Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2016, 10:17:01 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 [70] 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 ... 744 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2035667 times)
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 16, 2012, 11:29:01 PM
 #1381

Don't blame p2pool for your luck.

Menacing "omg i go to bitclockers" won't change anything, there is no pool operator behind p2pool, so your menace is totally useless. P2pool is open and it is not scamming you.
Yes anyone can easily verify that statement is 99.5% correct Cheesy

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
1481451421
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481451421

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481451421
Reply with quote  #2

1481451421
Report to moderator
1481451421
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481451421

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481451421
Reply with quote  #2

1481451421
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481451421
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481451421

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481451421
Reply with quote  #2

1481451421
Report to moderator
TheHarbinger
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


Why is it so damn hot in here?


View Profile
March 16, 2012, 11:36:19 PM
 #1382

Don't blame p2pool for your luck.

Menacing "omg i go to bitclockers" won't change anything, there is no pool operator behind p2pool, so your menace is totally useless. P2pool is open and it is not scamming you.
Yes anyone can easily verify that statement is 99.5% correct Cheesy

Author != operator. Thanks for playing. Here, I'll give you a consolation prize. --give-author 100



Fixed.   Grin

12Um6jfDE7q6crm1s6tSksMvda8s1hZ3Vj
twmz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 737



View Profile
March 17, 2012, 12:13:44 AM
 #1383

Fixed.   Grin

Hehe. I don't see why people make such a big deal about the default voluntary donation. I was just in a discussion where someone equated it to a mandatory fee as seen in other pools. I can disable this voluntary donation any time I want and continue to use P2Pool! Simply awesome.

I've left the donation at the default setting on my P2Pool nodes. forrestv easily deserves it.

I agree.  Lots of pools have optional donations that default to being enabled at some amount (often 0.5%, even).  I don't see this as different. 

Sometimes I hear it argued that with those other pools it's more obvious because you can see it in a web page.  I think that is B.S.  The optional donation for p2pool is not any less visible than any other setting.  The mechanism for telling other pools what your settings are is a web page.  The mechanism for telling p2pool what your settings are is the command line.  The default donation command line option is clearly documented right there next to the command line option to choose your payment address, and to the options to specify your bitcoind hostname, username, and password.

If you want to use p2pool, the reality is that you should be comfortable with the command line.  If you want to argue that that is not ideal, fine.  A GUI wrapper to p2pool might be a good thing to create.  But I think it is disingenuous to single out the donation command line option as somehow more obscure than any of the other command line options.


Was I helpful?  1TwmzX1wBxNF2qtAJRhdKmi2WyLZ5VHRs
WoT, GPG

Bitrated user: ewal.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 17, 2012, 12:39:11 AM
 #1384

So, what would be the issue with having it default to 0 ?
And I will point out well in advance that is a rigged question and answering it will most likely entrap yourself.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
echris1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 124


View Profile
March 17, 2012, 01:03:42 AM
 #1385

Hey Kano, just wanted to say thanks for your sig, I have been looking for a prop calculator for a long time.  As far as I understand it this should be fairly accurate with P2Pool as well right?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 17, 2012, 01:06:44 AM
 #1386

Hey Kano, just wanted to say thanks for your sig, I have been looking for a prop calculator for a long time.  As far as I understand it this should be fairly accurate with P2Pool as well right?
It's really just a 'what you should get' calculator.
Even I use it to avoid having to do the calculations all the time Smiley
I guess I should rename it an "expected payment" calculator and reword it appropriately Tongue

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 17, 2012, 04:28:27 AM
 #1387

And I will point out well in advance that is a rigged question and answering it will most likely entrap yourself.

Nice.

So, what would be the issue with having it default to 0 ?

Nothing.

So why isn't it?

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
March 17, 2012, 04:41:22 AM
 #1388

So why isn't it?

I wouldn't presume to know. All that matters to me is that I can change it to any value I want.
Oh OK, I misunderstood that it had to be between 0 and 100 inclusive.

That's good to know maybe I could make a deal with forrestv that if I set it to 1000 he'd pay me half Smiley
... or even set it to -100 ...

