Bitcoin Forum
November 18, 2017, 11:30:16 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN][TAG] TAGMining.Com is now the official pool of Tagcoin!  (Read 44751 times)
ehalvers
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 510


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 03:29:42 AM
 #821

What are the RAM limitations for running 4-5 gpu's on Ubuntu vs Windows?

Have 4 gig on Windows which I think should be plenty, but only 2 on the Linux machine which is using the ASrock H81.

Thanks for the tips!
1511047816
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511047816

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511047816
Reply with quote  #2

1511047816
Report to moderator
1511047816
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511047816

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511047816
Reply with quote  #2

1511047816
Report to moderator
1511047816
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511047816

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511047816
Reply with quote  #2

1511047816
Report to moderator
"This isn't the kind of software where we can leave so many unresolved bugs that we need a tracker for them." -- Satoshi
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511047816
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511047816

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511047816
Reply with quote  #2

1511047816
Report to moderator
1511047816
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511047816

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511047816
Reply with quote  #2

1511047816
Report to moderator
Dabs
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862



View Profile
January 29, 2014, 03:35:46 AM
 #822

Some pictures:

Dabs Rig with 2 GPUs plugged directly to motherboard and cooling solution.


Power Usage on Watt Meter


Stats display on sgminer


Will experiment with the powertune setting, maybe I can make it go faster a little bit more.

Escrow Service (Services) - GPG ID: 32AD7565, OTC ID: Dabs
All messages concerning escrow or with bitcoin addresses are GPG signed. Please verify.
CompTIA A+, Microsoft Certified Professional, MCSA: Windows 10; Windows Server 2012, MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure; Productivity; Messaging
vesperwillow
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 04:49:24 AM
 #823

ehalves, mining doesn't really rely on system ram, but the OS does. You should be fine with 2gb for windows or linux if it's just a dedicated rig.

dabs, looks great man, really sick hashrates.

Dabs
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862



View Profile
January 29, 2014, 04:58:27 AM
 #824

Imagine when I get all 4 online. I switched to the other pool for now (the other coin). Might give me ROI in 2 days or something, depending on exchange rate. LOL. Found a block too, so I know the rig is doing it's job.

No HW errors, but the Reject rate is bothering me.

Escrow Service (Services) - GPG ID: 32AD7565, OTC ID: Dabs
All messages concerning escrow or with bitcoin addresses are GPG signed. Please verify.
CompTIA A+, Microsoft Certified Professional, MCSA: Windows 10; Windows Server 2012, MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure; Productivity; Messaging
ehalvers
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 510


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 05:52:02 AM
 #825

Sapphire Vapor-X 7950 does not like Ubuntu or something, not sure what this error means when trying to run sgminer with any TC higher then ~15000


[23:51:46] Started sgminer 4.0.0
[23:51:46] Started sgminer 4.0.0
[23:51:46] Maximum buffer memory device 0 supports says 1073741824
[23:51:46] Your scrypt settings come to 1572864000
[23:51:46] Error -61: clCreateBuffer (padbuffer8), decrease TC or increase LG
[23:51:46] Failed to init GPU thread 0, disabling device 0
[23:51:46] Restarting the GPU from the menu will not fix this.
[23:51:46] Try restarting sgminer.
vesperwillow
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 06:02:45 AM
 #826

Make sure this is run before sgminer:

export DISPLAY=:0
export GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT=100
export GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS=1

Also, make sure lookup gap is set to 2. If that doesn't fix it, I dunno off the top of my head. Could be a driver thing.

ehalvers
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 510


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 06:10:12 AM
 #827

Nice! That fixed it!

thanks again haha  Cool
Chofoe
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 04:08:02 PM
 #828

Hi,

I just bought quite many Sapphire HD 7950 With Boost, GPU's and I'm having a lot of trouble having them being stable.
My system is the following:

MB: Asus P8z68-v Gen3
8GB RAM
Intel i5-3570k
2x mentioned GPU's
PSU: 1050w Seasonic Gold

So I'm using stock voltages and clock speeds for both of the GPU's just to try to keep it stable at first. The problem is that after 5-30 minutes my monitor freezes and after a while system reboots. I'm using Windows 7 Professional, AMD Catalyst 13.11 Beta 4 drivers, latest AMD SDK and CGminer 3.7.2. I know it can't be the PSU since it should have a fairly enough power for both of these cards.

Some parameters for CGminer: -I 20 --thread-concurrency 24000 --shaders (or similar) 1792 --gpu-memclock 1250 --gpu-core 925 -g 1 (Also export max_alloc and sync is there)

I'm running out of ideas that what could go wrong? GPU temperatures are around 60-70.

