Bitcoin Forum
November 23, 2017, 08:20:27 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN][TAG] TAGMining.Com is now the official pool of Tagcoin!  (Read 44816 times)
ny2cafuse
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


Criptoe Team member and Auroracoin Team member


View Profile
December 29, 2013, 01:09:50 AM
 #401

Vesper, what VRAM temps are your cards running at?  I wonder what the upper limit is on those.

Never measured it before, if you have a link to a linux utility for it, I'll take a look. Better than stock I'd hope, as I put additional heatsinks on the VRM's. The TOXIC OEM VRM heatsinks look beefy.

http://openhardwaremonitor.org/ should work to monitor GPU temps and voltages, but it's been a while since I've used it.

Community > Devs
1511425227
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511425227

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511425227
Reply with quote  #2

1511425227
Report to moderator
1511425227
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511425227

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511425227
Reply with quote  #2

1511425227
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511425227
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511425227

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511425227
Reply with quote  #2

1511425227
Report to moderator
1511425227
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511425227

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511425227
Reply with quote  #2

1511425227
Report to moderator
1511425227
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511425227

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511425227
Reply with quote  #2

1511425227
Report to moderator
24Kilo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


View Profile
December 29, 2013, 01:14:17 AM
 #402

This is veggie crate miner #3...



Specs -

Antec Truepower Classic 750W PSU
Gigabyte B75M-D3H motherboard
Intel Celeron G1620 2.7Ghz CPU
Patriot Signature 2GB 1333 DDR3 RAM
Hitachi 80GB hard drive
2 x Gigabyte GV-R928XOC-3GD-GA Rev 2.0 in CrossFire
Windows 7
cgminer 3.6.6

executing the following batch file -

cgminer --scrypt --gpu-map 1:0,0:1 --lookup-gap 2 --shaders 2048 --intensity 13 --worksize 256 -g 2 --auto-gpu --gpu-engine 350-1032,350-1036 --gpu-memclock 1500 --thread-concurrency 8192 --auto-fan --gpu-fan 85,75-85 --gpu-vddc 1.190 --temp-target 84 --temp-overheat 85 --temp-cutoff 90 --gpu-powertune 20 --expiry 10 --scan-time 5 --no-submit-stale --failover-only



GPU0 is running about 84C and GPU1 about 71C... remote desktop does not want to share GPU temps for some reason, thus missing from the screenshot.



Dabs
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876



View Profile
December 29, 2013, 01:17:24 AM
 #403

805 nice. Can't wait.

Escrow Service (Services) - GPG ID: 32AD7565, OTC ID: Dabs
All messages concerning escrow or with bitcoin addresses are GPG signed. Please verify.
CompTIA A+, Microsoft Certified Professional, MCSA: Windows 10; Windows Server 2012, MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure; Productivity; Messaging
vesperwillow
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
December 29, 2013, 01:27:27 AM
 #404

Vesper, what VRAM temps are your cards running at?  I wonder what the upper limit is on those.

Never measured it before, if you have a link to a linux utility for it, I'll take a look. Better than stock I'd hope, as I put additional heatsinks on the VRM's. The TOXIC OEM VRM heatsinks look beefy.

http://openhardwaremonitor.org/ should work to monitor GPU temps and voltages, but it's been a while since I've used it.

I'll predicate my last message with, something mostly command-line which needs few, if any, dependencies, and isn't GUI based. lol.

24kilo: Nice man! Love the DIY.

vesperwillow
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
December 29, 2013, 04:01:47 AM
 #405

24Kilo: Just a thought, if you can put some space between the cards, they'll run cooler. Also, not sure if the GB's are similar to other R9/79xx cards, but the stock coolers push hot air mostly backward, and a little down and upward. That big fan I see on the back should be pulling air away from the cards. Might also benefit to put one in front of them, pushing cold air toward the rear of the cards.

Also, try it without the crossfire if you're not using it, you might not need it. I've never benefitted from it.

Just snagged some ASRock 970-EX4 mobos for under retail. Whew!

If I don't use them all, I'll put them up here for the taking.

ny2cafuse
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


Criptoe Team member and Auroracoin Team member


View Profile
December 29, 2013, 04:09:31 AM
 #406


Just snagged some ASRock 970-EX4 mobos for under retail. Whew!

If I don't use them all, I'll put them up here for the taking.

I might be interested.  Keep us updated.

Community > Devs
24Kilo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


View Profile
December 29, 2013, 05:19:21 AM
 #407

24Kilo: Just a thought, if you can put some space between the cards, they'll run cooler. Also, not sure if the GB's are similar to other R9/79xx cards, but the stock coolers push hot air mostly backward, and a little down and upward. That big fan I see on the back should be pulling air away from the cards. Might also benefit to put one in front of them, pushing cold air toward the rear of the cards.

Also, try it without the crossfire if you're not using it, you might not need it. I've never benefitted from it.

