Bitcoin Forum
June 28, 2017, 07:29:15 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 [70] 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 »
  Print  
Author Topic: MultiBit  (Read 304533 times)
Atruk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700



View Profile
August 28, 2013, 01:26:52 AM
 #1381

You don't mention which version of MultiBit you are using but I recommend upgrading to the latest version if you are on an older version than 0.5.12. It will work out the correct fee for spending these.

That fee calculator is actually why for the forseeable future I'm sticking with 0.5.11

1498634955
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498634955

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498634955
Reply with quote  #2

1498634955
Report to moderator
1498634955
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498634955

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498634955
Reply with quote  #2

1498634955
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1498634955
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498634955

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498634955
Reply with quote  #2

1498634955
Report to moderator
1498634955
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498634955

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498634955
Reply with quote  #2

1498634955
Report to moderator
tclo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476



View Profile
August 28, 2013, 05:19:34 AM
 #1382


That fee calculator is actually why for the forseeable future I'm sticking with 0.5.11

Yes I don't understand how the fees work in the latest version 0.5.13.  Is there any way to specify the miner's fee like you can do with blockchain.info?  I would like to be able to make it larger or smaller, as I like.  I'm fine with it having no option to remove the fee entirely because I don't think I would ever want to do that, but I wish I could increase it on occasion.
jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile WWW
August 28, 2013, 09:20:04 AM
 #1383

The fees are explained generally in the help at:
https://multibit.org/en/help/v0.5/help_whatIsTheTransactionFee.html

There is a more detailed discussion upthread around about this post:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=143274.msg2603208#msg2603208


I recommend keeping up to date with the MultiBit releases to get the benefit of bug fixes and various updates.
For instance, in 0.5.13 there is improved wallet backups. This took me about a month to implement. The backup files are described in detail here:
https://multibit.org/en/help/v0.5/help_fileDescriptions.html

You can get this month's work for the price of $0 and 1 minute of your time if you upgrade to 0.5.13.

There has been at least one instance where a user has lost bitcoin due to a combination of what he did and how the older version of MultiBit he was using operated. If he had been on a more recent version there would have been bug fixes and extra functionality that would have meant he would not have lost his private keys.


Ultimately it is your choice what version of MultiBit you use. They are your bitcoins and you own your computer.
However support works both ways. If you don't spend a minute of your time to keep up to date you cannot realistically expect other people to help you if you encounter a bug/ problem that was fixed months ago.

MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
Atruk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700



View Profile
August 28, 2013, 09:28:10 PM
 #1384

The fees are explained generally in the help at:
https://multibit.org/en/help/v0.5/help_whatIsTheTransactionFee.html

There is a more detailed discussion upthread around about this post:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=143274.msg2603208#msg2603208


I recommend keeping up to date with the MultiBit releases to get the benefit of bug fixes and various updates.
For instance, in 0.5.13 there is improved wallet backups. This took me about a month to implement. The backup files are described in detail here:
https://multibit.org/en/help/v0.5/help_fileDescriptions.html

You can get this month's work for the price of $0 and 1 minute of your time if you upgrade to 0.5.13.

There has been at least one instance where a user has lost bitcoin due to a combination of what he did and how the older version of MultiBit he was using operated. If he had been on a more recent version there would have been bug fixes and extra functionality that would have meant he would not have lost his private keys.


Ultimately it is your choice what version of MultiBit you use. They are your bitcoins and you own your computer.
However support works both ways. If you don't spend a minute of your time to keep up to date you cannot realistically expect other people to help you if you encounter a bug/ problem that was fixed months ago.

I understand what the fee solver tries to accomplish and that you do contribute a valuable service to the bitcoin by continuing to develop improvements for what is the best bitcoin client for many use cases.

My predicament with the txfee solver using the new minimums is that, I most cases when I am sending transactions I want them to be confirmed fast which means I want to pay more than the default fee. Maybe for most users this isn't a very big issue, but for me being able to control how much of a fee I attach is a tremendous benefit of pre-5.12 versions.

jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile WWW
August 28, 2013, 09:41:29 PM
 #1385

I think the answer is to put in the ability to set the fee per KB.

The default would be as now: 0.0001 BTC per KB.

But if you want a higher fee you might increase it to, say,  0.0005 BTC per KB

Then if your tx comes in at 1.5 KB instead of paying 0.0002 BTC (it's rounded up) you would pay 0.001.

The fee solver would still take care of things like ensuring very small outouts aren't produced - this is completely impractical to do manually.

MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
Atruk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700



View Profile
August 28, 2013, 09:58:53 PM
 #1386

I think the answer is to put in the ability to set the fee per KB.

The default would be as now: 0.0001 BTC per KB.

But if you want a higher fee you might increase it to, say,  0.0005 BTC per KB

Then if your tx comes in at 1.5 KB instead of paying 0.0002 BTC (it's rounded up) you would pay 0.001.

The fee solver would still take care of things like ensuring very small outouts aren't produced - this is completely impractical to do manually.

