Bitcoin Forum
July 12, 2024, 10:05:20 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 [424] 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 ... 1135 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] cudaMiner & ccMiner CUDA based mining applications [Windows/Linux/MacOSX]  (Read 3426882 times)
tachyon_john
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 11, 2014, 04:52:20 AM
 #8461

the basic idea is to enable an emergency shutdown and/or a throttling based on temperature so you don't risk your GPU's life because a fan has failed (nVidia drivers are throttling hard at 95 deg C but I've seen my MARS cards get to 100 deg C during testing). Also these values are an important data points to send through a remote monitoring API - without these the monitoring would be next to useless.

I would love to see a possibility to throttle the card(s) to reach a temperature/utilization target.
nvidia-smi shows the fan-speed and temp but not the "GPU Utilization" as nvidia-settings does...

nvidia-settings never showed the gpu utilization of my 780 under ubuntu 12.04

I dug into this a bit tonight.  The 'nvidia-settings' app uses a different mechanism to talk to the NVIDIA driver than nvidia-smi does, and so the availability and range of information it provides is different in several cases.  NVIDIA has open-sourced the code for nvidia-settings, and as a result the API for communicating with the driver via an X server extension is also available as open source.  In comparing what I can query from that API vs. what I can query through the more CUDA-oriented NVML interfaces, the lineage of the two interfaces becomes obvious.  There are a few nice bits of information that currently don't appear to be available via NVML such as the utilization percentage for the hardware video encoder/decoder on the Kepler chips, additional temperature sensors, fan RPMs, and other PCIe and utilization information that NVML currently reports only for Tesla GPUs (or at least so it would seem).   The one thing I don't like about using the nvidia-settings methods for querying data from the X server is that there are plenty of cases where you'd rather not run an X server if you don't need it, and the NVML library and nvidia-smi work great in such a case while nvidia-settings and it's own NV-CONTROL X extension are not usable in that scenario.  It is possible that NVIDIA might be convinced to add some of the key missing data from nvidia-settings into nvidia-smi, but we'll have to see.  In the short-term I may see if I can make my code additionally talk to the X server when one is running.  We'll see how it goes.
liomojo1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 676
Merit: 500


View Profile
March 11, 2014, 05:09:30 AM
 #8462

oh ya new 335.23 drivers even faster Smiley http://cryptomining-blog.com/tag/335-23-whql/

His hashrate sucks for that high of an overclock. Getting stable 330kh with a +125 +600 overclock.
I assume you are using -H 1 for this result?
jsamul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 300
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 11, 2014, 06:40:48 AM
 #8463

I did some testing tonight on my 2 750ti , and noticed that only the x64 version needs the chrome trick , x86 have better results about 4-5 kkhs than the x64 -with or without chrome. So x64 needs chrome and x86 no  Grin.
Sadly my max overclock stable for minig is 1355 core and 3196 mem. Max hashrate with this settings 320. May be when the rizers arrive i will try more cause now heat is an issue too cause both card are stack together and make 77-80 C.

oh my...
i use the EVGA FTW cards, and even with factory OC those cards do not go over 55°C while mining Wink
jsamul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 300
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 11, 2014, 06:43:16 AM
 #8464

oh ya new 335.23 drivers even faster Smiley http://cryptomining-blog.com/tag/335-23-whql/

i do not see any noticable improvement for keccak with these drivers and 750Ti Wink
Finnminer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 11, 2014, 07:12:20 AM
 #8465

How do the non-Ti 750s perform compared to the Ti's? The reason I'm asking is that Amazon managed to send me regular 750s instead of the Ti's I had ordered and I'm considering my options. I'm not too keen on the idea of sending the cards back and waiting forever to get correct cards instead..
liomojo1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 676
Merit: 500


View Profile
March 11, 2014, 07:12:36 AM
 #8466

I use EVGA GeForce GTX 750 Ti which is small and have only one fan. Grin
cbuchner1 (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 502


View Profile
March 11, 2014, 07:40:44 AM
 #8467

How do the non-Ti 750s perform compared to the Ti's? The reason I'm asking is that Amazon managed to send me regular 750s instead of the Ti's I had ordered and I'm considering my options. I'm not too keen on the idea of sending the cards back and waiting forever to get correct cards instead..

250 kHash/s with OC is what I've heard...

Christian
cbuchner1 (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 502


View Profile
March 11, 2014, 07:42:17 AM
Last edit: March 14, 2014, 04:27:54 PM by cbuchner1
 #8468

I dug into this a bit tonight.  The 'nvidia-settings' app uses a different mechanism to talk to the NVIDIA driver than nvidia-smi does, and so the availability and range of information it provides is different in several cases.  NVIDIA has open-sourced the code for nvidia-settings, and as a result the API for communicating with the driver via an X server extension is also available as open source.  In comparing what I can query from that API vs. what I can query through the more CUDA-oriented NVML interfaces, the lineage of the two interfaces becomes obvious.  There are a few nice bits of information that currently don't appear to be available via NVML such as the utilization percentage for the hardware video encoder/decoder on the Kepler chips, additional temperature sensors, fan RPMs, and other PCIe and utilization information that NVML currently reports only for Tesla GPUs (or at least so it would seem).   The one thing I don't like about using the nvidia-settings methods for querying data from the X server is that there are plenty of cases where you'd rather not run an X server if you don't need it, and the NVML library and nvidia-smi work great in such a case while nvidia-settings and it's own NV-CONTROL X extension are not usable in that scenario.  It is possible that NVIDIA might be convinced to add some of the key missing data from nvidia-settings into nvidia-smi, but we'll have to see.  In the short-term I may see if I can make my code additionally talk to the X server when one is running.  We'll see how it goes.

