Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 08:28:34 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 [82] 83 84 85 86 »
  Print  
Author Topic: MultiBit  (Read 282474 times)
pawel7777
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1078


View Profile
April 20, 2015, 05:38:54 PM
 #1621

One thing that slow things down is if you close your wallet - using File | Close wallet before you close MultiBit.
There is no need to do that - if you leave it open then you should only sync from when you last used it which is quicker.

Is it that when you close the wallet file and reopen then you need to reply the blockchain from the wallet's born-on date?  Just trying to see if I follow.

I use Multibit as primary wallet, but only open it when I need it, it synchronises nearly instantly most of the times (sometimes it's a bit slow and it takes ~10 seconds).

Is there actually any difference between closing with 'File' - 'Exit' and simply clicking 'x'?

1480840114
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480840114

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480840114
Reply with quote  #2

1480840114
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile WWW
April 23, 2015, 11:07:34 AM
 #1622

There is no difference between clicking the X and doing a File | Exit no.

MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
virtualx
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658



View Profile
April 23, 2015, 12:01:39 PM
 #1623

I am using Multibit for more then one year. I keep it allways on and running. Since month or two I found that after restart Multibit is syncing very very long time, like a day or more. Sometimes it seems that it`s stack on some %. When I close it and open again it start again, but much faster then before. Any idea how to speed up syncing. It`s a problem when I need to send some btc, but I can`t and need wait till syncing is done.

Syncing is slow on my machine when I tried this wallet but it was faster with fewer wallets. Multibit starts faster  with fewer wallets. I don't know what's slowing this process down but I'm certain it can be speed up.

kpitti
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
April 23, 2015, 01:11:15 PM
 #1624

One thing that slow things down is if you close your wallet - using File | Close wallet before you close MultiBit.
There is no need to do that - if you leave it open then you should only sync from when you last used it which is quicker.

I am using Multibit OSX version. I am not closing it, just in case of needed restart, which is fortunately very rare occurence, I just closing it by clicking on red cross or just restart the complete OSX.

nikona
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


View Profile
April 29, 2015, 06:37:27 AM
 #1625

I had a little problem while using the client, which I am sure must have occured with others and would have been discussed somewhere in the previous 82 pages, but its hard to scroll back and look through. So I am just going to ask it again.
Has anyone had issues with the balance not being correct on the wallet ? I have had the problem, that the balance shown is more, I even tried "Reset Blockchain" , but that didn't fix the problem either. The only thing so far that fixes it, is importing the private key to a new wallet, which in turn creates a new address(as a new wallet is created) , so I have to go about exporting the address again.

Anyone has a better fix for this  ?
f3tus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 208


View Profile
April 29, 2015, 08:23:56 AM
 #1626

I think I remember somebody else having this issue where resetting the blockchain didn't help... There was no answer though...
tspacepilot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


I will write code in exchange for bitcoins.


View Profile
April 29, 2015, 05:25:03 PM
 #1627

I had a little problem while using the client, which I am sure must have occured with others and would have been discussed somewhere in the previous 82 pages, but its hard to scroll back and look through. So I am just going to ask it again.
Has anyone had issues with the balance not being correct on the wallet ? I have had the problem, that the balance shown is more, I even tried "Reset Blockchain" , but that didn't fix the problem either. The only thing so far that fixes it, is importing the private key to a new wallet, which in turn creates a new address(as a new wallet is created) , so I have to go about exporting the address again.

Anyone has a better fix for this  ?

So, if you import the priv-key to a new wallet then the problem is sovled?  But does it happen again or something?  If it happens repeatedly, it'd be great if you could give steps to reproduce.

Not currently actively browsing this forum.  I do still respond to PMs though.
nikona
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


View Profile
April 29, 2015, 05:51:39 PM
 #1628

I think I remember somebody else having this issue where resetting the blockchain didn't help... There was no answer though...
Since the thread has 82 Pages, I am thinking it might have been discussed somewhere along these pages.

