Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 10:46:37 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 [88] 89 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Butterfly Labs - Bitforce Single and Mini Rig Box  (Read 176405 times)
freshzive
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 447


View Profile
September 08, 2012, 09:25:44 PM
 #1741

Now I'm getting strange issues with 2.7.5:

Code:
[2012-09-08 14:24:57] BFL0: took 20243ms - longer than 7000ms

2 of my units are showing a high # of HW errors all of a sudden. Arrrrrgh!!

1481107597
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107597

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107597
Reply with quote  #2

1481107597
Report to moderator
1481107597
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107597

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107597
Reply with quote  #2

1481107597
Report to moderator
1481107597
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107597

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107597
Reply with quote  #2

1481107597
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481107597
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107597

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107597
Reply with quote  #2

1481107597
Report to moderator
1481107597
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107597

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107597
Reply with quote  #2

1481107597
Report to moderator
1481107597
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107597

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107597
Reply with quote  #2

1481107597
Report to moderator
freshzive
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 447


View Profile
September 08, 2012, 09:27:37 PM
 #1742

And this:

Code:
[2012-09-08 14:27:17] BFL0: took 20243ms - longer than 7000ms
 [2012-09-08 14:27:17] BFL0: Error: Send work reports: NO-NONCE

 [2012-09-08 14:27:17] BFL-502994848: Garbled response probably throttling, clearing buffer
 [2012-09-08 14:27:22] BFL0: Comms error

Maybe I should downgrade? This wasn't happening at all using the old version.

This too:

Code:
BFL: Error reading/timeout (ZGX)

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 08, 2012, 11:08:06 PM
 #1743

Now I'm getting strange issues with 2.7.5:

Code:
[2012-09-08 14:24:57] BFL0: took 20243ms - longer than 7000ms

2 of my units are showing a high # of HW errors all of a sudden. Arrrrrgh!!
That's a throttle

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
freshzive
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 447


View Profile
September 08, 2012, 11:13:30 PM
 #1744

That's a throttle

Yeah, but it wasn't happening at all (running for weeks without stop) using cgminer 2.4.3 so that doesn't really make sense to me.

The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
September 08, 2012, 11:24:04 PM
 #1745

Yeah, but it wasn't happening at all (running for weeks without stop) using cgminer 2.4.3 so that doesn't really make sense to me.
I think throttles showing as HW errors and being listed in the output was a feature added later than 2.4.3.  IOW, you didn't see it was throttling before, but that doesn't mean it wasn't.
freshzive
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 447


View Profile
September 08, 2012, 11:45:29 PM
 #1746

Yeah, but it wasn't happening at all (running for weeks without stop) using cgminer 2.4.3 so that doesn't really make sense to me.
I think throttles showing as HW errors and being listed in the output was a feature added later than 2.4.3.  IOW, you didn't see it was throttling before, but that doesn't mean it wasn't.

If you look at my earlier post, the units were all running within ~20Mhash of the firmware speed. With this throttling, they are now running 1-200MH below firmware speed (one is averaging 600). This level of throttling couldn't have been happening before

The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
September 09, 2012, 12:14:19 AM
 #1747

If you look at my earlier post, the units were all running within ~20Mhash of the firmware speed. With this throttling, they are now running 1-200MH below firmware speed (one is averaging 600). This level of throttling couldn't have been happening before
So downgrade and see if it changes back.  But make note of U first, and your pool performance if you are using a pool, in case it changes back but either of those things don't change.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 09, 2012, 12:45:23 AM
 #1748

That's a throttle

Yeah, but it wasn't happening at all (running for weeks without stop) using cgminer 2.4.3 so that doesn't really make sense to me.
Only my new additions to 2.7.5 report throttle counts - in the API stats (my git - not 2.7.5 - it's a after 2.7.5)
Previously they were just HW: errors, and before that they were only COM errors (again in the API stats)

What OS are you running?

As for hardware changes, mine worked fine for about 2 months (original 832 bitstream), then one day the 2nd FPGA died.
Then it worked OK again, then it died again, and this went on for some time (weeks)
In the end I thought, stuff it, I'll try the 880 bitstream and see if that kills it.
Worked fine on 880 since then Tongue
Running 10C higher than it used to run on 832 - and even on 832 it couldn't get this hot without problems Tongue

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
abeaulieu
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295



View Profile
September 09, 2012, 01:08:37 AM
 #1749

Does anyone know if they released temp stats that these things are supposed to throttle at? Seems like they are quite different per device.

I just moved to a warmer location and had to downgrade firmware to 816, and I'm still seeing occasional throttles depending on the day. (I was running 896 with no throttles previously Smiley)
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
September 09, 2012, 01:11:42 AM
 #1750

Does anyone know if they released temp stats that these things are supposed to throttle at? Seems like they are quite different per device.

I just moved to a warmer location and had to downgrade firmware to 816, and I'm still seeing occasional throttles depending on the day. (I was running 896 with no throttles previously Smiley)

They have said that they are VERY temperature sensitive, and are designed to be run with an ambient temperature of 72F (23C).

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
abeaulieu
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295



View Profile
September 09, 2012, 02:32:20 AM
 #1751

Does anyone know if they released temp stats that these things are supposed to throttle at? Seems like they are quite different per device.

