Bitcoin Forum
April 26, 2024, 07:55:17 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 [67] 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 ... 157 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Any word on amd vega hash rates?  (Read 202545 times)
Mythic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 12:13:30 PM
Last edit: October 28, 2017, 10:58:54 AM by Mythic
 #1321

I hadn't originally planned on putting this out there, but some other asshole decided to charge a fee for this info. Fuck that guy. Here's a fix for reduced hashrate and a method for running 4+ Vega at full speed while mining XMR.

Basic Users:

1. Use the Blockchain drivers.
2. Open up your device manager.
3. Open up the "Display Adapters" dropdown.
4. Right click on one of your Vega's.
5. Disable it.
6. Wait a few seconds.
7. Right click on the Vega you just disabled.
8. Re-enable it.
9. Repeat steps 4-8 for the rest of your cards.
10. Enjoy mining at full speed with as many Vega as you damn well please. Probably.

Advanced Users:

The previously described process is a bit of a pain in the ass. Let's automate it.

New Procedure

1. Get your hands on the Windows Device Console (Devcon.exe). This will let you disable/enable devices from console.
2. Create a batch file in the same folder as devcon.exe with the following lines in it:
Code:
cd %~dp0
timeout /t 5
devcon.exe disable "PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F"
timeout /t 5
devcon.exe enable "PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F"
3. This will selectively disable/enable all the Vega cards you currently have in your system. Thanks to bytiges for noting that killing all the display adapters might not be a good idea for those using iGPU.
4. Run the batch file as an administrator at login, or whenever you lose hashrate on your cards. Enjoy never having to toggle the HBCC switch again.

Outdated Procedure

1. Get your hands on the Windows Device Console (Devcon.exe). This will let you disable/enable devices from console.
2. Run the command devcon.exe FindAll * to generate a list of all the currently attached devices and their hardware IDs.
3. Search your newly generated list for "Radeon RX Vega." You should find something like this:
Code:
PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7 : Radeon RX Vega
4. The part to the left of the colon is what you need. Shocking, I know. Put that thing into a batch file that looks something like this:
Code:
@echo on
cd C:\Users\Mythic\Desktop\Startup
timeout /t 5
devcon.exe disable PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7
timeout /t 15
devcon.exe enable PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7
timeout /t 15
OverdriveNTool.exe -p0Vega0 -p1Vega1 -p2Vega2 -p3Vega3 -p4Vega4 -p5Vega5 -p6Vega6
timeout /t 10
cd C:\Users\Mythic\Desktop\xmr-stak-amd
xmr-stak-amd.exe
5. Run your batch file at startup as an administrator. Enjoy never having to toggle the HBCC switch again.

FAQ:

Q: So, Mythic, how exactly does this enable HBCC on cards 5-7?

A: It doesn't! HBCC Does nothing to improve your hashrate! Turns out the drivers are just shit and are bugged when Windows first boots up. Who would have guessed?

Q: But Mythic, does that mean I don't need 16 GB of ram to run my cards at full speed?

A: Correct! 4 GB of ram is completely sufficient!

Q: If I wanted to donate some pizza money to the broke ass college student that typed this up, how would I do so?

A: You ask the best questions! I doubt I'll get anything before more well known people/websites copy everything I just said (with no credit, obviously), but here are some addresses just in case.
          XMR: 42e8AWjcirkBDzCNnSjPxeGJeht71kFfWcoxxCWsxe8HZqP29NruDsxcvVSjbKw17AUDepopK7ZYCUn mRvcGS9kBT5XWhMQ
          ETH: 0x74Ed2CA095Dd3aE98D88d5ca1dDb77E752152938
1714118117
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714118117

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714118117
Reply with quote  #2

1714118117
Report to moderator
Every time a block is mined, a certain amount of BTC (called the subsidy) is created out of thin air and given to the miner. The subsidy halves every four years and will reach 0 in about 130 years.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714118117
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714118117

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714118117
Reply with quote  #2

1714118117
Report to moderator
1714118117
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714118117

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714118117
Reply with quote  #2

1714118117
Report to moderator
Django69
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 74
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 12:18:32 PM
 #1322

thanks for sharing, i have found the same process when i look at the other hbcc-activate program yesterday !
Mythic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 12:22:31 PM
 #1323

thanks for sharing, i have found the same process when i look at the other hbcc-activate program yesterday !

