Bitcoin Forum
April 24, 2018, 03:36:20 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin Wallet for Android  (Read 120328 times)
acquafredda
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 1002


Codl water with lemon


View Profile
June 14, 2015, 02:15:29 PM
 #521

Can you guys tell me why this app always creates new receiving addresses even if I never used any of them?

How would it know you've never used an address?

In other words, an address should be considered "used" as soon as you give it to someone else. There's no way to know if that someone else will spend to that address right away, or at some point in the future.

Some wallets wait for a transaction to show up in the blockchain before an address is considered used, or else require that you mark it as used manually. That's OK, but it's not as safe IMO because it requires you to track your address usage manually.

I'll make myself clear:
I installed it to try it as pocket money...
Whenever I start it I find a new address even if I never used any of them...
That's strange isn't it?

1524584180
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524584180

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524584180
Reply with quote  #2

1524584180
Report to moderator
1524584180
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524584180

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524584180
Reply with quote  #2

1524584180
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
EcuaMobi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 1171


https://Ecua.Mobi


View Profile WWW
June 14, 2015, 03:09:48 PM
 #522

Can you guys tell me why this app always creates new receiving addresses even if I never used any of them?

How would it know you've never used an address?

In other words, an address should be considered "used" as soon as you give it to someone else. There's no way to know if that someone else will spend to that address right away, or at some point in the future.

Some wallets wait for a transaction to show up in the blockchain before an address is considered used, or else require that you mark it as used manually. That's OK, but it's not as safe IMO because it requires you to track your address usage manually.

I'll make myself clear:
I installed it to try it as pocket money...
Whenever I start it I find a new address even if I never used any of them...
That's strange isn't it?

From my experience it creates a new address whenever you go to 'Request coins'. That's because by doing that you are saying you will receive coins from a new transaction and therefore a new address is needed.

Are you saying it creates a new address even without  requesting coins? That would be strange indeed.

PGP: KeyBase.io/EcuaMobi [Verify / Encrypt] • 37D06E1D43EC62B874DD56868DAFD805AE6D5F7A
Bitcoin full node: node.ecua.mobiUserscripts for bitcointalk: Improved imagesShort URLs
Domains for sale: Current auctionFull list
acquafredda
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 1002


Codl water with lemon


View Profile
June 14, 2015, 04:02:33 PM
 #523

Can you guys tell me why this app always creates new receiving addresses even if I never used any of them?

How would it know you've never used an address?

In other words, an address should be considered "used" as soon as you give it to someone else. There's no way to know if that someone else will spend to that address right away, or at some point in the future.

Some wallets wait for a transaction to show up in the blockchain before an address is considered used, or else require that you mark it as used manually. That's OK, but it's not as safe IMO because it requires you to track your address usage manually.

I'll make myself clear:
I installed it to try it as pocket money...
Whenever I start it I find a new address even if I never used any of them...
That's strange isn't it?

From my experience it creates a new address whenever you go to 'Request coins'. That's because by doing that you are saying you will receive coins from a new transaction and therefore a new address is needed.

Are you saying it creates a new address even without  requesting coins? That would be strange indeed.


Yes, that's it!
So whenever I go to request coins it creates a new receiving address.
Since I had to explore it to find my addresses I probably touched request coins several times before finding them and then I ended up adding several BTC addresses.

It sounds weird to me anyway.

Thanks man!

tspacepilot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1013


I may write code in exchange for bitcoins.


View Profile
June 14, 2015, 06:14:07 PM
 #524

Yes, that's it!
So whenever I go to request coins it creates a new receiving address.
Since I had to explore it to find my addresses I probably touched request coins several times before finding them and then I ended up adding several BTC addresses.

It sounds weird to me anyway.

Thanks man!

It also creates a new address for change each time you spend some BTC and require a change address.  But these days bitcoin wallet for android is using addresses created deterministically from a seed of tweleve ascii english words.  You can find those words in your wallet backup.  Anyway, I thought I'd just add this fact in case you didn't realize that all of those addresses you're creating can be "rediscovered" from the seed---so no worries about needing a new backup each time you make an address.
acquafredda
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 1002


Codl water with lemon


View Profile
June 15, 2015, 10:35:15 AM
 #525

Yes, that's it!
So whenever I go to request coins it creates a new receiving address.
Since I had to explore it to find my addresses I probably touched request coins several times before finding them and then I ended up adding several BTC addresses.

It sounds weird to me anyway.

Thanks man!