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
naima53
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile
March 17, 2012, 04:50:43 AM
 #1389

Don't blame p2pool for your luck.

Menacing "omg i go to bitclockers" won't change anything, there is no pool operator behind p2pool, so your menace is totally useless. P2pool is open and it is not scamming you.
I'm not barking at the p2pull specifically written in this thread to learn more. If luck is with me personally dropped - then why the speed? is also my speed reduced? (1440->930) Or is it the same? P2pul as always "accumulated" 17000 share and no more than "hoard" (in console), but after restarting it shows "Loading shares 22000)?? What is wrong?  Where are the other 5000 my shares?

Donate me) 16f6iWHHkVEnDReeBQPT9GwCNwUfPTXrp2
naima53
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616



View Profile
March 17, 2012, 04:57:07 AM
 #1390

In addition, I have translated into Russian subject and added to at least 30Gh to p2pool  Cheesy


https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=62698.0
two link

Donate me) 16f6iWHHkVEnDReeBQPT9GwCNwUfPTXrp2
spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1376

nec sine labore


View Profile
March 17, 2012, 08:58:38 AM
 #1391

Don't blame p2pool for your luck.

Menacing "omg i go to bitclockers" won't change anything, there is no pool operator behind p2pool, so your menace is totally useless. P2pool is open and it is not scamming you.
I'm not barking at the p2pull specifically written in this thread to learn more. If luck is with me personally dropped - then why the speed? is also my speed reduced? (1440->930) Or is it the same? P2pul as always "accumulated" 17000 share and no more than "hoard" (in console), but after restarting it shows "Loading shares 22000)?? What is wrong?  Where are the other 5000 my shares?

naima53,

those shares you see loading are not your shares, they are the p2pool shares.

Youre shares are shown in p2pool log

Code:
2012-03-17 09:55:56.765012  Local: 1632MH/s in last 10.0 minutes Local dead on arrival: ~2.2% (0-6%) Expected time to share: 28.8 minutes
2012-03-17 09:55:56.765050  Shares: 307 (17 orphan, 2 dead) Stale rate: ~6.2% (3-10%) Efficiency: ~100.2% (96-103%)

This is my main rig, 1.8 GH/s for cgminer, 1632 MH/s for p2pool in last 10.0 minutes.

My shares are those 307 (17 orphan, 2 dead).

spiccioli
Shadow383
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
March 17, 2012, 12:20:29 PM
 #1392

Strange problem with my P2Pool node.
Everything was running fine, hashrate about 1600Mh/s (600Mh/s of my own hashpower + 1Gh/s of unknown other miners I assume).
I go away for two hours, come back and it takes 20 minutes (!!!) to establish a remote desktop connection to my server. Finally get on and the p2pool window is scrolling so fast I can't read anything, whole system is almost completely unresponsive. Memory usage is about 140MB and CPU Usage is 100%.

Hard reboot vpn, find that bitcoind now refuses to connect.
Have now switched over to 0.5.3.1 and reinstalled everything and p2pool is working again, stable with 2% CPU load and 105MB of memory in use.
Any thoughts?
twmz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 737



View Profile
March 17, 2012, 01:36:50 PM
 #1393

Strange problem with my P2Pool node.
Everything was running fine, hashrate about 1600Mh/s (600Mh/s of my own hashpower + 1Gh/s of unknown other miners I assume).
I go away for two hours, come back and it takes 20 minutes (!!!) to establish a remote desktop connection to my server. Finally get on and the p2pool window is scrolling so fast I can't read anything, whole system is almost completely unresponsive. Memory usage is about 140MB and CPU Usage is 100%.

Hard reboot vpn, find that bitcoind now refuses to connect.
Have now switched over to 0.5.3.1 and reinstalled everything and p2pool is working again, stable with 2% CPU load and 105MB of memory in use.
Any thoughts?

What does the p2pool log say for the time that it was broken?  Hard to diagnose without knowing that.  The log is kept in the data/bitcoin/log file under the folder where p2pool is installed, so you can go back and look at it after the fact if you didn't delete it when you reinstalled p2pool.

