Bitcoin Forum
April 23, 2021, 05:32:16 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 [135] 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 ... 198 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin Release - First Scientific Computing Cryptocurrency  (Read 686990 times)
maco
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 22, 2013, 11:23:46 PM
 #2681

I ran out of money on my digital ocean account, but I will add in $5 just to test this out. Thanks Sunny!
1619155936
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1619155936

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1619155936
Reply with quote  #2

1619155936
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1619155936
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1619155936

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1619155936
Reply with quote  #2

1619155936
Report to moderator
refer_2_me
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 22, 2013, 11:44:02 PM
 #2682

I've gotten this error occasionally while mining today, on both Linux and Windows. I'm using mikaelh's hp6 lately, so I don't know if the issue is unique to it.

Code:
checkqueue.h:171: CCheckQueueControl<T>::CCheckQueueControl(CCheckQueue<T>*) [with T = CScriptCheck]: Assertion `pqueue->nTotal == pqueue->nIdle' failed.

I also have been getting this error every now and then. It happens about once a day or so, not at a specific time, though.
I just threw together a script to see if primecoind was running, and if not, email me and restart the process.

BTC: 1reFerkRnftob5YvbB112bbuwepC9XYLj
XPM: APQpPZCfEz3kejrYTfyACY1J9HrjnRf34Y
FiiNALiZE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 500

CryptoTalk.Org - Get Paid for every Post!


View Profile
July 22, 2013, 11:45:31 PM
 #2683

I've gotten this error occasionally while mining today, on both Linux and Windows. I'm using mikaelh's hp6 lately, so I don't know if the issue is unique to it.

Code:
checkqueue.h:171: CCheckQueueControl<T>::CCheckQueueControl(CCheckQueue<T>*) [with T = CScriptCheck]: Assertion `pqueue->nTotal == pqueue->nIdle' failed.

I also have been getting this error every now and then. It happens about once a day or so, not at a specific time, though.
I just threw together a script to see if primecoind was running, and if not, email me and restart the process.

Can you show me how to make a .bat file that starts "setgenerate true -1" once the client is launched/restarted?

That's the only part I haven't figured out how to do yet.

 
                                . ██████████.
                              .████████████████.
                           .██████████████████████.
                        -█████████████████████████████
                     .██████████████████████████████████.
                  -█████████████████████████████████████████
               -███████████████████████████████████████████████
           .-█████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
        .████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
       .██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       .██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       ..████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████..
       .   .██████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       .      .████████████████████████████████████████████████.

       .       .██████████████████████████████████████████████
       .    ██████████████████████████████████████████████████████
       .█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
        .███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
           .█████████████████████████████████████████████████████
              .████████████████████████████████████████████████
                   ████████████████████████████████████████
                      ██████████████████████████████████
                          ██████████████████████████
                             ████████████████████
                               ████████████████
                                   █████████
.CryptoTalk.org.|.MAKE POSTS AND EARN BTC!.🏆
notme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1904
Merit: 1001


View Profile
July 22, 2013, 11:48:06 PM
 #2684

I've gotten this error occasionally while mining today, on both Linux and Windows. I'm using mikaelh's hp6 lately, so I don't know if the issue is unique to it.

Code:
checkqueue.h:171: CCheckQueueControl<T>::CCheckQueueControl(CCheckQueue<T>*) [with T = CScriptCheck]: Assertion `pqueue->nTotal == pqueue->nIdle' failed.

I also have been getting this error every now and then. It happens about once a day or so, not at a specific time, though.
I just threw together a script to see if primecoind was running, and if not, email me and restart the process.

Can you show me how to make a .bat file that starts "setgenerate true -1" once the client is launched/restarted?

That's the only part I haven't figured out how to do yet.

Just add gen=1 to your config file.

https://www.bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
While no idea is perfect, some ideas are useful.
12jh3odyAAaR2XedPKZNCR4X4sebuotQzN
FiiNALiZE
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 500

CryptoTalk.Org - Get Paid for every Post!


View Profile
July 23, 2013, 12:06:56 AM
 #2685

I've gotten this error occasionally while mining today, on both Linux and Windows. I'm using mikaelh's hp6 lately, so I don't know if the issue is unique to it.

Code:
checkqueue.h:171: CCheckQueueControl<T>::CCheckQueueControl(CCheckQueue<T>*) [with T = CScriptCheck]: Assertion `pqueue->nTotal == pqueue->nIdle' failed.

I also have been getting this error every now and then. It happens about once a day or so, not at a specific time, though.
I just threw together a script to see if primecoind was running, and if not, email me and restart the process.

Can you show me how to make a .bat file that starts "setgenerate true -1" once the client is launched/restarted?

That's the only part I haven't figured out how to do yet.

Just add gen=1 to your config file.

+1

Thanks! Smiley

 
                                . ██████████.
                              .████████████████.
                           .██████████████████████.
                        -█████████████████████████████
                     .██████████████████████████████████.
                  -█████████████████████████████████████████
               -███████████████████████████████████████████████
           .-█████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
        .████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
       .██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       .██████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       ..████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████..
       .   .██████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
       .      .████████████████████████████████████████████████.

