Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 02:50:11 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 [84] 85 86 »
  Print  
Author Topic: MultiBit  (Read 282690 times)
jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile WWW
August 28, 2015, 10:28:41 AM
 #1661

Yeah, it's a pity.

Connecting directly to the Core/ XT nodes is the most decentralised architecture which is a great bonus overall though.

MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
1481122211
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481122211

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481122211
Reply with quote  #2

1481122211
Report to moderator
1481122211
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481122211

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481122211
Reply with quote  #2

1481122211
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481122211
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481122211

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481122211
Reply with quote  #2

1481122211
Report to moderator
1481122211
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481122211

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481122211
Reply with quote  #2

1481122211
Report to moderator
1481122211
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481122211

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481122211
Reply with quote  #2

1481122211
Report to moderator
TRilon
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406

cryptpip


View Profile
September 08, 2015, 12:12:47 PM
 #1662

Support for 64-bit systems only? But what about the 32?

jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile WWW
September 08, 2015, 08:40:38 PM
 #1663

If you look at the releases directory you will see an installer for Win 32 systems e.g. the most recent one is at:

https://multibit.org/releases/multibit-hd/multibit-hd-0.1.3/

It the multibit-hd-windows-0.1.3.exe (i.e. without the x64 in the name)

It's explained in the installation notes:
https://multibit.org/en/help/hd0.1/how-to-install-windows.html

MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
rbscebu
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
September 22, 2015, 09:24:04 AM
 #1664

Yesterday I installed Multibit HD 0.1.3 on my Ubuntu 14.04 OS desktop. All went well and I sent (and received) a small bitcoin transaction from my Android Bitcoin Wallet.

This morning, I opened my Multibit HD wallet and am still waiting for it to "connect". That was 8.5 hours ago. I will leave it running overnight to see if it is "connected" by tomorrow.

Port 8330 is open. The Verify network window shows Peer count 0 and Blocks left is empty.

How long does it normally take Multibit HD to "connect"?
rbscebu
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
September 22, 2015, 09:28:02 AM
 #1665

Yesterday I installed Multibit HD 0.1.3 on my Ubuntu 14.04 OS desktop. All went well and I sent (and received) a small bitcoin transaction from my Android Bitcoin Wallet.

This morning, I opened my Multibit HD wallet and am still waiting for it to "connect". That was 8.5 hours ago. I will leave it running overnight to see if it is "connected" by tomorrow.

Port 8330 is open. The Verify network window shows Peer count 0 and Blocks left is empty.

How long does it normally take Multibit HD to "connect"?
OmegaStarScream
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
September 22, 2015, 09:34:56 AM
 #1666

Yesterday I installed Multibit HD 0.1.3 on my Ubuntu 14.04 OS desktop. All went well and I sent (and received) a small bitcoin transaction from my Android Bitcoin Wallet.

This morning, I opened my Multibit HD wallet and am still waiting for it to "connect". That was 8.5 hours ago. I will leave it running overnight to see if it is "connected" by tomorrow.

Port 8330 is open. The Verify network window shows Peer count 0 and Blocks left is empty.

How long does it normally take Multibit HD to "connect"?

It should take couple seconds if not instant to do that because it's a SPV Lightweight wallet that dosen't need to download the whole blockchain file like Bitcoin Core .
I'd suggest checking this : https://github.com/bitcoin-solutions/multibit-hd/issues/666 (jim618 is the developer of the wallet , so take his answers in consideration)

rbscebu
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
September 22, 2015, 10:39:32 AM
 #1667

Yes, I had previously read jim518's posts. That is why I checked that port 8330 was open.

I will give Lighthouse a try tomorrow when I have some time and see what happens.
rbscebu
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile
September 22, 2015, 10:55:59 AM
 #1668

Interesting. I just reset my IP address, closed and reopened Multibit HD. It now connected within seconds.

Looks like it might be an IP address problem.
bytezero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 409



View Profile
September 25, 2015, 04:36:09 PM
 #1669

Why multibit send change to other used addresses, I want to keep it in the same...

tspacepilot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


I will write code in exchange for bitcoins.


