Bitcoin Forum
December 14, 2017, 01:18:05 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 [95] 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 ... 201 »
  Print  
Author Topic: 1080Ti Specific - Best mining option  (Read 312471 times)
grchina
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238



View Profile
September 07, 2017, 08:58:34 PM
 #1881

Paying 5k for rig then try to save extra 100$ is just not worth it imo

1513214285
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513214285

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513214285
Reply with quote  #2

1513214285
Report to moderator
1513214285
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513214285

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513214285
Reply with quote  #2

1513214285
Report to moderator
1513214285
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513214285

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513214285
Reply with quote  #2

1513214285
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513214285
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513214285

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513214285
Reply with quote  #2

1513214285
Report to moderator
1513214285
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513214285

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513214285
Reply with quote  #2

1513214285
Report to moderator
1513214285
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513214285

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513214285
Reply with quote  #2

1513214285
Report to moderator
joshuajones02
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
September 07, 2017, 09:21:34 PM
 #1882

Paying 5k for rig then try to save extra 100$ is just not worth it imo

x2, makes zero sense

| World Fintech Startups | Microsoft Azure Partner | $1,5 M Raised During pre-ICO |
     BANKEX - Proof-of-Asset Protocol     
| WHITE PAPER | BLOGSLACKTELEGRAMBITCOINTALKGITHUBTWITTERYOUTUBEFACEBOOK |☰
Temporel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
September 07, 2017, 09:32:04 PM
 #1883

I am aware  of all PSU differences.
I also believe,that 99% of PSUs made in the same place,some city in China,probably called PSU-city...thats how they make it,they build a new town to pruduce one specific thing.
I saw a whole city that makes socks only.
So...to the left goes PSU with brand label,to the right goes PSU with some local label for 1/2 or 1/3 of the original price.
They both have gold or platinum certificate,and they are the same.
You're free to choose if you wish to pay double price for a label.

they really arent all the same and no, most of them arent made at the same place, you are just being silly.
But I do agree that there is a lot of bs regarding PS. I probably installed and sold over a thousand in my life and the most expensive ones have the same amount of defects/returns.

Most of my rigs runs on gold PS (but bronze in my computers) and a few of them on platinum but only because there was a deal and/or thats all that was available the day I bought them.
Fun fact, I had less problem (no problem at all actually) with cheap bronze Rosewill than I had with gold Corsair or EVGA.

klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
September 07, 2017, 11:06:45 PM
 #1884

I am aware  of all PSU differences.
I also believe,that 99% of PSUs made in the same place,some city in China,probably called PSU-city...thats how they make it,they build a new town to pruduce one specific thing.
I saw a whole city that makes socks only.
So...to the left goes PSU with brand label,to the right goes PSU with some local label for 1/2 or 1/3 of the original price.
They both have gold or platinum certificate,and they are the same.
You're free to choose if you wish to pay double price for a label.

they really arent all the same and no, most of them arent made at the same place, you are just being silly.
But I do agree that there is a lot of bs regarding PS. I probably installed and sold over a thousand in my life and the most expensive ones have the same amount of defects/returns.

Most of my rigs runs on gold PS (but bronze in my computers) and a few of them on platinum but only because there was a deal and/or thats all that was available the day I bought them.
Fun fact, I had less problem (no problem at all actually) with cheap bronze Rosewill than I had with gold Corsair or EVGA.

My experience is pretty much the same: run the PSU within its limits, and it will last you well. Ive used over a dozen various server and ATX power supplies (mostly for BTC mining) and all worked fine. I went for gold rated models mostly, and many i actually bought used locally (typically gamers downgrading it when they upgrade an sli/crossfire rig)

However, my understanding is that generally the psus made with slightly better quality tend to show it through more precise/stable voltage, whereas cheaper ones might be a bit sloppier under higher loads (ie: <11.8V, or 4.85V). particularly for bitcoin mining, this isnt a problem IMO. But for performance desktop systems (#pcmasterrace), its known to be a cause of stability problems.

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
polylogic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238

ʕʘ̅͜ʘ̅ʔ


View Profile
September 07, 2017, 11:43:35 PM
 #1885

well, i recently had some new experience with psu.
got me an asic which should only pull 400w, so i brought 700w cheapst psu (coolermaster) for it.
mining was stable for 1 day. after that mining offline, psu dead.
so i returned the psu and got a slighlty more expensive one ($10 more, thermaltake), still 700w
this one only lasted 5min! another dead psu.
now im running the high class brand (bequite) 700w psu, $40 more than the cheapest.
and its working for 2 days now. i also got another (corsair) 750w in case something goes wrong again :/

dont save on psu.

