Bitcoin Forum
April 23, 2021, 06:16:11 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 [86] 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 ... 198 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] [ANN] Primecoin Release - First Scientific Computing Cryptocurrency  (Read 686990 times)
masterOfDisaster
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 321
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 03:35:46 PM
 #1701

I myself also jumped on the wrong chains three times already.  Because the block generating is so fast now collisions are much more likely. 
Block generation should be slower. 60 seconds is just too fast.

people are complaining not get blocks Cheesy  If it was set slower many miners would quit.

...at the moment it is quite fast. Block spacing is much less than 60 seconds, rather 10 seconds if I don't remember wrong. But as I recently updated my primecoin Windows client to 0.1.1 the history of the repeatedly entered "getmininginfo" outputs in the debug windows is gone and hence I can't create a precise calculation of the recent average time...

And I need to add something:

It's so exciting to be at the beginning of something as interesting as primecoin.
Thums up, Sunny King!
...finally we have a real improvement in the fields of crypto coins, which is NOT just another crap-to-coin Cheesy
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1619158571
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1619158571

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1619158571
Reply with quote  #2

1619158571
Report to moderator
1619158571
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1619158571

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1619158571
Reply with quote  #2

1619158571
Report to moderator
mustyoshi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 287
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 12, 2013, 03:41:47 PM
 #1702

Is anyone who's tech savvy enough making a pool? You can make a shit ton of coins since everyone would hop right on.
I'm trying to make a p2pool, but at this point I'm not sure it could work with the block spacing already very below target.
masterOfDisaster
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 321
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 03:41:56 PM
 #1703

Just installed the 0.1.1 client released not even an hour ago for windows. Was the 1st downloader of it on sourceforge. I'm getting 3 PPS. This is a i7 3940xm cpu. What's wrong?

just for reference: I have an i7-3720QM (mobile CPU, @2,6 GHz) and get close to 1000 PPS with Sunny King's latest Windows release (0.1.1). I don't know about architectural differences between your CPU and mine, but its at least the same family...
jlspartz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 03:53:34 PM
 #1704

Just installed the 0.1.1 client released not even an hour ago for windows. Was the 1st downloader of it on sourceforge. I'm getting 3 PPS. This is a i7 3940xm cpu. What's wrong?

just for reference: I have an i7-3720QM (mobile CPU, @2,6 GHz) and get close to 1000 PPS with Sunny King's latest Windows release (0.1.1). I don't know about architectural differences between your CPU and mine, but its at least the same family...

Looks like you can't set a genproclimit. I tried to do half cpu while working on the computer. I took the limit off and now its 780 using the full CPU.
LlamaMaster
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 03:56:40 PM
 #1705

how do you know if you are on the wrong block chain, also witch files do you delete to re-download the blockchain.

If you find your "current number of blocks" stay the same for a long time, then you are in trouble.  To be sure, you may check http://www2.crypto-expert.com/primecoin/index.php to see what is the correct number right now.

Just restart the software and it will automatically reconnect to the network and update the block chain(most probably the correct one...).
The problem is that it just keeps happening, and unless I constantly stare at that numbers I just end up wasting several hours of mining every time it does it.  Is there seriously no way to fix this?
eule
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 501


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 03:58:55 PM
 #1706

The problem is that it just keeps happening, and unless I constantly stare at that numbers I just end up wasting several hours of mining every time it does it.  Is there seriously no way to fix this?
Get the new official client here: http://sourceforge.net/projects/primecoin/files/

jlspartz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 04:00:31 PM
 #1707

Just installed the 0.1.1 client released not even an hour ago for windows. Was the 1st downloader of it on sourceforge. I'm getting 3 PPS. This is a i7 3940xm cpu. What's wrong?

just for reference: I have an i7-3720QM (mobile CPU, @2,6 GHz) and get close to 1000 PPS with Sunny King's latest Windows release (0.1.1). I don't know about architectural differences between your CPU and mine, but its at least the same family...

Looks like you can't set a genproclimit. I tried to do half cpu while working on the computer. I took the limit off and now its 780 using the full CPU.

Now get high 800s pps. 880 at 100% vs 3 at 50% - looks like a bug.
Kujmandosz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 12, 2013, 04:02:44 PM
 #1708

How to set genproclimit (cpu) to maximum capacity?

jlspartz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 04:04:42 PM
 #1709

How to set genproclimit (cpu) to maximum capacity?

You don't set a genproclimit and it uses full cpu capacity. You only set it if you want to throttle it.
xyzzy099
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1056
Merit: 1024



View Profile
July 12, 2013, 04:06:49 PM
 #1710

How to set genproclimit (cpu) to maximum capacity?

Either 'setgenerate true' or 'setgenerate true -1' will cause it to use all capacity.

