Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2017, 02:10:28 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [GUIDE] BitFury Miner Support/Tuning  (Read 145679 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
juhakall
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 442



View Profile
September 15, 2013, 12:48:22 PM
 #101

Two quick questions on the goxxed info.  1) What points are you using exactly to measure the altered voltage?   I am leery to probe around the board while powered up for fear of shorting something.
                                                        2) What exactly is reniceing and why is it important to reduce?  This is the first time I have seen this term used in the bitfury threads.

Thanks very much and awesome work!  Grin

I'm really curious about 1) too.

Reniceing is just the linux way to set processing priority for a task. You might want the miner process to have a high priority. I'd expect this to not matter much, or be set by default. Maybe it really helps, I'm trying on mine now.
1508767828
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508767828

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508767828
Reply with quote  #2

1508767828
Report to moderator
1508767828
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508767828

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508767828
Reply with quote  #2

1508767828
Report to moderator
1508767828
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508767828

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508767828
Reply with quote  #2

1508767828
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
darkfriend77
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
September 15, 2013, 12:50:37 PM
 #102

Two quick questions on the goxxed info.  1) What points are you using exactly to measure the altered voltage?   I am leery to probe around the board while powered up for fear of shorting something.
                                                        2) What exactly is reniceing and why is it important to reduce?  This is the first time I have seen this term used in the bitfury threads.

Thanks very much and awesome work!  Grin

I'm really curious about 1) too.

Reniceing is just the linux way to set processing priority for a task. You might want the miner process to have a high priority. I'd expect this to not matter much, or be set by default. Maybe it really helps, I'm trying on mine now.

:-) jep, maybee a small picture ... where and how to ... measure the altered voltage would help ... us ... .-)
-Redacted-
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392



View Profile
September 15, 2013, 12:58:12 PM
 #103

"Nice" is a term used to describe the priority of a process running under UNIX. The nicer a task is, the more it "yields" to others and the lower the priority that it runs at.  "Renice" - means changing the nice value, typically increasing the nice value and lowering the priority of a task.  Since interrupts are pre-emptive, tasks don't really "yield" - something with a higher nice value gets preempted (interrupted) more often.

The root user can lower the nice value of a process, increasing its priority and lengthing the interval between preempts - making it "less nice".  It is possible to lower a task's nice value to the point where it has more priority than the kernel, thereby guaranteeing that your Unix system will crash if your code makes a system call of any kind.  On a system that is not very busy, raising or lowering the nice value doesn't have much of an effect.    
Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
September 15, 2013, 01:09:43 PM
 #104

Thanks for the info on niceing guys.  As you may have guessed I am not a big 'nix guy....learning.  Looks like I do this on windows a lot for demanding processes so its just a matter of vocabulary.  Smiley

Has there been info given yet about increasing the priority of the mining process yielding better hash results?

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
dacman61
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87



View Profile
September 15, 2013, 01:50:06 PM
 #105

This pencil mod trick has been working great! At first I used too much pencil and had a resistance of 1.08k and the noncerate shot up to 35Gh/s then dropped down quickly... Soon after I wiped away some of the pencil marking, I finally read a resistance of 1.18k, and this turned out to be the sweet spot for me... I've been steady at 30.5-32Gh/s noncerate now. I also put a small turbo desk fan blowing on it at low speed.

Code:
16      AIfDSo  55      1.904   2.315   133     7       0       0       219     [0:F]   436     9 9 8 9 9 7 8 8 8 8 8 8 9 9 9 7         0 0 1 0 0 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2
speed:880 noncerate[GH/s]:32.098 (2.006/chip) hashrate[GH/s]:34.542 good:2242 errors:190 spi-err:0 miso-err:0 jobs:375 cores:42% good:16 bad:0 off:0 (best[GH/s]:31.525) Sun Sep 15 13:38:13 2013
0:      880     32.098  34.542  2242    190     0       0       16      0       0       (2.006/chip)    42%

Code:
16      AIfDSo  55      1.847   2.304   129     14      0       0       218     [0:F]   363     9 8 7 8 7 8 8 8 8 9 8 8 9 7 9 8         0 1 2 1 2 1 1 0 1 0 1 1 0 2 0 1
speed:880 noncerate[GH/s]:30.594 (1.912/chip) hashrate[GH/s]:34.584 good:2137 errors:176 spi-err:0 miso-err:0 jobs:375 cores:51% good:16 bad:0 off:0 (best[GH/s]:32.098) Sun Sep 15 13:43:13 2013
0:      880     30.594  34.584  2137    176     0       0       16      0       0       (1.912/chip)    51%

I've been running now for the past 30 minutes at the time of me gathering this info.