Earlier I had 1x 5870 and 1x 7950 configured on the same motherboard, heavily overclocked and it was working perfectly without problems. And I noticed that the more I overclock these new cards the shorter it takes for monitor to freeze. I have also tried with 3x of these new GPU's and it's the same problem so I moved to 2x which both are on pcie 16x.

So basically, could this be a driver issue, should I lower the intensity (Everyone else with this card seems to be happy with 20), temperatures can't be too high, should I try with linux...Any advice would be really appreciated. Thanks all!
 

(I posted this earlier to newbie section but no responses and I know that here we have some great experts Smiley )
vesperwillow
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 06:56:50 PM
 #829

First, try engine and memory clock of 0 and see how that works. Then, try intensity 14 and work up. If these don't help, I suggest AMD 11 or 12x drivers.

ltcifc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 344


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 08:14:12 PM
 #830

Edit

Sorry, wrong thread.
ny2cafuse
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


Criptoe Team member and Auroracoin Team member


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 08:24:19 PM
 #831

Try mining Infinitecoin, you wont be sorry.

Mate, you've made 2 posts in this thread.  One to ask "is this still working", and this one to tell people to mine another coin.  If you were an active member of this thread or the TAG community, I would be open to your suggestions.  Please post this elsewhere if you're trying to spam infinitecoin info.

-Fuse

Community > Devs
Frankthechicken
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 10:00:10 PM
 #832

@Chofoe

Are you referring to the single fan at the front of the card version?  Those are great cards that I've found to be solid and versatile.  Unless they are new and something has dramatically changed since mid last year in their design?  I ask because it seems the dual-X is referred to the same way in some circles.  Maybe.  Also a great card, but less voltage control.  I have both, but really prefer the single fan version for many reasons.

It sounds like something is overheating somewhere in the card and becoming unstable.

Going on with the single fan version, here is what i have for settings.

AMD SDK 2.7
Cat 12.6
cgminer 3.3.2

Using MSI Afterburner, undervolt core to 1038 and mem to 1550. (these cards can be made stable at voltages as low as 900 and 1500 for obscene efficiency in GPU terms)
That should run stock clocks no problem.  From there, you can really start tweaking the settings.
I used the following line in the .bat file after much trial and error:
cgminer --scrypt -o pool -u user -p pw --gpu-reorder --gpu-threads 1 --thread-concurrency 21712 --intensity 19 --worksize 256 --lookup-gap 2 --auto-fan --temp-target 70 --gpu-engine 1060,1005,1055,1005,1070,1045 --gpu-memclock 1550 --no-submit-stale

I pushed each card (total 6) to the max the engine would go with that voltage without crashing.  That config got me to an average of 630kh/s each.  I've since reworked some of my cooling on the rig and have it running higher clocks and getting close to 665kh/s each and it still is at a comfortable 2.6kh/s per W.

The Dual-X voltage can't be controlled with Afterburner, but core voltage can be controlled with Trixx, but not mem voltage.

I also have some running on Cat 13.1, SDK 2.8, and cgminer 3.3.2. that run stable and with good performance.

Hope that helps.


A side question to everyone else... anyone tried sgminer and compared it to cgminer here?  I've read a bunch about it and am real tempted to try it out and see what happens.
Chofoe
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 11:03:08 PM
 #833

Alright thanks a lot Frank and Vesper! I'll try to tweak these cards asap when I have some time from work. I referred to Dual-X model (I have also some of that single fan) but all of these new ones are dual-x. I'm not concerned about voltages since I don't have to pay for electricity, student accommodation hah Smiley so I could use more voltage if necessary.
ny2cafuse
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


Criptoe Team member and Auroracoin Team member


View Profile
January 29, 2014, 11:46:15 PM
 #834

I'm not concerned about voltages since I don't have to pay for electricity

Sheesh... bottle some of that up and send it my way!  Grin

-Fuse

Community > Devs
Frankthechicken
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
January 30, 2014, 12:05:52 AM
 #835

Yeah, you should still be able to make those work.  Those cards are pushed hard out of the box at default settings.  You'll have to use TriXX to tweak the voltages to hopefully cool down whatever it is that is overheating (if that is the issue).    I'd suggest start out lower at stock clocks but with the core voltage lowered to 1100mV.  Once you get it stable, then start tweaking.

