Bitcoin Forum
October 24, 2017, 06:12:17 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 ... 146 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Vertcoin - 1 | ASIC - 0 | Lyra2RE | Decentralised | GPU Mineable | Open Source  (Read 388374 times)
Wolf0
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1722


Miner Developer


View Profile
December 16, 2014, 09:35:50 PM
 #121

Okay, good. I was a little worried, there. 7990 is pretty nice, even my 290X can only hit 560 so far, so that card still has a leg up on it.

Thanks to your help with mod kernel and incredible wallpapers (you know what i mean Grin) in feather topic
P/S: I immediately donated to you a small amount FTC at this time!

No problem. Neoscrypt still has a little more in it, though. And thanks!

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
1508825537
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508825537

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508825537
Reply with quote  #2

1508825537
Report to moderator
1508825537
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508825537

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508825537
Reply with quote  #2

1508825537
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508825537
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508825537

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508825537
Reply with quote  #2

1508825537
Report to moderator
1508825537
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508825537

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508825537
Reply with quote  #2

1508825537
Report to moderator
paulo_thork
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
December 16, 2014, 09:41:24 PM
 #122

I can already start but now I have many WH
R9280X
http://i.gyazo.com/538b7097d3f05ea281e07891eb9677ac.png
bigradeon
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 94


View Profile
December 16, 2014, 09:53:17 PM
 #123

I can already start but now I have many WH
R9280X
http://i.gyazo.com/538b7097d3f05ea281e07891eb9677ac.png

you could experience problems (hw,high RJ rate,...etc) when trying to run 14.9 or 14.12 omega catalyst, sgminer lyra optimized with 14.6
Oscilson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434



View Profile
December 16, 2014, 10:01:44 PM
 #124

DJM's miner is best with 14.6 or 14.7.
triplef
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 236



View Profile
December 16, 2014, 10:14:50 PM
 #125

We are open for business, see signature if you want to send hashes where they count !

tankist0
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 158


View Profile
December 16, 2014, 10:58:47 PM
 #126

I was able to achieve 1 mh for R9 280x, using win32 sgminer. Now I'm setting up for native win x64, just for the comparison, but what the heck about:

Quote
algorithm.obj : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol "void __cdecl lyra2re_regenhash(struct work *)" (?lyra2re_regenhash@@YAXPEAUwork@@@Z)
C:\Users\A\Documents\sgminer-Lyra2RE-master\winbuild\output\x64\Release\sgminer.exe : fatal error LNK1120: 1 unresolved externals
========== Build: 0 succeeded, 1 failed, 1 up-to-date, 0 skipped ==========

Probably reverting my VM snapshot to the "clean state" and repeating all the steps in winbuild.txt ... however, could anyone relieve my pain by providing a link to the compiled and working win x64 miner?
etang600
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
December 17, 2014, 12:42:37 AM
 #127

Ditched X11 with my working GPU rig and now have it mining VTC.

I've got a half dozen more 750ti's that have been gathering dust for months... I might rebuild that rig in the coming days, especially if the news is as good as has been reported when I whip out the kill-o-watt meter tomorrow.

Vertcoin always had the best community and ambition.  The last few months have been trying, but with the hard fork to Lyra2RE, we can start getting excited again.

I'll post power numbers here tomorrow.  AM3+ ASRock boards, Sempron procs, one rig with EVGA cards (running), and another with PNY cards.

The EVGA 750ti's are hashing at 720-725 kh/s each, except one that's stuck at 710-715.



EVGA 750Ti's are factory OC'ed, or more? what clocks?
(I have 690kH/s with Palit StormX Dual, "factory OC" only)


How are you getting 720-725 kh/s out of your 750tis ? I have 36 evga 750tis (using your kopiemtu) and the most I can get is 625 kh/s out of each card
HoY
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26


View Profile
December 17, 2014, 12:56:57 AM
 #128

His miner is probably displaying the wrong numbers, no idea why tho. I'm willing to bet whatever pool he mines on reports closer to 600kh/s per card. With major overoclocking djm said he was able to get 660-670kh/s
LTCMAXMYR
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 450

DMD,VTC,DGB


View Profile
December 17, 2014, 01:08:55 AM
 #129

move to lyra2 was absolutely great as amp required to drive scrypt-N was almost illegal  Cool

congrats to Vert team, although wish they would have acted sooner.. in general it would benefit community to study lyra2 with an understanding if an fpga/asic can be built to attack it...

no large community ever would mine scrypt-N on a massive scale (hence no wonder price have plummeted), lyra2 has a chance, amp reduction is significant

I think Lyra2RE can be done on FPGA - just depends how much you want to spend. From my understanding, FPGAs are EXCELLENT at logical operations, but fast memory for them gets expensive quickly. 6KiB is not a lot of memory; I think it would be cheap - but that assumes you only want to run one thread at a time. I think, for best performance, you'd want to run dozens, or maybe even hundreds of threads - then you'd start getting bit by the cost, I think.

