Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2018, 02:35:38 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 [67] 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 ... 159 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Any word on amd vega hash rates?  (Read 200097 times)
aid77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 26, 2017, 10:27:12 AM
 #1321

Why such on experiments with noname PSU? Why not take branded one?

If it PSU, why different LED indication on cards?

How many risers per one SATA or molex power cable? All 4 risers or 2 and 2?

One riser(molex) per one cable.
1540262138
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540262138

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540262138
Reply with quote  #2

1540262138
Report to moderator
1540262138
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540262138

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540262138
Reply with quote  #2

1540262138
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540262138
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540262138

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540262138
Reply with quote  #2

1540262138
Report to moderator
1540262138
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540262138

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540262138
Reply with quote  #2

1540262138
Report to moderator
1540262138
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540262138

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540262138
Reply with quote  #2

1540262138
Report to moderator
Michael20
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 101
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 26, 2017, 11:46:49 AM
 #1322

How loud is it when optimized wattage? Possible in living room or office?
A62662
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 26, 2017, 04:24:06 PM
 #1323

How loud is it when optimized wattage? Possible in living room or office?

Depends on how sensible you are to sounds, that being fan noise, you would certainly be able to hear it.
Haidong Liang
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 60
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 26, 2017, 04:46:01 PM
 #1324

How loud is it when optimized wattage? Possible in living room or office?

Depends on how sensible you are to sounds, that being fan noise, you would certainly be able to hear it.

You need to reduce the voltage of the GPU and also reduce the frequency. The lower the power consumption, the lower the noise.
l1xx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 26, 2017, 10:18:31 PM
 #1325



I have a question of the ppl having stable hashrate over or close to 1900+ H/s - what kind of settings are you using with VEGA 64 ?

I have trouble getting it stable at 2016/1600, so I am using 1900/1600, but on the  cards that are fixed with the first Oldcomer's registry mod I get around 1800 ea. The other one is slightly better, but I need to fix the registry on it too, as its probably consuming more power so - can you suggest any really good settings (and maybe link to reg file) ?
mmarkomarko
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 26, 2017, 10:43:02 PM
 #1326

How loud is it when optimized wattage? Possible in living room or office?

My two vegas were too loud for the office even with music playing so had to move them to the hallway. Living room for me would be a nono.

The main issue is that once you downclock the gpu and overclock the ram the card gets stupid and allows the ram to reach 65 degrees at which point it trottles thus reducing performance. To overcome this you then need to set the fan to at least 3000rpm which gets quite noisy!

So I would certainly say avoid vegas if noise is an issue...
R0mi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 305
Merit: 148

Theranos Coin - IoT + micro-blood arrays = Moon!


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 12:15:57 AM
 #1327


Quote

My two vegas were too loud for the office even with music playing so had to move them to the hallway. Living room for me would be a nono.

The main issue is that once you downclock the gpu and overclock the ram the card gets stupid and allows the ram to reach 65 degrees at which point it trottles thus reducing performance. To overcome this you then need to set the fan to at least 3000rpm which gets quite noisy!

So I would certainly say avoid vegas if noise is an issue...

Or try this maybe:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=THaMlkNDzYs

Walton Chain CEO Mo' Bling: "Walton Chain will be the Qualcomm + Cisco in the blockchain industry, the ‘Google’ of the Blockchain."  It's December 1999, do you know how your shitcoin holdings are doing?  Magic 8 ball market analysis: www.doiownashitcoin.com
R0mi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 305
Merit: 148

Theranos Coin - IoT + micro-blood arrays = Moon!


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 04:01:27 AM
 #1328

Sapphire RX Vega 56 sold by NewEgg.com on eBay w/free shipping:  $419

Walton Chain CEO Mo' Bling: "Walton Chain will be the Qualcomm + Cisco in the blockchain industry, the ‘Google’ of the Blockchain."  It's December 1999, do you know how your shitcoin holdings are doing?  Magic 8 ball market analysis: www.doiownashitcoin.com
Rabinovitch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1498
Merit: 1015



View Profile
October 27, 2017, 04:24:07 AM
 #1329

Sapphire RX Vega 56 sold by NewEgg.com on eBay w/free shipping:  $419

I have 2 such cards. They can't work normally with 950 MHz HBM overclock... Should I maybe rise HBM voltage?..

From Siberia with love!
Never do any business with Kirill Stepanenko (Volgograd, Russia)
Пpoфeccиoнaльнo зaнимaюcь paзвёpтывaниeм фepм (ASIC, GPU, BURST), oбopyдoвaниeм пoмeщeний для мaйнингa.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2254
Merit: 1363


Avalon 841 rocks


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 04:24:48 AM
 #1330

Sapphire RX Vega 56 sold by NewEgg.com on eBay w/free shipping:  $419
pretty good price.

Maybe I will grab it.

