Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 10:14:09 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 [90] 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 ... 744 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2035663 times)
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
April 05, 2012, 06:01:31 PM
 #1781

You don't need to specify $BITCOIN_USER or $BITCOIN_PASS if the user running p2pool has it in their bitcoin.conf
You do if you want p2pool to be able to connect to your Bitcoin instance.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
1481451249
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481451249

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481451249
Reply with quote  #2

1481451249
Report to moderator
1481451249
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481451249

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481451249
Reply with quote  #2

1481451249
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481451249
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481451249

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481451249
Reply with quote  #2

1481451249
Report to moderator
1481451249
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481451249

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481451249
Reply with quote  #2

1481451249
Report to moderator
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
April 05, 2012, 06:03:40 PM
 #1782

You don't need to specify $BITCOIN_USER or $BITCOIN_PASS if the user running p2pool has it in their bitcoin.conf
You do if you want p2pool to be able to connect to your Bitcoin instance.
No. You don't.

This is the command I use to start p2pool.

Code:
python ./run_p2pool.py -a 1HZY2Bks6HjTXFxXSj8ivhWCnkosypiUxR --p2pool-port 8335 -w 8336 --merged http://namecoindrpcuser:pass@127.0.0.1:9332/ --disable-upnp -f 0.5

See any bitcoind username/password there?

Panda Mouse
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88


Gliding...


View Profile
April 05, 2012, 06:25:10 PM
 #1783

Within three months the probability of 400 samples should be at 99.56% (99.56% - 100.44%).
We have 90.6%.
This is an obvious bug.
No luck for so long demonstrates the mathematical inconsistency of assumptions.
I'm sorry, but leave the project.
I hope not for long.

Panda Mouse.
forrestv
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 510


View Profile
April 05, 2012, 06:40:28 PM
 #1784

How exactly did you compute that? That confidence interval is much tinier than is possible... From my simulations this outcome is clearly within the 95% confidence interval.

1J1zegkNSbwX4smvTdoHSanUfwvXFeuV23
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
April 05, 2012, 06:46:02 PM
 #1785

Within three months the probability of 400 samples should be at 99.56% (99.56% - 100.04%).
We have 90.6%.
This is an obvious bug.
No luck for so long demonstrates the mathematical inconsistency of assumptions.
I'm sorry, but leave the project.
I hope not for long.

Well you are free to leave but your math and thus the assumption based on it is flawed.
Panda Mouse
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88


Gliding...


View Profile
April 05, 2012, 07:03:18 PM
 #1786

How exactly did you compute that? That confidence interval is much tinier than is possible... From my simulations this outcome is clearly within the 95% confidence interval.

Well:
If there is a large population sample and the distribution of the features did not challenge the validity characteristics of the distribution in the general population with normal distribution (N (m, σ)),
we calculate the sample estimate of standard deviation (s).
Then the confidence interval for standard deviation (σ) in the general population is determined by the formula:

Where:
s - standard deviation of the sample estimate,
uα value of the random variable U (sdandarised normal distribution) (N (0,1))
determined in the same way as for the arithmetic mean.

The result - easy to calculate, is in the range of 99.56-100.44 (we have 90.6).

Panda Mouse
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
April 05, 2012, 07:14:02 PM
 #1787

What is your calculation for s ?
Standard Deviation for block length (in hashes) is likely much larger than you think.
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
April 05, 2012, 07:41:29 PM
 #1788

Please use a monte carlo simulation

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
Panda Mouse
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88


Gliding...


View Profile
April 05, 2012, 07:54:26 PM
 #1789

What is your calculation for s ?
Standard Deviation for block length (in hashes) is likely much larger than you think.

The standard deviation (s) can be easily calculated from the time of calculation blocks given on p2pool.info (Recent Blocks).
For a finite population is the mean square deviation of the differences between variable values ​​and their arithmetic mean.
The standard deviation can be calculated from the formula:

where xi is another feature value in the population, u is the expected value, N is the number of observations in the population = 400.

Panda Mouse.
Panda Mouse
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88


Gliding...


View Profile
April 05, 2012, 07:58:03 PM
 #1790

Please use a monte carlo simulation

Not a problem I made this in excel for 400 probe.
The result is exactly the same. Please try or I can send you this sheet.

BTW in last 7 days there was 2 orphaned blocks.
Why they are invisible, they should be crossed out.