Anyone with actual experience doing FPGA work, feel free to correct me/chime in.
i believe all  algo can be done on FPGA, it is just about Time and Cost.
i have some computer knowledge and programming ability,checked some new POW algo.
when X11 is released,i think it is bullshit,i haven't touch any X'series coins,no matter what the are.
X11 or even up to X26,all have public FPGA code,it is even easier to build FPGA miner than scrypt.
if you check whattomine site,profit already show them FPGAs are running.
it is a easy way to check if it is mint by FPGAs or ASICs: the calculated profit.
you don't need to find where are the FPGAs or ASICs,just easy calculate.
go to http://www.whattomine.com/ and find out 7 day Profitability,
if it is less than 400%,the algo is rushed  by FPGAs,
if it  is less than 200%,means the coin is dying ,or the algo is rushed by ASICs,
another way,if you have 280x card,calculate the one day profit ,not calculate the electric fee.
if it is less than 0.2$,the coin is dying or the algo is fucked by FPGAs or ASICs.

Wolf0
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1722


Miner Developer


View Profile
December 17, 2014, 01:56:21 AM
 #130

move to lyra2 was absolutely great as amp required to drive scrypt-N was almost illegal  Cool

congrats to Vert team, although wish they would have acted sooner.. in general it would benefit community to study lyra2 with an understanding if an fpga/asic can be built to attack it...

no large community ever would mine scrypt-N on a massive scale (hence no wonder price have plummeted), lyra2 has a chance, amp reduction is significant

I think Lyra2RE can be done on FPGA - just depends how much you want to spend. From my understanding, FPGAs are EXCELLENT at logical operations, but fast memory for them gets expensive quickly. 6KiB is not a lot of memory; I think it would be cheap - but that assumes you only want to run one thread at a time. I think, for best performance, you'd want to run dozens, or maybe even hundreds of threads - then you'd start getting bit by the cost, I think.

Anyone with actual experience doing FPGA work, feel free to correct me/chime in.
i believe all  algo can be done on FPGA, it is just about Time and Cost.
i have some computer knowledge and programming ability,checked some new POW algo.
when X11 is released,i think it is bullshit,i haven't touch any X'series coins,no matter what the are.
X11 or even up to X26,all have public FPGA code,it is even easier to build FPGA miner than scrypt.
if you check whattomine site,profit already show them FPGAs are running.
it is a easy way to check if it is mint by FPGAs or ASICs: the calculated profit.
you don't need to find where are the FPGAs or ASICs,just easy calculate.
go to http://www.whattomine.com/ and find out 7 day Profitability,
if it is less than 400%,the algo is rushed  by FPGAs,
if it  is less than 200%,means the coin is dying ,or the algo is rushed by ASICs,
another way,if you have 280x card,calculate the one day profit ,not calculate the electric fee.
if it is less than 0.2$,the coin is dying or the algo is fucked by FPGAs or ASICs.



Actually, it takes dev time to port an algo like X11. Lord knows SIMD or some other obscure hashes probably don't have much for public FPGA code. But I agree, once you get the dev work done, it's about how cheaply you can build them - the dev work is a one-time cost.

Code:
Donations: BTC: 1WoLFdwcfNEg64fTYsX1P25KUzzSjtEZC -- XMR: 45SLUTzk7UXYHmzJ7bFN6FPfzTusdUVAZjPRgmEDw7G3SeimWM2kCdnDQXwDBYGUWaBtZNgjYtEYA22aMQT4t8KfU3vHLHG
bitspender
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644



View Profile
December 17, 2014, 01:58:37 AM
 #131

Anyone has a good setting for Sapphire r9 290 ?
Can't get past ~515 Kh/s  Sad

bitspender
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644



View Profile
December 17, 2014, 02:01:00 AM
 #132

Anyone has a good setting for Sapphire r9 290 ?
Can't get past ~515 Kh/s  Sad

Never mind, hashing at 1,2Mh now  Wink

q327K091
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


View Profile
December 17, 2014, 02:19:54 AM
 #133

this statement I like (from the white paper by VERT) : https://vertcoin.org/downloads/Vertcoin_Lyra2RE_Paper_11292014.pdf

"Unlike Scrypt, Lyra2 (the principal part of the chained algorithm) allows us to change memory usage and time cost independently, giving us more leverage against ASICs."