Vesper,

I need PCI-E risers but there are none in Australia and I have not been able to snag any from the USA. When I get risers I will separate the cards which will make a huge difference in cooling. The fans on each end of the cards push air into the cards in an attempt to get cool air into the 'top' card.

I am going to spend some time tweaking and tuning the Gigabyte Rev2's this afternoon.

Thanks!

vesperwillow
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
December 29, 2013, 05:31:10 AM
 #408

24Kilo: Just a thought, if you can put some space between the cards, they'll run cooler. Also, not sure if the GB's are similar to other R9/79xx cards, but the stock coolers push hot air mostly backward, and a little down and upward. That big fan I see on the back should be pulling air away from the cards. Might also benefit to put one in front of them, pushing cold air toward the rear of the cards.

Also, try it without the crossfire if you're not using it, you might not need it. I've never benefitted from it.

Vesper,

I need PCI-E risers but there are none in Australia and I have not been able to snag any from the USA. When I get risers I will separate the cards which will make a huge difference in cooling. The fans on each end of the cards push air into the cards in an attempt to get cool air into the 'top' card.

I am going to spend some time tweaking and tuning the Gigabyte Rev2's this afternoon.

Thanks!

Try having the front (near the DVI) fan push air onto the GPU, and the rear fan blow it away, and monitor your temps. I found that to be most useful, though I didn't have them as close so my situation might be different.

Try any of the chinese dealers? On the US Amazon site that's where I got some of mine, processed via Amazon but came from China. I'd send you some but I'm not sure it would save you money.

Also for anyone interested, I updated my Toxic post. I found out why the other motherboard provided lower output, it had to do with the scrypt kernel which came with cgminer 3.7.2.


johndec2
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 352


View Profile
December 29, 2013, 05:55:06 AM
 #409

24Kilo.  I got some risers from China on ebay.  About $7 to $8 each.  Got some months ago and they work fine.  Ordered some more a couple of weeks ago, keep forgetting to check the PO Box, they're probably sitting there waiting for me.
24Kilo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


View Profile
December 29, 2013, 06:49:35 AM
 #410

Vesper,

I have been using 3.6.6... is there a version that is better than the rest?

Also tried your .bin file... crashed my Gigabyte Rev2's.

Will change my fans around and report back.

John,

If you have any spare risers I will be happy to pay you a nice profit margin on a pair or two... let me know.

johndec2
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 352


View Profile
December 29, 2013, 07:40:35 AM
 #411

No sorry mate.  Just got what I need now and for when I add a couple of more cards in the next few weeks.
vesperwillow
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
December 29, 2013, 07:53:55 PM
 #412

I have been using 3.6.6... is there a version that is better than the rest?

I have had great luck with 3.4.x, it provided better results than previous. 3.7.x seems to do well also. 3.5.x gave me issues.

Also tried your .bin file... crashed my Gigabyte Rev2's.

What settings did you use for it? It doesn't always work, but when it does it gives about 20-30kh more.

Frankthechicken
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
December 30, 2013, 01:15:43 AM
 #413

Which 280x cards are confirmed to be voltage unlocked?  Is it safe to say ALL reference cards are?  Come Jan 1st, I'll (hopefully) be doing the gyft to amazon thing assuming they have something in stock or on short backorder.
24Kilo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


View Profile
December 30, 2013, 03:12:44 AM
 #414

Which 280x cards are confirmed to be voltage unlocked?  Is it safe to say ALL reference cards are?  Come Jan 1st, I'll (hopefully) be doing the gyft to amazon thing assuming they have something in stock or on short backorder.

Gigabyte GV-R928XOC-3GD-GA Rev 2.0 cards ARE NOT unlocked... or at least I have not found a way to unlock them.

Sapphire Dual-X is unlocked or at least voltage can be changed with MSI Afterburner and Sapphire TRIXX... but cgminer does not seem to be able to adjust the voltage.

Gigabyte GV-R928XOC-3GD Rev 1.0 cards are unlocked and voltage can be controlled by cgminer

I have a MSI Twin-Frozr, but can't remember if the voltage is locked or not.

ny2cafuse
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


Criptoe Team member and Auroracoin Team member


View Profile
December 30, 2013, 03:23:27 AM
 #415

Which 280x cards are confirmed to be voltage unlocked?  Is it safe to say ALL reference cards are?  Come Jan 1st, I'll (hopefully) be doing the gyft to amazon thing assuming they have something in stock or on short backorder.

Gigabyte GV-R928XOC-3GD-GA Rev 2.0 cards ARE NOT unlocked... or at least I have not found a way to unlock them.

Sapphire Dual-X is unlocked or at least voltage can be change with MSI Afterburner and Sapphire TRIXX... but cgminer does not seem to be able to adjust the voltage.

Gigabyte GV-R928XOC-3GD Rev 1.0 cards are unlocked and voltage can be controlled by cgminer

I have a MSI Twin-Frozr, but can't remember if the voltage is locked or not.