I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net...
I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
Permonik
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 181
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 10:49:21 AM
 #1331

During the sunday, I will try new driver with 10x sapphire rx vega 64 limited edition on single mobo 110 btc+.
I am courious if I can use the file for register mod powerplay for blockchain driver on this new one too.
tarui
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 11:32:20 AM
 #1332

Sapphire RX Vega 56 sold by NewEgg.com on eBay w/free shipping:  $419

I have 2 such cards. They can't work normally with 950 MHz HBM overclock... Should I maybe rise HBM voltage?..

no wonder they are so cheap.  Huh
Mythic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 12:13:30 PM
 #1333

I hadn't originally planned on putting this out there, but some other asshole decided to charge a fee for this info. Fuck that guy. Here's a fix for reduced hashrate and a method for running 4+ Vega at full speed while mining XMR.

Basic Users:

1. Use the Blockchain drivers.
2. Open up your device manager.
3. Open up the "Display Adapters" dropdown.
4. Right click on one of your Vega's.
5. Disable it.
6. Wait a few seconds.
7. Right click on the Vega you just disabled.
8. Re-enable it.
9. Repeat steps 4-8 for the rest of your cards.
10. Enjoy mining at full speed with as many Vega as you damn well please. Probably.

Advanced Users:

The previously described process is a bit of a pain in the ass. Let's automate it.

New Procedure

1. Get your hands on the Windows Device Console (Devcon.exe). This will let you disable/enable devices from console.
2. Create a batch file in the same folder as devcon.exe with the following lines in it:
Code:
cd %~dp0
timeout /t 5
devcon.exe disable "PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F"
timeout /t 5
devcon.exe enable "PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F"
3. This will selectively disable/enable all the Vega cards you currently have in your system. Thanks to bytiges for noting that killing all the display adapters might not be a good idea for those using iGPU.
4. Run the batch file as an administrator at login, or whenever you lose hashrate on your cards. Enjoy never having to toggle the HBCC switch again.

Outdated Procedure

1. Get your hands on the Windows Device Console (Devcon.exe). This will let you disable/enable devices from console.
2. Run the command devcon.exe FindAll * to generate a list of all the currently attached devices and their hardware IDs.
3. Search your newly generated list for "Radeon RX Vega." You should find something like this:
Code:
PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7 : Radeon RX Vega
4. The part to the left of the colon is what you need. Shocking, I know. Put that thing into a batch file that looks something like this:
Code:
@echo on
cd C:\Users\Mythic\Desktop\Startup
timeout /t 5
devcon.exe disable PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7
timeout /t 15
devcon.exe enable PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7
timeout /t 15
OverdriveNTool.exe -p0Vega0 -p1Vega1 -p2Vega2 -p3Vega3 -p4Vega4 -p5Vega5 -p6Vega6
timeout /t 10
cd C:\Users\Mythic\Desktop\xmr-stak-amd
xmr-stak-amd.exe
5. Run your batch file at startup as an administrator. Enjoy never having to toggle the HBCC switch again.

FAQ:

Q: So, Mythic, how exactly does this enable HBCC on cards 5-7?

A: It doesn't! HBCC Does nothing to improve your hashrate! Turns out the drivers are just shit and are bugged when Windows first boots up. Who would have guessed?

Q: But Mythic, does that mean I don't need 16 GB of ram to run my cards at full speed?

A: Correct! 4 GB of ram is completely sufficient!

Q: If I wanted to donate some pizza money to the broke ass college student that typed this up, how would I do so?

A: You ask the best questions! I doubt I'll get anything before more well known people/websites copy everything I just said (with no credit, obviously), but here are some addresses just in case.
          XMR: 42e8AWjcirkBDzCNnSjPxeGJeht71kFfWcoxxCWsxe8HZqP29NruDsxcvVSjbKw17AUDepopK7ZYCUn mRvcGS9kBT5XWhMQ
          ETH: 0x74Ed2CA095Dd3aE98D88d5ca1dDb77E752152938
Django69
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 72
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 12:18:32 PM
 #1334

thanks for sharing, i have found the same process when i look at the other hbcc-activate program yesterday !
Mythic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 12:22:31 PM
 #1335

thanks for sharing, i have found the same process when i look at the other hbcc-activate program yesterday !

No problem! Just to set the record straight, I didn't copy this from the other guy. I actually discovered this last Thursday, after spending days running through pretty much every other possibility (Linux, virtual machines, etc). Kind of weird how people tend to discover things at around the same time.
phase2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 12:56:54 PM
 #1336

ppl would try to sell every step:p
oskar_n8
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 01:29:28 PM
 #1337

I hadn't originally planned on putting this out there, but some other asshole decided to charge a fee for this info. Fuck that guy. Here's how you run 4+ Vega at full speed while mining XMR.