I will raise this issue with nVidia engineers. Thank you for bringing it to my attention.

I am also not running an X server on my mining rig equipped with three GTX 780 Ti. The mainboard has onboard graphics (Intel) and I prefer to use it as it induces no lag while mining. So the NV-CONTROL X extension can't work in this setting.

Christian
cbuchner1 (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 502


View Profile
March 11, 2014, 08:01:59 AM
Last edit: March 11, 2014, 08:15:58 AM by cbuchner1
 #8469

Stratum for blake256 was fixed. Happy hashing with the github version! Strangely my hashing speed
won't currently exceed 570 kHash/s on my GTX 780, and changing the setting from 80% TDP to 106% TDP doesn't
help either. HUH?

The Google Chrome trick seems essential here: Boosts hashes on my desktop PC from 770 kHash
to 1150 kHash/s (this is for four GPUs combined)

I will now merge in some GPU temp / fan monitoring code, but I will keep this extra output optional.

Note that you can go to T1000x32 with the blake256 method (other hashing algos limit you to x24 with the T kernels)

Christian

DemosMirak
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 146
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 11, 2014, 08:11:09 AM
Last edit: March 11, 2014, 08:26:50 AM by DemosMirak
 #8470

Hello, I just installed the new 335.23 driver on my windforce 3X GTX 770, and now Cudaminer is giving the following message:
'[2014-03-11 08:58:15] Unable to query CUDA driver version! Is an nVidia driver installed?'
I use the newest version of Cudaminer given, in combination with CUDA manager (version 1.2.1). If I try to run the miner outside of manager, it starts and then rapidly disappears. My set-up is as following:

Corsair Vengeance 16 GB : 2 x 8 GB
Toshiba DT01ACA100 1 TB
Kingston SSDNow V300 120 GB
Thermalright Macho Rev.A
Intel Core i7 4770K / 3.5 GHz
Asus B85-PLUS
Gigabyte GTX 770 OC Windforce 3X
Windows 7 (completely up to date)

Edit: When I use the rollback function to get back to my previous driver, the error keeps persisting.

Edit 2: Performing a clean install as we speak.

Edit 3: The clean install did not resolve the issue, I did it twice to be sure, but the problems still persists.

BTC: 13enECLM3M3gjQDoBKouXuYFG4zXaDdDPx
LTC: LRTbQNQcRjZV51PivQdhK7zpMtJYPouqR9
cbuchner1 (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 502


View Profile
March 11, 2014, 08:12:29 AM
 #8471

Hello, I just installed the new 335.23 driver on my windforce 3X GTX 770, and now Cudaminer is giving the following message:
'[2014-03-11 08:58:15] Unable to query CUDA driver version! Is an nVidia driver installed?'
I use the newest version of Cudaminer given, in combination with CUDA manager (version 1.2.1). If I try to run the miner outside of manager, it starts and then rapidly disappears. My set-up is as following:


I would try reinstalling the driver once more with the "clean" install method (that's an optional checkbox to check during driver installation)

Christian
ManiacMiner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145
Merit: 101



View Profile
March 11, 2014, 08:32:34 AM
 #8472

Hello, I just installed the new 335.23 driver on my windforce 3X GTX 770, and now Cudaminer is giving the following message:
'[2014-03-11 08:58:15] Unable to query CUDA driver version! Is an nVidia driver installed?'
I use the newest version of Cudaminer given, in combination with CUDA manager (version 1.2.1). If I try to run the miner outside of manager, it starts and then rapidly disappears. My set-up is as following:


I would try reinstalling the driver once more with the "clean" install method (that's an optional checkbox to check during driver installation)

Christian

Or try delete old driver with this utility in safe mode http://www.guru3d.com/files_details/display_driver_uninstaller_download.html

(つ ͡๏ ͜১ ͡๏ )つ[̲̅$̲̅(̲̅5̲̅)̲̅$̲̅]ε=ʕ ͡๏ ͜১ ͡๏ʔ=з
DemosMirak
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 146
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 11, 2014, 08:51:16 AM
 #8473

Hello, I just installed the new 335.23 driver on my windforce 3X GTX 770, and now Cudaminer is giving the following message:
'[2014-03-11 08:58:15] Unable to query CUDA driver version! Is an nVidia driver installed?'
I use the newest version of Cudaminer given, in combination with CUDA manager (version 1.2.1). If I try to run the miner outside of manager, it starts and then rapidly disappears. My set-up is as following:

Corsair Vengeance 16 GB : 2 x 8 GB
Toshiba DT01ACA100 1 TB
Kingston SSDNow V300 120 GB
Thermalright Macho Rev.A
Intel Core i7 4770K / 3.5 GHz
Asus B85-PLUS
Gigabyte GTX 770 OC Windforce 3X
Windows 7 (completely up to date)

Edit: When I use the rollback function to get back to my previous driver, the error keeps persisting.