No problem! Just to set the record straight, I didn't copy this from the other guy. I actually discovered this last Thursday, after spending days running through pretty much every other possibility (Linux, virtual machines, etc). Kind of weird how people tend to discover things at around the same time.
phase2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 12:56:54 PM
 #1324

ppl would try to sell every step:p
oskar_n8
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 01:29:28 PM
 #1325

I hadn't originally planned on putting this out there, but some other asshole decided to charge a fee for this info. Fuck that guy. Here's how you run 4+ Vega at full speed while mining XMR.

Basic Users:

1. Use the Blockchain drivers.
2. Open up your device manager.
3. Open up the "Display Adapters" dropdown.
4. Right click on one of your Vega's.
5. Disable that fucker.
6. Wait a few seconds.
7. Right click on the Vega you just disabled.
8. Re-enable that fucker.
9. Repeat steps 4-8 for the rest of your cards.
10. Enjoy mining at full speed with as many Vega as you damn well please. Probably.

Advanced Users:

The previously described process is a bit of a pain in the ass. Let's automate it.

1. Get your hands on the Windows Device Console (Devcon.exe). This will let you disable/enable devices from console.
2. Run the command devcon.exe FindAll * to generate a list of all the currently attached devices and their hardware IDs.
3. Search your newly generated list for "Radeon RX Vega." You should find something like this:
Code:
PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7 : Radeon RX Vega
4. The part to the left of the colon is what you need. Shocking, I know. Put that thing into a batch file that looks something like this:
Code:
@echo on
cd C:\Users\Mythic\Desktop\Startup
timeout /t 5
devcon.exe disable PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7
timeout /t 15
devcon.exe enable PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7
timeout /t 15
OverdriveNTool.exe -p0Vega0 -p1Vega1 -p2Vega2 -p3Vega3 -p4Vega4 -p5Vega5 -p6Vega6
timeout /t 10
cd C:\Users\Mythic\Desktop\xmr-stak-amd
xmr-stak-amd.exe
5. Run your batch file at startup as an administrator. Enjoy never having to toggle the HBCC switch again.

FAQ:

Q: So, Mythic, how exactly does this enable HBCC on cards 5-7?

A: It doesn't! HBCC Does nothing to improve your hashrate! Turns out the drivers are just shit and are bugged when Windows first boots up. Who would have guessed?

Q: But Mythic, does that mean I don't need 16 GB of ram to run my cards at full speed?

A: Correct! 4 GB of ram is completely sufficient!

Q: If I wanted to donate some pizza money to the broke ass college student that typed this up, how would I do so?

A: You ask the best questions! I doubt I'll get anything before more well known people/websites copy everything I just said (with no credit, obviously), but here are some addresses just in case.
          XMR: 42e8AWjcirkBDzCNnSjPxeGJeht71kFfWcoxxCWsxe8HZqP29NruDsxcvVSjbKw17AUDepopK7ZYCUn mRvcGS9kBT5XWhMQ
          ETH: 0x74Ed2CA095Dd3aE98D88d5ca1dDb77E752152938
Thank you for sharing! Smiley
R0mi
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 305
Merit: 148

Theranos Coin - IoT + micro-blood arrays = Moon!


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 01:39:49 PM
 #1326

I hadn't originally planned on putting this out there, but some other asshole decided to charge a fee for this info. Fuck that guy. Here's how you run 4+ Vega at full speed while mining XMR.