I just moved to a warmer location and had to downgrade firmware to 816, and I'm still seeing occasional throttles depending on the day. (I was running 896 with no throttles previously Smiley)

They have said that they are VERY temperature sensitive, and are designed to be run with an ambient temperature of 72F (23C).

Well I understand that. But the ambient temperature of my singles are about the same, considering they are in the same location. The throttling must be caused by going over and internally set temperature threshold. Wasn't sure if it was the same for the singles or not (it seems to be around 56C from what I've seen in cgminer).
Askit2
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 524


View Profile
September 10, 2012, 08:09:26 AM
 #1752

If your unit is now throttling more, possibly try cleaning the dust out of it. These things kinda collect a bunch and hair on the intake vents. Well depending on if there is much of it. And they collect dust in the heatsink fairly impressivly. It could be the overall airflow through the device and 24/7 operation.

I appreciate donations at ( 1NwkQdmomQPLtdes5KuZhB1D22p7ZGRy4p )
If I am helping in the CGMiner thread give it to Con or Kano. They do the work there.
If you want to sign up for a coinbase account I would appreciate it if you use my referral link. US people now wire, 1% fee give or take a little for sending to your bank account. https://coinbase.com/?r=515bf6145682db9d11000028&utm_campaign=user-referral&src=
freshzive
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 447


View Profile
September 17, 2012, 05:51:22 AM
 #1753

Just wanted to report back that upgrading cgminer helped dramatically (2.4.3->2.7.5). Raised average speeds to within a few Mhash of firmware and dropped rejects dramatically. Overall gained ~40Mhash.

OLD:



NEW:




BFL 2 throttled a bit the other day due to unseasonably warm weather, but still runs faster than the next lower firmware.

Thanks for the help  Grin

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 17, 2012, 08:43:48 AM
 #1754

Just wanted to report back that upgrading cgminer helped dramatically (2.4.3->2.7.5). Raised average speeds to within a few Mhash of firmware and dropped rejects dramatically. Overall gained ~40Mhash.

OLD:

http://i.imgur.com/nG5AQ.png

NEW:

http://i.imgur.com/GvPTQ.png


BFL 2 throttled a bit the other day due to unseasonably warm weather, but still runs faster than the next lower firmware.

Thanks for the help  Grin
That increase is specifically due to the change ckolivas did not long after 2.4.3 (in 2.5.0) back in July
The BFL code in cgminer aborts work when it gets an LP and starts on new work.
Thus rather than wasting a whole nonce range (that will be stale/rejected) before starting new work - it aborts the work when it gets the LP and thus wastes on average only half a nonce range.
This is of course due to the BFL Single design - there's no way around it.
That reduction of half a nonce range should match to the increase you got (if LP rate was the same for both runs)
Basically the change I put in Icarus back in Apr finally got into BFL in July (I annoyed ckolivas about it a few times Smiley)
Beelzebub wouldn't do it when asked back in May Tongue (except in his own private version)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
n4l3hp
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 173


View Profile
September 17, 2012, 04:58:05 PM
 #1755

Does anyone know if they released temp stats that these things are supposed to throttle at? Seems like they are quite different per device.

I just moved to a warmer location and had to downgrade firmware to 816, and I'm still seeing occasional throttles depending on the day. (I was running 896 with no throttles previously Smiley)

They have said that they are VERY temperature sensitive, and are designed to be run with an ambient temperature of 72F (23C).

Well I understand that. But the ambient temperature of my singles are about the same, considering they are in the same location. The throttling must be caused by going over and internally set temperature threshold. Wasn't sure if it was the same for the singles or not (it seems to be around 56C from what I've seen in cgminer).

Mine throttles at different temps depending on the firmware.
800 = 58C
808 = 56C
816 = 54C
824 = Something's wrong with this firmware (it hashes but at very slow speed and throttles even at low temps)
832 = 50C
864 = 48C

The 864 and higher firmwares throttle every few seconds unless I put the unit infront of the AC. And seeing other people posting screenshots of their singles running higher firmwares at higher temps leads me to believe that the unit throttles not according to the chips' temps but to the ambient temp (or temp of some other chip on the board). The 768 firmware is the only one I can run the unit on inside it's case.
cuz0882
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
September 21, 2012, 04:08:31 AM
 #1756



I haven't had a chance to fix BF6 yet, but most units seem to run 896 pretty well.
cuz0882
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
September 21, 2012, 04:34:29 AM
 #1757



Took this pic today, not sure if anyone has one posted.
MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


View Profile
September 21, 2012, 04:37:03 AM
 #1758

Where'd you get an unpopulated PCB, Cuz?
freshzive
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 447


View Profile
September 21, 2012, 05:24:21 AM
 #1759



I haven't had a chance to fix BF6 yet, but most units seem to run 896 pretty well.

Damn that's sexy. What's your cooling setup? Cases off?

cuz0882
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile
September 21, 2012, 05:40:39 AM
 #1760

Where'd you get an unpopulated PCB, Cuz?

It was a courtesy gift from a batch that was not used.
Pages: « 1 ... 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 [88] 89 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!