       .       .██████████████████████████████████████████████
       .    ██████████████████████████████████████████████████████
       .█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████.
        .███████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
           .█████████████████████████████████████████████████████
              .████████████████████████████████████████████████
                   ████████████████████████████████████████
                      ██████████████████████████████████
                          ██████████████████████████
                             ████████████████████
                               ████████████████
                                   █████████
.CryptoTalk.org.|.MAKE POSTS AND EARN BTC!.🏆
Trillium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 23, 2013, 12:10:57 AM
 #2686

Right click desktop, New -> Shortcut

C:\Windows\System32\cmd.exe /c start "runlow" /low C:\primecoin-0.1.1-hp5-winx64\primecoin-qt.exe -gen -setgenerate true -1 -sievesize=4000000

 Cheesy

(Sievesize = 1000000 is used by default if you don't specify)

BTC:1AaaAAAAaAAE2L1PXM1x9VDNqvcrfa9He6
myself
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 1000


chaos is fun...…damental :)


View Profile
July 23, 2013, 12:49:36 AM
 #2687

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mills%27_constant
can one use Mills' constant to mine primes ?

Los desesperados publican que lo inventó el rey que rabió, porque todo son en el rabias y mas rabias, disgustos y mas disgustos, pezares y mas pezares; si el que compra algunas partidas vé que baxan, rabia de haver comprado; si suben, rabia de que no compró mas; si compra, suben, vende, gana y buelan aun á mas alto precio del que ha vendido; rabia de que vendió por menor precio: si no compra ni vende y ván subiendo, rabia de que haviendo tenido impulsos de comprar, no llegó á lograr los impulsos; si van baxando, rabia de que, haviendo tenido amagos de vender, no se resolvió á gozar los amagos; si le dan algun consejo y acierta, rabia de que no se lo dieron antes; si yerra, rabia de que se lo dieron; con que todo son inquietudes, todo arrepentimientos, tododelirios, luchando siempre lo insufrible con lo feliz, lo indomito con lo tranquilo y lo rabioso con lo deleytable.
8bitPunk
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10



View Profile
July 23, 2013, 01:03:09 AM
 #2688

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mills%27_constant
can one use Mills' constant to mine primes ?

I don't believe so. Primecoin is specifically looking for Cunningham Chains (of the first and second kind and bitwin). Mills' constant could be used to find primes, but it won't help to find primes that form Cunningham Chains of sufficient length to satisfy the proof of work for Primecoin blocks.

BTC 18bPunkuginRBm1Xz9mcgj8mWJnHDAW5Th | Ł LTCgXEdyBdoQ9WdF6JHi7Pa2EWtzbDjG76 | Ψ ATEBiTLkLpAYeW5hQknUfSvnb7Abbgegku
keenanpepper
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 23, 2013, 08:06:05 AM
 #2689

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mills%27_constant
can one use Mills' constant to mine primes ?

Firstly, primecoin is based on Cunningham chains, not single primes (as someone already said).

Secondly, you could use Mills' constant to find primes... if you knew Mills' constant to arbitrary precision... but nobody does, since the only way to calculate Mills' constant is by finding a bunch of primes. =)
eule
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 501


View Profile
July 23, 2013, 08:07:39 AM
 #2690

SunnyKing or anyone else with a good grasp on how primecoin mining works, do you think the GPY sieve described in this article http://www.wired.com/wiredscience/2013/05/twin-primes/all/ and this http://arxiv.org/abs/math/0508185 paper could be useful i.e. faster than the sieve of Eratosthenes?

From the wired article:
Quote
The Sieve of Eratosthenes works perfectly to identify primes, but it is too cumbersome and inefficient to be used to answer theoretical questions. Over the past century, number theorists have developed a collection of methods that provide useful approximate answers to such questions.

“The Sieve of Eratosthenes does too good a job,” Goldston said. “Modern sieve methods give up on trying to sieve perfectly.”

GPY developed a sieve that filters out lists of numbers that are plausible candidates for having prime pairs in them. To get from there to actual prime pairs, the researchers combined their sieving tool with a function whose effectiveness is based on a parameter called the level of distribution that measures how quickly the prime numbers start to display certain regularities.

The level of distribution is known to be at least ½. This is exactly the right value to prove the GPY result, but it falls just short of proving that there are always pairs of primes with a bounded gap.
Since we don't try to prove that there is an infinite number of primechains, it should work, right? Discussed here too https://bitcointalk.org

myself
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938
Merit: 1000


chaos is fun...…damental :)


View Profile
July 23, 2013, 10:20:28 AM
 #2691

Secondly, you could use Mills' constant to find primes... if you knew Mills' constant to arbitrary precision... but nobody does, since the only way to calculate Mills' constant is by finding a bunch of primes. =)


Quote
Caldwell & Cheng (2005) used this method to compute almost seven thousand base 10 digits of Mills' constant under the assumption that the Riemann hypothesis is true. There is no closed-form formula known for Mills' constant, and it is not even known whether this number is rational (Finch 2003).

also did not some average mathematician put some paper that the max distance from prime number to prime numbers is less that 70 millions