Basic Users:

1. Use the Blockchain drivers.
2. Open up your device manager.
3. Open up the "Display Adapters" dropdown.
4. Right click on one of your Vega's.
5. Disable that fucker.
6. Wait a few seconds.
7. Right click on the Vega you just disabled.
8. Re-enable that fucker.
9. Repeat steps 4-8 for the rest of your cards.
10. Enjoy mining at full speed with as many Vega as you damn well please. Probably.
          XMR: 42e8AWjcirkBDzCNnSjPxeGJeht71kFfWcoxxCWsxe8HZqP29NruDsxcvVSjbKw17AUDepopK7ZYCUn mRvcGS9kBT5XWhMQ
          ETH: 0x74Ed2CA095Dd3aE98D88d5ca1dDb77E752152938

Interesting.  I was banging my head against the wall trying to get a third Vega running on an MSI X370 Ryzen build.  I noticed that if I went into the Registry and disabled Crossfire and ULPS, the third card would show up, but there were still problems.

Question:  the command to launch OverdriveNTool -p0Vega0 -p1Vega1...  is that pulling up separately saved profiles for each Vega card and applying them, or something else?

Thanks.

Walton Chain CEO Mo' Bling: "Walton Chain will be the Qualcomm + Cisco in the blockchain industry, the ‘Google’ of the Blockchain."  It's December 1999, do you know how your shitcoin holdings are doing?  Magic 8 ball market analysis: www.doiownashitcoin.com
Mythic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 01:53:11 PM
 #1327

Question:  the command to launch OverdriveNTool -p0Vega0 -p1Vega1...  is that pulling up separately saved profiles for each Vega card and applying them, or something else?

That's exactly what it does. Every card can undervolt to varying degrees, so I have different profiles with different voltages for each card. From the OverdriveNTool documentation:

Code:
Command Line:
-p[gpu_id]"Name"
apply profile "Name" to GPU with id=[gpu_id], silently
stueng
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 04:00:17 PM
 #1328

I can confirm this is working with 8 cards
aid77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 04:07:57 PM
 #1329

I hadn't originally planned on putting this out there, but some other asshole decided to charge a fee for this info. Fuck that guy. Here's how you run 4+ Vega at full speed while mining XMR.

Basic Users:

1. Use the Blockchain drivers.
2. Open up your device manager.
3. Open up the "Display Adapters" dropdown.
4. Right click on one of your Vega's.
5. Disable that fucker.
6. Wait a few seconds.
7. Right click on the Vega you just disabled.
8. Re-enable that fucker.
9. Repeat steps 4-8 for the rest of your cards.
10. Enjoy mining at full speed with as many Vega as you damn well please. Probably.

Advanced Users:

The previously described process is a bit of a pain in the ass. Let's automate it.

1. Get your hands on the Windows Device Console (Devcon.exe). This will let you disable/enable devices from console.
2. Run the command devcon.exe FindAll * to generate a list of all the currently attached devices and their hardware IDs.
3. Search your newly generated list for "Radeon RX Vega." You should find something like this:
Code:
PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7 : Radeon RX Vega
4. The part to the left of the colon is what you need. Shocking, I know. Put that thing into a batch file that looks something like this:
Code:
@echo on
cd C:\Users\Mythic\Desktop\Startup
timeout /t 5
devcon.exe disable PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7
timeout /t 15
devcon.exe enable PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7
timeout /t 15
OverdriveNTool.exe -p0Vega0 -p1Vega1 -p2Vega2 -p3Vega3 -p4Vega4 -p5Vega5 -p6Vega6
timeout /t 10
cd C:\Users\Mythic\Desktop\xmr-stak-amd
xmr-stak-amd.exe
5. Run your batch file at startup as an administrator. Enjoy never having to toggle the HBCC switch again.

FAQ:

Q: So, Mythic, how exactly does this enable HBCC on cards 5-7?

