Bitcoin Forum
July 09, 2020, 06:03:44 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 [85] 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 ... 814 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2587116 times)
dub0matic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100



View Profile
March 30, 2012, 11:48:00 PM
 #1681

Why is your intensity a 6?  Try an 8.  multiple threads hides the latency in such a tiny batch size  (intensity sets how many nonces are check in one "batch").

Also 90C?  Wow.  Not good for GPU longevity.

thanks a lot that fixed my issue

make it rain haha
btc 176MrZ3CCXGb1GqFiGaoqQpaynzYqZsW6n
1594274624
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594274624

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594274624
Reply with quote  #2

1594274624
Report to moderator
1594274624
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594274624

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594274624
Reply with quote  #2

1594274624
Report to moderator
1594274624
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594274624

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594274624
Reply with quote  #2

1594274624
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1594274624
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594274624

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594274624
Reply with quote  #2

1594274624
Report to moderator
forrestv
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 516
Merit: 514


View Profile
March 31, 2012, 12:48:43 AM
 #1682

...
Bitcoin 0.6.0 was released today, so there is no longer any reason to wait to upgrade. Please help by telling anyone that you know that hasn't upgraded to do so. Thanks!
...
Is that a Bitcoin requirement or a P2Pool requirement?

(and are there any issues with following your recommendation to upgrade to 0.6.0?)

It's a requirement for Bitcoin if you're mining and an absolute requirement for P2Pool. I don't think there are any problems with upgrading.

1J1zegkNSbwX4smvTdoHSanUfwvXFeuV23
jme621
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 360
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 31, 2012, 03:20:09 AM
Last edit: March 31, 2012, 03:36:19 AM by jme621
 #1683

so i followed the guide for windows and got my local machine to mine and run  p2pool, but how would i point my other machine running bamt to it? i tried using the username:password i setup in the rpc conf and pointed it to 127.0.0.1:9332, yes the ports open, but it did nothing. thanks in advance

127.0.0.1 is a special address for localhost

127.0.0.1 on your other machine is look back at itself not looking at the machine running p2pool.

you just need to replace 127.0.0.1 with the local IP address of the machine running p2pool.  likely it is 192.168.x.x


I tried pointing it to host machine internal ip also, 192.168.#.# but ........



chalk one up for another reason not to mess with settings after pool league and 3 or 4 pitchers of beer, i was pointing it back to the bamt machine and not the one hosting, i thought i was doing it right but the beer got to me hehe, all is good now i have it working since i put the right ip in lol. thanks for the help fellas


now, if i want to be a public node, i just use a redirection service like no-ip,  and forward 9332 to port 80 right? on windows by the way if that matters.
Fizzgig
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 31, 2012, 03:41:47 AM
 #1684

Since 0.6.0 came out I tried to get p2pool working, but failed. Once I followed all the noob friendly steps cgminer wouldn't work, I have a feeling I need an sdk, but the further down this installation rabbit hole I go the more problems I find.

Would someone be able to tell me the number of programs required to run p2pool with full functionality? I installed 5 (bitcoin, p2pool, cgminer, python, twist) and I have a feeling I need a few sdks as well, would an estimate of 10 installs be necessary to get p2pool to work? Does it depend on my hardware? Do I need to be proficient in bitcoind as well? (I ask because I run bitcoind and all I get is a black screen, I can't type anything) Thanks for the help and work you guys do.

Best Bitcoin supported browser game:
Minethings: Dig, Trade, and Fight your way to influence!
01BTC10
VIP
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756
Merit: 503



View Profile
March 31, 2012, 04:01:15 AM
 #1685

so i followed the guide for windows and got my local machine to mine and run  p2pool, but how would i point my other machine running bamt to it? i tried using the username:password i setup in the rpc conf and pointed it to 127.0.0.1:9332, yes the ports open, but it did nothing. thanks in advance

127.0.0.1 is a special address for localhost

127.0.0.1 on your other machine is look back at itself not looking at the machine running p2pool.

you just need to replace 127.0.0.1 with the local IP address of the machine running p2pool.  likely it is 192.168.x.x


I tried pointing it to host machine internal ip also, 192.168.#.# but ........



chalk one up for another reason not to mess with settings after pool league and 3 or 4 pitchers of beer, i was pointing it back to the bamt machine and not the one hosting, i thought i was doing it right but the beer got to me hehe, all is good now i have it working since i put the right ip in lol. thanks for the help fellas


now, if i want to be a public node, i just use a redirection service like no-ip,  and forward 9332 to port 80 right? on windows by the way if that matters.
No need to forward 9332 to 80 but it's better for those with proxy.
kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302
Merit: 1001



View Profile
March 31, 2012, 05:23:54 AM
 #1686

Since 0.6.0 came out I tried to get p2pool working, but failed. Once I followed all the noob friendly steps cgminer wouldn't work, I have a feeling I need an sdk, but the further down this installation rabbit hole I go the more problems I find.

