

  Yes... I found it! Thank you!


 
locke9342
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 211



View Profile
August 03, 2013, 04:44:21 PM
 #1369

My transaction Isn't going though! It says "seen by one peer not seen in block chain" and has been going all night. Block chain dosn't show any of this. This is half of my small wallet and its important I can recover this any help?
lunarboy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 544



View Profile
August 03, 2013, 06:43:50 PM
 #1370

My transaction Isn't going though! It says "seen by one peer not seen in block chain" and has been going all night. Block chain dosn't show any of this. This is half of my small wallet and its important I can recover this any help?

Sometimes i've seen it just hang,

1) first thing check the transaction on Blockchain.org or similar site to see if its been seen confirmed or unconfirmed transaction.

2) Then restart the Mutibit client. This is usually enough.

3 ) There is a third step but this is not usually required in this case, where you can reset the reference point that multibit is usiing.
: goto tools - Reset Blockchain and Transactions - pick a date before your transaction.

If the transaction didn't actually send ( see step 1) then after step three you 'should' see that coin just pop back up in your account.

good luck



 



LeChatNoir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 508


View Profile
August 08, 2013, 08:01:50 AM
 #1371

Same problem here with this transaction https://blockchain.info/it/tx/321a677711c936ee2ba3ec7494d754f8178d933055a9f5f156cd79a1fe9584a9.
Funds were showing in the wallet but i couldn't use them so i decided to reset the blockchain but now i cannot see my 20 BTC anymore, they just disappered.
How do i recover my 20 BTC?
This wallet sucks!
jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile WWW
August 08, 2013, 08:35:51 AM
 #1372

@LeChatNoir
Please read the Support page on the multibit.org site.

MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
Hfleer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Changing avatars is currently not possible.


View Profile
August 18, 2013, 07:20:42 AM
 #1373

Is there a way to see individual balance of all addresses in a wallet? 
edit: just saw this question asked elsewhere, it's not available.

█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
▓▓▓▓▓  BIT-X.comvvvvvvvvvvvvvvi
→ CREATE ACCOUNT 
▓▓▓▓▓
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
EAL
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232



View Profile WWW
August 26, 2013, 11:56:25 PM
 #1374

Problem solved. Smiley

jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile WWW
August 27, 2013, 06:22:17 AM
 #1375

I have a problem. I sent BTC but it's stuck. I want it back to my account. Please help me Multibit team.

Have a read of
https://multibit.org/en/help/v0.5/help_support_sentBitcoinFromMultibitButTheyAreStuck.html

MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
tclo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
August 27, 2013, 07:37:46 AM
 #1376

I just started using Multibit and like it so far even though a little quirky at times.

My one recommendation (which probably has been suggested before) is to change the color scheme, or something, which indicates the current selected active wallet.  

I always have to click back and forth between them to figure out which one is selected.  Maybe have the inactive ones fade into a lighter gray or have the active one be bold print surrounded by bold black border...just something because the current system is not very intuitive.

But I will probably use Multibit some more and will donate once I get some use out of it and am sure that it is meeting my needs.  Thanks for all the hard work on it.

(and btw, I am using the latest Windows version of Multibit)
jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile WWW
August 27, 2013, 08:29:13 AM
 #1377

Thanks for your feedback.

Making an intuitive GUI is surprisingly hard especially as things  like colors are taken from your desktop settings. This is so that things blend in between different apps.

The look and feel is quite different on Mac/ Win/ Linux for instance.

Another interesting aspect is what I think of as 'attention'. Humans only have so much visual attention - a lot is filtered before you are conscious of it. I think of it as with a sound mix. If you raise the bass it drowns out the voice etc.

Also there are cultural associations with certain colors - like 'China red' which in China is very widely used but seems quite bright to Westerners.

I am planning to move to a better GUI library - JavaFX rather than Swing - for version 0.6 so that should give me more flexibility.

Thanks in advance for any donations - by its a nature I never really know who donates what but it is all appreciated. Currently I am using it to pay for the multibit.org server fees.

Cheers


MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
EAL
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232



View Profile WWW
August 27, 2013, 08:38:45 AM
 #1378

I have a problem. I sent BTC but it's stuck. I want it back to my account. Please help me Multibit team.

Have a read of
https://multibit.org/en/help/v0.5/help_support_sentBitcoinFromMultibitButTheyAreStuck.html

Help didn't really help me. It stucked for more than 3 weeks.

I resetted blockchain but my money completely disappeared.

jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile WWW
August 27, 2013, 09:53:48 AM
 #1379

After you do a reset blockchain you should have in your MultiBit wallet what is on the blockchain.
You can crosscheck this by looking at the address(es) in blockchain.info or blockexplorer.com and comparing the transactions.

If you find a confirmed transaction that appears in blockchain.info or blockexplorer.com that is not in your multibit wallet (after your reset) please post the details.

If, on the other hand, they all match i.e. you are seeing the same confirmed transactions on all three systems then it is virtually certain that those are the correct transactions.


MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile WWW
August 27, 2013, 10:03:49 AM
 #1380

Also, checking on blockchain.info for that address, you have some tiny amounts of bitcoin coming in. You have several amounts of 4 satoshis. You don't mention which version of MultiBit you are using but I recommend upgrading to the latest version if you are on an older version than 0.5.12. It will work out the correct fee for spending these.

Four satoshis is less than one half of a thousandth of a cent - at the current fee price of 0.0001 BTC per KB of transaction you will unfortunately spend more in fees than those are worth when you try to spend them.

MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
Pages: « 1 ... 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 [69] 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!