▀     DeepOnion  |  TOR Integrated & Secured  [ Facebook  Telegram  Bitcointalk  Twitter  Youtube  Reddit ]     ▀
Your Anonymity Guaranteed  ★  Your Assets Secured by TOR  ★  Guard Your Privacy!   ❱❱❱ JOIN AIRDROP NOW!
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬  File Authenticity Guaranteed by DeepVault  ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
Temporel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
September 08, 2017, 12:04:20 AM
 #1886

well, i recently had some new experience with psu.
got me an asic which should only pull 400w, so i brought 700w cheapst psu (coolermaster) for it.
mining was stable for 1 day. after that mining offline, psu dead.
so i returned the psu and got a slighlty more expensive one ($10 more, thermaltake), still 700w
this one only lasted 5min! another dead psu.
now im running the high class brand (bequite) 700w psu, $40 more than the cheapest.
and its working for 2 days now. i also got another (corsair) 750w in case something goes wrong again :/

dont save on psu.

sorry but this is bad luck and nothing else.
edit: and if you think Coolermaster and Thermaltake bronze are the cheap ones then you dont know much about psu. Try to find a "noname" grey psu, 500 watts or more, open it and you will understand the meaning of cheap.
polylogic
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238

ʕʘ̅͜ʘ̅ʔ


View Profile
September 08, 2017, 12:13:11 AM
 #1887

sorry but this is bad luck and nothing else.

maybe, but the first two didnt have the certificate.
the current bequite has a silver certificate.
the spare corsair is bronze.

its not just a label.
these labels are proof that people tested the quality to its limits and it survive a certain situation.

mining is using psu to the max. 24/7 ...
those cheap psus are not made for that. they will fail on you.
but yes, also certified ones fail. dust and high usage will degrade the hardware. the weakest link will break


edit: and if you think Coolermaster and Thermaltake bronze are the cheap ones then you dont know much about psu. Try to find a "noname" grey psu, 500 watts or more, open it and you will understand the meaning of cheap.

well, here are some local prices:

coolermaster 700w (no cert): €60
thermaltake 700w (no cert): €70
bequite 700w (silver): €100


i would love to see a picture and the difference in the noname psu vs a high quality one Smiley
very interresting. im sure you are right. cheap in my case were the local instant available options.


▀     DeepOnion  |  TOR Integrated & Secured  [ Facebook  Telegram  Bitcointalk  Twitter  Youtube  Reddit ]     ▀
Your Anonymity Guaranteed  ★  Your Assets Secured by TOR  ★  Guard Your Privacy!   ❱❱❱ JOIN AIRDROP NOW!
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬  File Authenticity Guaranteed by DeepVault  ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
bmartin44
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
September 08, 2017, 04:46:05 AM
 #1888

well, i recently had some new experience with psu.
got me an asic which should only pull 400w, so i brought 700w cheapst psu (coolermaster) for it.
mining was stable for 1 day. after that mining offline, psu dead.
so i returned the psu and got a slighlty more expensive one ($10 more, thermaltake), still 700w
this one only lasted 5min! another dead psu.
now im running the high class brand (bequite) 700w psu, $40 more than the cheapest.
and its working for 2 days now. i also got another (corsair) 750w in case something goes wrong again :/

dont save on psu.

LOL, I think you must be in bad luck... I experienced coolermaster PSU fault after 1+years, but I  can't believe that you have it to run only 1 day, and thermaltake in 5 minutes. Do you suspect the IT store problem, such as bad handling on the hardware, etc?

BellicoseBenny
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
September 08, 2017, 05:00:54 AM
 #1889

First personal rig I ever built i went cheap on the PSU

Damn thing would kill itself every time I put some load on the GPU

Never again

10 year warranty is worth a lot relative to a year or nothing
JWT
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48


View Profile
September 08, 2017, 07:38:37 AM
 #1890

Either you buy the EVGA 1600 for $400-450,or buy a 1800 watt Chinese PSU for $127.
So it's not $100,it's $250-300 difference in price.
And yeah,it's not grey,it's black and nice with hundreds of 5 star reviews on Ali,gold certification and 2 years warranty.
If anything will ever burn,I'll write about it here.