A: It doesn't! HBCC Does nothing to improve your hashrate! Turns out the drivers are just shit and are bugged when Windows first boots up. Who would have guessed?

Q: But Mythic, does that mean I don't need 16 GB of ram to run my cards at full speed?

A: Correct! 4 GB of ram is completely sufficient!

Q: If I wanted to donate some pizza money to the broke ass college student that typed this up, how would I do so?

A: You ask the best questions! I doubt I'll get anything before more well known people/websites copy everything I just said (with no credit, obviously), but here are some addresses just in case.
          XMR: 42e8AWjcirkBDzCNnSjPxeGJeht71kFfWcoxxCWsxe8HZqP29NruDsxcvVSjbKw17AUDepopK7ZYCUn mRvcGS9kBT5XWhMQ
          ETH: 0x74Ed2CA095Dd3aE98D88d5ca1dDb77E752152938

I have a report "Disable failed"
Mythic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 04:09:07 PM
 #1330

I have a report "Disable failed"

Are you running the batch file as an administrator?
aid77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 04:17:34 PM
 #1331

I have a report "Disable failed"

Are you running the batch file as an administrator?

Ups...

But now "Disabled on reboot" and "Enabled on reboot"
Mythic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 04:27:36 PM
 #1332

Ups...

But now "Disabled on reboot" and "Enabled on reboot"

Reboot, run the batch file again, and try mining.
aid77
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 04:31:52 PM
 #1333

Windows can reboot or BSOD.
l1xx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 06:33:36 PM
 #1334

Is OverdriveNTool working good? There has been reports, that changing values with it doesn't really do much (same as Wattmann). But I guess it has been updated and working fine since then?
oomurashin
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 195
Merit: 15


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 06:35:00 PM
 #1335

I hadn't originally planned on putting this out there, but some other asshole decided to charge a fee for this info. Fuck that guy. Here's how you run 4+ Vega at full speed while mining XMR.

Basic Users:

1. Use the Blockchain drivers.
2. Open up your device manager.
3. Open up the "Display Adapters" dropdown.
4. Right click on one of your Vega's.
5. Disable that fucker.
6. Wait a few seconds.
7. Right click on the Vega you just disabled.
8. Re-enable that fucker.
9. Repeat steps 4-8 for the rest of your cards.
10. Enjoy mining at full speed with as many Vega as you damn well please. Probably.

Advanced Users:

The previously described process is a bit of a pain in the ass. Let's automate it.

1. Get your hands on the Windows Device Console (Devcon.exe). This will let you disable/enable devices from console.
2. Run the command devcon.exe FindAll * to generate a list of all the currently attached devices and their hardware IDs.
3. Search your newly generated list for "Radeon RX Vega." You should find something like this:
Code:
PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7 : Radeon RX Vega
4. The part to the left of the colon is what you need. Shocking, I know. Put that thing into a batch file that looks something like this:
Code:
@echo on
cd C:\Users\Mythic\Desktop\Startup
timeout /t 5
devcon.exe disable PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7
timeout /t 15
devcon.exe enable PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_687F&SUBSYS_0B361002&REV_C3\6&3AAC35E3&0&000000E7
timeout /t 15
OverdriveNTool.exe -p0Vega0 -p1Vega1 -p2Vega2 -p3Vega3 -p4Vega4 -p5Vega5 -p6Vega6
timeout /t 10
cd C:\Users\Mythic\Desktop\xmr-stak-amd
xmr-stak-amd.exe
5. Run your batch file at startup as an administrator. Enjoy never having to toggle the HBCC switch again.

FAQ:

Q: So, Mythic, how exactly does this enable HBCC on cards 5-7?

A: It doesn't! HBCC Does nothing to improve your hashrate! Turns out the drivers are just shit and are bugged when Windows first boots up. Who would have guessed?

Q: But Mythic, does that mean I don't need 16 GB of ram to run my cards at full speed?

A: Correct! 4 GB of ram is completely sufficient!