The stable settings (getting 625kh/s) I have on my Dual-X cards is:

core voltage 1100
clock 1030
mem 1550

Unfortunately, the card lacks VRM temp sensors (according to other posts elsewhere) so you won't see if the VRM's are running hot on the cards.  At stock voltage, it wouldn't surprise me.  Free power or not, lowering core voltage really adds headroom to push clock speeds up safely.  My cards run at 73 degrees with fan at 30%.  It might be a good idea to force the fans to 50% to make sure there is decent air movement until you get things to run.

Another thing I found these cards specifically appear to hate when mining is all of Windows' cutesy display slides, fades, expands, etc and screen savers other than 'blank' screen.  Turned them all off.  These cards were a bit more challenging to tune than other cards I have, but I have learned to like them.  They are still on my watch list.
Dabs
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862



View Profile
January 30, 2014, 02:03:20 AM
 #836

I'm not concerned about voltages since I don't have to pay for electricity

Sheesh... bottle some of that up and send it my way!  Grin

-Fuse

AB - USE it while you can. Although I'm pretty sure you are limited to a maximum of 4 fully powered rigs or whatever is the amp rating / breaker on the circuit.

Escrow Service (Services) - GPG ID: 32AD7565, OTC ID: Dabs
All messages concerning escrow or with bitcoin addresses are GPG signed. Please verify.
CompTIA A+, Microsoft Certified Professional, MCSA: Windows 10; Windows Server 2012, MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure; Productivity; Messaging
Dabs
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862



View Profile
January 30, 2014, 02:38:21 AM
 #837

Here are some GPU PRON pics.

Someone used 6 of those MSI 270s on that new ASRock motherboard.








Escrow Service (Services) - GPG ID: 32AD7565, OTC ID: Dabs
All messages concerning escrow or with bitcoin addresses are GPG signed. Please verify.
CompTIA A+, Microsoft Certified Professional, MCSA: Windows 10; Windows Server 2012, MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure; Productivity; Messaging
ltcifc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 344


View Profile
January 30, 2014, 12:54:58 PM
 #838

Try mining Infinitecoin, you wont be sorry.

Mate, you've made 2 posts in this thread.  One to ask "is this still working", and this one to tell people to mine another coin.  If you were an active member of this thread or the TAG community, I would be open to your suggestions.  Please post this elsewhere if you're trying to spam infinitecoin info.

-Fuse
Sorry, was going through new replays. It was wrong thread.
Chofoe
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 76


View Profile
January 30, 2014, 01:43:41 PM
 #839

Yeah, you should still be able to make those work.  Those cards are pushed hard out of the box at default settings.  You'll have to use TriXX to tweak the voltages to hopefully cool down whatever it is that is overheating (if that is the issue).    I'd suggest start out lower at stock clocks but with the core voltage lowered to 1100mV.  Once you get it stable, then start tweaking.

The stable settings (getting 625kh/s) I have on my Dual-X cards is:

core voltage 1100
clock 1030
mem 1550

Unfortunately, the card lacks VRM temp sensors (according to other posts elsewhere) so you won't see if the VRM's are running hot on the cards.  At stock voltage, it wouldn't surprise me.  Free power or not, lowering core voltage really adds headroom to push clock speeds up safely.  My cards run at 73 degrees with fan at 30%.  It might be a good idea to force the fans to 50% to make sure there is decent air movement until you get things to run.

Another thing I found these cards specifically appear to hate when mining is all of Windows' cutesy display slides, fades, expands, etc and screen savers other than 'blank' screen.  Turned them all off.  These cards were a bit more challenging to tune than other cards I have, but I have learned to like them.  They are still on my watch list.

Alright cheers again for more information! I tried yesterday something but didn't have much time...At least I was able to get 3x GPU to be stable for around 4h and after that cgminer crashed. Seems to be going to right direction since my clocks were quite high running ~640khash. To my understanding the problem seemed to be the first GPU overheating as you mentioned, so it's running lower and only with intensity 18 now, and a weird thing was that it was not able to run thread-concurrency 24000 as other cards. Let's see if I can get some good results today, thanks!

P.S I'll try that undervolting Smiley
ny2cafuse
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372


Criptoe Team member and Auroracoin Team member


View Profile
January 30, 2014, 03:07:32 PM
 #840

Try mining Infinitecoin, you wont be sorry.

Mate, you've made 2 posts in this thread.  One to ask "is this still working", and this one to tell people to mine another coin.  If you were an active member of this thread or the TAG community, I would be open to your suggestions.  Please post this elsewhere if you're trying to spam infinitecoin info.

-Fuse
Sorry, was going through new replays. It was wrong thread.

NP, mate.  I just wanted to make sure you weren't some random spammer.  This forum is full of them.

-Fuse

Community > Devs
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 [42] 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!