Honestly this would be bliss.

bitdude
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 265


View Profile
September 13, 2013, 10:24:28 AM
 #1387

Any chance to import Bitcoins-QT wallet to Multibit INCLUDING labels?
I have cca 1000 addresses in the original client and want to get rid of it, but did not find out how to import the wallet to Multibit. Manually labeling 1000 addresses is not a good way to go.
Thanks for any tips.
jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile WWW
September 13, 2013, 01:37:49 PM
 #1388

It's a bit hacky, but the label for an address is stored in the <wallet-name>.info file.
This is a fairly simple text file - have a look at an existing one.

I guess if you could get the labels out of Bitcoin-QT you could put them in there.

A bit of a complication is that they are URI encoded (spaces, special characters, line breaks etc) so you might have to fiddle around in a text editor.

Obviously you'd want to take backups before and check things afterwards etc.

MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
Mike Hearn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


View Profile
September 13, 2013, 02:20:46 PM
 #1389

For now, don't try to import wallets. Just send your money from one to the other and keep bitcoin-qt around in case you want to refer to old transactions.
krishatnet
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546


View Profile
September 14, 2013, 04:41:30 AM
 #1390

How many days it will take to receive payment from sites like coinad and other bitcoin giving sites

                                                                                                                      We Support Currencies: BTC, LTC, USD, EUR, GBP
jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile WWW
September 14, 2013, 07:15:53 AM
 #1391

You need to ask them as it depends how often they send them (and what fees they out on the transactions).

MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
clipcoins
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119



View Profile WWW
September 23, 2013, 03:12:08 PM
 #1392

Feature request:

It would be nice if there was a cool sound that would play when you receive or send BTC.  I love the little "beep" that blockchain.info wallet uses.  It's very helpful as well as nice to hear...the "sound of success".

But even better for Multibit would be if you could choose the sound to play from your PC...wav file or mp3, etc.  It seems like it would be simple to implement (well easy for me to say), but just a suggestion that would be a nice improvement..thanks for the consideration.

Opened Now: Clipcoins.com
jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile WWW
September 23, 2013, 04:08:21 PM
 #1393

Hi Clipcoins.

I have a 'soundey' friend, Garcia, who has created some sound samples for me. I haven't received them just yet. Also have some original chimes from another source (not sure if they want to be named).

I'll post them all when I get them for people to listen to.

MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
ftping
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 183

200 OK


View Profile
September 23, 2013, 09:23:38 PM
 #1394

In the latest version of MultiBit, is there any way to set the fee manually, or is it always calculated automatically?

Thanks.
jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile WWW
September 23, 2013, 10:00:27 PM
 #1395

It is always calculated automatically - there is some discussion 'up the thread' on it.

Edit: found it : https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=143274.msg2585913#msg2585913

MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
marketorder
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 359


View Profile
September 24, 2013, 03:19:45 AM
 #1396

How do I backup my Multibit wallet to a thumb drive I don't see anywhere in the program where it allows you to make a backup
jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile WWW
September 24, 2013, 06:20:31 AM
 #1397

There is a section in the help called 'File descriptions' describing all the files on your disk.

You basically:
1) shut down multibit.
2) copy the wallet file (and it is worth copying the info file and the backup directory - explained in the help)

As the wallets are not deterministic if you create more receiving addresses / private keys you will need to redo your backup.


MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
EAL
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
September 24, 2013, 06:56:37 PM
 #1398

Do we have to backup everytime again and again? Or if we backup one time, there is no need to back up again? I mean should we update our backups?
jim618
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1708



View Profile WWW
September 24, 2013, 07:29:58 PM
 #1399

With MultiBit currently each new receiving address is created from a brand new, random private key.

Thus every time you create new receiving address(es) you have new data in your wallet that needs backing up.
When you create receiving addresses you can create 1, 5, 20, 100 at a time. And you can repeat it to, say, create 400.

So you can create 100 new receiving addresses, back that wallet up and you'll be good for a while.

Addresses you SEND to are not so critical and transactions you can always get from the Bitcoin network.
It is the private keys that are critical.

If you are on the most recent code (0.5.13 onwards) there is also an automatic backup system that stores copies of wallets when you add new keys locally on your disk. These are useful up to a point but are useless if you lose your computer.


When HD wallets are supported you will have a mnemonic phrase to write down from which you will be able to rebuild your keys (like Electrum and Armory) so life should become easier. This will still be a while yet though.

MultiBit HD   Lightweight desktop client.                    Bitcoin Solutions Ltd   Bespoke software. Consultancy.
marketorder
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 359


View Profile
September 25, 2013, 03:42:58 AM
 #1400

Do you have a link to the wallet files help section I have no idea where that's at. I downloaded a .key file is that sufficient when restoring a wallet?

There is a section in the help called 'File descriptions' describing all the files on your disk.

You basically:
1) shut down multibit.
2) copy the wallet file (and it is worth copying the info file and the backup directory - explained in the help)

As the wallets are not deterministic if you create more receiving addresses / private keys you will need to redo your backup.


Pages: « 1 ... 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 [70] 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!