How does this look to you?
juhakall
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 442



View Profile
September 15, 2013, 01:55:47 PM
 #106

This pencil mod trick has been working great! At first I used too much pencil and had a resistance of 1.08k and the noncerate shot up to 35Gh/s then dropped down quickly... Soon after I wiped away some of the pencil marking, I finally read a resistance of 1.18k, and this turned out to be the sweet spot for me... I've been steady at 30.5-32Gh/s noncerate now. I also put a small turbo desk fan blowing on it at low speed.

Code:
16      AIfDSo  55      1.904   2.315   133     7       0       0       219     [0:F]   436     9 9 8 9 9 7 8 8 8 8 8 8 9 9 9 7         0 0 1 0 0 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2
speed:880 noncerate[GH/s]:32.098 (2.006/chip) hashrate[GH/s]:34.542 good:2242 errors:190 spi-err:0 miso-err:0 jobs:375 cores:42% good:16 bad:0 off:0 (best[GH/s]:31.525) Sun Sep 15 13:38:13 2013
0:      880     32.098  34.542  2242    190     0       0       16      0       0       (2.006/chip)    42%

Code:
16      AIfDSo  55      1.847   2.304   129     14      0       0       218     [0:F]   363     9 8 7 8 7 8 8 8 8 9 8 8 9 7 9 8         0 1 2 1 2 1 1 0 1 0 1 1 0 2 0 1
speed:880 noncerate[GH/s]:30.594 (1.912/chip) hashrate[GH/s]:34.584 good:2137 errors:176 spi-err:0 miso-err:0 jobs:375 cores:51% good:16 bad:0 off:0 (best[GH/s]:32.098) Sun Sep 15 13:43:13 2013
0:      880     30.594  34.584  2137    176     0       0       16      0       0       (1.912/chip)    51%

I've been running now for the past 30 minutes at the time of me gathering this info.

How does this look to you?

Great result, though it sounds weird that the hashrate wasn't stable at first with 1.08k. BTW, how do you get these stats: "cores:51% good:16 bad:0 off:0"? I just have the record (it's called 'record' on my stats, not 'best') right after jobs. Are those some extra stats that are shown when autotune is enabled?
dacman61
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87



View Profile
September 15, 2013, 02:00:36 PM
 #107

I'm running this command as suggested by -Redacted-:

Code:
while (true) do tail -3 /run/shm/.stat.log; sleep 305; done

Latest reading:

Code:
16      AIfDSo  55      1.933   2.325   135     19      0       0       220     [0:F]   197     8 9 10 8 9 9 9 8 9 8 8 8 7 8 8 9        2 1 0 2 1 1 1 2 0 1 1 1 2 1 2 1
speed:880 noncerate[GH/s]:32.270 (2.017/chip) hashrate[GH/s]:34.753 good:2254 errors:165 spi-err:0 miso-err:0 jobs:295 cores:71% good:16 bad:0 off:0 (best[GH/s]:32.255) Sun Sep 15 13:58:13 2013
0:      880     32.270  34.753  2254    165     0       0       16      0       0       (2.017/chip)    71%
GH
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 116


View Profile
September 15, 2013, 02:07:07 PM
 #108

Two quick questions on the goxxed info.  1) What points are you using exactly to measure the altered voltage?   I am leery to probe around the board while powered up for fear of shorting something.
                                                        2) What exactly is reniceing and why is it important to reduce?  This is the first time I have seen this term used in the bitfury threads.

Thanks very much and awesome work!  Grin

Meanwhile I have a stable nonce rate of average >35 Gh/s on both boards - so time to give something back:

You can measure the voltage on nearly every capacitor on the board, I usually use the bigger ones directly beside the DC/DC converter, left to the coil (the bigest part on the board). There are not many ways to do something wrong, just make sure to not shorten your probes, as there are 30+ Amps available. (I have exactly 0.840 Volts there with 55er clocks and it looks very stable, although there is no easy way to measure the real current draw on the core voltage and confirm that everything is inside bounds.)

