Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 12:19:14 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 [73] 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 »
  Print  
Author Topic: MultiBit  (Read 282744 times)
Jochen
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
November 25, 2013, 08:42:40 AM
 #1441

I just updated too. I have no problem at all.

I only got the problem if i delete the previous map of Multibit(c:/Program files/Multibit 0.5.14/).With the update i got Multibit 0.5.14 and 0.5.15 in program files, but i don't think u need to keep every map of the previous version in order to run it. Else i need to backup 0.5.14,0.5.15,0.5.16,... if u understand..

Grtz

1481199554
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199554

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199554
Reply with quote  #2

1481199554
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481199554
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199554

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199554
Reply with quote  #2

1481199554
Report to moderator
1481199554
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481199554

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481199554
Reply with quote  #2

1481199554
Report to moderator
lunarboy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 544



View Profile
November 28, 2013, 04:48:27 PM
 #1442


Can we reduce that 0.0001 transaction fee again please  Grin   
jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile WWW
November 28, 2013, 05:36:48 PM
 #1443

@Jochen,
Gary has written up a how-to on upgrading, which is here:
https://multibit.org/en/help/v0.5/help_upgrading.html



@lunarboy
Yes - that would be nice !
At the moment it is bitcoind which is the 'gatekeeper' for the transaction fees (it will become more flexible in the future).
The MultiBit fees are as low as you can go currently so I cannot reduce it safely at the moment.

I think the recent run up of the price of bitcoin has surprised everyone but I am sure it will get sorted.

MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
lunarboy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 544



View Profile
November 28, 2013, 05:43:03 PM
 #1444

@Jochen,
Gary has written up a how-to on upgrading, which is here:
https://multibit.org/en/help/v0.5/help_upgrading.html



@lunarboy
Yes - that would be nice !
At the moment it is bitcoind which is the 'gatekeeper' for the transaction fees (it will become more flexible in the future).
The MultiBit fees are as low as you can go currently so I cannot reduce it safely at the moment.

I think the recent run up of the price of bitcoin has surprised everyone but I am sure it will get sorted.

Thanks for the quick response keep up the fantastic work.

As your online I'll pop in another feature request. would really love to see copy/paste functionality added to the sign message tab (manually typing out addresses and sigs is an accident waiting to happen) I'm too careless :-(

Mike Hearn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


View Profile
November 28, 2013, 07:10:13 PM
 #1445

You can see the fee debate here:

https://github.com/bitcoin/bitcoin/pull/3305
fydel
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 526


Hasta la Bitcoin siempre!


View Profile
November 29, 2013, 04:51:56 PM
 #1446

I am sorry if this has been asked before but I want to be 102% sure.

I found an old wallet.dat and imported it into Multibit and to my suprise it showed a balance of 35,000$. Yay! Cheesy
But I could not send the coins. The transaction gets confirmed by one peer only. And after resetting the blockchain my balance is 0$. Do'h!  Cry
Soo..There is no way that I am rich actually? Just a glitch in the balance display?

jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile WWW
November 29, 2013, 05:29:48 PM
 #1447

You get that if some of the transactions don't accurately match what is on the blockchain (for whatever reason).

If you do a 'Tools ! Reset blockchain and transactions' from the day before the first transaction it will go to a Bitcoin node and recreate everything.

Can't promise you'll end up with $35k though. :-)

MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
fydel
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 526


Hasta la Bitcoin siempre!


View Profile
November 29, 2013, 06:04:32 PM
 #1448

Thanks for your reply.

Did that. Aaaaand it's gone.

This balance glitch is the most emotionally cruel bug I have ever encountered. J Cheesy Cry

edit: Don't get me wrong. I like your client. Keep up the good work!
(A)social
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 625


View Profile WWW
November 29, 2013, 07:03:04 PM
 #1449

Thanks for your reply.

Did that. Aaaaand it's gone.

This balance glitch is the most emotionally cruel bug I have ever encountered. J Cheesy Cry
...

It's not a bug, it's a feature  Lips sealed

BTC: 1ASociaLbBZzBUR8hSw8CryajncADsR1m6 - Bitmessage: BM-orfFdAgAmtnBokTivq3vj1RtSVtXbrftM
OpenBazaar Store: https://duosear.ch/84de25a152307b93f14d784852d7c88a23081f20
Mr.Yes
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12


View Profile
December 07, 2013, 02:42:04 PM
 #1450

You get that if some of the transactions don't accurately match what is on the blockchain (for whatever reason).
If you do a 'Tools ! Reset blockchain and transactions' from the day before the first transaction it will go to a Bitcoin node and recreate everything.
Can't promise you'll end up with $35k though. :-)
i have same problem. I have 2 computers. yesterday I was transferred my 3.14 BTC from one to another. after that, I sent 50$ BTC to my friend.
But multibit showed something spendable BTC!
I've been trying to"Reset blockchain and transactions" since yesterday but nothing change!
I experienced the same problem before, i lost 1 BTC 1 months ago! Undecided
http://i41.tinypic.com/2r2vzu1.png
http://i39.tinypic.com/2zsa9gj.png

Coin konuları, Alt Coinler, Mining ve daha fazlası... CoinFm (http://"http://coinfm.com/"Wink  
http://coinfm.com/
noodle73
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71



View Profile
December 13, 2013, 03:02:39 PM
 #1451

I've got Multibit on two computers, and both are showing different balances.
I've reset the block chain on both but that's not fixing it. Could it be that one doesn't have all the receiving addresses?

What's the best way to synchronise? Is it to re-export and then re-import the keys?

