Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 12:44:06 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: CGminer v3.8.5 on Broadcom based DD-WRT / OpenWRT  (Read 70425 times)
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
August 05, 2013, 09:11:49 PM
 #301

WL-500g Deluxe (WL-500gx)   BCM5365P/BCM5364P 200MHz   SoC   802.11g (BCM4306 + BCM2050)   32MB SDR 32bit   4MB   2 x 2.0 (VT6212L)

I'm not sure that'll have the resources to run cgminer :/
But It should at least start. The compiler optimization maybe set for later processors.
1480941846
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480941846

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480941846
Reply with quote  #2

1480941846
Report to moderator
1480941846
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480941846

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480941846
Reply with quote  #2

1480941846
Report to moderator
1480941846
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480941846

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480941846
Reply with quote  #2

1480941846
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480941846
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480941846

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480941846
Reply with quote  #2

1480941846
Report to moderator
jago25_98
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 871


http://moneybutnofixedabode.blogspot.com


View Profile WWW
August 06, 2013, 12:39:33 AM
 #302

WL-500g Deluxe (WL-500gx)   BCM5365P/BCM5364P 200MHz   SoC   802.11g (BCM4306 + BCM2050)   32MB SDR 32bit   4MB   2 x 2.0 (VT6212L)

I'm not sure that'll have the resources to run cgminer :/
But It should at least start. The compiler optimization maybe set for later processors.

Yeah that's probably it... though I would have expected something more verbose to help me figure that out. I guess if so I'd have to figure out how to cross compile... easier to change to openwrt and use the supplied distro copy.

Meanwhile, the beaglebone (angstrom) doesn't recognise the Eruptor with lsusb.. perhaps not enough power even though the Eruptor lights up and all looks ok...

...and USB ports on the Raspberry Pi are producing errors now. So all 3 platforms each have their own problems...
nitrox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 136


tester


View Profile
September 26, 2013, 08:50:54 AM
 #303

do you build new release ?

P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
September 27, 2013, 06:15:59 PM
 #304

Having issues with libudev :/
taxik
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42


View Profile
September 28, 2013, 08:23:56 AM
 #305

Hello, will it work with Atheros router (TL-WR1043ND) ?. I think it has MIPS architecture, so i don´t know Sad

Thanks

P.S. I am using DD-WRT
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
October 09, 2013, 09:58:25 AM
 #306

I've upped to the latest that will still work, which is 3.3.4.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/950r36j86mx69d6/cgminer_3.3.4_mipsel.ipk

I've now nicely packaged it in an IPK.

To install:
Copy to your router /opt dir and cd there
type:
>ipkg install cgminer_3.3.4_mipsel.ipk

It'll copy all the files to the correct places and install any other missing packages automagically.

If you already have cgminer.conf, it'll ask if you want to overwrite... of course not, so press 'N'
Otherwise, edit the /opt/etc/cgminer.conf file to your needs.

Then type:
>service cgminer start
OtaconEmmerich
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237



View Profile
October 09, 2013, 03:36:21 PM
 #307

going to take a guess and say that ipk only works on DD-WRT?
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
October 09, 2013, 04:11:56 PM
 #308

It's an optware IPK. It'll work with dd-wrt, Kong mod and asuswrt-Merlin, and probably asuswrt too.

Also for taxik, if you can install optware, you can run this.
OtaconEmmerich
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237



View Profile
October 10, 2013, 12:52:08 AM
 #309

It's an optware IPK. It'll work with dd-wrt, Kong mod and asuswrt-Merlin, and probably asuswrt too.

Also for taxik, if you can install optware, you can run this.
Good to know that asuswrt-Merlin is supported. Too bad you can't install both Entware and Optware at the sametime, Thanks for the IPK.
OtaconEmmerich
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237



View Profile
October 10, 2013, 01:59:11 AM
 #310

Code:
admin@RT-N16:/tmp/mnt/OPTWARE/asusware# ipkg install cgminer_3.3.4_mipsel.ipk
Installing cgminer (3.3.4) to /opt/...
ipkg: invalid compressed data--format violated
sh: /opt/ipkg-zWCaj2/cgminer-7gGXKd/preinst: not found
preinst script returned status 127
An error ocurred, return value: 1.
Collected errors:
Aborting installation of cgminer
admin@RT-N16:/tmp/mnt/OPTWARE/asusware#
Hmmm, is this because I coped it to a FAT32 flash drive? I can't wget it because it's behind https and the ipkg repo has a old version of wget it seems..Can you upload to a ftp or someplace that doesn't use https?
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
October 10, 2013, 09:15:46 AM
 #311

Code:
admin@RT-N16:/tmp/mnt/OPTWARE/asusware# ipkg install cgminer_3.3.4_mipsel.ipk
Installing cgminer (3.3.4) to /opt/...
ipkg: invalid compressed data--format violated
sh: /opt/ipkg-zWCaj2/cgminer-7gGXKd/preinst: not found
preinst script returned status 127
An error ocurred, return value: 1.
Collected errors:
Aborting installation of cgminer
admin@RT-N16:/tmp/mnt/OPTWARE/asusware#
Hmmm, is this because I coped it to a FAT32 flash drive? I can't wget it because it's behind https and the ipkg repo has a old version of wget it seems..Can you upload to a ftp or someplace that doesn't use https?