So, if you import the priv-key to a new wallet then the problem is sovled?  But does it happen again or something?  If it happens repeatedly, it'd be great if you could give steps to reproduce.
Yes, but its like another wallet opened in the Multibit client. If I leave the old wallet opened as well, then that still displays the wrong balance. The new one shows the correct balance. As for repeatedly, I think I have seen this happen 2-3 times till now, with different addresses. So far only on Mac, but might have happened on Windows as well, will have to check, as I hardly close any wallets.
tspacepilot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


I will write code in exchange for bitcoins.


View Profile
April 29, 2015, 06:55:53 PM
 #1629

So, if you import the priv-key to a new wallet then the problem is sovled?  But does it happen again or something?  If it happens repeatedly, it'd be great if you could give steps to reproduce.
Yes, but its like another wallet opened in the Multibit client. If I leave the old wallet opened as well, then that still displays the wrong balance. The new one shows the correct balance. As for repeatedly, I think I have seen this happen 2-3 times till now, with different addresses. So far only on Mac, but might have happened on Windows as well, will have to check, as I hardly close any wallets.

So, in one sense, it sounds like you've found a working solution.  But on the other hand, you've experienced the problem more than once.  I think the next step is to see if you can figure out steps to reproduce the problem, if you can come up with those, then you've got a bona-fida bug report that will almost certainly get fixed.

Not currently actively browsing this forum.  I do still respond to PMs though.
nikona
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


View Profile
April 30, 2015, 08:57:16 AM
 #1630


So, in one sense, it sounds like you've found a working solution.  But on the other hand, you've experienced the problem more than once.  I think the next step is to see if you can figure out steps to reproduce the problem, if you can come up with those, then you've got a bona-fida bug report that will almost certainly get fixed.

I won't call it a working solution, as now everytime, I go about creating a new wallet, and adding the private key, I have to go about backing up all the keys again, as sometimes, the btc is sent to the other address in the wallet when not backed up.
f3tus
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 208


View Profile
April 30, 2015, 04:52:20 PM
 #1631

Since the thread has 82 Pages, I am thinking it might have been discussed somewhere along these pages.
Actually it was this thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=723614.msg8175658#msg8175658

Maybe related, maybe not...
nikona
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


View Profile
April 30, 2015, 07:19:42 PM
 #1632

Since the thread has 82 Pages, I am thinking it might have been discussed somewhere along these pages.
Actually it was this thread: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=723614.msg8175658#msg8175658

Maybe related, maybe not...
Thanks, its not exactly related, as I have usually had money sent, but shows the triangle, which means it will never be sent, or some error, but that usually gets fixed on a restart. However due to the wrong balance, say I have 0.2 , and it shows 0.205, and I without checking send 0.205, then it goes to that triangle mode, and I have to restart.
drakoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742

see my profile


View Profile
May 01, 2015, 05:24:52 AM
 #1633

I am cleaning up a bit.

Now I have found a couple of files in a folder called "wallet-unenc-backup"

path-to-my-wallet/wallet-unenc-backup/name-timestamp.wallet.cipher
path-to-my-wallet/wallet-unenc-backup/name-timestamp.info

They are old. Probably from before I encrypted the wallet.


I should better delete them, right?




no sign of a signature
jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile WWW
May 01, 2015, 11:55:52 AM
 #1634

When you encrypt a previously unencrypted wallet MultiBit goes through all the unencrypted backups and:
+ creates an encrypted copy with the suffix ".cipher"
+ secure deletes the unencrypted copies.

Thus they are safe to leave as they are.

If you view the ".cipher" files in a hexeditor you'll just see the usual gobble-de-gook you see with an encrypted file - no structure at all.

MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
drakoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742

see my profile


View Profile
May 04, 2015, 11:03:35 AM
 #1635

superb, well done!

Then it is only about possibly existing manual backups from before the encryption.

no sign of a signature
drakoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742

see my profile


View Profile
May 04, 2015, 04:59:24 PM
 #1636

0.2 BTC never appeared in my wallet.

I was sure that they had to be there. blockchain.info showed them, with dozens of confirmations.

And in multibit the blockchain had moved past the block into which the tx had been mined.