Los desesperados publican que lo inventó el rey que rabió, porque todo son en el rabias y mas rabias, disgustos y mas disgustos, pezares y mas pezares; si el que compra algunas partidas vé que baxan, rabia de haver comprado; si suben, rabia de que no compró mas; si compra, suben, vende, gana y buelan aun á mas alto precio del que ha vendido; rabia de que vendió por menor precio: si no compra ni vende y ván subiendo, rabia de que haviendo tenido impulsos de comprar, no llegó á lograr los impulsos; si van baxando, rabia de que, haviendo tenido amagos de vender, no se resolvió á gozar los amagos; si le dan algun consejo y acierta, rabia de que no se lo dieron antes; si yerra, rabia de que se lo dieron; con que todo son inquietudes, todo arrepentimientos, tododelirios, luchando siempre lo insufrible con lo feliz, lo indomito con lo tranquilo y lo rabioso con lo deleytable.
eule
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 501


View Profile
July 23, 2013, 10:43:47 AM
 #2692

That's what the wired article i posted is about.  Cheesy

refer_2_me
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 23, 2013, 12:36:38 PM
 #2693

I have not tested anything, nor do I pretend to really understand all the number theory stuff, but @primedigger mentioned in his GPU development post here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=258982.0 that he switched to the sieve of Atkin. Is there reason to believe that would work? Reading the wiki (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sieve_of_Atkin) it seems to me that it should be faster. Alternatively, these other sieves like GPY.

BTC: 1reFerkRnftob5YvbB112bbuwepC9XYLj
XPM: APQpPZCfEz3kejrYTfyACY1J9HrjnRf34Y
mustyoshi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 287
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 23, 2013, 01:39:06 PM
 #2694

Block time seems to be roughly around or above 1 minute now.

Are all the botnets priming away? Or  is that why the block times are so normal?

EDIT: nvm seems it was only for a few blocks.
rethaw
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 255



View Profile
July 23, 2013, 04:32:08 PM
 #2695

Block time seems to be roughly around or above 1 minute now.

Are all the botnets priming away? Or  is that why the block times are so normal?

EDIT: nvm seems it was only for a few blocks.

One of the big players was probably updating their primecoind.

maka
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 23, 2013, 04:41:44 PM
 #2696

Block time seems to be roughly around or above 1 minute now.

Are all the botnets priming away? Or  is that why the block times are so normal?

EDIT: nvm seems it was only for a few blocks.

It's not just for a few blocks.  The difficulty is decreasing.  Seems we are stable around 9.24, for now.
mustyoshi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 287
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 23, 2013, 05:33:44 PM
 #2697

Block time seems to be roughly around or above 1 minute now.

Are all the botnets priming away? Or  is that why the block times are so normal?

EDIT: nvm seems it was only for a few blocks.

It's not just for a few blocks.  The difficulty is decreasing.  Seems we are stable around 9.24, for now.
That would explain the difficulty decreasing by .001 over the last 3 hours.

Now that CPU mining has hit it's limit, what will GPU mining bring?
MobGod
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
July 23, 2013, 09:24:30 PM
 #2698

need a little input from sonny also you guys would you like to see me add this coin to
http://lotto.coinworld.us    HuhHuh

For security, your account has been locked. Email acctcomp15@theymos.e4ward.com
maka
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 23, 2013, 10:04:55 PM
 #2699

I don't think CPU mining hit limit.  When more pools are available, more people may join mining.  It's hard to estimate how much more mining power one can benefit from GPU, maybe less than 10, or maybe more than 100.  The algorithm can be improved too, although we may need some serious mathematicians to take a look...

Block time seems to be roughly around or above 1 minute now.

Are all the botnets priming away? Or  is that why the block times are so normal?

EDIT: nvm seems it was only for a few blocks.

It's not just for a few blocks.  The difficulty is decreasing.  Seems we are stable around 9.24, for now.
That would explain the difficulty decreasing by .001 over the last 3 hours.

Now that CPU mining has hit it's limit, what will GPU mining bring?
oxfeeefeee
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 24, 2013, 03:02:14 AM
Last edit: July 24, 2013, 03:43:08 AM by oxfeeefeee
 #2700

I don't think CPU mining hit limit.  When more pools are available, more people may join mining.  It's hard to estimate how much more mining power one can benefit from GPU, maybe less than 10, or maybe more than 100.  The algorithm can be improved too, although we may need some serious mathematicians to take a look...

Block time seems to be roughly around or above 1 minute now.

Are all the botnets priming away? Or  is that why the block times are so normal?

EDIT: nvm seems it was only for a few blocks.

It's not just for a few blocks.  The difficulty is decreasing.  Seems we are stable around 9.24, for now.
That would explain the difficulty decreasing by .001 over the last 3 hours.

Now that CPU mining has hit it's limit, what will GPU mining bring?

If you know something about Big Number calculation and the nature of GPUs, you know it's a lot harder for the GPU to do prime test than to do hashing.
GPUs don't like branching and memory access is also limited.
Pages: « 1 ... 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 [135] 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 ... 198 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!