Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 06:12:03 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: CGminer v3.8.5 on Broadcom based DD-WRT / OpenWRT  (Read 70408 times)
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
September 25, 2012, 05:40:25 PM
 #161

Upped to 2.7.6:

https://github.com/downloads/pshep/cgminer/cgminer-2.7.6-mipsel.tar.gz
1480831923
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480831923

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480831923
Reply with quote  #2

1480831923
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480831923
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480831923

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480831923
Reply with quote  #2

1480831923
Report to moderator
1480831923
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480831923

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480831923
Reply with quote  #2

1480831923
Report to moderator
1480831923
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480831923

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480831923
Reply with quote  #2

1480831923
Report to moderator
TCPC
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30


View Profile WWW
September 26, 2012, 04:09:26 AM
 #162

This is a great idea.  Thanks for working on this!

Bitcoin:      14dK33sP9W2MJ1G5rVEyE9M81ee31ptzix
Namecoin:  NG4dVFDU8qguuRbtuC9Dvz6KkcupdWQcjW
PPcoin:      PPxXyTso7DxykNjq6gy8VVQidATwsGUp2i
Litecoin:     LP2f38SdV3BZ2EZNDYrvFdHVEG43vhwBwt
Ixcoin:       xvU6ZXJ2fJeCGh4kxZQxCSgZGp2UsRgpre
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
October 08, 2012, 05:28:39 PM
 #163

Upped to 2.8.1

https://github.com/downloads/pshep/cgminer/cgminer-2.8.1-mipsel.tar.gz
Mobius
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 957



View Profile
October 08, 2012, 05:29:37 PM
 #164

coolness and a little something something
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
October 08, 2012, 06:43:07 PM
 #165

Why thank you very much indeed Smiley Cool
dlasher
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 468



View Profile WWW
October 09, 2012, 12:08:28 AM
 #166


P_Shep, thanks for doing this!

What are you doing for a compile env? are you actually compiling on your openWRT box, or did you build an Env on a i386/x64 machine? If the later, any links/guidance to doing the same?
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
October 09, 2012, 02:02:21 AM
 #167


P_Shep, thanks for doing this!

What are you doing for a compile env? are you actually compiling on your openWRT box, or did you build an Env on a i386/x64 machine? If the later, any links/guidance to doing the same?


Cross-compiling. Links to dev env is at the bottom of the readme.
dlasher
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 468



View Profile WWW
October 09, 2012, 02:30:01 AM
 #168


Thanks, will read up.. Managed to brick a wrt610n trying to get openWRT running.. time for jtag.
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
October 12, 2012, 06:49:58 PM
 #169

Upped to 2.8.3

https://github.com/downloads/pshep/cgminer/cgminer-2.8.3-mipsel.tar.gz
Valle
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 159


View Profile
October 13, 2012, 05:13:05 AM
 #170

I see strange hashrate on pools after update to this version. I have 2 BFL single, so usually I have ~1650 mh/s, but with this update btc guild says my average speed is only ~1200 mh/s, so I switched to slush's pool. Here I still have adequate payout (about 0.5 btc/day) but reported average hashrate is only 1066 mh/s. I suspect it's because of some side effect of stratum protocol. Do you know why it is so?

(cgminer reports normal hashrate for slush, but reduced hashrate for btc guild :-/ That's odd.)

P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
October 13, 2012, 01:28:02 PM
 #171

Tried it on a regular PC? Maybe you'll see the same thing?
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
October 13, 2012, 07:56:10 PM
 #172

can someone explain what the setup is?  i don't understand why you'd want to run cgminer on a router.  you're not trying to mine with the router's proc right?..

no, you mine on the FPGA attached to the router via USB, attached to the router instead of a pc because a router uses very little electricity

i'm new to this concept so forgive me. 

but you use the pc to monitor the routers results right?  how much more electricity does the pc use over the router? 
Mobius
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 957



View Profile
October 13, 2012, 07:59:07 PM
 #173

can someone explain what the setup is?  i don't understand why you'd want to run cgminer on a router.  you're not trying to mine with the router's proc right?..

no, you mine on the FPGA attached to the router via USB, attached to the router instead of a pc because a router uses very little electricity

i'm new to this concept so forgive me. 

but you use the pc to monitor the routers results right?  how much more electricity does the pc use over the router? 

You can when you want to.
ASUS RT-16 uses a max of 8watts vs a pc starting at 200 watts
Valle
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 159


View Profile
October 14, 2012, 12:59:28 AM
 #174

Tried it on a regular PC? Maybe you'll see the same thing?

Now it shows usual average speed at slush. I don't know what is was, I guess a temporary glitch.
Valle
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 159


View Profile
October 14, 2012, 01:07:28 AM
 #175

can someone explain what the setup is?  i don't understand why you'd want to run cgminer on a router.  you're not trying to mine with the router's proc right?..

no, you mine on the FPGA attached to the router via USB, attached to the router instead of a pc because a router uses very little electricity

i'm new to this concept so forgive me. 

but you use the pc to monitor the routers results right?  how much more electricity does the pc use over the router? 

I see results on mine pool :-) sometimes I monitor it using cgminer api. So router acts as an usual pc and it runs cgminer. I put this router and 2 bfls to an usual middletower so it looks nice and almost wireless (it's only powercord outside) :-)

I'm not sure how much power it takes, probably ~10 Wt for the router and 160 for bfls all these powered by bronse-rated psu.
btharper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 389



View Profile
October 14, 2012, 04:38:36 AM
 #176

Can anyone recommend hardware for a similar setup for this? I don't necessarily need something with wifi or anything fancy. Just ethernet in one end and USB on the other that reboots quickly after power outage, doesn't require much maintenance after being setup, and preferably something nice enough to run a small webserver on it.
Valle
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 159


View Profile
October 15, 2012, 05:25:14 AM
 #177

Can anyone recommend hardware for a similar setup for this? I don't necessarily need something with wifi or anything fancy. Just ethernet in one end and USB on the other that reboots quickly after power outage, doesn't require much maintenance after being setup, and preferably something nice enough to run a small webserver on it.

I use e3000 - it is fancy but it's the recommended way. However it may break on power loss - I experienced optware's system file partition crash on force switch off.
btharper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 389



View Profile
October 15, 2012, 11:49:44 AM
 #178

Can anyone recommend hardware for a similar setup for this? I don't necessarily need something with wifi or anything fancy. Just ethernet in one end and USB on the other that reboots quickly after power outage, doesn't require much maintenance after being setup, and preferably something nice enough to run a small webserver on it.

I use e3000 - it is fancy but it's the recommended way. However it may break on power loss - I experienced optware's system file partition crash on force switch off.
The shell at least looks nice, and for an $80 router I'd hope. I've actually started looking more into raspberry pi, they're cheap ($35 for the relevant version with networking) and can hold two devices without even worrying about a hub. And just a decent looking small linux base. Does anyone have any good or bad experience trying to use a raspberry pi for mining controller?
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
October 15, 2012, 04:46:10 PM
 #179

The shell at least looks nice, and for an $80 router I'd hope. I've actually started looking more into raspberry pi, they're cheap ($35 for the relevant version with networking) and can hold two devices without even worrying about a hub. And just a decent looking small linux base. Does anyone have any good or bad experience trying to use a raspberry pi for mining controller?

There are dd-wrt compatible routers which don't have wi-fi, which you could use.
R-pi can also be used, some have, but that's another thread...

You can also pick up a refurbished e3000 for $50 ish from Newegg.
BR0KK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile
October 15, 2012, 09:59:04 PM
 #180

tried the pi but somehow thats not a sufficient miner base .....

keeps on failing

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!