Edit 2: Performing a clean install as we speak.

Edit 3: The clean install did not resolve the issue, I did it twice to be sure, but the problems still persists.

Hello, I just installed the new 335.23 driver on my windforce 3X GTX 770, and now Cudaminer is giving the following message:
'[2014-03-11 08:58:15] Unable to query CUDA driver version! Is an nVidia driver installed?'
I use the newest version of Cudaminer given, in combination with CUDA manager (version 1.2.1). If I try to run the miner outside of manager, it starts and then rapidly disappears. My set-up is as following:


I would try reinstalling the driver once more with the "clean" install method (that's an optional checkbox to check during driver installation)

Christian

Or try delete old driver with this utility in safe mode http://www.guru3d.com/files_details/display_driver_uninstaller_download.html

The program you recommended trying did not work, as I am apparently missing the language file. What apparently did work was restarting the computer in safe mode, as it does work now, oddly enough.

BTC: 13enECLM3M3gjQDoBKouXuYFG4zXaDdDPx
LTC: LRTbQNQcRjZV51PivQdhK7zpMtJYPouqR9
DougB62
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672
Merit: 500


Banned: For Your Protection


View Profile
March 11, 2014, 09:05:42 AM
 #8474

This may already be in the thread somewhere, but there is a procedure for completely removing your previous nvidia driver install without using any third-party uninstallers, that I have used for a while now, and I haven't had any problems since using it. From Overclock.net: http://www.overclock.net/t/1150443/how-to-remove-your-nvidia-gpu-drivers/0_50
ivanlabrie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 11, 2014, 09:59:04 AM
 #8475

This may already be in the thread somewhere, but there is a procedure for completely removing your previous nvidia driver install without using any third-party uninstallers, that I have used for a while now, and I haven't had any problems since using it. From Overclock.net: http://www.overclock.net/t/1150443/how-to-remove-your-nvidia-gpu-drivers/0_50

That works just fine but using DDU (display driver uninstaller, google it) is simpler and more convenient. :p

Christian, demand Nvidia to make a 4gb equipped GTX 750 Ti please, thank you Cheesy
bigjme
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 11, 2014, 10:00:13 AM
 #8476

And get them to try and fix the need for chrome lmao

Owner of: cudamining.co.uk
cbuchner1 (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 502


View Profile
March 11, 2014, 10:01:38 AM
 #8477

And get them to try and fix the need for chrome lmao

so far I do not know how to achieve the same effect. Should I open a DirectX window and render a little spinning cube or what Wink

Ah, now I know: I will have to integrate flash based advertising!
restless
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1151
Merit: 1001


View Profile
March 11, 2014, 10:02:18 AM
 #8478

The Google Chrome trick seems essential here: Boosts hashes on my desktop PC from 770 kHash
to 1150 kHash/s (this is for four GPUs combined)

What's the reason for needing this Chrome trick? Card thinking it should enter 2d state?
bigjme
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 11, 2014, 10:31:01 AM
 #8479

And get them to try and fix the need for chrome lmao

so far I do not know how to achieve the same effect. Should I open a DirectX window and render a little spinning cube or what Wink

Ah, now I know: I will have to integrate flash based advertising!

Hey if nvidia want to send you adverts I'm fine to have them ;-) support Christian through nvidia ads!

Owner of: cudamining.co.uk
djm34
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 1050


View Profile WWW
March 11, 2014, 11:11:06 AM
 #8480

ok I ran a bit with the blake algo. Now it works.
The 780ti is able to reach at T2880x32 975~980Mhash/s overclocked around 950Mhash/s on stock setting.
The strange thing is the TDP which is well below 100% while running and the gpu usage is around 97%

How do you turn-on the temp monitoring ? I didn't see it.


On an other matter, I bought a new USB riser. With the previous I had lots of crash and freeze and with the new I haven't got one since I installed it.
Apparently the problem was due to some readout problem. I saw before a crash that MSI Afterburner was reporting a
temperature of 184°C (causing I suppose a panic crash...) while the card was running at 70°C strangely this was not seen
in the HWinfo log file... (VRM temps was ok too...)
So basically over 10 risers you should expect to have a few bad ones...

djm34 facebook page
BTC: 1NENYmxwZGHsKFmyjTc5WferTn5VTFb7Ze
Pledge for neoscrypt ccminer to that address: 16UoC4DmTz2pvhFvcfTQrzkPTrXkWijzXw
Pages: « 1 ... 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 400 401 402 403 404 405 406 407 408 409 410 411 412 413 414 415 416 417 418 419 420 421 422 423 [424] 425 426 427 428 429 430 431 432 433 434 435 436 437 438 439 440 441 442 443 444 445 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 ... 1135 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!