+1 for the info 24Kilo!

I had an interesting conversation with my dad today(FusesDad on the pool).  He asked, "what would it cost to buy 4 more cards?"  I tried to explain to him how even if there were 4 in stock somewhere, we'd probably be limited to 2, or we'd be competing with the quickest click in the west, Vesperwillow.  Vesper, I'm thinking you need to start a service where you buy cards on Amazon and sell them to me at a profit.  I honestly don't think I can compete with your 1-click-buy skills.

Community > Devs
vesperwillow
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
December 30, 2013, 03:42:22 AM
 #416

I have a MSI Twin-Frozr, but can't remember if the voltage is locked or not.

The 79xx series was unlocked, and I believe the R9 series is as well. Game forums / overclock websites would know.

I had an interesting conversation with my dad today(FusesDad on the pool).  He asked, "what would it cost to buy 4 more cards?"  I tried to explain to him how even if there were 4 in stock somewhere, we'd probably be limited to 2, or we'd be competing with the quickest click in the west, Vesperwillow.  Vesper, I'm thinking you need to start a service where you buy cards on Amazon and sell them to me at a profit.  I honestly don't think I can compete with your 1-click-buy skills.

Lol, I am humbled and complimented by that. Like mining, luck plays a large part. Refreshing the screen helps as well. I'm nearly tanked for funds right now, I need to cashout some coins to get some more. I've got some motherboards coming but I need PSU's, and even then, more GPUs.

You can get Toxic 280x cards from newegg right now, limit 2 per customer (each of you could place an order). They're marking up about $100 over MSRP, but that's the price to pay to get hash power right now.

No idea when Amazon will get things back in stock. I'm 1 month waiting for the gigabyte order I placed. Even if they came into stock the order wouldn't go through, I've used the funds already lol..

If it helps any, what I do is make wishlists based on what I want. IE, GPU's, PSU's, etc. Then I edit the wishlist and select 3 or 4 items which I want to focus on, and mark them with highest priority, then I sort the view on that list based on priority. So my target items are on top in quick view. I then set my easy auto refresh to something like 10 or 15 seconds, and just let it refresh constantly. When I see the 'add to cart' button pop up, it usually means the item is in stock, so I load the item and make sure it's Prime and "reasonably priced", then I just 1-click overnight purchase them.

24Kilo
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


View Profile
December 30, 2013, 04:20:18 AM
 #417

Fuse,

I have moved 5Mh/s or so back into the pool... seems the TAG.cryptopool.IT may have crashed or hung... been nearly 12 hours since a block which is unusual... so decided to come back home for abit!!!

Good to be back... gets lonely over there!!!

vesperwillow
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
December 30, 2013, 05:16:11 AM
 #418

PSU's and USB sticks on order. Memory already on hand. Still waiting on a motherboard from over a week ago. I'm pretty sure the UPS truck got lost. 3 more motherboards to be shipped tomorrow.

Now if only I had.. GPUs, and.. power. Apparently, these things need something called.. power.

Also, I'm noting that 3 R9 280x cards are definitely bleeding my 1050w PSU dry, running around 2.3mh. It's a lesser brand PSU delivering I believe 81amps on the 12v rail. The new PSUs ordered deliver 90amps on the rail which should do much better.


ny2cafuse
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


Criptoe Team member and Auroracoin Team member


View Profile
December 30, 2013, 05:20:46 AM
 #419

Fuse,

I have moved 5Mh/s or so back into the pool... seems the TAG.cryptopool.IT may have crashed or hung... been nearly 12 hours since a block which is unusual... so decided to come back home for abit!!!

Good to be back... gets lonely over there!!!

Welcome back, mate!  Good to have you around!

My 3yo daughter gave me a late xmas present this weekend.  I've been battling a 102+ temp for the last couple days.  If I don't respond right away to PMs and such, it's because I'm probably passed out.  I swear she breaks my heart though.  She comes up to me, gives me her favorite stuffed animal, a kiss on the forehead, and tells me, "this will make you feel better, daddy."   Cry like a hallmark Christmas commercial.

Community > Devs
vesperwillow
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
December 30, 2013, 05:24:43 AM
 #420

Fuse,

I have moved 5Mh/s or so back into the pool... seems the TAG.cryptopool.IT may have crashed or hung... been nearly 12 hours since a block which is unusual... so decided to come back home for abit!!!

Good to be back... gets lonely over there!!!

Welcome back, mate!  Good to have you around!

My 3yo daughter gave me a late xmas present this weekend.  I've been battling a 102+ temp for the last couple days.  If I don't respond right away to PMs and such, it's because I'm probably passed out.  I swear she breaks my heart though.  She comes up to me, gives me her favorite stuffed animal, a kiss on the forehead, and tells me, "this will make you feel better, daddy."   Cry like a hallmark Christmas commercial.

All the feels man, that's cool stuff right there.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!