It also creates a new address for change each time you spend some BTC and require a change address.  But these days bitcoin wallet for android is using addresses created deterministically from a seed of tweleve ascii english words.  You can find those words in your wallet backup.  Anyway, I thought I'd just add this fact in case you didn't realize that all of those addresses you're creating can be "rediscovered" from the seed---so no worries about needing a new backup each time you make an address.

Ok, I got it now. Thanks for the explanation.

2weiX
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960
Merit: 1000

bitcoincommodities.com


View Profile
June 15, 2015, 07:14:36 PM
 #526

To not ever reuse any address already used once is one of the prime principles of bitcoin.
If you only ever want to use the same address to receive coins, you can go to myb.tc and create a shortlink for that address.
However, as pointed out, the app also creates a new address for every changeback transaction, so that's not of much use.
tspacepilot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1013


I may write code in exchange for bitcoins.


View Profile
June 15, 2015, 09:38:16 PM
 #527

To not ever reuse any address already used once is one of the prime principles of bitcoin.
If you only ever want to use the same address to receive coins, you can go to myb.tc and create a shortlink for that address.
However, as pointed out, the app also creates a new address for every changeback transaction, so that's not of much use.

Right, if you really only want to use one address (including for change) you might be able to use an old version of this app.  If I recally correctly, older versions would just use the same address as change address (maybe before version 2 or something?).

It's quite onerous and you'd pay alot of fees, but another thing you can do is keep sending the change back to that address yourself, from within the app.  However, maybe if it'd actually be easier just to modify the soruce and recompile && install.
Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1285
Merit: 1000


View Profile
July 12, 2015, 10:25:08 PM
 #528

I would appreciate an option to only connect to peers on request. I pay per MB, and even though I usually have data transfer disabled it has managed to transfer 60 MB just this month.
TheButterZone
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2114
Merit: 1003


Pay with SegWit!


View Profile WWW
July 12, 2015, 11:04:49 PM
 #529

I would appreciate an option to only connect to peers on request. I pay per MB, and even though I usually have data transfer disabled it has managed to transfer 60 MB just this month.

A workaround for now would be to go into settings, add 127.0.0.1 (localhost aka your own device) as your trusted peer, and check "skip regular peer discovery" when you don't want the app using bandwidth. Then when you get on free WiFi, uncheck it, and let it sync blocks. I'm watching my network monitor right now and it's going through January's blocks. It stops cold when I reengage the check.

Saying that you don't trust someone because of their behavior is completely valid.
2weiX
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960
Merit: 1000

bitcoincommodities.com


View Profile
July 13, 2015, 01:20:07 PM
 #530

To not ever reuse any address already used once is one of the prime principles of bitcoin.
If you only ever want to use the same address to receive coins, you can go to myb.tc and create a shortlink for that address.
However, as pointed out, the app also creates a new address for every changeback transaction, so that's not of much use.

Right, if you really only want to use one address (including for change) you might be able to use an old version of this app.  If I recally correctly, older versions would just use the same address as change address (maybe before version 2 or something?).

It's quite onerous and you'd pay alot of fees, but another thing you can do is keep sending the change back to that address yourself, from within the app.  However, maybe if it'd actually be easier just to modify the soruce and recompile && install.

you can also plug one of your receiving addresses into myb.tc and request coins to ONLY that addresse. but then again, the app creates a new changeback address for every trx you send, you end up with a whole bunch of addresses with coins on them anyways...
Grinder
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1285
Merit: 1000


View Profile
July 13, 2015, 09:04:04 PM
 #531

A workaround for now would be to go into settings, add 127.0.0.1 (localhost aka your own device) as your trusted peer, and check "skip regular peer discovery" when you don't want the app using bandwidth. Then when you get on free WiFi, uncheck it, and let it sync blocks. I'm watching my network monitor right now and it's going through January's blocks. It stops cold when I reengage the check.
Thanks for the tip, I'll do that.
TheButterZone
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2114
Merit: 1003


Pay with SegWit!


View Profile WWW
July 19, 2015, 06:09:30 PM
 #532

I would appreciate an option to only connect to peers on request. I pay per MB, and even though I usually have data transfer disabled it has managed to transfer 60 MB just this month.

In the data usage preferences, disable background data. Android allows disabling either for all apps or for individual apps specifically.

Note if you open the app manually, it will still sync as this will count as "foreground".