Btw,being for like 20 years near PCs and never had a problem with anything,except HDDs.
Either something doesn't function properly right from the box,or it works forever before meeting the new owner.
What am I doing wrong?Smiley
Rimtu
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile
September 08, 2017, 08:33:35 AM
 #1891

What OC settings you guys use for equicash (ZCASH, ZEN, KMD,....).. I can't get more than 690Sols per card... And I read here some of you guys get 800?
tpd09
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile
September 08, 2017, 09:17:17 AM
 #1892

What OC settings you guys use for equicash (ZCASH, ZEN, KMD,....).. I can't get more than 690Sols per card... And I read here some of you guys get 800?

its a silicon lottery - low end 1080tis get 680 up to 800 with high end brands/models

Dr_Victor
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 287


View Profile
September 08, 2017, 09:22:45 AM
 #1893

What OC settings you guys use for equicash (ZCASH, ZEN, KMD,....).. I can't get more than 690Sols per card... And I read here some of you guys get 800?

its a silicon lottery - low end 1080tis get 680 up to 800 with high end Samsung memory
What are you talking about? GTX 1080ti has GDDR5X Micron memory.
tpd09
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182



View Profile
September 08, 2017, 09:49:59 AM
 #1894

What OC settings you guys use for equicash (ZCASH, ZEN, KMD,....).. I can't get more than 690Sols per card... And I read here some of you guys get 800?

its a silicon lottery - low end 1080tis get 680 up to 800 with high end Samsung memory
What are you talking about? GTX 1080ti has GDDR5X Micron memory.

I meant high end brands/models

grchina
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238



View Profile
September 08, 2017, 10:00:37 AM
 #1895

Only micron makes gddrx5 memory,they are on 1080 and 1080ti.Samsung make for 1070

Leass
Full Member
***
Online Online

Activity: 154


View Profile
September 08, 2017, 11:12:15 AM
 #1896

Only micron makes gddrx5 memory,they are on 1080 and 1080ti.Samsung make for 1070
Yeah but what tdp means was that even that those cards have same memory it's still silicon lottery. I have 3x1080ti Gigabyte Gaming X, on same OC, on skein they hash: 930/945/970
It's not a lot difference but 3x lowest vs 3x highest  would make some diff (~120mh).

██████████  ✔  PoSToken - First PoS Smart Contract Token - Get Your Free Tokens Now!
█     PoSToken    █  ✔  Free Airdrop ●  No-ICO  ●  100% Annual Interest First Year
██████████  ✔  ANN ●  WebSite  ●  Twitter  ●  Slack  ●  Whitepaper
Rimtu
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34


View Profile
September 08, 2017, 02:15:23 PM
 #1897

I have MSI 1080Ti Gaming X... that should be in higher end... but I still get less than 700Sols

And you are wrong... i also have some Gigabyte 1080Ti - and they do mine little bit less, but only because they have lover clock by default... if I OC them so they have the same MHz... they mine the same, and have same stability an power usage... they get a bit more hot 4-5 degrees Celsius (but that's because MSI have better heat sink)

So is anybody willing to share their Ahterburner settings for mining Equicash?
easyrimka
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210


Blocklancer Freelance on the Blockchain


View Profile
September 08, 2017, 02:20:23 PM
 #1898

this is all because of ASIC number, check your asic quality, high numbers mean high quality
all GPU have same spec's, but in the production line, some chipset are better than others, for example, if the chipset was cut in the middle of the waffer, it will be the best one, and chipset cut at the edge of the wafer, will have normal spec's. You can check the ASIC number using GPUZ

KaydenC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


Developer of EscrowMyEther dApp


View Profile WWW
September 08, 2017, 02:57:34 PM
 #1899

Anyone mining SIGT not having their balance show up in cryptopia? I use supernova and mine directly to exchange.
It works before the halving, but today although the deposits are confirmed on block explorer, they didn't show up in cryptopia.

Check out EscrowMyEther, a secure and convenient platform to transact in Eth with escrow protection. http://escrowmyether.com/
I offer escrow services for 1.25%  fee: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2221107
2x Rx Vega 64 for sale - $1200 shipped. Pm me
lentyna
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
September 08, 2017, 05:06:26 PM
 #1900


Is SIGT still the best to mine with 1080ti? I've tried other coins but always going back to SIGT.

Pages: « 1 ... 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 [95] 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 ... 201 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!