View Profile
September 25, 2015, 08:02:55 PM
 #1670

Why multibit send change to other used addresses, I want to keep it in the same...

Address resuse brings up a bunch of privacy concerns, these have been linked not only to the privacy of the individual(s) reusing addresses, but it has been argued that these privacy concerns end up affecting the entire network, leading to fungibility issues (potentially).  Anyway, discussion of these has lead to most modern wallets not reusing addresses.  FWIW, my older version of multibit sends change back to the same address, so how this works really depends on your version of multibit.

chanlance
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126


View Profile
September 30, 2015, 12:43:44 PM
 #1671

WHY DO YOU NETWORK FEES ALWAYS VARY WITH DIFFERENT TRANSACTIONS
OmegaStarScream
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770



View Profile
September 30, 2015, 01:46:37 PM
 #1672

WHY DO YOU NETWORK FEES ALWAYS VARY WITH DIFFERENT TRANSACTIONS

All you need to know about bitcoin fees is here : http://bitcoinfees.com/
But I guess Multibit HD have a feature so you send them 1000 Satoshi for every transaction you make since the program is free (not sure if this is removed or not )

patt0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966



View Profile
October 16, 2015, 12:42:24 AM
 #1673

Hello I use Multibit Classic and I got a problem with the wallet recently.

I received some strange transactions that were never verified. They somehow got to the circle state, so they were seen by 4 or more peers, but they are not even in the blockchain.info list of transactions.

I wanted to convert my BTC to dollars, but I was afraid that the transaction got rejected and could give me some problems, so I first created another wallet, and tried to send the BTC to that new wallet. I sent a little more than I should be able to spend (since I included some of the strange transactions BTC), so that I could "force" those transactions to be fixed but it just created another transaction that was probably going to stay like that forever.

I then saw the option to reinicialize the transactions on the multibit wallet. It worked in a way, since the "bad" transactions disappeared, but so did all my BTC (at least my balance is 0 now).

How can I solve this?

Thank you.

 

██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
 
Get Free Bitcoin Now!
  ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦   
0.8%-1% House Edge
[/
jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile WWW
October 16, 2015, 12:44:42 PM
 #1674

Hello I use Multibit Classic and I got a problem with the wallet recently.

I received some strange transactions that were never verified. They somehow got to the circle state, so they were seen by 4 or more peers, but they are not even in the blockchain.info list of transactions.

I wanted to convert my BTC to dollars, but I was afraid that the transaction got rejected and could give me some problems, so I first created another wallet, and tried to send the BTC to that new wallet. I sent a little more than I should be able to spend (since I included some of the strange transactions BTC), so that I could "force" those transactions to be fixed but it just created another transaction that was probably going to stay like that forever.

I then saw the option to reinicialize the transactions on the multibit wallet. It worked in a way, since the "bad" transactions disappeared, but so did all my BTC (at least my balance is 0 now).

How can I solve this?

Thank you.

This is an instance of transaction malleability. Someone is duplicating transactions and altering the signature (in a currently valid way).
Only one of the two transactions confirms. Some nodes are not relaying them.

The 'Tools | Reset blockchain and transactions' is the right way to go as it will reset your wallet to what is on the blockchain. I think the extra transaction you sent may still be on the network though, hence your low confirmed balance. This is most likely technically accurate as, until that transaction confirms MultiBit will not let you spend the change.(As it came in from the network it is not trusted as much - it could be a spoof transaction)

One approach you can try is to create a blockchain.info wallet that contains your wallet's private keys.
There is a how-to here:
https://multibit.org/en/help/v0.5/help_movingAWallet.html

I am not sure 100% blockchain.info will let you spend the change so that you can empty your wallet but as it has the whole blockstore there is a good chance it will.



MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
patt0
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966



View Profile
October 18, 2015, 02:29:18 PM
 #1675

Hello I use Multibit Classic and I got a problem with the wallet recently.