so VERT acknowledges theoretical and practical possibility and reality of fpga for lyra2 but with caveat that algorithm can adjust and render these systems ineffective (or needed to be reprogrammed on the chip level)

"At this time we have decided not to implement an “N factor” schedule as it is nearly impossible to predict the future. However, Lyra2RE will give us the flexibility to make changes whenever that becomes necessary"

N factor would adjustments could combat fpga/asic with necessity of fpga reprogramming (and invalidate complete asic investment and asic is cheaper to make and handle so risk to consumers of them is rather big)

also this:

"By contrast, Lyra2RE aims to be ASIC-resistant at heart, allowing for less disruption to miners in the future due to our ability to change algorithm parameters rather than change algorithm all together. It will also free up development time to focus on new features without having to worry about constantly implementing new algorithms every time there is an ASIC threat"

so at least and unlike many crypto VERT is very open about the situation

for fpga, a new micro kernel code has to be created and chips flashed for any parameter adjustments, average user will have to ship device to the manufacturer and wait for new boards to be received back, then VERT community or VERT dev itself sees fpga activity again based on the profitability scale and perform adjustment again at some point it becomes impractical to get fpga chips reprogrammed every time

we are looking better and better from the long term investment strategy and I wish this would have been done sooner, but coin has been re-launched and people can rebuild their portfolio from the bottom instead of from the top.

new upcoming awesome coin

the Gulden Coin: GKWHEPx3rQyPnbgQUSHu8gtgoRCgpqed1j
joyyen
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98

MMM EXTRA - THE RIGHT STEP TOWARDS THE GOAL


View Profile WWW
December 17, 2014, 03:19:28 AM
 #134

hi if anyone tell me this works on ATI 5850 ?

i cannot get this works on my ATI 5850 !

[Join MMM and get up to 100% per month]
etang600
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 27


View Profile
December 17, 2014, 03:54:54 AM
 #135

His miner is probably displaying the wrong numbers, no idea why tho. I'm willing to bet whatever pool he mines on reports closer to 600kh/s per card. With major overoclocking djm said he was able to get 660-670kh/s

My miners must be submitting shares like crazy because the pool I mine at is reporting 5,000-9700 kh/s all day per 6 card 750ti rig
perezoso
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
December 17, 2014, 04:37:33 AM
 #136

His miner is probably displaying the wrong numbers, no idea why tho. I'm willing to bet whatever pool he mines on reports closer to 600kh/s per card. With major overoclocking djm said he was able to get 660-670kh/s

Yes.  As stated in my previous post, my miner (SP fork fork of ccminer - http://github.com/sp-hash/ccminer) is displaying higher hash rate than what's reported by the pool.  I'm getting 620-625 kh/s per the pool.  On my EVGAs the gain from overclocking is quite small.
Strannik-74
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 214


View Profile
December 17, 2014, 05:08:29 AM
 #137

Changing the algorithm is nice, but the course is rapidly rushed to the bottom, it's the end coin?
poiuty
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196



View Profile
December 17, 2014, 05:43:00 AM
 #138

Changing the algorithm is nice, but the course is rapidly rushed to the bottom, it's the end coin?

It`s a new beginning.
xtrembash
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 456


View Profile
December 17, 2014, 06:23:54 AM
 #139

hi if anyone tell me this works on ATI 5850 ?

i cannot get this works on my ATI 5850 !

it's working..
300khs..

█▀▀▀█░▀▀▀▀▀░░██░░░▀▄░▄▀░▄▀▀▀░▄▀▀▄░▀█▀░█▀▄░█░ STAX PROJECT
▀▀▄▄░░░░█░░░█▄▄█░░░░█░░░█░░░░█░░█░░█░░█░█░█░ STAX is a Scrypt POW/POS Coin
█▄▄▄█░░░█░░█░░░░█░▄▀░▀▄░▀▄▄▄░▀▄▄▀░▄█▄░█░▀▄█░ INVEST ¦ TRADE ¦ RENT ¦ JOIN STAX
q327K091
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


View Profile
December 17, 2014, 06:38:12 AM
 #140

Changing the algorithm is nice, but the course is rapidly rushed to the bottom, it's the end coin?

statements like this contribute 0 to anything please read my previous post on reasons behind the change, you don't need to be negative coin has reached nice plateau already and many have nice chance to get started in crypto with it in the right way, with few GPU cards and some fun, please think twice before making post like this it as it really does not do anything literarily

new upcoming awesome coin

the Gulden Coin: GKWHEPx3rQyPnbgQUSHu8gtgoRCgpqed1j
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 ... 146 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!