Q: If I wanted to donate some pizza money to the broke ass college student that typed this up, how would I do so?

A: You ask the best questions! I doubt I'll get anything before more well known people/websites copy everything I just said (with no credit, obviously), but here are some addresses just in case.
          XMR: 42e8AWjcirkBDzCNnSjPxeGJeht71kFfWcoxxCWsxe8HZqP29NruDsxcvVSjbKw17AUDepopK7ZYCUn mRvcGS9kBT5XWhMQ
          ETH: 0x74Ed2CA095Dd3aE98D88d5ca1dDb77E752152938
thank you!!! i wii try that!
Pineocerous
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 06:36:02 PM
 #1336

I have a report "Disable failed"

Are you running the batch file as an administrator?

I can run the batch file as admin manually, and it works great.

When I run it in my startup folder it doesn't run as admin and doesn't work.

How are you getting it to run on startup as admin?
Mythic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 06:46:30 PM
 #1337

Is OverdriveNTool working good? There has been reports, that changing values with it doesn't really do much (same as Wattmann). But I guess it has been updated and working fine since then?

OverdriveNTool is working fine for me, but I basically only use it to adjust voltages. I use the registry mod for GPU and MEM clocks.

I can run the batch file as admin manually, and it works great.

When I run it in my startup folder it doesn't run as admin and doesn't work.

How are you getting it to run on startup as admin?

Use the task scheduler to execute your batch file at startup. See here: https://superuser.com/a/929227
MingMining
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 202
Merit: 10

Eloncoin.org - Mars, here we come!


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 08:19:58 PM
 #1338

Sapphire RX Vega 56 sold by NewEgg.com on eBay w/free shipping:  $419

I have 2 such cards. They can't work normally with 950 MHz HBM overclock... Should I maybe rise HBM voltage?..

Did you follow the guide there?

https://www.reddit.com/r/MoneroMining/comments/74hjqn/monero_and_vega_the_definitive_guide/?limit=500

I got the same issue at first, then I realize it is because I connect my monitor with this vega card. I use another motherboard with intel igpu and everything works great since then.

ElonCoin.org    ElonCoin.org    ElonCoin.org     ElonCoin.org     ElonCoin.org    ElonCoin.org    ElonCoin.org
●          Mars, here we come!          ●
██ ████ ███ ██ ████ ███ ██   Join Discord   ██ ███ ████ ██ ███ ████ ██
l1xx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 08:56:56 PM
 #1339

Is OverdriveNTool working good? There has been reports, that changing values with it doesn't really do much (same as Wattmann). But I guess it has been updated and working fine since then?

OverdriveNTool is working fine for me, but I basically only use it to adjust voltages. I use the registry mod for GPU and MEM clocks.

I can run the batch file as admin manually, and it works great.

When I run it in my startup folder it doesn't run as admin and doesn't work.

How are you getting it to run on startup as admin?

Use the task scheduler to execute your batch file at startup. See here: https://superuser.com/a/929227

I have one card that does not like mods, the other 5 are stable. But I really like to fix the core value of this one somehow, as its lights are constantly blinking.
BogdanCo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 729
Merit: 513


View Profile
October 27, 2017, 09:32:31 PM
 #1340

Sapphire RX Vega 56 sold by NewEgg.com on eBay w/free shipping:  $419

I have 2 such cards. They can't work normally with 950 MHz HBM overclock... Should I maybe rise HBM voltage?..

Did you follow the guide there?

https://www.reddit.com/r/MoneroMining/comments/74hjqn/monero_and_vega_the_definitive_guide/?limit=500

I got the same issue at first, then I realize it is because I connect my monitor with this vega card. I use another motherboard with intel igpu and everything works great since then.

That's right! You have to connect the monitor to the IGPU. If you connect it to the Vega's then it's unstable and the system crash. 
Pages: « 1 ... 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 [67] 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 ... 157 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!