Basic Users:

1. Use the Blockchain drivers.
2. Open up your device manager.
3. Open up the "Display Adapters" dropdown.
4. Right click on one of your Vega's.
5. Disable that fucker.
6. Wait a few seconds.
7. Right click on the Vega you just disabled.
8. Re-enable that fucker.
9. Repeat steps 4-8 for the rest of your cards.
10. Enjoy mining at full speed with as many Vega as you damn well please. Probably.

Advanced Users:

The previously described process is a bit of a pain in the ass. Let's automate it.

1. Get your hands on the Windows Device Console (Devcon.exe). This will let you disable/enable devices from console.
2. Run the command devcon.exe FindAll * to generate a list of all the currently attached devices and their hardware IDs.
3. Search your newly generated list for "Radeon RX Vega." You should find something like this:
Code:
PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7 : Radeon RX Vega
4. The part to the left of the colon is what you need. Shocking, I know. Put that thing into a batch file that looks something like this:
Code:
@echo on
cd C:\Users\Mythic\Desktop\Startup
timeout /t 5
devcon.exe disable PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7
timeout /t 15
devcon.exe enable PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7
timeout /t 15
OverdriveNTool.exe -p0Vega0 -p1Vega1 -p2Vega2 -p3Vega3 -p4Vega4 -p5Vega5 -p6Vega6
timeout /t 10
cd C:\Users\Mythic\Desktop\xmr-stak-amd
xmr-stak-amd.exe
5. Run your batch file at startup as an administrator. Enjoy never having to toggle the HBCC switch again.

FAQ:

Q: So, Mythic, how exactly does this enable HBCC on cards 5-7?

A: It doesn't! HBCC Does nothing to improve your hashrate! Turns out the drivers are just shit and are bugged when Windows first boots up. Who would have guessed?

Q: But Mythic, does that mean I don't need 16 GB of ram to run my cards at full speed?

A: Correct! 4 GB of ram is completely sufficient!

Q: If I wanted to donate some pizza money to the broke ass college student that typed this up, how would I do so?

A: You ask the best questions! I doubt I'll get anything before more well known people/websites copy everything I just said (with no credit, obviously), but here are some addresses just in case.
          XMR: 42e8AWjcirkBDzCNnSjPxeGJeht71kFfWcoxxCWsxe8HZqP29NruDsxcvVSjbKw17AUDepopK7ZYCUn mRvcGS9kBT5XWhMQ
          ETH: 0x74Ed2CA095Dd3aE98D88d5ca1dDb77E752152938
Thank you for sharing! Smiley
R0mi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 305
Merit: 148

Theranos Coin - IoT + micro-blood arrays = Moon!


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 01:39:49 PM
 #1338

I hadn't originally planned on putting this out there, but some other asshole decided to charge a fee for this info. Fuck that guy. Here's how you run 4+ Vega at full speed while mining XMR.

Basic Users:

1. Use the Blockchain drivers.
2. Open up your device manager.
3. Open up the "Display Adapters" dropdown.
4. Right click on one of your Vega's.
5. Disable that fucker.
6. Wait a few seconds.
7. Right click on the Vega you just disabled.
8. Re-enable that fucker.
9. Repeat steps 4-8 for the rest of your cards.
10. Enjoy mining at full speed with as many Vega as you damn well please. Probably.
          XMR: 42e8AWjcirkBDzCNnSjPxeGJeht71kFfWcoxxCWsxe8HZqP29NruDsxcvVSjbKw17AUDepopK7ZYCUn mRvcGS9kBT5XWhMQ
          ETH: 0x74Ed2CA095Dd3aE98D88d5ca1dDb77E752152938

Interesting.  I was banging my head against the wall trying to get a third Vega running on an MSI X370 Ryzen build.  I noticed that if I went into the Registry and disabled Crossfire and ULPS, the third card would show up, but there were still problems.

Question:  the command to launch OverdriveNTool -p0Vega0 -p1Vega1...  is that pulling up separately saved profiles for each Vega card and applying them, or something else?

Thanks.

Walton Chain CEO Mo' Bling: "Walton Chain will be the Qualcomm + Cisco in the blockchain industry, the ‘Google’ of the Blockchain."  It's December 1999, do you know how your shitcoin holdings are doing?  Magic 8 ball market analysis: www.doiownashitcoin.com
Mythic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 01:53:11 PM
 #1339

Question:  the command to launch OverdriveNTool -p0Vega0 -p1Vega1...  is that pulling up separately saved profiles for each Vega card and applying them, or something else?

That's exactly what it does. Every card can undervolt to varying degrees, so I have different profiles with different voltages for each card. From the OverdriveNTool documentation:

Code:
Command Line:
-p[gpu_id]"Name"
apply profile "Name" to GPU with id=[gpu_id], silently
stueng
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 04:00:17 PM
 #1340

I can confirm this is working with 8 cards
Pages: « 1 ... 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 [67] 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 ... 159 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!