Finally I decided to go through the lengthy (several hours) process "Reset blockchain and Transactions"
- which turned out to fortunately be per wallet, and not multibit-wide (mention that somewhere?).


The 0.2 BTC are back, no problem at all. But only after my intervention.

I remember, I had this problem before, long ago; and a friend, too - he exported the keys, and imported them somewhere else.


Do we have to rescan each wallet once in a while?
Shall I perhaps close my 2013-2014 wallet, and create a completely new one - that would at least make the rescan faster, right?

no sign of a signature
drakoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742

see my profile


View Profile
May 04, 2015, 09:54:59 PM
 #1637

When you encrypt a previously unencrypted wallet MultiBit goes through all the unencrypted backups and:
+ creates an encrypted copy with the suffix ".cipher"
+ secure deletes the unencrypted copies.
Thus they are safe to leave as they are.

One small suggestion, extend this text

Quote
The password was added successfully. Private keys have been backed up, using the wallet password, to: "..."

with the above sentences.


More feature request:
* A button pair "move up / move down" for the "Wallets" tab would be nice. Then I could keep my 2013-2014 wallets open, in case something comes in, but push them down; and have my most current and important wallets at the top.
* the QR codes would be much more useful to me without label inserted into the QR

Tiny unimportant details, really. And other than that - what a beautiful program. So happy to have decided for multibit, already in my first contact with bitcoin - and never regretted it.



no sign of a signature
nikona
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


View Profile
May 07, 2015, 06:27:34 PM
 #1638

I had a little problem while using the client, which I am sure must have occured with others and would have been discussed somewhere in the previous 82 pages, but its hard to scroll back and look through. So I am just going to ask it again.
Has anyone had issues with the balance not being correct on the wallet ? I have had the problem, that the balance shown is more, I even tried "Reset Blockchain" , but that didn't fix the problem either. The only thing so far that fixes it, is importing the private key to a new wallet, which in turn creates a new address(as a new wallet is created) , so I have to go about exporting the address again.

Anyone has a better fix for this  ?

Bumping this,
and I had another problem today. I was sending bitcoins to a bitpay address, and while doing so, the status of the transaction switched to a triangle, which usually happens if there is not enough balance(due to wrong display) and it usually fixes itself on restarting the client.

However, it didn't change to being confirmed today, and I was scared, that after the 10 minutes were over, it might change to confirmed and would be broadcasted to the blockchain. So I had to start up another PC, to import the key there and get the BTC out of that address just incase it confirmed sometime later from the original pc. Anyone had any issues like these before ?
Monopoly
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile
August 05, 2015, 12:54:24 AM
 #1639

How to import old wallet from classic version to Hd version ?

tspacepilot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232


I will write code in exchange for bitcoins.


View Profile
August 05, 2015, 05:00:06 AM
 #1640

How to import old wallet from classic version to Hd version ?

I'm pretty sure that Multibit HD doesn't support this (unfortunately, in my opinion).  If you look in the "help" menu under "upgrading from multibit classic" you'll see:

Quote
One of the problems with random private keys is that they cannot be easily regenerated.  It is for this reason that we, the MultiBit developers, have decided against direct import of a Multibit Classic wallet.

I'd like to add that this decision is the main reason why I haven't upgraded to Multibit HD.  I'm really not sure why they don't allow a collection of old style private keys to be imported.  Andreas' Bitcoin Wallet for Android nowadays provides a HD wallet but you can import old-style private keys.  Bitcoin Wallet for android just shows these in a special menu and warns you that you have some old-style addresses in your wallet that aren't going to be regenerated if you are restoring from your wallet words.  In my own case, I like HD for 95% of the cases, but I still have some classic addresses that I want to keep track of, therefore I'm not a user of Multibit HD.  However, if you're willing to discard your old addresses, Multibit HD is probably a great option.

See the rest of that help section on upgrading from multibit classic if you need further instructions.  Basically they suggest backing up all your old keys then spending to your new HD wallet.


Not currently actively browsing this forum.  I do still respond to PMs though.
Pages: « 1 ... 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 [82] 83 84 85 86 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!