Would someone be able to tell me the number of programs required to run p2pool with full functionality? I installed 5 (bitcoin, p2pool, cgminer, python, twist) and I have a feeling I need a few sdks as well, would an estimate of 10 installs be necessary to get p2pool to work? Does it depend on my hardware? Do I need to be proficient in bitcoind as well? (I ask because I run bitcoind and all I get is a black screen, I can't type anything) Thanks for the help and work you guys do.

If this is for a dedicated miner, it might be easier to just grab p2pcoin.

To troubleshoot your setup, work in three steps.  First, get bitcoind running.  Then p2pool.  Then the miner.

You need to configure bitcoind to become a background daemon, otherwise it will hold the terminal open and never write anything to it, the black screen that you describe.  Once you have the black screen, check the debug.log file.  If that file is growing, bitcoind is actually running, which would just mean that you need to configure it.

17Np17BSrpnHCZ2pgtiMNnhjnsWJ2TMqq8
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
twmz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 737
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 31, 2012, 02:17:51 PM
 #1687

Since 0.6.0 came out I tried to get p2pool working, but failed. Once I followed all the noob friendly steps cgminer wouldn't work, I have a feeling I need an sdk, but the further down this installation rabbit hole I go the more problems I find.

Would someone be able to tell me the number of programs required to run p2pool with full functionality? I installed 5 (bitcoin, p2pool, cgminer, python, twist) and I have a feeling I need a few sdks as well, would an estimate of 10 installs be necessary to get p2pool to work? Does it depend on my hardware? Do I need to be proficient in bitcoind as well? (I ask because I run bitcoind and all I get is a black screen, I can't type anything) Thanks for the help and work you guys do.

If this is for a dedicated miner, it might be easier to just grab p2pcoin.

To troubleshoot your setup, work in three steps.  First, get bitcoind running.  Then p2pool.  Then the miner.

You need to configure bitcoind to become a background daemon, otherwise it will hold the terminal open and never write anything to it, the black screen that you describe.  Once you have the black screen, check the debug.log file.  If that file is growing, bitcoind is actually running, which would just mean that you need to configure it.

P.S.  If this is not a dedicated miner, you don't have to use bitcoind anymore.  You can use Bitcoin-qt (still have to configure it to listen for RPC requests, of course).  The bug that was making bitcoin-qt unstable with p2pool has been fixed.

Was I helpful?  1TwmzX1wBxNF2qtAJRhdKmi2WyLZ5VHRs
WoT, GPG

Bitrated user: ewal.
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2126
Merit: 1001



View Profile
March 31, 2012, 03:47:17 PM
 #1688

Whoops, just updated to the newest p2pool version.

Interestingly, when restarting p2pool (the version before), I got an exception, p2pool continued, and showed -1 orphan. I still have the output if you would like to see it.

Ente
forrestv
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 516
Merit: 514


View Profile
March 31, 2012, 03:53:24 PM
 #1689

I'd like to.

Fizzgig: On Windows, all you need for p2pool is the py2exe binary I distribute. Have you ever had CGminer working before?

1J1zegkNSbwX4smvTdoHSanUfwvXFeuV23
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2126
Merit: 1001



View Profile
March 31, 2012, 04:16:19 PM
 #1690

I'd like to.

Here comes:
http://pastebin.com/w6LMKhPz

Was the first time I saw it, and didnt happen again after restart (and update)

Ente
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
March 31, 2012, 05:05:54 PM
 #1691

P.S.  If this is not a dedicated miner, you don't have to use bitcoind anymore.  You can use Bitcoin-qt (still have to configure it to listen for RPC requests, of course).  The bug that was making bitcoin-qt unstable with p2pool has been fixed.
Bitcoind is still a little lighter on resources though, right?