That option only appears in Android devices that aren't WiFi-only. If you're tethering your WiFi-only device to cellular networks, using a cell-to-WiFi device like Karma Go or MiFi, connecting through a VPN, using paid hotspots that you don't own, etc... the only solution I can see is https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4384.msg11863617#msg11863617

Saying that you don't trust someone because of their behavior is completely valid.
TheButterZone
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2114
Merit: 1003


Pay with SegWit!


View Profile WWW
July 19, 2015, 07:48:50 PM
 #533

I would appreciate an option to only connect to peers on request. I pay per MB, and even though I usually have data transfer disabled it has managed to transfer 60 MB just this month.

In the data usage preferences, disable background data. Android allows disabling either for all apps or for individual apps specifically.

Note if you open the app manually, it will still sync as this will count as "foreground".

That option only appears in Android devices that aren't WiFi-only. If you're tethering your WiFi-only device to cellular networks, using a cell-to-WiFi device like Karma Go or MiFi, connecting through a VPN, using paid hotspots that you don't own, etc... the only solution I can see is https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=4384.msg11863617#msg11863617

In this case, use the Android Network Restrictions dialog to make your tethering Wifi network behave as if it were a mobile network.

Does not exist in Android 4.4.2, the latest firmware available for my Wi-Fi only tablet. Unless you mean Data usage>Mobile hotspots under the menu key, then you have to check each Wi-Fi network and have all background apps restricted even if you want to restrict only the high-usage one(s).

Saying that you don't trust someone because of their behavior is completely valid.
TheButterZone
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2114
Merit: 1003


Pay with SegWit!


View Profile WWW
July 19, 2015, 08:21:19 PM
 #534

Irregardless, you can't just set a single high-usage background app to stop being high-usage from the Wi-Fi only Android OS settings. You might want to reserve your data transfer for specific high-usage background apps and not be forced to choose between allowing all of them, or none.

Saying that you don't trust someone because of their behavior is completely valid.
TheButterZone
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2114
Merit: 1003


Pay with SegWit!


View Profile WWW
July 19, 2015, 08:54:30 PM
 #535

Irregardless, you can't just set a single high-usage background app to stop being high-usage from the Wi-Fi only Android OS settings.

Why not? That's what the "Restrict app background data" checkbox is for.

A checkbox that does not exist in Wi-Fi only Android 4.4.2 when selecting any app under Data usage.


Saying that you don't trust someone because of their behavior is completely valid.
Carlton Banks
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1974
Merit: 1145



View Profile
July 19, 2015, 09:15:35 PM
 #536

Irregardless, you can't just set a single high-usage background app to stop being high-usage from the Wi-Fi only Android OS settings.

Why not? That's what the "Restrict app background data" checkbox is for.

A checkbox that does not exist in Wi-Fi only Android 4.4.2 when selecting any app under Data usage.


Depending on the tablet, you may be able to "root" it to allow the installation of a modified version of Android that lets you control background data for individual applications. It's not for the faint of heart, and it would help to establish for certain that the option you want is definitely available before you seek this out.

Vires in numeris
koinsuka
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 165
Merit: 100

Zap.org - Data Feed Oracle Marketplace


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2015, 09:55:14 AM
 #537

this android application very useful for android user
but, are balance from blockchain can synchronize well, my bro?

▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ Zap StoreDecentralized Marketplace for Oracles ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ Token Sale October 21st ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬ FacebookTwitterLinkedYouTube ■  WhitepaperReddit ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
Muhammed Zakir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 504


I prefer Zakir over Muhammed when mentioning me!


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2015, 05:17:39 PM
 #538

this android application very useful for android user
but, are balance from blockchain can synchronize well, my bro?

Yes.

Sarthak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532
Merit: 501

Error 404: there seems to be nothing here.


View Profile
August 09, 2015, 02:35:21 PM
 #539

Well, how much time does it take to confirm a transaction..its taking too long? I sent 0.002 2 times 2 hours ago and each tx carried a fee of 0.0001 BTC .. Its still unconfirmed.. Is it the problem with the wallet? Smiley thanks!

Muhammed Zakir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 504


I prefer Zakir over Muhammed when mentioning me!


View Profile WWW
August 09, 2015, 04:49:17 PM
 #540

Well, how much time does it take to confirm a transaction..its taking too long? I sent 0.002 2 times 2 hours ago and each tx carried a fee of 0.0001 BTC .. Its still unconfirmed.. Is it the problem with the wallet? Smiley thanks!

Most probably, not! Have you checked whether the transactions are broadcasted or not? This can happen because the number of transactions now is high and when miners sort transactions, you maybe in the long queue. Just wait!

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!