BTW: I also reported about a mysterious chip, which usually throws lots of errors, but sometimes recovers completely after a longer uptime. When running this board alone or in switched order with the other one, the errors of this single chip also disappear.
Foofighter
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


BTC Mining Hardware, Trading Signals and more


View Profile WWW
September 15, 2013, 02:15:52 PM
 #109

Two quick questions on the goxxed info.  1) What points are you using exactly to measure the altered voltage?   I am leery to probe around the board while powered up for fear of shorting something.
                                                        2) What exactly is reniceing and why is it important to reduce?  This is the first time I have seen this term used in the bitfury threads.

Thanks very much and awesome work!  Grin

Meanwhile I have a stable nonce rate of average >35 Gh/s on both boards - so time to give something back:

You can measure the voltage on nearly every capacitor on the board, I usually use the bigger ones directly beside the DC/DC converter, left to the coil (the bigest part on the board). There are not many ways to do something wrong, just make sure to not shorten your probes, as there are 30+ Amps available. (I have exactly 0.840 Volts there with 55er clocks and it looks very stable, although there is no easy way to measure the real current draw on the core voltage and confirm that everything is inside bounds.)

BTW: I also reported about a mysterious chip, which usually throws lots of errors, but sometimes recovers completely after a longer uptime. When running this board alone or in switched order with the other one, the errors of this single chip also disappear.

Hi, thanks for sharing.

Can you also confirm the Ohm values given above?

GH
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 116


View Profile
September 15, 2013, 03:46:28 PM
 #110

Not really, because I do not like quick'n'dirty stuff like the pencil mod. I have a real resistance of 4.07k with 1% metal film (not measured mounted inside the circuit), so you can't compare easily. I suppose this is one reason why it is so stable, regardless of temperature. (Carbon an graphite have a negative temperature coefficient, which causes the resistance to drop with rising temperatures, which leads to even more heat and so on...)

I'm runnning 5 "server grade" fans on the 2 boards, which make a hell of a noise, but keep the boards and surfaces of the components pretty cool.

Edit: Added NTC explaination, typos, wrong value
juhakall
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 442



View Profile
September 15, 2013, 08:11:17 PM
 #111

I did the pencil mod on 2 boards, which maxed out at 47 GH/s prior to modding. Both boards' R02F resistors were modified from 1.3k to 1.18k ohm. Now the noncerate is 59-61 GH/s. Here are the results before and after modding. As you can see, chip #10 stopped making errors. Also, chip #24 stopped requiring a 24 hour period after a reboot until it stops making errors. I added a fan and the highest temps I could measure from the boards dropped from ~80C to ~60C. I'll report if anything changes.
joris
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 141


View Profile
September 15, 2013, 10:05:34 PM
 #112

...

g) I Use only one pool for mining

h) renice the miner proxy process to -14 or lower

Code:
2100 root        6 -14 33196 18864  4064 R 81.0  3.8 36h27:30 python ./mining_proxy.py -o us3.eclipsemc.com -p 3333 -cu XXXXXXXXXXX -cp XXXX -gp 8332 -v
h.1) I use htop to do it
h.1.1) sudo apt-get install htop
h.1.2) pi@bitfury / $ sudo htop
h.1.3) Press F7 repeatedly to reduce nice.
        

This did a lot for my performance: boost of 5 GH on a starter kit (regard as highly anecdotical, single measurement). But it seems to have a logic: instead of 3 processes consuming 50-60% of CPU time, now only 1 'large' process exists, using around 20% of the CPU at a high priority. It seems to relieve the raspi a lot...

Does it make sense to only prioritise the mining_proxy.py? I see many more chainminer processes in htop...


;-)
zurg
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 546



View Profile
September 16, 2013, 12:43:42 PM
 #113

Ok, modded my starter kit.

1.307 on both boards to 1.215 and 1.229(EOL)
Went from around
1: 24.234GH/s
2: 14.379GH/s
to
1: 29.234GH/s
2: 16.779GH/s

Bitminter now reporting from 42 to 49GH/s (was nearly 50 a sec ago)
from about ~35 to 39 before.