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
twmz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 737
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 31, 2012, 05:10:15 PM
 #1692

P.S.  If this is not a dedicated miner, you don't have to use bitcoind anymore.  You can use Bitcoin-qt (still have to configure it to listen for RPC requests, of course).  The bug that was making bitcoin-qt unstable with p2pool has been fixed.
Bitcoind is still a little lighter on resources though, right?

Not significantly.  In any case, the reason people would probably prefer using bitcoin-qt on a non-dedicated p2pool machine (i.e. the machine is their main machine that they use for other purposes) is that it has a user interface for interacting with your wallet (instead of using the command line which isn't as comfortable for some people).

Was I helpful?  1TwmzX1wBxNF2qtAJRhdKmi2WyLZ5VHRs
WoT, GPG

Bitrated user: ewal.
forrestv
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 516
Merit: 514


View Profile
March 31, 2012, 08:08:07 PM
 #1693

Here comes:
http://pastebin.com/w6LMKhPz

Was the first time I saw it, and didnt happen again after restart (and update)

Thanks for that! - P2Pool didn't handle resubmittal of a share solution well. Fixed in commit d3c794ac7.

1J1zegkNSbwX4smvTdoHSanUfwvXFeuV23
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2126
Merit: 1001



View Profile
March 31, 2012, 09:33:29 PM
 #1694

Thanks for that! - P2Pool didn't handle resubmittal of a share solution well. Fixed in commit d3c794ac7.

After so many questions, I'm happy to have been of any help! :-)

Ente
kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302
Merit: 1001



View Profile
March 31, 2012, 09:53:59 PM
 #1695

Ha!  Found a funny error message.

Quote
2012-03-31 21:52:02.374120 Peer 127.0.0.1:9333 misbehaving, will drop and ban. Reason: was connected to self
2012-03-31 21:52:02.374464 Peer 127.0.0.1:47778 misbehaving, will drop and ban. Reason: was connected to self

But why would it connect to itself in the first place?

17Np17BSrpnHCZ2pgtiMNnhjnsWJ2TMqq8
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2126
Merit: 1001



View Profile
March 31, 2012, 10:14:54 PM
 #1696

Ha!  Found a funny error message.

Quote
2012-03-31 21:52:02.374120 Peer 127.0.0.1:9333 misbehaving, will drop and ban. Reason: was connected to self
2012-03-31 21:52:02.374464 Peer 127.0.0.1:47778 misbehaving, will drop and ban. Reason: was connected to self

But why would it connect to itself in the first place?

..to have a higher connections count? Bored of the 10 only, with zero incoming!

Ente
Smoovious
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500

Scattering my bits around the net since 1980


View Profile
March 31, 2012, 10:53:15 PM
 #1697

Probably because it isn't recognizing the external IP address as being itself, so when it finds the IP from other peers, and tries it, realizing it is talking to itself, then it closes the connection.

Torrent clients have this happen too.

Often, the computer is only aware of its internal/LAN IP, so that's how this happens.

No big deal. Smiley

-- Smoov
kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302
Merit: 1001



View Profile
March 31, 2012, 11:23:29 PM
 #1698

Probably because it isn't recognizing the external IP address as being itself, so when it finds the IP from other peers, and tries it, realizing it is talking to itself, then it closes the connection.

Torrent clients have this happen too.

Often, the computer is only aware of its internal/LAN IP, so that's how this happens.

No big deal. Smiley

That makes sense, but then I would have expected the error messages to list the external IP, not the loopback.

17Np17BSrpnHCZ2pgtiMNnhjnsWJ2TMqq8
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
Smoovious
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500

Scattering my bits around the net since 1980


View Profile
March 31, 2012, 11:27:03 PM
 #1699

Nah, cuz the client sees the connection coming from 127.0.0.1, not an outside source.

-- Smoov
forrestv
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 516
Merit: 514


View Profile
April 01, 2012, 12:55:02 AM
 #1700

The switch-over happened about an hour ago, and we lost about 10% of our hash rate, for the time being. In the future, the P2Pool software will display a large warning when another change like this is going to happen in the future. In addition, if you don't know about it, there's this mailing list that I post important announcements to: http://groups.google.com/group/p2pool-notifications

Yay, now we have P2SH! Is there any interest in P2Pool allowing P2SH payouts?

1J1zegkNSbwX4smvTdoHSanUfwvXFeuV23
Pages: « 1 ... 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 [85] 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 ... 814 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!