Libertarians:  Diligently plotting to take over the world and leave you alone.
Kujmandosz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 12, 2013, 04:08:31 PM
 #1711

How to set genproclimit (cpu) to maximum capacity?

You don't set a genproclimit and it uses full cpu capacity. You only set it if you want to throttle it.

So how can I throttle it?

xyzzy099
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1056
Merit: 1024



View Profile
July 12, 2013, 04:11:03 PM
 #1712

How to set genproclimit (cpu) to maximum capacity?

You don't set a genproclimit and it uses full cpu capacity. You only set it if you want to throttle it.

So how can I throttle it?

'setgenerate true <number of threads you want to use, or -1 for all available>'

Libertarians:  Diligently plotting to take over the world and leave you alone.
itod
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1034


^ Will code for Bitcoins


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 04:15:25 PM
 #1713

Anyone working on a GPU miner yet? Here's some help: http://www.macs-site.net/CudaPrimes.htm

Hopefully not, because:
1) Primecoin looks to be GPU-resistant, it will be very hard to implement calculating it's long integers on something that is design to deal only with vertices
2) GPU rigs are the cancer for mining, eliminating 99% of regular people who are not OK with the idea of monster cases with external GPUs all over the place, laptop users with no external cards, etc. Non-existence of GPU miner is the main reason for Primecoin's unusual popularity. People are successfully mining even on Raspberry Pi's.
jlspartz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 04:24:27 PM
 #1714

Anyone working on a GPU miner yet? Here's some help: http://www.macs-site.net/CudaPrimes.htm

Hopefully not, because:
1) Primecoin looks to be GPU-resistant, it will be very hard to implement calculating it's long integers on something that is design to deal only with vertices
2) GPU rigs are the cancer for mining, eliminating 99% of regular people who are not OK with the idea of monster cases with external GPUs all over the place, laptop users with no external cards, etc. Non-existence of GPU miner is the main reason for Primecoin's unusual popularity. People are successfully mining even on Raspberry Pi's.

It can be done on GPUs. Look up CUDA Lucas. Its used for finding mersenne primes. Verifies primes over 10 million digits long in days.
lucasjkr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 04:31:00 PM
 #1715

If anyone's interested, I just made a bash script to run from an Ubuntu Server instance that does all the work for you in setting up a CPU miner.... I know it's just a couple commands but some people seem to be getting hung up on that!

https://github.com/lucasjkr/PrimeMiner/

It's a cludge, I know - no error checking or anything else, but it's a very simple process:

A) Start a new instance and install Ubuntu Server 12 or 13 on it.
B) install git "sudo apt-get install git-core"
C) get the script "git clone https://github.com/lucasjkr/PrimeMiner.git"
D) make script executable "chmod 700 ./PrimeMiner/makeminer.sh"
E) execute script "./PrimeMiner/makeminer.sh"

Enter your admin password, sit back and wait.

PS - i know entering the password is bad form, but for myself, i'm only running these on instances that do nothing else, so I'm not concerned if some how someone was able to capture the password. Your mileage may vary. But I'm happy with this so far. Suggestions will be of course appreciated!
Ptah
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 53
Merit: 0



View Profile
July 12, 2013, 04:31:23 PM
 #1716

Yea GPUs are good for primes
check it http://www.primegrid.com/

open cl and cuda apps
Arcas
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 524


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 04:33:46 PM
 #1717

Anyone working on a GPU miner yet? Here's some help: http://www.macs-site.net/CudaPrimes.htm

Hopefully not, because:
1) Primecoin looks to be GPU-resistant, it will be very hard to implement calculating it's long integers on something that is design to deal only with vertices
2) GPU rigs are the cancer for mining, eliminating 99% of regular people who are not OK with the idea of monster cases with external GPUs all over the place, laptop users with no external cards, etc. Non-existence of GPU miner is the main reason for Primecoin's unusual popularity. People are successfully mining even on Raspberry Pi's.
Without GPU's, the only people who will make any money will be the people with botnets or EC2 instances.
gateway
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 551
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 04:43:38 PM
 #1718

Not sure if this has been asked, but any way to get the prime numbers out of the client or a way to grep them from the logs?  .. also is their a way to reference them to already existing found ones more in the math community side of things?
jlspartz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 04:43:49 PM
 #1719

Its the first coin that could have people using NVidia cards instead.
jlspartz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 12, 2013, 04:46:26 PM
 #1720

Not sure if this has been asked, but any way to get the prime numbers out of the client or a way to grep them from the logs?  .. also is their a way to reference them to already existing found ones more in the math community side of things?

I'd like to know this also. I know they know what primes are being produced because there is some news on new chains being found, but where is that info?
Pages: « 1 ... 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 [86] 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 ... 198 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!