I am in a server room at 62F with fan blowing over. Chips are lukewarm.

Definitely at least a 5Gh/s increase!

                                 
                  █████████████████████████████▒
               ▒███████████████████████████████▓░
             ▒████▓                         ░▓███▒░░
         ░▒▓████▓░                            ░▓███▓▓▒▒░░
▓▓▓▓▓████████▓▒               ░░░▒▒▒▒▒░         ░▒█████████▓▓▓▓▓
████████▓▒▒░              ░▒▓▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▓▓▓▒         ░░▒▒████████
▓██▓                   ░▒▓▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓███▒░             ███▓
▒███                 ░▓█▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▓█████▒░         ▓▓█░
░█▓█░               ▓█▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▓▓▓▓▓█████▓██░     ▓███░
 ▓██▓             ▒██▒▒░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒▒░  ░▓█▓      ███▓
 ▒█▓█░           ▓█▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒░▒░░░░░▒▒░ ░▒░░▓███▓      ▒███▒
  █▓█▓          ▓█▓▒▓▒▒▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▓▒▒░░▒▒▓█████░      ███▓
  ▒█▓█░        ░██▓▓▒░░░░░░░░░▒▓▒░ ░░░ ░░▒▒▓▓▓▓▓█▒█░     ▓███▒
   ▓▓▓▓        ███▒░░░░░▒░░░▒▒▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▓ █░    ▒███▒
   ░▓▓▓▓   ░▒▒ █▓▒▒▒▒▒▓▓▓▒░▒░░░░░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒▒▓ ▒█    ░████▒
    ░▓▒▓▒ ░▓████▓▓▓▒▒▒▓▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒  ██   ░████▒
     ▒▓▓██  ▓████▓▒▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒░▒▒░ ░██▒  ░████▒
      ▓████  ░██████▓▓▓▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░░  ░███▓  ░████░
       ▒████   ▓█▓░█████▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░░░░░░▒▓████░  ▒████▒
        ░████▒  ▒░   ▒██████▓▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓██████▓░   ▓████▒
          ████▓         ░▒▓██████████████▓░░    ░████▓
           ▒████▒                              ▓████░
             ▓████░                          ▒████▒
              ░████▓░                      ▒████▓
                ░████▓░                  ▒████▓░
                  ░████▓░              ▒████▓░
                     ░▓████▒          ▓████▒░
                       ░▒████▓░    ▒████▓▒
                          ░▓████▓▓████▓░
                             ▒█████▓░
                               ░▒▒░
✬✬✬✬✬

spiccioli
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1376

nec sine labore


View Profile
September 16, 2013, 08:50:13 PM
 #114

Hi,

I've found, because of an error, that sometimes a bad chip can hash at low speed using "aIFdso" instead of the normal "aIfDSo" flag string.