Many thanks
jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile WWW
December 13, 2013, 04:57:35 PM
 #1452

@noodle73

This is almost certainly that the wallets have different private keys/ addresses in them.
It is very easy to get two wallets out of sync so I don't recommend having the same wallet on two different computers.
With the current random key addresses it is just too confusing.

(It will be different with deterministic wallets)

MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
noodle73
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71



View Profile
December 13, 2013, 06:06:29 PM
 #1453

Ah, fair enough. And no way to combine either I'd imagine.
I'll be more careful next time.

Skoupi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252

Skoupi the Great


View Profile
January 04, 2014, 11:15:32 PM
 #1454

6. The wallet looks through the new blocks' transactions and stores (in the wallet) the transactions that either send it bitcoin or that confirm its previous spends.

7. MultiBit stores the headers only of the new blocks into its local copy of the blockchain,   It does not store the transactions themselves. This is the main reason the MultiBit blockchain is so much smaller than the bitcoind blockchain.

a) That local copy of the (headers only) blockchain is the multibit.spvchain file?

b) If i 'm getting this right the only case that multibit.spvchain updates is when someone sends me coins or when i send some right?

c) Is b. the problem why we can't see the number of confirmations for each transaction?

Also a question mostly about bitcoinj but i think the issue applies to multibit as well

From bitcoinj's wiki
Code:
The Wallet code doesn't scale, at all. All transactions that were ever relevant to the wallet are loaded into
memory, all the time, and re-written every time the wallet is saved. This results in a simple on-disk format accessible
to many kinds of apps, but has poor performance for heavy users. Also, even if spent transactions are removed, the
algorithms used for selecting coins and working with unspent transactions have quadratic time complexity or worse.
In time we'll probably switch to a log structured wallet file format to solve this.

What does this mean? That every time the multibit.spvchain is loaded in the memory?

noobyonekenobi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
January 07, 2014, 09:58:14 AM
 #1455

Im having problem with multibit .5.16. Everytime i opend it my desktop lags and after a while the multbit windows becomes black and i cant use it. What do you think seems to be the problem?

PS4 Funds for my brother. Help me get it. Thanks! Smiley
BTC: 1MqhiNvDfSBRzFuXLkdvUfve4zavoFw2f8       UTC: UdGz8AS2tzTnf5qZ59uYbCRbVqEQJZrQC2
LTC: LTUMKwRAkqtvbyA5s8TeNHduvWk9t3DvkN    WDC: WjMWs8GUAyJXXtPJRXQXzJ9yjkda1GBbYs
jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile WWW
January 07, 2014, 05:21:30 PM
 #1456

@noobyonekenobi
If you could raise bugs on the bugs/ issues database with details like operating system, screenshots etc that would be helpful.

MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
drakoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742

see my profile


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 05:19:34 AM
 #1457

Super program, I love multibit!

How can I find out the Public key to an address?
Like verifyaddress <youraddress>?


See posting #20 over here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=390046.msg4649637#msg4649637


Thnx!

no sign of a signature
demlasjr
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 12:04:12 PM
 #1458

Hey devs, how about a multicoin wallet ? Smiley

Would be the best wallet ever to have BTC, LTC, DOGE, USDe, DGC, SMC and such coins in the same wallet, being able to create addresses for each coin in the same wallet ?

Any change to see something like that in the future.

Best multipool ever with fast coin switcher: https://hash.so (I'm not staff, neither affiliate)
prof7bit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672



View Profile WWW
January 29, 2014, 06:53:15 PM
 #1459

I am suddenly experiencing extreme problems with MultiBit freezing while causing extreme Disk-IO for at least a minute until it becomes responsible again.

* Open MultiBit and wait: after 20 seconds or so it will start showing high disk-IO for one minute.
* Open MultiBit and immediately close it again: writes "saving walllet" to title bar and is frozen for a whole minute before it closes.
* Open MultiBit, click send and then click new: frozen for 1 minute with high disk io. Enter address and amount, click send: frozen for another minute, enter wallet password: frozen for another minute. First confirmation arrives: frozen for another minute.

I previously had this wallet on my old ThinkPad Pentium-M, 1.3GHz with 500MB RAM and extremely slow HDD (and btrfs!) without any problems. Now I have a 6 core AMD machine 6*3.5GHz and SATA3 HDD (ext4), running Kubuntu 12.04, completely fresh install, only 5 days old, installed latest MultiBit, opened same wallet file and these problems began. I already tried resetting the block chain (this went astonishingly fast compared to my old Laptop) but its still showing these symptoms. I tried to preload libeatmydata.so to disable fsync() but it makes no difference.

What could be causing this? It became essentially unusable. How can I help debugging or solving this problem?


Edit:

Found it. It seems MultiBit is doing something that completely overwhelms the journaling mechanism of ext4. Now I followed these instructions: http://blog.smartlogicsolutions.com/2009/06/04/mount-options-to-improve-ext4-file-system-performance/  (and also the one in the comments regarding the change to the grub config before rebooting), now my mount options are (data=writeback,barrier=0,commit=600,noatime,nobh,errors=remount-ro) and the time went down from 1 minute to 1 second!

Old Bitcoins recycling and disposal: 1N7ZcHoe77JncRYAg27RVqJZbrjqUQ77WE
Blockchain.info -> Multibit converter (and much more) https://github.com/prof7bit/wallet-key-tool
jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile WWW
January 30, 2014, 02:31:55 PM
 #1460

Hi Prof7bit

Thanks for tracking this down - it has been noticed by a couple of people but we never tracked down what the problem was.
Good that you have identified a workaround.

MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
Pages: « 1 ... 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 [73] 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!