Panda Mouse.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
April 05, 2012, 08:05:20 PM
 #1791

BTW in last 7 days there was 2 orphaned blocks.
Why they are invisible, they should be crossed out.

They weren't produced by the main fork of p2pool.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
April 05, 2012, 08:08:35 PM
 #1792

The standard deviation (s) can be easily calculated from the time of calculation blocks given on p2pool.info (Recent Blocks).
You can't use time.  You must use hashes and difficulty.  The avg length of a block (and expected length of a block) depends only on # of hashes and difficulty.  Technically even then there will be minor error when blocks cross over difficulty changes but it should be minimal or those blocks could be excluded.

Expected length = (2^32)(difficulty) in hashes.

To get std deviation you need the actual length of each block in hashes.
Panda Mouse
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 88


Gliding...


View Profile
April 05, 2012, 08:12:49 PM
 #1793

The standard deviation (s) can be easily calculated from the time of calculation blocks given on p2pool.info (Recent Blocks).
You can't use time.  You must use hashes and difficulty.  The avg length of a block (and expected length of a block) depends only on # of hashes and difficulty.

Expected length = (2^32)(difficulty) in hashes.

Not!!!
You are wrong.

This is only a probability and linear distribution.
The level of difficulty has nothing to do with it.
All data, together with the expected value is calculated and placed on the main page.
You just have to know how to read it!

Panda Mouse.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
April 05, 2012, 08:30:11 PM
 #1794

Well you said TIME that confused me.  Your right the length vs expected can be used but that is because it is already adjusted for what matters (hashes observed vs hashes expected).

Not sure where you are getting 400 observations.  p2pool has only found 275 blocks?

Lastly the length of block isn't a normal distribution.  It is an exponential one.

Still even using incorrect 400 observation, incorrect assumption of a normal distribution I have no idea how you determined confidence interval is ~99% to ~101% over 400 blocks.  I even tried to make mistakes and math just doesn't add up.
echris1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 124


View Profile
April 05, 2012, 08:35:46 PM
 #1795

Did anybody else's graphs at /static/graphs clear recently?

I did a git pull and restarted p2pool, now graphs are just empty.  Been running for over a day now, still all the graphs are empty, and it looks like its not even registering the miners, because the section under Miners is empty.  The old ones (rrdtool) still work fine, and the info at /static looks fine as well, but all the graphs are blank.

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
April 05, 2012, 08:40:35 PM
 #1796

I haven't done a gitpull but using latest released version my graphs didn't clear.
forrestv
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 510


View Profile
April 05, 2012, 08:56:00 PM
 #1797

That was a bug; if you pull again (as of a couple of hours ago) it will work again. No data was lost, just the graph displaying was broken.

1J1zegkNSbwX4smvTdoHSanUfwvXFeuV23
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591



View Profile WWW
April 05, 2012, 08:57:04 PM
 #1798

Did anybody else's graphs at /static/graphs clear recently?

I did a git pull and restarted p2pool, now graphs are just empty.  Been running for over a day now, still all the graphs are empty, and it looks like its not even registering the miners, because the section under Miners is empty.  The old ones (rrdtool) still work fine, and the info at /static looks fine as well, but all the graphs are blank.
I'm getting the same thing after doing a pull last night.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383



View Profile
April 05, 2012, 10:24:11 PM
 #1799

Did anybody else's graphs at /static/graphs clear recently?

I did a git pull and restarted p2pool, now graphs are just empty.  Been running for over a day now, still all the graphs are empty, and it looks like its not even registering the miners, because the section under Miners is empty.  The old ones (rrdtool) still work fine, and the info at /static looks fine as well, but all the graphs are blank.
I'm getting the same thing after doing a pull last night.

Yes, there was a bug. It effected me as well. He fixed it this morning. Do another git pull and restart p2pool. The latest pull will fix the issue.

Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
twmz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 737



View Profile
April 06, 2012, 01:38:32 AM
 #1800

BTW in last 7 days there was 2 orphaned blocks.
Why they are invisible, they should be crossed out.

They weren't produced by the main fork of p2pool.

There actually were 2 orphaned blocks made by the main fork of p2pool that were missing (because my node bitcoin node never heard about them).  I added them to p2pool.info manually.  These were in addition to the other orphaned blocks from the old p2pool fork.

Was I helpful?  1TwmzX1wBxNF2qtAJRhdKmi2WyLZ5VHRs
WoT, GPG

Bitrated user: ewal.
Pages: « 1 ... 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 [90] 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 ... 744 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!