Code:
18 aIFdso 47 0.687 0.888 48 26 0 0 84 [1:1] 288 4 3 3 4 1 2 3 2 2 3 4 2 4 4 3 4 1 2 1 0 3 2 1 2 3 2 1 3 1 1 2 1
47 aIFdso 40 0.272 0.835 19 26 0 0 79 [2:E] 443 1 2 1 1 2 1 1 1 2 2 0 1 1 1 1 1 2 1 2 1 0 1 2 2 1 1 3 2 2 2 2 2
72 aIFdso 47 0.487 0.930 34 19 0 0 88 [4:7] 288 2 3 2 2 2 1 3 2 1 3 2 3 2 2 2 2 1 0 1 1 1 2 0 2 3 1 2 1 1 1 1 1
97 aIFdso 47 0.515 0.814 36 24 0 0 77 [6:0] 288 1 1 2 2 2 1 2 3 2 3 3 2 4 1 3 4 3 2 1 1 1 3 2 1 2 1 1 2 0 3 1 0
143 aIFdso 40 0.344 0.909 24 22 0 0 86 [8:E] 504 2 2 1 2 2 2 1 2 0 2 1 1 1 2 0 3 1 1 2 1 1 1 2 1 3 1 2 1 1 1 3 0
151 aIFdso 47 0.458 0.814 32 14 0 0 77 [9:6] 288 2 2 2 3 3 2 2 3 2 1 1 1 2 2 3 1 1 1 1 0 0 1 1 0 1 1 1 2 1 1 0 2
162 aIFdso 47 0.558 0.814 39 17 0 0 77 [A:1] 288 2 3 1 4 4 1 2 2 3 3 3 3 1 1 3 3 2 1 3 0 0 2 1 1 0 0 0 0 2 3 1 1
178 aIFdso 40 0.329 0.824 23 20 0 0 78 [B:1] 552 3 0 2 2 1 1 1 1 0 3 1 2 1 2 2 1 0 3 1 0 1 1 1 1 3 0 2 1 2 1 1 2
182 aIFdso 40 0.086 0.835 6 45 0 0 79 [B:5] 656 1 1 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 2 0 0 1 0 0 0 2 2 3 3 4 3 4 3 3 1 3 3 2 3 3 3
200 aIFdso 48 0.716 0.877 50 0 0 0 83 [C:7] 36 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 3 4 4 3 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
205 aIFdso 44 0.544 0.698 38 0 0 0 66 [C:C] 36 2 3 3 3 3 3 3 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
225 aIFdso 40 0.501 0.835 35 19 0 0 79 [E:0] 288 3 3 1 2 1 3 2 2 0 3 3 2 3 3 2 2 1 1 2 1 2 0 1 1 3 0 0 1 1 1 2 2
238 aIFdso 40 0.415 0.708 29 15 0 0 67 [E:D] 289 1 3 1 2 2 2 3 2 2 3 1 2 2 0 1 2 2 0 2 1 1 1 0 1 1 0 1 0 0 2 2 1
254 aIFdso 40 0.229 0.846 16 42 0 0 80 [F:D] 596 0 0 0 1 3 2 1 0 2 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 4 4 4 3 1 1 2 3 1 2 2 3 3 3 3 3
256 aIFdso 44 0.415 0.877 29 14 0 0 83 [F:F] 324 2 1 2 1 3 3 3 1 2 2 1 2 1 2 1 2 1 2 1 2 0 0 0 2 0 0 1 0 1 1 2 1

What does it really change using "Internal Fast" instead of "Internal Divided Slow" ?

I've made tests lowering speed down to 10 without conclusive findings, btw boards are extremely "instable", simply restarting miner can be enough for a good chip to start throwing errors that slow it down/shut it down.

I'm going to change miner so that best.conf speed is the minimum it can go irregardless of errors of any kind while keeping the auto-tune flag active.

I'm doing this to see if I can stop the spiralling down of the unit which tends to slow down if left mining alone with auto-tune on.

spiccioli

ps. note that I've changed my miner to accept speeds lower than 52 and that I've not pencil-modded them (yet).
EvilLizardApparel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 134



View Profile
September 16, 2013, 10:03:47 PM
 #115

Using pencil trick, I had an H-Card go from 21 GH/s to 39 GH/s . However, after 60 seconds the hashrate slowly decreases to lower than 21 GH/s. Is this a result of the auto-tuning?

EDIT: When miner is restarted, card goes back to 39 GH/s .. but then does the same thing.
goxed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1666


Mining hardware dev and reviewer.


View Profile
September 16, 2013, 10:11:42 PM
 #116

Using pencil trick, I had an H-Card go from 21 GH/s to 39 GH/s . However, after 60 seconds the hashrate slowly decreases to lower than 21 GH/s. Is this a result of the auto-tuning?

EDIT: When miner is restarted, card goes back to 39 GH/s .. but then does the same thing.
My guess-
The regulator autoshutting

Looking to review Bitcoin / Crypto mining Hardware.
btc4life
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18


View Profile
September 16, 2013, 10:12:22 PM
 #117

I just added some heatsinks to one of my cards today to test them out before I committed to buying enough for all 16 cards.

They seem to fit the surface area of each chip perfectly.

http://www.amazon.com/Cosmos-Aluminum-Cooling-Heatsinks-cooler/dp/B007XACV8O/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1379368738&sr=1-1&keywords=Cosmos+%C2%AE+20+PCS+mini+Aluminum+Chips

http://i106.photobucket.com/albums/m264/atunicus/DSCN0803.jpg
zurg
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 546



View Profile
September 16, 2013, 10:15:53 PM
 #118

Using pencil trick, I had an H-Card go from 21 GH/s to 39 GH/s . However, after 60 seconds the hashrate slowly decreases to lower than 21 GH/s. Is this a result of the auto-tuning?