Was I helpful?  1TwmzX1wBxNF2qtAJRhdKmi2WyLZ5VHRs
WoT, GPG

Bitrated user: ewal.
Diapolo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 769



View Profile WWW
March 17, 2012, 02:39:22 PM
 #1394

Are there known problems with the current p2pool build and the 0.6 RC4 build of the client? I got no share for quite some time, can be bad luck or an undiscovered problem.
I'll let it mine for some time and will report back ...

Dia

Liked my former work for Bitcoin Core? Drop me a donation via:
1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x
bitcoin:1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x?label=Diapolo
Diapolo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 769



View Profile WWW
March 17, 2012, 03:48:44 PM
 #1395

Are there known problems with the current p2pool build and the 0.6 RC4 build of the client? I got no share for quite some time, can be bad luck or an undiscovered problem.
I'll let it mine for some time and will report back ...

Dia

Running RC4 without problems for 8+ hours. Everything looks normal.

Still no share, what is your hash-rate?

Dia

Liked my former work for Bitcoin Core? Drop me a donation via:
1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x
bitcoin:1PwnvixzVAKnAqp8LCV8iuv7ohzX2pbn5x?label=Diapolo
echris1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 124


View Profile
March 17, 2012, 04:26:41 PM
 #1396

Are there known problems with the current p2pool build and the 0.6 RC4 build of the client? I got no share for quite some time, can be bad luck or an undiscovered problem.
I'll let it mine for some time and will report back ...

Dia

Running RC4 without problems for 8+ hours. Everything looks normal.

Still no share, what is your hash-rate?

Dia

Dia, I had a day like that the other day.   Ended up with a few big gaps with no shares.  Try a reboot, and a git pull on p2pool.  I just updated bitcoind to rc4 myself yesterday, everything seems pretty normal.  With 2.3GH/s I get about .40 payout.


--edit---
Oops, sorry I actually am using rc3 in linux.
Shadow383
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
March 17, 2012, 04:38:44 PM
 #1397

Strange problem with my P2Pool node.
Everything was running fine, hashrate about 1600Mh/s (600Mh/s of my own hashpower + 1Gh/s of unknown other miners I assume).
I go away for two hours, come back and it takes 20 minutes (!!!) to establish a remote desktop connection to my server. Finally get on and the p2pool window is scrolling so fast I can't read anything, whole system is almost completely unresponsive. Memory usage is about 140MB and CPU Usage is 100%.

Hard reboot vpn, find that bitcoind now refuses to connect.
Have now switched over to 0.5.3.1 and reinstalled everything and p2pool is working again, stable with 2% CPU load and 105MB of memory in use.
Any thoughts?

What does the p2pool log say for the time that it was broken?  Hard to diagnose without knowing that.  The log is kept in the data/bitcoin/log file under the folder where p2pool is installed, so you can go back and look at it after the fact if you didn't delete it when you reinstalled p2pool.
Haven't got the logs grabbed off the server yet, but it happened again, node hashrate grew from ~1100Mhash/s on the restart to ~2Gh/s over the course of a few hours (that time ~850Mhash of my stuff, plus whoever's directing shares my way), then this happened:

Huh
Schleicher
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630



View Profile
March 17, 2012, 05:02:44 PM
 #1398

I just downloaded the latest code from github.
This is what happens when I start p2pool:
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/34410241/gitnotfound.png
Windows complains about an unknown "git" command.

Bitcoin donations: 1H2BHSyuwLP9vqt2p3bK9G3mDJsAi7qChw
ancow
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 373


View Profile WWW
March 17, 2012, 05:10:36 PM
 #1399

p2pool tries to use git to get its version number - no harm done if it can't.

BTC: 1GAHTMdBN4Yw3PU66sAmUBKSXy2qaq2SF4
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
March 17, 2012, 05:23:33 PM
 #1400

p2pool tries to use git to get its version number - no harm done if it can't.
I think you can look at '/path/to/p2pool/.git/ORIG_HEAD' to get the current version and then you don't need to use git.

Pages: « 1 ... 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 [70] 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 ... 744 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!