I received some strange transactions that were never verified. They somehow got to the circle state, so they were seen by 4 or more peers, but they are not even in the blockchain.info list of transactions.

I wanted to convert my BTC to dollars, but I was afraid that the transaction got rejected and could give me some problems, so I first created another wallet, and tried to send the BTC to that new wallet. I sent a little more than I should be able to spend (since I included some of the strange transactions BTC), so that I could "force" those transactions to be fixed but it just created another transaction that was probably going to stay like that forever.

I then saw the option to reinicialize the transactions on the multibit wallet. It worked in a way, since the "bad" transactions disappeared, but so did all my BTC (at least my balance is 0 now).

How can I solve this?

Thank you.

This is an instance of transaction malleability. Someone is duplicating transactions and altering the signature (in a currently valid way).
Only one of the two transactions confirms. Some nodes are not relaying them.

The 'Tools | Reset blockchain and transactions' is the right way to go as it will reset your wallet to what is on the blockchain. I think the extra transaction you sent may still be on the network though, hence your low confirmed balance. This is most likely technically accurate as, until that transaction confirms MultiBit will not let you spend the change.(As it came in from the network it is not trusted as much - it could be a spoof transaction)

One approach you can try is to create a blockchain.info wallet that contains your wallet's private keys.
There is a how-to here:
https://multibit.org/en/help/v0.5/help_movingAWallet.html

I am not sure 100% blockchain.info will let you spend the change so that you can empty your wallet but as it has the whole blockstore there is a good chance it will.





Thank you, I did that and it worked. I was also able to spend my coins on the blockchain right after I imported the private keys.
After a few days the funds on multibit got updated as well. So it's all good now in both wallets, multibit and blockchain.

 

██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
 
Get Free Bitcoin Now!
  ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦    ¦¯¦¦¯¦   
0.8%-1% House Edge
[/
dukester99
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 348


View Profile
January 13, 2016, 01:45:55 PM
 #1676

Trying to recover bitcoin from a friends computer that shutdown while running multibit ver 0.5.18 durring a windows update.
Any help at all would be greatly appreciated.

He is running 64bit windows 7 .

When first starting multibit it says it is going to use the backup wallet file.

Takes a very long time to sinc up when first started.
when i get it to the point where i can transfer the coin out I get a error.
"multibit error another programs changed this wallet to avoid errors this multibit has stopped updating"

It will not shutdown and needs to be shutdown from task manager.
When rebooted it does the same thing.

Thought I would just move it to blockchain.info but it will not export the key file.

There is a key file that I see but it looks like it is password protected and blockchain.info wants it to be imported without it password protected.

Any ideas on how I can save this coin?

In the multibit program file folder I see "multibit.wallet" file while it is loading.
Weird part is it keeps changing from a file with 0kb to 27,000kb every couple of minutes.
Can I just take the most recent backup file and rename it to multibit.wallet and over wright the existing wallet file?
Coiner.de
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 389



View Profile
January 13, 2016, 02:45:22 PM
 #1677

No need to overwrite.

Copy the .wallet and .info files to a new directory. ( Maybe rename to shorten the wallet name )
Open this wallet with File -> Open Wallet


Edit:
Close the damaged wallet with File -> Close Wallet so it doesn't try to sync it while you test the backup wallets.

If you find no backup wallet that works as a last resort create a new wallet with File -> New Wallet and import the .key file you found.
ekin4
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
January 18, 2016, 09:57:05 PM
 #1678

Can I use coin control or similar specification for Multibit Classic or HD?
jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile WWW
January 19, 2016, 10:51:30 AM
 #1679

No, there is no coin control in either Classic or HD.

This is mainly to keep things simple for non technical users

MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
lordglorius
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91


View Profile
January 29, 2016, 01:59:38 AM
 #1680

Hello everyone, I have a problem with my wallet multibit, today does not appear the balance or the transactions that I have made, i.e. is blank

Can somebody help me?

Pages: « 1 ... 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 [84] 85 86 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!