EDIT: When miner is restarted, card goes back to 39 GH/s .. but then does the same thing.

What  did you set it to?
Mine has been rock solid all day. Few rare errors, like 150 out of over 200k.

                                 
                  █████████████████████████████▒
               ▒███████████████████████████████▓░
             ▒████▓                         ░▓███▒░░
         ░▒▓████▓░                            ░▓███▓▓▒▒░░
▓▓▓▓▓████████▓▒               ░░░▒▒▒▒▒░         ░▒█████████▓▓▓▓▓
████████▓▒▒░              ░▒▓▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▓▓▓▒         ░░▒▒████████
▓██▓                   ░▒▓▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓███▒░             ███▓
▒███                 ░▓█▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▓█████▒░         ▓▓█░
░█▓█░               ▓█▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▓▓▓▓▓█████▓██░     ▓███░
 ▓██▓             ▒██▒▒░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒▒░  ░▓█▓      ███▓
 ▒█▓█░           ▓█▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒░▒░░░░░▒▒░ ░▒░░▓███▓      ▒███▒
  █▓█▓          ▓█▓▒▓▒▒▒▒░░░░░░░░░░░░▒▓▒▒░░▒▒▓█████░      ███▓
  ▒█▓█░        ░██▓▓▒░░░░░░░░░▒▓▒░ ░░░ ░░▒▒▓▓▓▓▓█▒█░     ▓███▒
   ▓▓▓▓        ███▒░░░░░▒░░░▒▒▒▒▒░░░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓▓ █░    ▒███▒
   ░▓▓▓▓   ░▒▒ █▓▒▒▒▒▒▓▓▓▒░▒░░░░░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒▒▓ ▒█    ░████▒
    ░▓▒▓▒ ░▓████▓▓▓▒▒▒▓▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒  ██   ░████▒
     ▒▓▓██  ▓████▓▒▒░░░░░░░░░▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░▒░▒▒░ ░██▒  ░████▒
      ▓████  ░██████▓▓▓▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░░  ░███▓  ░████░
       ▒████   ▓█▓░█████▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒░░░░░░▒▓████░  ▒████▒
        ░████▒  ▒░   ▒██████▓▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▓██████▓░   ▓████▒
          ████▓         ░▒▓██████████████▓░░    ░████▓
           ▒████▒                              ▓████░
             ▓████░                          ▒████▒
              ░████▓░                      ▒████▓
                ░████▓░                  ▒████▓░
                  ░████▓░              ▒████▓░
                     ░▓████▒          ▓████▒░
                       ░▒████▓░    ▒████▓▒
                          ░▓████▓▓████▓░
                             ▒█████▓░
                               ░▒▒░
✬✬✬✬✬

-Redacted-
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392



View Profile
September 16, 2013, 10:21:53 PM
 #119

I just added some heatsinks to one of my cards today to test them out before I committed to buying enough for all 16 cards.

They seem to fit the surface area of each chip perfectly.

http://www.amazon.com/Cosmos-Aluminum-Cooling-Heatsinks-cooler/dp/B007XACV8O/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1379368738&sr=1-1&keywords=Cosmos+%C2%AE+20+PCS+mini+Aluminum+Chips


I thought these chips were designed to put heat out through the bottom, and that heatsinks should go on the back of the board over the thermal vias...
EvilLizardApparel
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 134



View Profile
September 16, 2013, 10:37:08 PM
 #120

Using pencil trick, I had an H-Card go from 21 GH/s to 39 GH/s . However, after 60 seconds the hashrate slowly decreases to lower than 21 GH/s. Is this a result of the auto-tuning?

EDIT: When miner is restarted, card goes back to 39 GH/s .. but then does the same thing.
My guess-
The regulator autoshutting

....Is there a way to run it and not have it autoshutdown? It was hashing like a boss...Heat was fine...is it the auto-tune, or a hardware limit I'm hitting?
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!