How did you install optware in Fat32!? Fat32 doesn't have the ability to do symbolic links, which will cause all sorts of problems.
But it's saying that the compression formats is wrong, which is odd. I installed it OK on a totally fresh Optware. Maybe try:
ipkg update
ipkg upgrade

To update everything first.

Though on my asuswrt-Merlin I had to adapt the ipk. for some reason some of the installation scripts didn't work (I have no idea why - said they were missing) So I made a new IPK without them. Scripts didn't do too much, just stop and restart the service.

Also, you can install wget-ssl for https transfers, just have to remove wget first:
ipkg remove wget
ipkg install wget-ssl
OtaconEmmerich
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237



View Profile
October 10, 2013, 10:56:17 AM
 #312

I was using a separate flash drive that was FAT32 formatted to transfer the IPK as wget wouldn't work. I think it's messing up because I had Entware installed and it may be a bit confused. I tried installing wget-ssl but it doesn't seem to be working at all too.
I'll probably just install the newest merlin firmware and try again, It's been a few months and there was a decent firmware update to it so might as well.

Edit:Well one quick update and Optware reinstall later..It's having the same issue...I think the default ASUS-Merlin optware isn't quite the same as DD-WRT's..

What's the command to get wget working with SSL? I've got wget-ssl installed and I'm using
Code:
wget https://www.dropbox.com/s/950r36j86mx69d6/cgminer_3.3.4_mipsel.ipk

It worked fine when I had Entware installed..but I'm sure Entware has wget 1.14-1
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
October 10, 2013, 11:49:29 AM
 #313

wget will use ssl when it needs to if you install wget-ssl

I've tried using entware, but doesn't really work for me. Seems to have the same failings at optware, with the added bonus of not having all the support and nice scripts.

Using the flash drive to transfer the file is fine, ipkg will copy it to a temp dir, the 'ipkg-zWCaj2/cgminer-7gGXKd'

I'll up-load the non-script version, because for some reason it doesn't work with asuswrt, and I have absolutely no idea why... neither does google. Just means you should manually shut down and start up the cgminer service when updating.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/dwj0tmj89v4c27d/cgminer_3.3.4-1_mipsel.ipk
OtaconEmmerich
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237



View Profile
October 10, 2013, 12:05:15 PM
 #314

SUCCESS! That file copied perfectly to the OPT folder and installed without errors!

...Now the question is how do i set this up properly now..
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
October 10, 2013, 12:19:37 PM
 #315

edit /opt/et/cgminer.conf

type:
service cgminer on
service cgminer start
OtaconEmmerich
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237



View Profile
October 10, 2013, 12:26:20 PM
 #316

"service cgminer on" nor "service cgminer start" doesn't work, I edited the cgminer.conf beforehand. I can't even get the services command to list anything. I think that's the DD-WRT only feature. I have no clue how it's handled in the ASUSWRT-Merlin firmware.

Edit:Got CGminer running at least, GETRESULTS TIME OUT ERRORS. FFFFFFF- I GIVE UP.

I guess I'll just have to live with 5-7$ higher power bills for another month at least.
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
October 10, 2013, 01:31:09 PM
 #317

"service cgminer on" nor "service cgminer start" doesn't work, I edited the cgminer.conf beforehand. I can't even get the services command to list anything. I think that's the DD-WRT only feature. I have no clue how it's handled in the ASUSWRT-Merlin firmware.

Edit:Got CGminer running at least, GETRESULTS TIME OUT ERRORS. FFFFFFF- I GIVE UP.

I guess I'll just have to live with 5-7$ higher power bills for another month at least.

Ah yeah, service is a optware the right way thing.

Probably best give up. Not a lot I can do about that error.
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
October 10, 2013, 02:11:09 PM
 #318

Out of curiosity, what mining hardware do you use?
OtaconEmmerich
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237



View Profile
October 11, 2013, 03:00:16 AM
 #319

Out of curiosity, what mining hardware do you use?
6 Block Eruptors on a Rosewill HUB.
P_Shep
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


View Profile WWW
October 11, 2013, 04:27:53 PM
 #320

Got the bastard to compile and run... maybe even work? Dunno, have no hardware to test with.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/pf1e1zmbrsndsnn/cgminer_3.5.1_mipsel.ipk
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 [16] 17 18 19 20 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!